218706 User submitted reviews online!!
Goliad State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (361) 645-3405
CGID5077

Goliad State Park

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   7   8   7   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
One of the nicer Texas State Parks we have stayed at. We were in the pull thru section, our site was spacious, though the "curve" of the pull thru was a little tight. Other sites had much longer and flatter curves to their pull thru. There were a couple of trees at the site that gave some shade but didn't interfere with satellite reception. Easy walk to Espiritu Mission, and a short drive to the other sites in Goliad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We traveled to Goliad to attend their monthly market day and wanted to spend some time in the state park. This is a historical park with a Spanish Mission on the grounds. The park is well maintained and the vegetation was better than we expected since Texas is in a continuing drought. The only negative we encountered was the pull-through sites were not level at all. We used three layers of "Linx Levelers" to get our rig set up. If you go to Goliad State Park, plan on at least a couple of days. There are 2 missions and an historical downtown area to explore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
The price reflects having a Texas State Park Pass. You really need to read the website description of the park RV facilities very carefully as you look at the map of the park and put the two together to get a better picture of the facilities. There are two RV camping/parking areas with several other water only tent camping sites: Jacales Camping area is water and electricity only (20/30/50) with a combination of tent and RV sites and a separate dump station. It is a combination parking lot for the tent campers and a parking space for boondockers. Don’t expect spacious accommodations. It is right beside the city run swimming pool (open June through August). The Karankawa Camping area is RV sites with full hookups (30/50 amps), but only 20 sites, so be sure to make reservations. We have a 41’ fifth wheel and had no problems fitting into the sites. The only advice would be to keep to the right as you pull up to the office to register, as you will need to make an immediate sharp left turn into the Karankawa Camp site. The trees are well trimmed for tall rigs. There are a number of nature trails for walks, which were very good for walking the dogs. The only downside to our April visit, was the caterpillar infestation; after 4 days, our roof and truck were covered in black pellets of caterpillar poo! At times it was falling so hard, it sounded like rain. Easy to sweep off when dry, but miserable to get rid of when it rains and becomes a mushy mess. We were fascinated about the history of the area, the Goliad Massacre, the first Texas Declaration of Independence in Goliad, Zaragoza’s birthplace and the Fannin Memorial. There are many historic sites to visit close to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
As others have noted, there are two different RV areas in this park: one is excellent with spacious pull throughs, fire rings, and trees; the other is undesirable, basically a tightly spaced gravel parking lot. Our rating reflects a stay in the pull-through Karankawa area. Consequently, if possible, make reservations for this area, as these sites tend to fill up fast. We would have liked to stay here longer, but all sites were reserved after our week’s stay which we had reserved using the excellent Texas online reservation system. This park has no internet, but they are trying to get it. There’s lots to see around Goliad. Be sure to try the Cream of Jalapeno soup at the Blue Quail Deli and the Chili Petin Pepper, Wild Dewberry, and Wild Agarita jellies at Faye’s Texas Naturals in Goliad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
We reserved a "premium" water and electric site and found out that the premium site area is a large gravel parking lot with sites around the periphery and down the center. It's very close to the highway with much truck traffic. No shade, but the sites on the edges of the parking area have picnic tables with roofs over them. The men's bathroom had one stall and one shower for 24 sites in this area, which is 1.2 miles from the ranger station. Contrasted with this are some other sites, all pull-through, with full hookups and shade trees. I recommend you check out both camping areas before deciding. The tent sites are close to the San Antonio River, but the RV sites are not on the water. Goliad is a fascinating place for the history of Texas, with a reconstructed mission at the state park, a monument nearby to Col. James Fannin, Zaragoza's birthplace, and a Spanish Presidio. The original Texas Declaration of Independence was signed in Goliad. The Blue Quail Deli is highly recommended for lunch. Both that place and the Empresario are only open for lunches. The Hanging Tree is open for supper. Major shopping is available in Victoria, about 30 miles away on good roads. We'd stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Price reflects having the Texas State Parks Pass. If you have never been to Goliad SP you definitely owe yourself the treat of visiting one of the best parks in the state park system. Check-in at the office was painless. We were given our choice of three sites in the full-hookup, all pull-through in the Karankawa Camping area. All sites have very reliable and strong 50 amp service. Our Verizon air card