219007 User submitted reviews online!!
North Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (435) 834-5322
CGID5088

North Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   8   7   8   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$15
Typical NP campground - sites were far apart from your neighbor, no hookups. Most, if not all, were pull outs from the side of the road. Our site (#23) had a 2’-3’ drop off from the parking area to the picnic table with a stone retaining wall, but there was a stone step to make it an easy transition. Sites across the road were level without the drop off. Site was easy to level. We had to park our 32’ trailer judiciously to enable the truck to be parked in the site as well. Dump station is about a mile away, a short distance to the main road then turn off to Sunrise point. There is a $5 charge to use the dump station, even if you’ve already paid the camping fee (but $15 camping fee is pretty cheap). Road is paved, site is dirt – but it was pretty level. The campground is very convenient to the rest of Bryce Canyon NP. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
We stayed in the A loop and the sites are not level. The only trash cans are at the entrance to the campground, which is odd. Most of the sites are pull through with a tree between the site and the road. The A loop is only 100 yards away from the Visitor center which is very convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$7
As of 5/21, the dump station is closed for construction. There is no other hose hookup available for fresh water. Use another RV park to dump and get water. Of course, NPS doesn't post any warning about this on their website or reservation site. Typical incompetence. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
Our 5th time back to Bryce. Somewhat disappointed by CG roads in poor shape. A bit of asphalt would go a long way to fix the potholes. Had a bit of a run in with a new to Bryce host who took exception to driving the wrong way a short distance so that the door side was not on the road side. Also repeating dismay that size-appropriate use of sites is not enforced by CG hosts. Case in point was a small class B occupying a site with a notice on the post stating "For RVs over 30' only". Also tenters & smaller RVs in loops signed "over 20' long vehicles only". Many tenters in this loop when plenty sites in tent loop were available. On the plus side, many new fire rings & tables this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$8
Tuesday, April 30 – North Campground, Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah This is one of two developed campgrounds located in Bryce Canyon, both with no hookups and showers only at the General Store ($) within walking distance. North Campground is closer to the Rim Trail and Visitor Center and is open year round. Sites are first come first serve except in the summer there are 15 RV sites that can be reserved in Loop A online. Loops A and B are for campers over 20ft and Loops C and D for those campers or tents less than 20ft. Except our Loop B, over half of the sites the night we were there were taken by tenters in pull -through sites. Even though there is a big sign posted at the beginning of the Loop saying it was for campers over 20ft. The B Loop has more level sites and the most shade. This was an overnight stop for us and it cost $7.50, because of the American the Beautiful Pass for seniors. There is a self fee station when you drive in. We arrived around 10am and so did most of other RV’s coming in. So if coming to the park, arrive early to get a site. They run a shuttle up the park road in early May until late August, so we just missed it. I am sure it would have made our visit even more enjoyable. Beautiful National Park and a great place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
This is a nice campground, but might be difficult to find the right site for an RV. We stayed in space 52 on Loop B, which turned out to be great for our 24' RV. I would be surprised if a 40' could get in as is listed on recreation.gov shows. It is at the top of a hill with a slope downward away from the campsite. It is quite open and private away from the site. Overall, I liked Loop B better than Loop A but Loop B had fewer RV acceptable sites (which actually is probably why it is nicer). The site might get a little muddy during rain. It has a table and fire-ring with adjustable grate. The ground was quite level and I didn't need to adjust our RV to get a good level. The buses were not running at the time we visited so we had to drive our RV through the park. It wasn't too bad but slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
At this time only loops A and B were open. They are very strict on the 8pm generator shut off. The dump station was not open yet. They put adaptors on the water so that you cannot hook up a hose to fill your tank (I used pliers and removed it temporarily to fill my fresh water tank). The location can't be beat. No showers available. The Verizon card worked well for WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
We enjoyed this National Park campground and were actually here 10 nights. Because this is a first come, first served, we stayed in Ruby's for one night and were at the gate at 8:00 the next morning to get a campsite in this campground. Thus we were able to choose the one we wanted. We have a 35' rig and wanted a larger level site, which we were able to get. Many of the sites are very difficult to level on and we watched people struggle to get level. Otherwise this was a great site: convenient to the Visitor Center, the trails, the Canyon, the dump and the stores, etc. It is also surrounded by trees which make for a nice natural setting. There is a picnic table at each site. The bathrooms were new and very clean. There were no showers in the campground (you can pay for one near the store) so we could not rate them. Our rate reflects the Senior discount. Very nice National Park campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
Very nice park, large sites but not very level. The only trash bins are outside at the entrance to the campground. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$7
We stayed here three nights. The canyon is beautiful and staying in the campground made you feel a part of it. There was an abundance of wildlife around. The sites were fairly level with a grill and picnic table. The regular rate is $15 but I have a senior pass and go half price. They have a dump station with fresh water. The park is well kept and patrolled. Shuttles run every few minutes throughout the park. You can catch it right at the campground and go anywhere in the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
We lucked out and got a very level site #30. Most sites are on a hill either coming or going through the loop. The restrooms were being remodeled so there are four shiny blue porta-potties instead. We didn't use them so can't say if they were clean. This park is beautiful but most sites are unsuitable for motor home or fifth wheel unless you have lots of blocks for leveling. The generator time was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$8
