214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Medora Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 58 user reviews. Phone: (701) 623-4444
CGID5094

Medora Campground

Camp Information
Sites
209
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   6   7   7   7   7   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Okay place to stay. Sites could use a little TLC and sprucing up. A little muddy if it rains. Wi-Fi OK but not the fastest and is not always available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This campground is on the west side of town. The showers were moderately clean. But the wi-fi does NOT work. We felt it was over-priced at $35/nightly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This campground was fine for a short visit to see the National Park. Gravel roads and sites and a bit dusty. Long pull through sites, however not all were level. They had shaded sites and open sites for satellite. Full hook ups. Would stay here again if in the area. It is a long way from the North Unit of the park, but convenient to the South Unit. Very limited groceries in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Park has a great location at the entry of NP. Dusty but large, easily accessible sites with satellite view. Has nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Large city operated RV park with gravel roads and sites with grass areas and table. One area has lots of trees and wide pull thru sites and a separate area with back in sites and very few trees. Both areas have water, sewer, 30 and 50 amp service. Separate tent areas. Free un-secured Wi-Fi. Kids playground in the campground, but no game room, but a city park with heated swimming pool and large kids play area only 200 yards away. Very good Verizon cell and 4G signal. Satellite TV signal only in the back in sites with only a few small trees. No cable TV available. No scheduled activities or breakfasts, etc. Staff friendly and helpful and park accepts pets. At the edge of the wonderful small town of Medora. Visit the many museums and shops in town and go to the Medora Musical. Theodore Roosevelt Nat’l are a must see. Rated 7 for location, 6 for the park itself. Stayed 4 days to explore the town and area and would stay there again. City park and does not accept GS, Passport, RPI, ROD or C 2 C. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Stopped for one night on the way through. Seemed like a little decent place next to the river and the badlands. Nice and easy to find about just off the interstate. The washrooms and showers were old but were pretty clean. Medora is a pretty small place but it's very touristy and was kind of neat to check out. Wifi worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Shore Services: 50/30amp. Sewer good. Water @ 60psi Sustains 45psi. WiFi is available, but I didn't use it. AT&T Cell Phone good with 3 bars. 3G Sprint Air Card is poor. Verizon Air Card good. Cable not available. Site is gravel, reasonably level both ways. Site lengths vary, ours was not long enough to park my truck on the site, Site closeness vary also; some have plenty of room, but mine was so close that the picnic table could barely sit on it. Roads are good entering the park and through the park. Restrooms are old and need updating. The showers are separate and that is nice, but they also are old. Direct TV satellite is easy to access. Discounts are not available. Payment can be with credit card. The $35 price for this campground, I think is a bit high. This is a large campground and has plenty of room, overall. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Nice city owned park. Lots of shade trees and nice, level pull through sites for big rigs. Great location for touring the Teddy Roosevelt National Park and seeing the Medora musical. Our Verizon aircard worked well, but their WiFi signal was weak where we were camped. It is the only game in town and we would stay here again. Rate shown is the daily rate for 50 amp full hook up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This is the first time we have stayed in the Medora area in decades. We tent camped in TRNP back in the late 1970s. We had a FHU, pull-through site. We were able to get satellite reception but not that many sites in the park are satellite friendly. This is a city run park and handles everything from tents to big rigs. Most of the RV sites are pull-throughs but they vary from W&E with 20 A to FHU with 50 A. The roads and sites are gravel. The site length and width varies. There is a small laundry with cheap machines and the bathrooms are old but usable. We were happy with our site and the park overall. You pass the city park (playgrounds, ball fields and courts, large pool, etc.) on the way into the campground. The city park pool is available for $2/day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
