223581 User submitted reviews online!!
Charleston KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (843) 797-1045
CGID5097

Charleston KOA

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   2   3   8   8   9   7   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We stopped here on our way home and expected to stay for 3 days to enjoy the area and the weather before heading to PA. Reserving sight unseen is risky but given that it is a KOA, you have some expectations of decent amenities and service. We made reservations early in the morning and then traveled 400 miles only to be agitated on several levels. The entrance was so narrow and tight that palm tree limbs drug on our motorhome roof. Then, on my way to our site another motorhome had his rig partially blocking the road because his sewer hose wouldn't reach the drain! You see, the sewer outlet is at the extreme rear of the pull through. I had to connect two 15ft hoses to empty my tank. The worst part is that my site was so tight with trees on either side that I had only inches to spare once my slides were open and I could not open my awning for shade at all. There were two other larger sites empty nearby so I asked management to change and they would not allow it because someone else would be coming "at some later date" and they wanted those particular sites. Long story short…. it was late in the day and we were very tired and so we stayed over night and then asked for our money back for the next two days, which they did. The sites were somewhat muddy and many sites were sloped pretty good. We had water, 50amp, no cable but could get several local channels on antenna. There was sewer but at a terribly poor location. The campground WiFi was next to impossible to use and our MiFi could barely get a 3G signal. Some of the poorest reception anywhere we have traveled in the USA. Overall, the place may be fine for locals to camp in small units but I would not recommend it for larger rigs. No fire rings but there were tent campers across from us with a campfire on the grass… go figure. This place is not managed very well or maintained very well. Traffic was absolutely brutal in this region and so arriving here and having this disappointment was enough to keep my away forever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
I can't rate this higher than a 2 based upon comparing to other campgrounds I've stayed at, including many KOA's. This had almost no amenities that I'm used to seeing at KOA's. The clubhouse was padlocked and no breakfasts were ever held. No children's activities at all. No cable TV. Spotty Wi-Fi. Dog area was just an over sized pen. Our first site was too steep but they promptly gave us another one. The campground is right next to a trailer park and it appeared to me that the "locals" were using the playground and laundry facilities. I did not feel comfortable letting my 10 year old son roam around on his own. Campground was pet friendly, but I think we were the only ones who brought our own bags and cleaned up after our dogs. It was nearly impossible to turn left onto 78 when leaving the campground. The laundry was not in an enclosed room and the washers looked worn out. Positives? The bathrooms were clean and showers had a separate dressing area. Small pool appeared clean but we did not use it. Staff was friendly but it didn't appear that the owners were very involved. Can't recommend this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
This campground should be called The SC KOA Mud Park. After a rain you have to hold on to your rig just to keep from slipping and falling, it is so muddy. Most of the site's sewer inlets are left open so the rain water can drain off. The entire park has very poor drainage allowing standing water to produce mosquitos. They allow pit bull dogs in this park, beware! Big rig access is a joke; very small lanes and sharp corners to navigate. Now for the good things about this KOA: They provide site trash pickup, but their rules are not to put out your trash the night before, which is not enforced. The workers were friendly and helpful. In conclusion, this KOA needs to close for a complete make over. We were very disappointed with this KOA; we will not be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
If it's raining, keep going! The park doesn't drain! We had over 5 inches puddled all around our camper and under it. It was horrible. We stayed two weeks, and this happened 3 times while there. Very narrow sites, couldn't get satellite, had to go purchase an antennae to get 4 channels. Busy highway and you wait forever to pull in or out. They have way too many sites jammed into one park. Not easy to move through with a large camper. Wouldn't go back. A two week stay was very pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Bare bones park, with extremely helpful staff and nice pool area. Sites are long, but quite narrow. No cable TV, but could get 4 major networks via antenna. Nice grassy field for the dog: no Camp K9. WiFi is available, but SLOW and sporadic. A LONG 20+ miles to downtown Charleston. On a very busy street, so it's difficult to get in and out. Near grocery, fast food, and drugstores. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Normally, I do not stay in cabins as I have an RV; however, this trip was solo and heading home. So I opted to stay in a cabin rather than a hotel. Best decision. Staff was helpful and campground was clean. Cabin was a typical KOA cabin and suited my over night stay just fine. With an RV, some care would have to be taken going through the park to a site. Bathrooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Great campground for us, we have a 42 ft. monaco with a 30 ft. trailer and needed literally, last minute reservations. We called at 4pm enroute and they were great people to work with all the way around. It was a little tight for us getting out (if the park had been full we'd have to do a bit of jockeying around) and things are a bit tight but all in all it was a nice park with great people. Would definitely go there again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Our main disappointment with this campground was the location. The surroundings were not the most reassuring. There was not much in the form of amenities, the playground was small and although a dog park was advertised, it was really just a rather small caged area. The night was peaceful enough. We did not try to use our cell phones or Wi-Fi during this stay as we had family activities to focus on. The site was level, but a tree did fall during the night and damaged my roof and ladder (not the campground's fault... it happens). All in all, the experience was okay, but we would not stay here again simply because there are other campgrounds in the area that we have stayed in before and enjoy more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Overall, this is a pretty nice little park. This is our first camping experience, as we just purchased our travel trailer 2 months ago. The personnel at the park were all very friendly and helpful. When we arrived, check-in was smooth and quick, with the park person escorting us to our location and showing us where all of the hook-ups were and how to use them. The lots were all grassy/dirt. The lot we were in was fairly level, as were most of the other ones we saw as we walked through the park daily for exercise. The park was pretty quiet, with the exception being that it is right on US 78. It is a fairly busy road so you can hear the road noise during the day. Other than that, I give the park a solid 9 out of 10 and will most definitely use this park again the next time we come to Charleston, SC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This is an old park in need of some repairs. The sites were some gravel with mostly dirt and unlevel. The roads were really tight for a 40' motorhome. The staff was friendly and helpful. They did have good power and water but the sewer connection needed repair. There were a lot of "permanent" residents. Received notice of begging so not to answer door after dark. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Most sites were very tight. Not much grass. Many permanents. Nice pool. Iffy Wi-Fi access. About 10 miles NW of Charleston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