signal was very weak most of the time. We didn't use the bathrooms but when I looked in the men's room it was freshly cleaned. The staff at the park go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and informative. The walking tours of the Mission and wildlife are highly recommended. The last reviewer implied that the golf course in in the park. Not so, it's a few miles away and has very reasonable green fees. The town of Goliad is one of the friendliest places you will ever find and has more going for it that just about anywhere we have been. We came over from San Antonio for the County Fair and Rodeo, which has been rated in the top five rodeo's in the country. On the 2nd Saturday of each month is Goliad Market Days and should not be missed. Restaurants in town: The Empresario; highly recommended, especially for lunch. Blue Quail Deli; great sandwiches. La Bahia Mexican; not recommended. The Hanging Tree; good place for supper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Nice quite park that we alway at on the way to Port Aransas Tx. There is a 18 hole golf course there with real cheep prices that is pretty, but I don't play. Very pretty park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
This was a great campground on the SE side of Goliad. There are other historical sites nearby in association with the State Park. The facilities are great with nicely spaced sites in the RV section. There are tent camping sites along the San Antonio River plus a large gravel parking area with camping sites around the periphery. The showers are great. There are hiking biking trails plus a very nice nature trail. The only downside was the traffic noise from the highway nearby. Traffic quieted by evening and the noise was not bothersome. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We spent Memorial Day weekend at Goliad State Park. They have two areas; one with full hookups and one with water/electricity. The latter area is like camping on a parking lot. The former is in a loop with camping just off the loop. It is a quiet location, with easy access to towns of Goliad and Cuerro. If you stay here, be sure to eat at the Hanging Tree, a nice restaurant right on the square. Would we stay here again? Yes, without question. We would even consider camp hosting here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Rate is for 30 amp water and electric only site. Asphalt pad, slight amount of leveling requires, no shade, though many sites have shade. Excellent satellite and Verizon wireless reception. Wide spacing between sites and dump station in the park. Excellent historical exhibits in the park and also nearby. Paved access roads are easily navigated. A great park that we will definitely be back to again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Great Park in a very historical area. Great shaded pull-through sites. Only minus would be the lack of Wi-Fi and cable TV. My favorite Texas State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Was our very first RV trip with our 28' trailer. Park has asphalt type sites that were not real level, however I was able to level the trailer. AT&T and Sprint cell phones had service, but it was low. Large amount of space between sites, so we never felt crowded. Son and I were able to throw football and baseball around our site without bothering neighbors. Has a nice playground for kids to play on. Campground has trails and historic sites to look at. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$29
This was a nice state park, although it seems the Texas State Park system will nickel and dime you with extra fees, daily entrance fee, additional vehicle fee it was ridiculous. Because of that we would probably not return here. There is lots and lots of history in this area but not a choice of restaurants or night life! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Very nice cg. Has long pull throughs, is quiet, has nice walking trails, well maintained bathrooms, a bbq, fire pit, picnic table and lots of space around the RV. There is no WiFi. It has elec/water and sewer. The Mission is on the grounds. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
This park is centrally located for touring the local historical sites including the Fannin Battlefield and the Presidio La Bahia, in addition to the mission in the park. Staff is outstanding. While here make sure you take in the town of Goliad including the walking tour, the Hanging Tree and Courthouse. If you like a little libation, Ervie Jay’s Beer Garden is a local watering hole that is not to be missed. The Empresario restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch and is outstanding. The Hanging Tree is also good. One of the best state parks in Texas! A $3 a day per person entrance fee is charged in addition to the camping fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