This is a very busy park in summer, & we arrived without a reservation & wanted 30 amp. Nevertheless, the staff found us a site. The park has expanded their 50 amp area, & it's nice, but you'll probably need a reservation. The private showers are terrific, & really clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We used this as an overnight stop and worked out well. They had a blow up slide and pool for the kids which is great, and you can walk along the river next to the campground. Views are very nice and located next to the tourist trap, I mean town. I felt like we were being setup by two "campers" for the music show/dinner which is also promoted by the campground. Something didn't seem right but they left us alone once they knew we were not going and then they wandered to the next trailer that just pulled in. The kids liked this place, lots of room to ride bikes and was an easy place to go explore from. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Due to travel distances we have stayed here 3 times in the last 2 years, and every time have experienced loud, late night parties. (Twice the noise was coming from town employee housing, in mobile homes attached to the park.) It appears to be a college party park with parties lasting as late as 4:00 am and significant drinking. No police or security presence that we could see, and no one answered calls at the "office." Scary for families! WiFi is available, but was not very good. Once again, consider this a college party place. Doesn't happen all the time, or every night, but it happened at least once during every one of our stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Good, basic campground for use as a base for visiting Teddy Roosevelt National Park. Sites are a bit narrow, but we were able to run out our 40" slide. We were warned that our site was uneven, but it was dead level. Pool is a bit of a walk from most sites. Wi-Fi is decent. Note: Medora has NO grocery store, only a small convenience store. If you need anything other than the most basic items, make sure to stop somewhere 30-60 miles before you get to Medora. There is nothing around here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
The sites were gravel and pretty level. We could get AT&T cell service and their Wi-Fi worked well. There was NO local TV stations or cable, as previously indicated. The staff kept pushing the town musical and other events. I suspect they must have received a rebate from sales. They put us in a site with no shade even though there were plenty of shady sites available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Stayed here four nights to visit Theodore Roosevelt NP. Right next to park entrance. Medora is a quaint small town with some nice local restaurants. Gravel roads and some close sites. Nice views of the surrounding area. Fair Wi-Fi at site, nice laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
I liked this park. Yes it is all dirt and gravel so if you need that manicured lawn and pavement it's not for you. Had no problems getting in and leveling. Trains nearby and noisy during day but don't run at night or at least I didn't hear them - it's very quiet at night. Showers were kept very clean but water runs onto entire floor in stall so hard to find a dry spot to dress so bring an extra towel to stand on. Needs some kind of berm to separate the floor so you can keep feet dry. No TV service of any kind. Stayed 2 nights to visit Theodore Roosevelt NP and also the ND Cowboy Hall of Fame which I recommend. Little Mo River right behind park and look up and you see the Theodore Roosevelt NP. Easy walk into town and geocaches nearby if you're into that activity. I would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
I agree with prior posts. The young man at the office didn't seem to care about much. He was not helpful with directions in the park, finding the site or the additional parking areas, as he wouldn't provide a site large enough for my RV and car, which I was told I would be provided when making the reservations. The roads were very bumpy and narrow. The sites were very close together. We were only able to pull into our site by moving the grill onto the neighbors site. The picnic table would only fit parallel to our RV - if you tried to flip it the other way you would be hitting your camper or your neighbors camper. The people we camped next to were great, so being so close wasn't a huge problem for us. We didn't extend the awning, as the neighbor's sewer hookup was next to our picnic table. We ended up staying here only one night and moving to the National Park campground the next day. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
The sites are not all the same size; be sure to let them know what you need when you make the reservation. Drive a bit past the AmericInn to find the entrance to the campground on the left. Check-in was easy; we were escorted to our site. The road in our section was dirt and very dusty. We were in site 45; it was level and long enough to park the car in front. The picnic table was anchored and did interfere with us opening the bay doors. There wasn’t enough width to the pad to move the rig over enough so the doors would clear. Water pressure was adequate. Verizon and Sprint worked fine. We did not use their cable service or their Wi-Fi. You can recycle at the state park visitor center. There was a train nearby but it does not blow its whistle. There was no restriction on washing the rig. We would stay here again if in the area. The rate reflects a weekly stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We had a great time in Medora. The campground staff was excellent in recommending restaurants and getting our tickets for the Pitchfork Fondue and Medora Musical (both of which were worth the price). A shuttle for these is available from our campground, but we chose to drive. We enjoyed driving and hiking the Badlands at the Roosevelt Natl Park. These Badlands are different from the SD Badlands and worth seeing. I would definitely stay at the quiet, safe, clean Medora Campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Park was full of weeds, the RV spot was extremely close to neighboring spot with sewer hook-up right off of the dirty, broken picnic table. Grill for my spot was less than 12" from neighbors RV so I didn't (couldn't) use it. Pool was emptied but we were told we could use one on the other side of town. Campground attendant was a sullen, apathetic teenager. Could not have had a worse experience and would not recommend this to anyone. We moved after one night to a different campground in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This park is improved from last year. There is new crushed rock on the parking pads so the mud and dirt is not as bad as in the past. The bathrooms were clean, they were not last year. Office staff were friendly and competent. The best thing about this park is that it is just a few blocks from the entrance from Teddy Roosevelt National Park. Be sure you get a site long enough for your rig, some are very short and it is difficult to park your tow. Wi-Fi worked sometimes but not during peak hours. There is a park for kids nearby with a pool and other attractions but it does cost extra to use. It is also very close to the attractions in the town of Medora. We drove the National Park Loop in the evening and saw a huge amount of wildlife close up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Dirty and grungy is our description. Advertised Wi-Fi, if you could get connected, did not stay connected beyond 2 minutes. Called office, and received blah, blah, blah. Wi-Fi was never functional. I call this advertising "bait and switch." Roadways are wide for big rigs; CG sites are adequate for space, but are situated right next to others. Who if they used their picnic table, would sit nearly on top of your water/sewer hookups. If we had a choice, which is slim to none in Medora, we would never stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
My wife called to get the rates for 30 amp and see if space was available. They said yes and we headed that way. Once we got there (20 min later), they said they had no 30 amp sites and we would have to pay for 50 amp site. Sites on very unlevel rock. Spaces very tight. Small laundry room. Staff not friendly. In the section we were in had a porta potty (regular restrooms were available by the office). Internet was free and was OK. Great location. Lots of rules that most do not follow. Sewer located almost at the front of each space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
There are a couple of campgrounds in Medora and this one was okay. Some of the sites were better than others. We had a 28' TT and had difficulty getting on our site. Thankfully, it was a wide site because we had to park on it sideways in order to get off the road. Then we had to park our truck across the road. I think we were in the pop up area because we were surrounded by them, with tents behind us. Nice view of "mountains" of Teddy Roosevelt Nat'l Park right behind our site. WiFi was not very good at our site. Medora is a neat little town, with shops and parks all around it. The Chuckwagon restaurant has a great and very reasonable breakfast buffet. The Medora Musical was also a nice activity. A little pricey but, hey, what the heck. We would stay here again, but recommend checking out the site they put you on to make sure you'll fit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Closest RV park to the Theodore Roosevelt National Park southern entrance. Sites are roughly-crushed red rock, and quite close together. Lovely shade trees throughout the campgrounds. Staff seems very eager to please. Would stay here again if in the area, but Medora is a "been-there-done-that" type of place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Old park with very tight and crowded sites. Restrooms were dirty and the showers were filthy! Really disgusting. And to top things off, there was NO hot water at 3:00 p.m., even though I ran the shower for 20 minutes to see if it turned warm. It didn't. You can walk to town from here, which is nice; but I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Medora is a welcome rest off the I-94 as there are not a lot of parks around this part of the country. Unlike the other park here, this park is away from the railway. Driving in, the scenery is outstanding. Unfortunately they had a summer flood here with about 6 feet of water in this part of town. Everything is covered with silt, which is dry and the dust gets everywhere. That is why I rated the park down. Office staff were great. Sites were big and fairly level. Everything worked. The washrooms and showers were clean but somewhat old fashioned. Yes the park needs updating but it is what it is. Know that going in. We slept soundly all night long. The town of Medora is interesting to walk through and the people are very friendly. Try eating at the Cowboy Cafe or the Boot Bar and Grille. Both are very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Stayed here 4 days 3 nights and the restrooms were dirty every day. Oil workers live in the area and the site is overcrowded. Laundry room was pretty dirty, worn out folding table, 3 washers 2 dryers. Owners look pretty worn out and not very friendly. Two other parks in town that I would recommend. Found the park in travel directory rated 2 stars. Pretty accurate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
