215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Swinomish Northern Lights Casino RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (360) 293-2691
CGID5092

Swinomish Northern Lights Casino RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   6   6   3   7   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Swinomish Hotel/Casino/RV Park Review 12885 Casino Drive Anacortes WA 98221, 360-293-2691 www.swinomishcasino.com The Hotel requires that RV’s pay a RV parking Fee to stay in the parking lot. $10 to $30 plus tax according to Security. They do not charge cars to stay in the parking lot! I find this ridiculous that RV must pay to be able to go to the Casino play Slots/Bingo and eat food at the Casino. RVs are parked in a little used vacant part of the parking lot and no services are used except in my case one car parking spot. They do have a substandard RV Park that has very limited services and very low power (about 90 volts or less), which can damage your electrical and electronic equipment. Which it has done to me! My power supply and my fridge were damaged and I had to replace them at my cost, as the manufacture would not honor the warranty. Camping World in Burlington had my RV for about eight months trying to get the manufacture to pay. I agree with many of the reviews posted on line, many which are as follows. In the fifteen or so years we have visited Northern Lights/ Swinomish Casino/RV Park there has been no real improvements and little maintenance to the RV Park, lights, damage plugs and pipes are repaired when someone complaints about them in writing. No facilities for the RV campers, no washrooms, no showers, no laundry, and sewer connector located between RV where the picnic tables are located, not pleasant to eat or sit at. Train runs right beside the camp ground at all times of the day and night, sounds its air horn three times before crossing the rail bridge, wakes everyone up at around 4AM in the Hotel and RV Park. Hotel has taken over reservations from the casino and wants everything charged to your credit card, they have to call a supervisor if you want to pay in cash and they still may charge your credit card which will take months to get a refund. Hotel does not take reservations but assigns campsites regardless of the size and type of RV. They have been very unorganized and it can take some time to check in. Power is low, (about 90- Volts) you must have a cable box to get cable and channels are very iffy, possible due to the low power. Water pressure is very high so be sure to use a pressure regulator. A large air conditioner (about the size of a city bus) is located behind the hotel closet to the RV Park that can be quite noisy, Ducts can pulsate and some times has a high frequency noise that only some people can hear, I am one that can hear it and have to use ear plugs to sleep and not get a head ache. Finding your way into the RV Park is difficult and at night as it is very poorly lighted. Wifi is intermittent; you can connect to the router but not the Internet. Site numbers are difficult to see they are now painted on road where road dirt will obscure them, before they were on posts. They water the grass at inappropriate times, it can be a real challenge to get between the RV park and hotel especially at night as you can hear the sprinklers but can not see them. Granted the Casino is open 24/7 so no mater what time they turn on the sprinklers someone will get wet, but they could have them on between 1 and 4AM instead of the busy times of the day, timers are set by the lawn maintain people who, I do not think have considered that people need to get back and forth between the hotel and RV park. There is not much of a variety of food offered at Swinomish just about all of it is very spicy and is more for the Spanish palate, which maybe is their customer base. They went high class and fancy after the Hotel was built. As no washrooms for the RV Park I have witnessed some disgusting acts. When camping in site 11 I had to take my dog for a walk at 4AM and saw someone squatting at the rear of their RV in site 8. Later after they left I realized he had taken a dump behind the RV. I called the Casino and they sent someone out with a dustpan and broom to clean it up. While staying in site 32, I saw two people in site 33 who had a van, not an RV, use a bucket to go to the bathroom, later when it got dark they dumped the bucket in the long grass. I have also seen the same thing happen at the Silver Reef Casino. Another time we stayed in site 20, at least 10 people with five cars stayed in site 21 in a large popup camper. In the morning I witnessed both men and women taking a pee behind their RV and two males took a pee in the area behind my slide out where my power cord, water hose and cable cord is. I expect this also happened during the night, which I did not see. After they left I got my hose and washed the area. When you see something on the ground don’t assume someone did not clean up after their dog! I realize that the Hotel cannot control the discussing actions of some of the campers but providing services such as washrooms would greatly reduce this activity. Or only lettings RV that are self-contained use the RV Park. Some campers have nothing more than a Van or pickup with a canopy; they must think they are staying in a full service RV park and do not want to walk to the Hotel to go to the bathroom or get wet from the sprinklers. They give themselves a high positive rating I suspect the positive rating are by employees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is a convenient park for gamblers at the casino. It is also convenient for shopping in the Burlington and Mount Vernon area. However, there are no facilities for the RV campers. The train runs right beside the campground and does run at all hours of the night. This is very disturbing for sleep. We found the rate to be very high for a casino park. The rate has increased substantially since the hotel took over running of the RV park from the casino. We will stay at another park that is close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This park serves its intended purpose: provide a place to park for gamblers or overnight travelers. No amenities like rest rooms, showers, laundry, pool. You do get full hook ups, a level pad, a picnic table, and some grass. Water pressure is very high: 90 psi. Management deals with this by advising campers to turn off the water spigot when not in your camp site. That advice won't protect your plumbing from damage - only a water pressure regulator will do that. Friendly gal at the check in desk. Excellent food at 13 Moons - a restaurant in the casino. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
