219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (828) 652-7208
CGID5095

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   9   8   10   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
We camped here Sunday to Sunday ( 7 days ) in site #B2 which was in the big rig section. The campground is clean and maintained by the staff. There's no wifi service other than at the Ranger Station and cell service via Verizon is next to nothing due to a dead zone. The wifi signal strength at the Ranger Station was very strong and works great to download some e-books to pass the time. A big plus was the friendly owners and staff making a point to remember your name and the names of your kids. They would come by regularly to talk to their guests and see how things are going. We camped here during a holiday week ( July 4th ) so it was high volume time and scheduled activities stayed on track even with the daily sometimes hourly rain showers for the entire week. The sites are long enough in the big rig section for a 40-foot rig but the gravel road getting to the sites is a bit tight but manageable if you take your time. The back-in sites need a bit of care while backing in due to the drainage ditch on both sides of each site's driveway. They escort all guests to their site and assist you with the safest way to get into your site which is a plus. One downside is when it rains, the hilly terrain leads to washing out the gravel road but the owners spend a lot of time to stay on top of the road being washed away. My entire family enjoyed everyday staying there and we only left the campground one day for a sightseeing trip. The rest of the time was spent playing the pool, riding the water slide and all other scheduled activities. We took advantage of the Sunday 7-Day special of one night free and access to all amenities which saved us some money. My kids want to come back and spend another week so we'll be scheduling another trip back here in the near future! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$52
We came for a fun family weekend. We had a great evening Friday night with the hay ride, marshmallow roast and other various kid activities. Unfortunately, it rained the majority of the weekend which limited our activities the rest of the time. We did attend tie-dye shirt session and a dance party on Saturday night which our kids really enjoyed. The majority of the activities were geared for children 3-10 years old. The pool was nice as was the water slide. The playground was certainly adequate with a large sandbox nearby. The roads were difficult to maneuver with difficult turns for a larger rig like ours (40 ft) even though we had a "big rig" site. These sites are also on a small hill which is a moderate distance from the playground and all the activities. We ended up driving to activities because it was too hard for young children to ride their bikes on the gravel roads up that hill. Overall, a nice park with very friendly staff and great kiddie activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
This campground has a lot going on and therefore is fairly hard to get a reservation at...which probably means a lot of repeat visitors. Kids less than 8 probably like the activities the most. We had a great time, very family friendly and the hosts go above and beyond. We plan to stay here again to use the pool and water slides which look we'll kept. With so many people camping here the bath houses get a lot of use...otherwise the score would be higher. Give Yogi a try! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Very friendly staff. Every staff member was happy and helpful our entire stay. Our family of 5 had a wonderful stay. Some sites looked harder to get into. Our pull through site was easy and level for the trailer. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
This is an outstanding park for families. Every single staff member is smiling, friendly, and helpful. The resort is good sized, making it golf cart friendly. Golf carts are available for rent at the camp store, which is well stocked with many necessities as well as Yogi-themed souvenirs. Bags of ice and firewood can be ordered for delivery to your campsite, very convenient. Campsites vary in size with many large sites, plenty of room for any rig. Shaded and open sites are available. Water pressure was just right. Bathrooms are clean, though small - just two stalls and two showers per men/women. This is mitigated by full hookups at many sites, but on busy weekends when tent sites/small camper sites are all full, a line can form for the showers at night. Pool is large and perfect temp, water slide is fun, daily family and kid activities are well run and enjoyable. Mini golf, paddle boats, canoes, fishing, nature trail also available. Great place to spend a week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
Park owners are very friendly. There are lots of programs for kids, a great pool and waterslide, and lots of other activities. We had an issue with the sewer (clogged) and they immediately sent folks to correct. Restrooms and showers were clean, though hot water was less than abundant. They were cleaned daily. Our site was lake front and we had a popup and tent on the site (9 people). Lake is smallish so perhaps pond would be a better description. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
We love this campground. We had a waterfront site and the fishing was great. The staff is very friendly. We played Bingo Saturday night and went on a nature hike. Also had pancake breakfast. They have a pool and a huge water slide. We took our golf cart but you can rent one there also. We are going back in October. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