I agree with the previous review - the campground has a lot of potential but it needs a lot of work and TLC. If you want to visit the National Park, town of Medora and the Musical you don't have much of a choice. The roads were full of pot holes and the sites needed a lot more gravel. The sites are extremely small and you are very close to your neighbors. There are several trees, but we were able to find a site which would enable us to receive satellite. The Verizon service is excellent. A really good point about the park is that their Wi-Fi was excellent with a strong signal. The check in staff was young but helpful. We did not use the bathhouse as it was not convenient. It was located on the other side of the park. The only facilities on our side of the park were 2 porta potties. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
I rated this park a "three" because of its proximity to Theodore Roosevelt National Park, its showers, and the fact that I did not feel unsafe while camping. Other than that, this park has little going for it. The sites are tiny, poorly defined, and poorly maintained. When we checked in, the young man behind the desk seemed to be put out by the questions we asked. The showers were hot, but the facility is old and needs a lot of work. There were no fire rings and the grills were all canted at an angle. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a decent camp ground, but it needs a lot of work. The roads and sites need A LOT of gravel to cover the mud from even minor rains. The river flooded in June and the place has yet to be fully cleaned up. The maintenance crew was putting down new gravel during our stay, but they couldn't keep up with the rains. On the plus side, the views at this campground are much better than the campground closer to town, and the train is not nearly as close so it doesn't rattle the rig when it goes by. The staff was friendly but mostly young in age so are still learning the job. One issue I found troubling was the first day we were here two large dogs that looked to be pit bull mixes ran into the park from the adjacent river bed area very close to our site. I hustled our smaller dog into the rig as it was on leash. The strays ran along the bank of the river and disappeared into some tall grass. I alerted the office and the desk person denied any knowledge of them but said he would watch to see if they returned. I left the office and walked through the campground to see a female camper put leashes on them both and put them into a travel trailer. I returned to the office and informed the desk that the dogs belonged to a camper that had apparently let them run free. I gave the desk the site# the dogs came from, and he stated that it must just be an over night person and would probably be leaving the next day. Four days later the dogs, the campers and trailer were still there, looking like long term with a lot of misc junk outside the rig. I really hate being lied to. The dogs were left on leash outside of the rig most of the days unattended. The rules and safety of the other campers were clearly sacrificed for the convenience of a seasonal camper. I would probably not stay here again for that reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
First of all, we didn't stay at this campground, but we did drive through while staying at the Red Trail Campground, nearby. To be fair, this campground had recently been under flood water and was a mud pit in most places. They desperately need to add gravel to the driveway and campsites. What alarmed us was the condition of the outside of the campground buildings. They looked old and in very poor condition. We did not venture inside, but feel the inside must be about the same as the outside. The only other campground with hookups in the area is the Red Trail Campground and we gave it poor marks because of the filthy bathrooms and how we were treated. I would advise asking about improvements made to this campground following the flood of 2011 before making reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Great location right by the entrance to Theodore Roosevelt National Park and near the attractions of downtown Medora. Office staff were friendly and helpful. About 3/4 of the sites were shaded. There were nice views of the bluffs and badlands. The power was good. Wi-Fi was slow to not at all, but Mi-Fi signal was very fast here. The bathrooms and showers were OK, not great. The sites were muddy and full of pot holes. The roads were rough with many mud holes. The grass was tall and unkept. The store was OK. There were piles of junk near the back of the park. Other than a great location this park was nothing special. We liked the other park in town better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Located next to south entrance of Theodore Roosevelt NP and across from the “Medora Musical”. The dirt pads with small grassy area was hard to level due to the recent flood. There are shade trees throughout the park and you have views of the surrounding mounds. Full hook-ups with good Wi-Fi reception. There is no TV reception with antenna. Cell phone reception good. Bathrooms were marginally clean with individual shower rooms. There is a small convenient store and gas station in town that has slim choices at high prices- would recommend stocking up before coming. There is a public pool and tennis courts near the entrance to campground that charges a small fee. During weekdays it is quiet but I am told the weekends it is packed here. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