What used to be a pretty nice RV park is not any more. In order to get into the park you need to take a dusty road behind the casino. Then go into the hotel lobby to register. I had reserved a pull through but was assigned a back in. The problem is that the back ins only have 30 amp service. After some arm twisting I was given a pull through. You no longer pay up front for the space but have to check-out upon leaving. They don't have a clue as to how to assign spaces. There were camper shells occupying the pull throughs and big rigs in the back ins. If only they knew how to manage an RV Park. And at $38 it is hardly worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
We have stayed at this park for 9 years & like it here until this past stay. The park is now managed by Swinomish Lodge. In the past the casino is where we checked in & staff was friendly. The staff at Lodge check in treated us like we were less than stellar people, we were not informed in order to have cable TV we had to order a box from check in, in the past we simply plugged in once we were hooked up at the sight. We were also informed we can no longer reserve a specific site, they told us they are managing RV park like a hotel & that specific sites are no longer an option, plus they have raised their rates $10.00 a night, also unless you have thousands of points on players card you can no longer use players card to pay for RV site. We are very disappointed in how this park is now being managed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
We arrived here in the evening and found it difficult to find the road to the park - it winds around the back of the casino. The actual site was difficult to find as the lighting was very poor and the numbers are printed on the road. Take a flashlight! Some highway noise and two trains came through in the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
The other comments apply. We did get awakened late at night (4am) by the train going by and blowing its horn. This may be unusual but it happened twice during our stay. For the price its a reasonably good deal. The hotel is now occupied so the great deal on breakfast is no longer available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
CAUTION, use your water pressure regulator. I didn't at first and gave my pant leg a bath when I flushed the toilet. Back in 30 amp sites only $22, 50 amp and pull through $25. Great value for level gravel sites with grass between and a table with water, power, sewer, cable and Wi-Fi. Construction is complete so park is very quiet. Add in the casino with good eats and you have a winner. Don't forget to get a players card, even if as is our case we don't gamble because this gets you discounts in the eateries. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Construction is done and campground is quiet. For a Casino Campground the price is about right. You have cable, free internet, 50 amp and pull throughs. While i have stayed at casinos either boon docking or in there campground from west coast to east coast this probably is one of the best. The campground has good and bad points but overall i give it a eight. The food and service at the Casino restaurant was very good and you have to check in at the Players Club counter, very friendly. My only complaint is if you stay for a week you could have to move a couple of times due to the fact people reserve spots by number for instance if we wanted to stay another day we would have to move because someone reserved our spot even though the campground is only half full but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
We stayed here over a Sunday so the construction noise they warned us about on check in was non-existent. We had a lovely water view site. There are tons of activities besides the casino. A good base for exploring the San Juan Islands. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
BEWARE they are building a hotel to the casino and they start working at 630AM, and 7AM on Sundays. The front desk has little sympathy for any comments about the noise. I will not be back until completed next year some time. No showers and was rooms are located in the casino. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
When I made the reservations they told me they were building a hotel and there was construction noise. What they didn't say is that it started at 6:00 A.M. and ends about 7:00 P.M. They also did not warn me about how to get to the park. I noticed that after we had come in they had someone out directing people on where to park to register. Because of the early morning noise and lack of signage I have given them a 3. When the construction is done this score will improve. Didn't tell us that the fireworks stands were open and the operators light on banging ones during the day and at dusk some of the pretty ones. We will stay here again after the construction is completed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
The previous 3 reviews are accurate. However the sites are not all that level. Now for the problems, Wi-Fi was out of service the whole time and worst of all there is MAJOR construction going on -- building a hotel adjacent to the RV park. Entrance is changed and no mention of this by the somewhat surly check in staff -- had to go around the building through the construction area to get to the campground. The construction noise started very early and went till after 5pm at night. There is also talk of moving the campground somewhat. So, be aware if you are planning on staying here during the next year (?) or so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