Fantastic Campground. This was our first time but definitely not the last. Super friendly staff does everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Lots of fun for the kids. They loved the water slide and all the activities. Shaded sites in the B section are great sites: some sites in that section are full sun though. Only negative I could find is that it is a bit dusty. Minor inconvenience though for the great time we had. We will be going back in October. I would definitely recommend this park to anyone wanting a great family atmosphere with lots of fun for the kids (ours are age 3 and 9). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We just returned from a 10 day trip here. We absolutely loved this campground! The family who own it are just lovely people and made us feel very welcome. The CG itself was safe feeling enough to let the kids (ages 7 and 4) roam around, ride their bikes and play mini golf all by themselves. Of course it helped that we had a good view of the mini golf course and the ranger station from our campsite. We were able to visit attractions such as Chimney Rock and Grandfather Mountain but they did require just about an hour drive. The bathhouses were kept clean, though there were a few piggy campers who would mess the showers overnight. I never understand why people do that type of thing, but they were promptly cleaned in the morning. Wi-Fi is available at the ranger's station and those with satellite dishes were unable to get a signal at their sites nor could we get a signal for our cell phones within the CG (but as soon as we left the CG we had a signal), plus we were unable to find a decent newspaper, so we felt isolated from the world for 10 days (not really a bad thing, though). The park has a fishing lake, paddle boat and canoe rentals, and arcade, mini golf, a really fun water slide a pool and kiddie pool and a hiking trail that led to a creek. All those amenities were included with a 7 day stay. They have free family games and activities everyday and most nights and offer arts and crafts daily (for a fee). Plus there were plenty of appearances by Yogi Bear himself! My main complaint is that there was only 1 main bathhouse for all the campers with only 2 toilets and 2 showers. This was never really a problem until the weekends when the park filled up. Then there was a line to the showers and the hot water would run out. There was a bathroom and shower up by the ranger station and the pool, but they weren't open 24 hours (at least that's what the sign said, I never tried them after hours.) We liked this park so much, we are planning on going back there next year! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
My family and I visited this park for Pirates week! We had an amazing time. The park was very well kept and the beautiful lake was full of huge fish! We stayed in a cabin that was very clean and well furnished; we were able to see our kids participating in activities from our porch. The service was truly 5 star in the great outdoors. The staff was so friendly and called us by name. If you are looking for the perfect family vacation where everyone will be entertained all day this is the place to go! My kids had the most fun here! I almost forgot the waterside is super fast and fun! My whole family and I enjoyed it all weekend! We will be back soon. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$50
Pretty park and well placed between several nice destinations in NC including the Biltmore estate and Chimney Rock. The service was unreal, that being said they knew my family's names from time of check-in to check out. While it is pricey for overnight stay, the activities and theming was something that no other park has been able to deliver. My kids had so much fun, and that in itself was worth every penny. Aesthetically, the park has some opportunities within the lake, however my site was well kept and my hook-ups were well placed. We've already made reservations for 2009. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$55
The Park is very pretty. Lake is nasty and the sites are not level. Golf carts and four wheelers go well above the speed limit, which is not enforced. The site was dirty because they don't prep the sites before new campers come. Price is higher than at the beach. Golf, Pool and Slide a run down and old. Expensive considering nothing is free with your stay. Grass wasn't mowed and the fire rings have weeds growing taller than the ring (Not trimmed or maintained well). Roads are nothing but mud, very little gravel no pavement. Motor home had to turn around because hill was to steep and there was no traction to get into spot. Permanent campers made me feel at home and were very helpful. Power keeps going out, you have to keep checking your fridge to make sure its on. The creek has weeds growing all over it, lake is full of algae and the fishing wasn't very good. Half of the lake is only 2 feet deep, needs dredging. Just not worth the money, groceries are ridiculous. They buy them from food lion or Ingles and then jack the price up, you even have to pay for doughnuts. Hay ride has no hay, they use the same trailer for the Hayride and trash pick up. The owner has high hopes for the campground but doesn't realize that the people in the area don't have that kind of money. New trailers that look like cabins, very high and they don't have underpinning on them so they look terrible. Two campers near bath house are old and run down. It needs a lot of work. I won't be back until things are improved. Unhappy camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$55