There are only two full service campgrounds near the entrance to Theodore Roosevelt NP. This one is run by a foundation. It is a nice park, not great. It is on the river, which is the problem. There was a major flood in early June. All the sites have silt on them. Not a problem when it is dry, but if it rains: WATCH OUT. You will need slip on boots for the family as the mud will build up 3 inches on your feet. This may be the norm for any place around town as the soil contains a lot of bentonite clay. Roads have some pot holes, especially on Bully Circle. As long as it is dry, it is great. But MUDDY when it rains and it takes a while for the soil to absorb the moisture and dry out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The park allows easy access to Theodore Roosevelt National Park and this is why we stayed here. If the park was not next to the National park we would have passed it by. We found the park to be very dry and dusty so we did not spend anytime outside. The roads are all dirt and the sites are also dirt...no grass. This area of the country is dry and so the park would benefit from some gravel. The staff was very nice and also told us we could swim in the hotel pool down the street that is owned by the same owners. Overall, easy place to stay but be prepared to hide from the dust. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Nice friendly folk, nice town, laid back environment, close to Theodore Roosevelt NP. Neat park. Wildlife abounds. Great geo formations. Wish we had stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We tagged the last full hookup site on a summer Saturday night and then stayed an extra night. Saturday there were 150 units in the campground. Our site was about 25 feet wide with dry grass and leaves in the table area. With most rigs parked back to back, it seemed crowded. Everything worked, the staff is friendly, the dog had a great walking area in the surrounding community. We enjoyed the gentleman and his lady who sang bluegrass and country western songs until 10 PM. They have been doing this for 27 years. No green grass and density of units on the first nights prevents a higher rating, but 150 units filling the campground on Saturday says something about their attraction. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Camped here three nights. Temperature was in the 90's so the campground, because of lack of paved or graveled sites and roads, was very dusty and dirty. Enjoyed nearby river to cool dogs off. The city owns and maintains this campground and could spend some money to improve. Grassed areas were also dry native grass. Very apparent the only water for lawns is by mother nature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is your only choice in Medora for full hookups. WiFi is available in the office area. There are some nice shaded pull through sites with decent spacing on the front part of the park, while most other full hookup sites are tightly spaced on basically a gravel parking lot with no shade. There are also some nice shaded tent sites here in the park. Be sure that you fill up with fuel and have all necessary groceries etc., before arriving in Medora. There's not much available in the way of fuel and supplies, and what is available commands premium prices! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Stayed here two years ago and again this summer. A new shower house has been added; it has 8-10 individual shower rooms. Campground looked better maintained than before. Sites are still tight: your slide-out might bump your neighbor's. It's crowded but everytime we've stayed here it's been quiet. It's very convenient to Teddy Roosevelt NP and downtown Medora. Appeared as though they have added a new area for larger MH's that need or like 50amps. Overall a good park for a couple nights, but you wouldn't want to go here to "get away from it all". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Site was $30 for 30 amp and water/sewer with a 7 day cancellation policy. I said I had slides so I was given a "wide site" which I think the staff had confused with the site behind me which was wider. My site was narrow and not very level. It was littered with sunflower seeds and cigarette butts. My picnic table which was a few feet outside my door was over the neighbors sewer connection (in the middle of the site) and they were pulling out when we were hooking up so they were emptying their sewer. I used the washroom and found no towel dispensers or hand dryers and the washrooms were not very clean. It was a Monday and the park was about 20% full and yet we were jammed together in a group. I wouldn't camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Stopped here for one night, RV's are packed in like sardines, single uni-sex shower block, water pressure and electricity supply on-site good, and the laundry was a blessing. Friendly staff, but not a campground that we would choose to spend any amount of time in, one night was all we could stand. First time that we have eaten dinner inside our RV, we prefer to eat outside and enjoy the fresh air and scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Nothing special for your $30, considering the un-level dirt sites and overused, nasty co-ed showers. Place exists for the Medora Musical and nearby TR Park. They run a shuttle to the musical ($4) and nearby city swim pool is $3. This is really geared for families, with a playground and large tenting area. Too bad the sites are so close you have to breathe your neighbor's BBQ or wood smoke all night. Too many people sitting outside yakking over campfires til midnight. Don't know how much better the private cg, Red Trail, is but will take a look next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
