220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Rifle Gap State Park / Cottonwood Camp Ground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (970) 625-1607
CGID5086

Rifle Gap State Park / Cottonwood Camp Ground

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   8   9   8   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Rifle Gap has multiple loops. We stayed in Sage, which is basic only with no hookups. The rate includes a $7 a day park fee. Full hookup sites are $8 more. We had Sage all to ourselves and just dumped and filled in the morning at the dump station. Very large, level, pull thru sites, with decent separation. We overnighted here and would repeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Very nice campground. Only 11 sites in this loop and all have a view of the reservoir. The host and handicapped sites have sewer, the rest do not. The bathrooms were spotless and the water/elec worked great. The rate reflects the $7/day fee the State charges but we bought the yearly pass. The correct GPS coordinates to get here are: 39.633395,-107.743748. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Cottonwood campground is one of five campgrounds in this state park. This loop only has eight sites, including the host. It is very quiet. We had 50A electric and water hookups. The toilet was very clean. This park is in a beautiful setting along a large reservoir. The best loops for our 40' motorhome would be Cottonwood, Lakeview and Cedar. Sage and Pinon are for tents and small RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We stayed on the Cottonwood loop which has only 11 sites. This campground is in a beautiful location right on the lake. We had site 8 which has a shade tree. Most of the sites did not have shade. The restrooms/showers are new and clean. The showers are set up as pay showers but they are NOT. Don't put any money in, just turn the shower on. We did not figure this out until after we has put $2.50 in. I felt the camp host should have filled us in but he did not have any contact with us, although he was around. That was the only down-side to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
This is a nice state park on a small mountain lake. We were here during the week, so it was pretty quiet. My impression is that it gets busy on weekends. The loop we were on, was not paved, so it got a little dusty when the wind blew. Little hiking at this park, but Rifle Falls is just up the road and offered some nice hikes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Going southbound toward Rifle the highway number sign is missing for this Colorado state road. Look for the signs to the correctional facility. Northbound, the signs were up. Upon entry to this park, you will be bombarded with a sign that requires a daily fee and a campground fee. With no one around, that left a big question: Do we have to pay the daily fee to find out if there are any sites available? Fortunately, a park "ranger" drove up and cleared that up. When you add the daily and CG fee, it was $24. Now, the CG. NICE! Beautiful concrete pads that were level. Electric and water were perfect. Covered picnic tables at every site. Dumpsite brand new. Lakeview and mountain view, right down the canyon over the dam. Bathrooms very clean. Fee for showers. Many people fishing and boating. Group pavillion great for family reunions, events. Road to the east was gorgeous. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
This review is for the Cottonwood campground of Rifle Gap SP. This cg has a base rate of $17 per night, but when you add the reservation fee through Reserve America and the State of Colorado's double dipping charge of an additional $6 per night a 3-day total of $80 makes this an expensive State Park. The sites are really nice especially #6. Shade covers over all tables. There is water and electric at the sites but no sewer. There is a good sewer dump, though. There is easy access from I-70, Rifle, Or. When in town, consider Mac's Cafe for free Wi-Fi. They also have a world-class cinnamon bun on the menu among other goodies. I would stay at Rifle Gap again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
As far as a State Park, its pretty nice. Stayed in Cottonwood Section. Great view of lake. Paved pads. Sewer dump-out across road. Some shade. We have a 43 ft. coach and was comfortable. Beautiful Rifle Falls State Park 5 minutes up the road. There, sites are small and limited, but worth going there for a beautiful hike around the "falls." Also great golf course 5 minutes down the road. We played there and just loved its diversity. The town of Rifle is small but quaint. Try LaRoca's Mexican Restr. or the Base Camp Cafe in town for great food! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
First time in this park but, we loved it. There is a whole new section of full hookup sites that were completed in May 2007. We had a nice site with a great view of the lake. It had a new bathroom/shower facility in the middle of the area. There are lakefront sites available that have electric/water. There is a dump station at the entrance to the park. The only thing that was lacking was the swim beach. The sand did not go all the way to the water and there were rocks at the edge of the water. We will definitely go here again. Rifle Falls State Park is 4 miles up the road and has beautiful falls & about 14 sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
Beautiful Colorado State Park campground, looks to be almost new. Lots of trees, but they're still small. Large, paved, level pads with covered picnic table, fire ring and grill. Campground hosts were helpful and friendly. Nice quiet location, beautiful lake stocked full of Northerns, Walleye, Crappies etc. Nice picnic sites. Spotless bathrooms with private shower rooms (bring some quarters for the shower) We would definitely go back to this one, as well as others that we saw in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com