The intersection off the expressway to get to this campground is a nightmare for big rigs. The 2 lane roads intersect at an angle, so the turn we had to make was basically a 45 degree turn which isn't an easy feat in a 40' dp with tow. Thankfully there was no oncoming traffic from the road we were turning onto. The roads to get to the campground were all narrow two laners, but clearly marked with signs leading to the campground entrance. The entry road is very steep and twists a bit. We had a reservation to stay at this campground for a week, but we left early. We were on the premium site, which was nice - right on the pond complete with a nice covered patio. The pond was a little nasty, as well as the area surrounding it - fishing line and hooks and garbage. The campground dog was very nice, but a bit of pain for our own dogs. He kept trying to mate with them. We found it quite weird that the owners would keep an unleashed dog within the campground, especially when the rules say to keep your dogs on a leash at all times. The pool was nice, not very clean and obviously in need of work. There were a lot of soft spots on the pool floor, which worried me a bit. This campground also allows the public to access their amenities for a fee, so the pool and slide can be very busy at times. The campsite itself was actually not that bad (not too level, but you're in the mountains), and the owners and staff were excellent. Overall this campground just seemed run down. We will more than likely not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
First let me say this park has one major plus, the attitude of the front desk manager. What an awesome kid. Extremely nice and friendly. For people coming here with motorhomes over 36 ft. it probably is going to be a very tight fit for you. ( Hint, for MH owners disconnect your toad before leaving and hook it up at Love's truck stop at I-40 ). The driveway coming in and out is one of the steepest grades I have ever seen in such a short distance. Also be careful of the back roads coming here, they are not very wide and mail boxes are right next to the roads. The CG itself has a lot of trash around on the sites. The fire pits are not cleaned out and peoples trash is typically left behind for you to deal with. They have no site prep program here at all and, after paying $ 50 I had to clean my own site once we hooked up. If you plan on swimming in the lake / pond, think again. It is a muddy algae mess littered with fish lures, fish hooks, trash, etc. The bath house trash can was running over onto the ground for two days. The sites are unlevel but the utilities placement is very well thought out. With the gas costs soaring and average Americans suffering, it would help if CG owners would help out their customers. Instead, this CG increased their mini golf prices from $ 3 to 5 this season. Their water slide costs are also high as are other incidental costs. It's a shame as this is a nice family who owns this CG and it has a gorgeous setting. But there seems to be a lack of dedication to the camp sites. Full fire pits, trash laying around each site, old fishing hooks and lures in the grass, etc. is not my idea of $ 50 dollars worth of camping facility. I am hoping that they focus more attention on keeping the campground and camp site clean. As for ourselves, we wont be back at these rates. It is way over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
This is an impossible park to get to. The road in is small and poorly marked. The road down into the park is approximately 50%. Once you get here you had better be a billy goat. Our site was somewhat flat but don't know how we can get out of it tomorrow. All the attractions were closed. For the price it is not worth the hassel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
This was our first visit to this campground. The campground is a good home base location for visiting the Asheville, Mt Mitchell, Linville-Boone-Blowing Rock, Chimney Rock, and Lake Lure areas. It also would be considered by most to be a destination. The park has a pool, mini golf, water slide, volleyball, basketball, and many planned activities for the kiddies and adults. The park is easy to get to but out in the country. They have a park store that has necessities but the closest Grocery store is about four miles away. It also has several nice restaurants nearby. The restrooms and showers were kept clean and smelling fresh. The lake sites were nice. The other RV sites were on a fairly steep hill that required a good walk to get to the activities. Cell phone service was pretty non existant until you were about a mile out of the park. While the sites were nice some of them had severe drops off the edge that I would consider dangerous for small children. Most needed at least a new load of gravel. The roads in the park are not paved which could cause it to be dusty in dry weather. The reason for our score was the cost per night and the extras. $6 per day for the waterslide, $3 per game of mini golf. We just thought that was a bit much for what is was. One thing that we were very happy about was the guy that led you to your site. He knew exactly where the rig need to be to get the most space usage from the site. He told you where to pull to and where to back to on the site. That really helps with the setup process. We will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
This is a very nice park. We were in a pull-thru in the B section and it was huge. It was up on top of the hill so it was quite a hike to the main activity area but a nice quiet area non the less. Management was very nice and they had tons of kids activities. My main complaint was the fact that they open the pool and waterslide ($6.00 per person even if you camp there) to the public from 10-3. The place was mobbed with groups having parties/gatherings to the point my 4 year old was scared to get near the waterslide. The pool was closed due to some type of state inspections they were waiting on so it made the slide even more crowded. With a small one that is not a good swimmer I don't know if we would come back on a weekend if it is like that all summer. Otherwise a great campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This is our second visit to this mark in two months. We love it! The grounds and bathrooms are spotless. The owners are very nice and make sure that everyone abides by the rules. The pool is big, clean and well supervised. There were a lot of fun activities for the children. The setting of the campground is beautiful with the lake and the