I've been here many times, quick check in and friendly staff. My biggest complaint is the sites are gravel and when it rains you get puddles and very muddy. Sites are level, the black connection is a few feet from other connections which can be problematic. All in all good, just wish they'd pave the sites. Very clean park and quiet. Can get windy so make sure your awning wind guard works! No showers or wash rooms in the casino. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
I liked this park. The woman checking us in was very friendly. Although it says to go to the gift shop it is just the counter by the front doors where you check in. The sites are nice and wide. There is grass between each unit. There is even a beach to walk down to. Very nice dog area. But best is the short walk to the casino. The only problem I could see is the sites might be a bit mucky if it was raining. I will definitely go back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
We found this park to be a good stop for a night or two. While the sites are very basic gravel/grass with some sprinkler issues (read mud), the bay view and the adjacent good food and service at the casino kind of made up for it. Our clubhouse sandwiches came in at about five pounds and lasted four days for $9.95! Dinner was great as well, with reasonable wine prices. The adjacent fuel stop is also Indian owned and we found fuel to be 20 cents less than other stations. Other guests here said this was the lowest priced diesel within 100 miles! Boats go by the nearby grassy beach area. Don’t worry about the train tracks as only one local freight train goes by each day. We planned on taking the drive south down highway 20 and the ferry to Port Townsend but had to turn around. We did not have a reservation and the wait time at 11AM was stretched until 9:30 PM! Book ferries ahead of time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We have RV'd at this place a lot, but we have never been in any other spaces except #28, 29 and 1. We are presently in space # 3 and it has more water in it than any other space in the c/g. Over all I would rate it no higher than a 2. If you want to go to Anacortes, Burlington and other places its good for a base camp. The Casino is nothing to rave about, tighter than most Casinos that we have been to. The Farm House Restaurant, heading back to I-5,on Hwy 20, is a great place to eat, and the Calico Cupboard in Anacortes is OK but pricey. In view of it all, I don't think we will be coming this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Staff was nice, the park was clean but needed the lawns mowed and weeded. I suppose since people are there for the casino its not a big priority. Big issue was they water in the late night and puddles everywhere on the sites. I was disconnecting my utilities and my feet were sopping wet. Basic cable TV, WiFi worked great. Staff was very nice. Checkout was 11A and they extended till 1P no charge. I'd come back only as its connected to the casino. Enroll in the slot programme for a small discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is just a big, paved parking lot, but if you are into gambling, I suppose it is a good place. I only stayed because it was late and I wanted to stop for the night. Would not come again for any length of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
We stayed 5 nights in a 40-footer. There was a nice area around the campground to walk dogs. The campground had dispensers for dog waste bags, but were empty until our last day. We liked the campground except that they irrigated daily from 5 AM until 7 AM leaving water standing in the sites all day. We commented on this several times to no avail. That is the only real problem, but is the reason we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
We stayed here after we got off the ferry. It was 9:30 pm and we only paid $10 in the overflow parking. Was perfect since we were leaving early in the morning and it was secured. They also have a gas station, really convenient for us. Will stay here on our back to Vancouver Island before going on the ferry. So glad we did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
It is okay for an overnight stay with hookups. It is nothing fancy. There are no restrooms or showers. The food not so good. We had a free steak dinner and veggies were cold. The rolls came after we had eaten dinner. The steak was not done enough for husband. It included one trip to salad bar, but was not told soup OR salad. There was no lettuce, so we took soup and waited on salad to find out that it was either soup or salad, but gal let us have salad, but they were out of ranch dressing. So we wouldn't not recommend the food. We will go to nearby restaurant for breakfast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This is a reasonably priced, FHU park with decent cable and WI-FI that worked fine for us. I can understand some of the previous complaints (poor site assignment, to much watering, lack of restrooms, lack of staff for the RV park, etc.). However, it works fine for just an overnight stop. I'd probably stay at one of the other parks in the area if spending more than 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This is the 3rd or 4th time I have stayed at this park. It is getting run down. There is very little maintenance that has been performed over the years. And they water way too much - so much that there are large puddles around the coach each morning. They still have a one week limit and they still assign spaces when you make a reservation with no regard for the size of rig. Consequently camper shells are using the long pull thrus and big rigs are backed into short, 30 amp only, sites. They don't have a clue as to how to run an RV Park. It is run by the ladies at the customer service counter. I found a pretty decent RV Park in Oak Harbor run by the city. 30 amp only but only $20 per night. Unfortunately they don't take reservations and the electricity failed during the recent hot spell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