The Medora Campground is on the west side of town. Pay attention to the mileage from road intersections or you may drive past it. They have a large over-the-lane sign but not a highway marker for the turn. Sites are dirt and mostly level. The campground is close to the entrance to Theodore Roosevelt National Park's south entrance. The Medora Musical, a nightly western amphitheater performance, is across the road from the campground. Tickets to the musical can be purchased at the campground and they have a shuttle available. Campground staff was helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We saw Medora's Magazine while in another campground and decided on giving it a try. Lots of bugs (gnats) and cottonwood trees. Sites were level; bathrooms clean and showers good. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable of the area. You must try the Pitchfork Fondue if you visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
All amenities were cut off, no water, no wi-fi. I talked to people in Town and it about dies after Labor Day, I would have thought they would keep someone on staff. I would try the Red Trail Campsite after Labor Day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
The RV sites are really squeezed as close together as possible for them to get as many campers in and make as much money as they can. We were at the front of the campground which was nice - I would not have liked to have been at the rear of the campground as there are a bunch of dumpy, ugly mobile homes back there which detracts from the beautiful setting of the surrounding Badlands and the fun camping experience. Although the restrooms were clean, they are not that "nice" - it is dark and old in the restroom building. The campground location is good, little noise, very nice playground, city pool is right there adjacent to the campground, and you can walk down to the Little Missouri River and wade. The sites did not have fire rings, but did have grills. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is an older city park. The sites are a little tight, about 35' between utility pedistas. Picnic tables are provided, but no fire rings. The office is only open from 10:00AM - 6:00PM. It has ample pull-throughs and back-ins for larger rigs. 30 amp hook ups are available, I'm not sure about 50's. There was water & sewer at our site, but only 20 amp electric. For a 1-2 night stop before touring Teddy Roosevelt NP, it's not a bad stop. There are trains nearby, but not too objectionable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
The best thing to say about Red Trail is that it is very convenient to Theodore Roosevelt National Park and it has full hook-ups and WiFi. The sites are very small and close together. We never even looked in the rest rooms. The park is clean and the guests were quiet, but it is not attractive at all. We'd only come back here if we couldn't find anything better near TR NP. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
The place is not fancy but it is clean. There is a pool available for free but it is across town. The campground is run well and was quiet. There is a small store with friendly staff. The hookups were fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Roads throughout the park were dirt. No pool. Rates high for an older park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Campground directory (TL) said gravel roads. There was very little gravel, mostly dirt. For the price it was not much of a bargain. The sites are shaded, but not very even. Staff was friendly. We used it because of closeness to Medora Musical and Pitchfork Fondue which were both very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
There was no grass - just weeds and dirt. The campsites were very close together. You could hear the band playing from the bar in town. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$10
We went before the season opened, so we got the $10 rate. Town wasn't "open" either, but looks like it would be fun in the summer. If you're a golfer, don't miss Bully Pulpit, it's a great course. Campground is right next to the south unit entrance to Theodore Roosevelt Nat. Park. Very good wildlife viewing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Not very impressed with this campground. Most sites very close together. The bathrooms were ancient with peeling paint on the floors, but they were tidied up frequently. No choice of water temp in showers with such hard spray it stung. Had difficulty checking in because computers were acting up. We had a full hook up site but had to pull halfway out of the site to dump, they did warn us about it though. Our site was gravel with weeds and no trees. We would not camp here again. There is public pool you can use for a fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
This a very nice campground. We prefer it because it is just west of town and outside of the congestion. All of the facilities are old but are well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$49
Very relaxing! The cabin was very clean and spacious, the park was right across from the Musical/Fondue event and next to TR National Park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com