mountains. We will camp here as often as we can. We had friends camp here in a tent and they loved it as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Very nice park. It is now called Jellystone not Hidden Valley.For children this is a paradise. Huge pool with a water slide next to it. There are charges for using the slide but it was very nice.Also lots of activities could not keep up with them but there is a lot to do. As for the campground the site I had was a pull through not much front patio area and it was next to the road. If I am to go again I would choose a site on the pond or up the huge hill. Nice size patio areas for those spots. The only complaint I had was the main roads were not paved and a lot of dust every due to passing vehicles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. Everything was clean and it was very quiet at night. The owners went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. I would rate the campground a 9 or a 10 if they installed 50 amp power and cable TV. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
We camped here for two nights with some friends of ours. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The restrooms were spotless. The site was fairly level for being on a mountain side. The access road into the park was pretty narrow and steep but not too bad. There were tons of activities going on the entire weekend. This park is definitely family friendly, they have nightly movies and other activities for kids. The only drawback we had was that we were in the B section which is located on a pretty steep hill with no shade. This section was a long way from the pool and other activities and the hill was so steep that we couldn't ride our bikes easily. Other than that, this is an extremely nice campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
We spent a wonderful week at this campground. Bathrooms were sparkling and there was plenty of hot water. Plenty of activities planned for all age groups -- our family especially enjoyed BINGO and a new game called "Left-Center-Right." Our daughter met plenty of new friends to play with and had a ball in the pool and on the water slide. (I counted 5 lifeguards on duty.) The owners and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and escorted us to our site. This is a beautiful "hidden valley" campground and one we plan to visit often. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
This is a wonderful park with beautiful scenery and tons of things to do. There were so many activities that our family could not do them all. We stayed over Father's Day weekend and the kids were able to paint a special t-shirt for their dad for $1.00 each! Everyone was very friendly and the campground was very clean. The campground has gravel roads and sites which were very, very dusty. The dust began to bother us after a while. It would help greatly if the roads and perhaps the sites were paved. However, we would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
We camped here in a fifth wheel in the B section.B13 to be exact. These were not wooded sites but were level and very spacious. The owners were very helpful as they took us to our site. Great place for kids. There were a ton of kids around and there were many activities that kept them busy. Between the Jr Olympic pool,waterslide and the playground this kept all of us busy. The lake is nice although it had not been stocked this year we still had fun never the less. Another thing worth noting was how quiet the park was.I believe quit hours started at 11pm and it was just that. A very relaxing time. We took our small dog and the doggy walk was spotless. The park was very well manicured and clean. This is a very family friendly campground and we will definitely make plans for a future trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$34
This was our first visit to this campground but it is now one of our favorites! In fact, we registered for two more weekends while we were there. It is one of the prettiest places we have been, with friendly staff and lots for kids to do. Unfortunately, we waited until the last minute to make reservations for a holiday weekend and were told that there were only two spots left. When we arrived, I wasn't entirely thrilled with the site (D-5) because it was not shaded63. We ended up being very pleased because we could keep an eye on our daughter at the playground without leaving our site. We were also right next to the Big Pavilion and many of the weekend activities were just a few steps from our camper. (Bingo, Music, Horseshoes, Volleyball, S'Mores Campfire, Sunday Services, etc.) The Big Pavilion also has restrooms, but no showers. There wasn't much foot traffic near our site otherwise, so it was also one of the most quiet at night. We found out that we were in the "overflow" section and they only open the D section up when the campground is full and there are no corporate events scheduled at the Big Pavilion. We would be happy to stay in that section again. The most attractive feature of this campground is the waterslide -- there was an additional cost of $6 for a 1-day pass; $9 for a 2-day pass, and $12 for a 4-7 day pass. Well worth the money as that was all our daughter wanted to do each day. We also rented a paddle boat for $3.50. They offered free use of volleyballs and horseshoes. There was a full schedule of events and activities were geared to both kids and adults. The campground is very clean and well-maintained. Friendly staff and beautiful scenery make it one of the best around. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We visited this campground in Oct. 2003. Nice campground, but our site was not very desirable. We were parked beside a mud bank with no trees at all. Have some sites on small pond that looked nice. Restrooms were clean. They have putt-putt and a pool with water slide. Would be a good summertime cg. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com