We stayed at the park during the Goliad Flotilla. The paddling trail is very nice and a shuttle service was offered during this event. No shuttle is generally available, so two vehicles would be required to paddle the trail. We didn't get full hookups and therefore could not camp in the Karankawa campground. We were directed to the Jacales campground by the ranger. It is basically a parking lot, which was a real disappointment. I would have paid extra for the full hookups if I had known, even though we don't need sewer. Staff was very friendly. Multiple historical sites nearby. The town has some nice restaurants and a few shops. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This campground has plenty to see/visit, and adequate sites. Pull-throughs are available, but not necessarily level. The site we were in with our Class-B had un-mowed grass between the paved pad and the table, so mosquitoes were pretty bad. The showers did not have hot water, but this was due to a previous thunderstorm, and since no one had used the shower the rangers were unaware of the problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This a great park with wonderful historic sites, as well as beautiful sites. We were in #17 and it was huge, private and beautiful. Lots of birds to listen to. The staff was very friendly. The restrooms were clean. We had very good Verizon broadband signal and good Sprint cell phone. Our only complaint was the electric was not reliable. On Friday night we could barely run 1 air conditioner, on a 50-amp site. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
This is one of the better State Parks in Texas. It has 20 full hookup, pull through sites and 24 sites with water and electric. The sites are reasonably level with plenty of room between them. A bonus is the mission located on site. If you are camping in the park, admission is included with your site. There is a hike/bike trail that leads to town about a mile away. Down the road is the restored Presidio, the Fannin Memorial, the Angel of Goliad Memorial, and the birthplace of General Ignacio Zaragoza. We spent a week here and did not have a boring minute. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$23
Nice place with picnic table, grill, and fire ring at each site. Wood available for sale at the office for $5.00 per bundle. Extremely nice folks in the office. Gravel and grass sites with full hookups; some of the pull through sites are large enough to accommodate any size rig. Easy access, not too difficult to maneuver a big rig. Road noise is bothersome in this peaceful, wooded setting, but it’s not too bad. The historic site of the Goliad Massacre is a short distance away and is a must see. Small park, call ahead for reservations, especially when there’s an event in Goliad, the park fills up fast. We will definitely return. Weak connection to AT&T. No Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
To our surprise, the campground was almost empty by noon on Sunday. The sites are very well maintained and the grounds were very well kept. The sites are spaced out nicely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
Polite staff on check in. Huge sites and very well maintained. A tent was allowed in the RV sites which we found strange and there was a fire ban. This did not stop 2 RV'ers lighting huge fires which were left unattended. Security came around and did absolutely nothing about the fires. This caused us concern about our safety. Very nice walking trails. Shame that tent owners left their dog inside the tent unattended which the dog then ripped the tent into pieces. The dog needed pacifying which we did until the owners returned, not the dogs fault and they treated the dog with compassion which was good. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
We had heard a lot of different views about Goliad park and we weren't disappointed . We timed our visit around Market Days in Goliad and had a ball . It is a great park for us with great sites and hookups . We will be back for relaxation and some more of that terrific jalopeno soup at the Blue Quail cafe in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
We loved our week-long stay at this lovely park. The scenery was beautiful. The park was quiet, although there is a little traffic noise from the adjacent highway. The park is well-maintained. We were pleased with the spacious, pull-thu sites with full hookups, including 50 amp, in a wooded setting along the San Antonio River. There are interesting historical sites on park grounds and nearby. We enjoyed the scenic bike/hiking trail from the park to the historic town square. We would love to return and highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$17
This is a great campground. We had a wonderful time exploring the state park and the surrounding area. We were there for three days and thoroughly enjoyed it. In the area where we camped, the sites were level and easy pull-throughs. We had a fair bit of rain while we were there, but flooding was not a problem. Each camp site has a fire pit and picnic table. We highly recommend Goliad State Park. You won't regret staying there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
Very nice, clean park. Tent camping only along the river. The pull-thru sites have lots of space, very roomy! Instead of being side by side, campsites are lengthwise along the road. This is a very quite campground with lots of trees. We really enjoyed it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
The waterfront sites are mostly water only, but there is a large section that is new and has full hookups. All of these sites are pull through. There is a city pool across the street. This is a big Texas Hispory town "Remember Goliad" There are many museums and historical things to see in the area, including a restored mission right at the state park. There is a trail that takes you right from the park to the town square. Goliad had many antique shops and a beautiful courthouse. The second saturday of every month during the summertime is "Market days" about 200 vendors set-up on the Court house square. We really enjoyed this state park. Life seems to move a little slower in Goliad, Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com