I have stayed at this park a number of times. It is the best in the Anacortes area. Better than Pioneer or Fidalgo Bay - although a number of new spaces have been added to Pioneer - and some have satellite access - clear sky to the south. The casino is still assigning spaces when you make a reservation and they don't assign based upon RV type. So you often see camper shells in the long pull thrus and big rigs in the smaller back ins. The problem: All back in sites are 30 amp only, whereas the pull thrus are 30/50. And the one week max stay policy does not allow one to setup base camp for visiting surrounding areas - including the San Juan Islands. I will stay here again when in the area. I wish they would change the one week stay policy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
Not much to add to previous reviews except to be prepared for the odor from nearby oil refineries when the wind shifts. Park fills up fast so make sure you have reservations. Office staff needs to leave the office and check out the park since they claim that the Internet map is deceiving and all pull thru's are the same length. They Are Not ! Spaces are close together and they are expanding the parking lot so maybe a laundry facility is in the future. The price is right though, for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
If you just need a place to park while you are gambling I think there are better choices in the area. Very low class stale smoke casino to match the low class parking lot with hookups. A very lengthy check in procedure that added to the average rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
Pretty good RV park for a casino. Better than dry parking in a casino parking lot. Great WiFi signal and good TV signal. Grounds are well maintained with walking trails down to the river and blackberry bushes everywhere. No restroom or shower facilities available. For the price, it's a fair deal. Nothing spectacular but not disappointing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
I have stayed at this park a number of times. The reservation policy does not consider the size of your rig. All the pull-thrus are 30/50 amp. All the back-ins are 30amp only. There were lots of campers and trailers in the pull-thrus and they only used 30amp. They should assign spaces based upon the rigs electricity requirement. One of the pull-thrus had a camper shell and only used 1/3 the pull thru space. I would think they would assign spaces when you arrive rather than when you make a reservation. And reservations do not require a credit card number. Not well organized. You are given a coupon book worth a number of things, including a free round of golf but we were never able to book a tee time thru Guest Services - no one ever answered the phone. But the park is much better than the alternatives in the area - Fidalgo Bay and Pioneer Trails. Fidalgo Bay is very run down and Pioneer Trails is an old park with too many trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
Park is great and easy behind a casino. Had a nice view of the bay. Didn't have reservations, but it is advised. The only drawback is no showers or restrooms, but gal at desk said there are rumors of maybe one someday. Would stay here again. Found the office help to be very efficient, not as others had experienced. They were friendly and helpful. Tuesday is Senior Day so the park is usually very full due to special discounts for seniors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
No bathrooms or shower. Can use bathroom in Casino. Discount coupons for casino given. Good food. Good cable and Wifi. Very clean. Mostly Big Rigs. We stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Park was clean, level and within walking distance of casino. Wifi was excellent as was the cable TV, both free. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Satisfactory park-nothing special. Water view was let down-would not describe as "ocean view". Had distant view of mountains. Fairly long walk to casino but guest services accommodated my disability by sending a golf cart. Best price in area (with discount). Food in casino was good. Ok place/ would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
This campground is very convenient to the casino and has all the amenities you would want. The staff is friendly. The park is clean and easy to navigate. The only criticism I have is that you register at the gift shop and if they are busy it takes a while to check in. Otherwise, a great stop for a night at the Casino or on the way to the Ferry in Anacortes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
We stayed here during the Tulip Festival and were pleasantly surprised. This is a great rv park with excellent free WiFi, level sites, security cameras, paved roads, good cable and was clean. The low rates are an incentive to spend a few bucks at the Casino but that is part of the fun. (The Casino is clean, well ventilated and appears to be well run.) Some good comedy acts appear here. The Casino also has good food at reasonable prices. You get a discount book for the Casino at check-in with discounts for food, gambling, etc. We enjoyed our stay and will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$22
This is a neat and tidy park. There are no shade trees. Grass, picnic table and paved parking at each site. We stayed in site 30 which has a view of the ocean. The park is adjacent to Swinomish Northern Lights Casino. The only issue we had was at check in. They had us reserved in a site that we had not requested. There were two others in our group who had also reserved in advance, who were assigned a different site. I would recommend when reserving a site to have the person you are speaking with to repeat the information back to you and also obtain this person's name. We have stayed at this park 3 times and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$15
Great park, clean, level sites. Well kept lawn, no trees. Just a walk across the green belt to the casino and restaurant. Nice views of the water. Staff was friendly and helpful. This is a great place to stay if you want to base yourself to take in the local attractions. Cheap rates! Self contained units only, as there are no showers available to guests, and the nearest rest rooms are in the casino. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
Enjoyed the site, great view. Casino across parking area, no shuttle. Easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com