First the positives: beautiful campground, quiet and a great place to walk pets. The sites are wonderful, and we like that they have recycle bins for just about everything. It was a short walk to the visitors center. Negatives: months before reserving I emailed to ask about potable water and dump station and was told both were near campground. When we checked in we asked if the 8 pm generator time was extended since evening temps were 30's and going down and ranger said no and nothing more. When we arrived at our site we were informed by our neighbors that dump/potable water station was closed due to extremely cold weather and if we needed fresh water we would have to drive back to Rubys Inn and pay to fill fresh water tank. It wasn't the paying that got me it was the ranger not informing us at check in that annoyed me. The first night it was 35, the second night 29 with night 4 &5 going to low 20's with snow. We had enough of the cold and left after 2 nights. The 2 days we were there we ran the generator until 8 PM each night, pulled in slides to contain heat, piled on blankets etc.. This park was 1/4 filled with sites reserved but campers never showed up. Such a shame this park wasn't filled. I think if they brought in electric it would be filled like Zion and with that more money spent in and around the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Despite the fact that this is strictly dry camping it is still a great place to use as a base for exploring Bryce Canyon NP. About a 5 minute walk to the Rim Trail and real close to the park visitor's center. We camped for five days in A loop which is open only to RVs 20 ft and longer. The dump station and fresh water fill were about a half mile drive from the campground. Interior roads were paved but had some potholes. There were quite a few larger sites suitable for big rigs. If you are pulling a fifth wheel be careful about choosing a site as a few of the longer sites have large trees that can hamper opening a slide. While in the park we checked out the Sunrise campground and found it to be much more restricted in terms of maneuvering room and site size than North Campground so if you are pulling a fiver of any size, North is the way to go. We will definitely stay here whenever we visit Bryce Canyon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$8
Nice quiet campground, but no facilities. Very shaded and close to all the hikes and views. Gas and diesel available 2 miles. Stayed a week and would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Very nice campground with lots of shade. Two loops are reserved for RVs more than 20 feet long. Easy walking to Rim Trail and visitors center, and a shuttle stop is there. All sites with picnic tables and fire pits. Bathrooms have cold water only but the faucets in ours at least stayed on when you turned them. Unfortunately, a window was broken and a bird was in there one night. Quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Really nice location with easy walking to rim trail, visitors center, camp store. Most RV sites are fairly level and lots of big sites to choose from if you are early. Plenty of trees for shade and interior roads in decent condition. All sites with picnic tables and fire pits. Camp hosts very friendly and helpful. Awesome scenery We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We loved this campground due to the ambiance. Sites are spacious with lots of shade. Separate camping areas for larger motorhomes, smaller RV's and tents. Strict rules for use of generators (and the host checks personally!). One can walk easily to the rim on the campground. During daytime the shuttle stops at the entrance of the campground for visiting Sunset and Sunrise point and the other outlooks. Staying on a campground like this is so much preferable to a RV-park. Don't forget to make the reservation in time. You do not have to drive around in circles and find out after three rounds, that every site has been reserved or occupied. We have seen these poor fellows both evenings! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We love the National Park Campgrounds and this one did not disappoint us. From your campsite you can walk to the rim and access several trails as well as get to the lodge and the visitors center. We made reservations because we have a big rig and were glad we did. Without a doubt we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
We love Bryce Canyon, and the North Campground is just great. This was our second stay here, and once again we had a wonderful stay, regrettably for only two nights. This campground is typical of our National Park campgrounds. Roads are paved, sites are gravel and most are reasonably level. Fresh water spigots are conveniently located close to most sites. All sites are an easy two minute walk to the canyon rim trail. There is a well stocked camp store within walking distance or a short drive. The park visitor's center is just down the hill. An older review I read stated that there were no big rig sites. I beg to differ. I saw several rigs in excess of 40' comfortably parked. You just need to arrive early and look around. We were surprised that the dump stations were not yet open, but there are dump stations available on your way out at the commercial campgrounds north of the Park entrance. We highly recommend a stay at Bryce Canyon at the North Campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$10
We stayed 3 nights. 30 amp power would have been nice as night temps were in the high 20s. Big sites, even for our 37'LOA 5er. Near empty even though first night was a weekend night. In park location & walking distance to canyon are big features. Can't complain about the rate either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$5
We reserved our space online. Cost with a golden age pass was just $5 a night. Of course, being a National Park, there are no hookups, but you can use your generator anytime from 8am to 8pm. Most folks just used them when needed. Saw many Eruopean visitors in rented RVs at this campground. Enjoying the extreme beauty of the park! We loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$10
We camped here in a 36' MH. We also helped a 40'er park in a site near us. There aren't a lot of sites for our size rigs, but if you get in early you have a good chance of finding a spot. We both unhooked our toads and selected our sites. We stayed in site 34. If you don't need full hookups North Campground won't disappoint you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$10
North and Sunset campgrounds are similar. Both are inside the National Park and neither was designed with large RVs in mind. They sites have no hookups which is typical of most National Parks. There are a few sites that are big enough for an RV larger than 30’ but not many. This is a good setting for tents and popups. Campgrounds are in a Pondersoa pine forest setting. Some of the roads are narrow and may be difficult to navigate with a large RV. About half the sites in the North campground can be reserved and the rest are first-come-first-served. All of the sites in the Sunset campground are first-come-first-served. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com