Nice KOA with friendly staff. The water pressure and stability of the electric has been improved a lot since we stayed here two years ago. Wi-Fi is typical for high usage and comes and goes during those peak periods. Campground was clean and well maintained. Nice pool. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$27
This park is nice to camp in if you are visiting the Charleston area. It is not on an island or plantation but is conveniently located right off of I-26, about 20 miles to downtown. The campground is shaded and quiet, even though it is right on Hwy 78. There is no cable TV but antennas pick up the major channels. Sites are adequate, but not paved. there is a paved patio and table at every site. We stayed in a 37' motorhome towing a car and it was tight. I would return for a short-term and reasonably priced place to stay while in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
The site was level and overall the campground was pretty good. No cable TV, but I was able to use my satellite receiver ok. Water pressure was very low, but other than that, an OK location. I would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
We really liked the pool area. One thing they do need is a designated dog area. We did not have any problems with the mobil home park next door. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
My son and I stayed here for 2 nights in a tent. Overall, the campground was clean including the restrooms and pool. The only complaint I had were the flies. It was like an Alfred Hitchcock movie! As soon as we tried to eat the flies were all over us and our food. We actually had to walk around the campsite to eat. Others in the campground had the same issues. When you first turn right into the park there is a mobile home park on the left which was interesting on July fourth. We did see police driving through the park several times which made me feel better. This campground is nicely located near the attractions of Charleston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$37
If I had seen this campground before making a reservation I would not have stayed here. I am not one to complain, but it seemed that the staff did not want to be there. The "dog walk" looked like a toxic waste dump. I am a KOA member, but after my stay at this KOA I will look around the area for other options. Unfortunately we were not able to get into the Mt. Pleasant KOA, which is very nice. If you have pets avoid this KOA! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were given a packet of information to help us plan our vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Management is nice until you have some kind of problem...then they are rude. She acts as though what you are telling her is irrelevant and she could care less. They do not mow very well, allowing weeds to grow up around campsites. Also, the advertise a wireless internet connection that works only very, very marginally. When you complain about it, they tell you there isn't anything they can do and that their provider company is at fault...call them. The water pressure is very low and fluctuates terribly. They will also shut it off for maintenance without so much as telling it's going to be off or it's off for this reason and will be back at or around a certain time. I asked them who owned the property, (because I was going to talk with the owners about the manager's and employee's attitudes) I was told they didn't know who owned it. LOL. What a joke! You don't know who you work for. Anyway, I will not stay here ever again and I suggest if you are looking for a campground in the Charleston area, look else where. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
The campground is next to a very scary mobile home park that police routinely patrol. When we were there,they were hunting someone who was "on the loose" in the area and circling the campground for over an hour with police cars and a helicopter. The staff is very rude. Ask David anything and you will get a terrible attitude! The website says this campground is "Pet Friendly". It is VERY MUCH NOT! I will NOT camp there again and highly recommend staying somewhere else! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
Park was clean. People were friendly. If you must have cable TV, forget it. Was able to pick up 4 local stations via antenna. Sight was level and good size. Pool wasn't open, yet. There was a small zoo, though there were no animals present. There was a section with many full timers, it was on the other side of the park. The pet walk was a deserted lot next to the campground. It is about 15 miles outside of Charleston, so beware of rush hour traffic. Overall, this was a nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
The park had marginal power and very low water pressure. We used to live in this area and the place has built up tremendously. This probably accounts for the low water pressure. Park is clean and is close access to Charleston. Very nice pool for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
We were there Memorial weekend to visit one of our sons who is in the Navy, and of course it as pretty full. A number of sites are seasonal campers but all the equipment appeared well cared for. Campground, bathhouses, pool area all very clean. Only noise we noticed is what you would expect from children playing. The females in our party liked the locking door on the showers that first led to a small dressing room and then the individual shower. Excellent location on the North side of Charleston, SC for touring the area and hitting all the major attractions. Site size is adequate, our pull through site was a little narrow because of tree location which limited how we could position our trailer. On the down side the rec room only had a pool table and TV, and some of the staff we either overworked or indifferent. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
Stayed here for the first time bike week. Great experience. Staff could have been better. Nice large site. I will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$34
Decent park. Mostly dirt...no grass. Bathrooms were immaculate. Staff was average. One guy was a smart tail while trying to be a stand-up comedian. Not much to do here except for the pool which was very clean. Lots of long-timers. Nice huge flea market nearby was great! Pricey for the amenities and time of year (off-season) Oak Plantation and James Island County are much better in our opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
We paid monthly rates in the long term section. It was close to shopping and not too far to get to downtown Charleston. There weren't many RVParks with long term spaces when we stayed here because of construction workers on the new bridge to Mt. Pleasant. We would probably stay again if working in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com