214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Pilot Knob RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (760) 572-0875
CGID510

Pilot Knob RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
219
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   6   6   4   8   4   3   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$10
RPI rate. 8 miles to Yuma and any kind of a store. Lots of pull through spaces that are pretty close together. Gravel interior roads and level spaces with a concrete pad. Everything worked well. Friendly staff, some activities. The pool looked clean and well kept, but we didn't use it. Many people use this as a destination spot and stay all winter. Park is closed in summer. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$12
We stayed 4 nights under RPI rate; close to Mexico. Park needs updating, but we would stay again. With RPI our rate was $12 with 50 amp service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$10
Very friendly staff and a "homely" feel to the campground. Lots of activities offered. But the hot tub is still broken and we were here last year! No pickle ball or exercise room, which we require. It's a noisy site with highway 8 and the trains close by. Pretty good WiFi ($2 coupons). Close to Yuma and Mexico border. Okay for a couple of night's stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$10
Friendly staff, but the site needs upgrading. Pool is closed due to inspection failure. Internet pretty good. Good pull-through sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$3
If you are looking for a park with enough water pressure to shower, this is not the park for you. All the pictures advertizing the park show the pool, which would be ok if they showed penguins swimming in it. It is only 78 degrees, too cold to stay in for more than a minute or so. Don't have maintenance check anything as they will charge you for his hourly rate. Besides being grumpy, this man should not be working in any position where he has contact with the public. We are only here because it is a membership park we were trying to utilize. Bad experience will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$1
There are some pretty narrow and short sites in this park. In the past we had always been assigned one of those. This time, however, we were given a site in the back. It was huge!! We loved it. We could only see two problems with this park. One was the number of machines in their laundry and the other was the HUGE (really huge) speed dips they seemed to have dug every few feet requiring you to travel 2 mph. We thought someone got carried away. Our Verizon and AT&T worked perfectly. You can ride ATVs directly from the park to the dunes or BLM land. We liked the park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Dusty, dirt roads throughout park. Cement pads at sites, but at the far front of the parking area. Sites are very narrow and short. Staff is friendly. There is highway and train noise, but tolerable. Jacuzzi not working. WI-FI is with Tengonet so you might as well forget it - terrible service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
The first thing to remember is that they are on Mountain Time even though they are in the Pacific Zone. We arrived a few minutes after 3 p.m. and the office was closed and the gate was closed. We sat there blocking traffic on the road and finally took the chain off the gate and went through (we had reservations). The Security Guard then came running and yelling not to do that. He eventually checked us in, but we couldn't get WiFi until the next morning. Also he would not give us a site until we went out to the trailer and brought in the sewer chemical container so he could see it. The pull-through site we were given was so narrow we had to run over the patio to get into it (so did our neighbor). Highway and train noise is very evident. We stayed one night using Coast to Coast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$1
We enjoyed this park for 2 nights in our MH. Close to Yuma for shopping before heading to Quartzsite. Volunteers very nice and friendly. Lots of empties so we did not feel the crowding. Imagine row by the office gets very tight. Nice long term spots. Close to activities and places to go. We would stay again. And yes, it's dusty. Hey, it's the desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$15
Actually, the previous comments regarding proximity to the freeway didn't bother us. We considered it a plus because access to and from Yuma or Algodonas was easy. What we didn't like was the cramped spaces. They were definitely cramped. We felt like we needed a shoe horn to fit in. By the time folks had parked their RVs, their car/truck had to be parked sideways to fit in off the street. The sites had concrete pads but everything else was dirt. There's a nice clubhouse, small pool and other than that everyone was pretty friendly. The "4" rating is because we certainly enjoyed the full hookups and the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
This has to be the noisiest park we have ever been in. Although it is close to the freeway, it is the trains that scream out their whistles all night long that makes it hard to take. The pool was fine, but the hot tub was broken and had been for a really long time. Laundry was poor, as nothing dried, better to take your laundry out. The wireless was very poor and not available at your site. We were there under coast to coast and the "salesman" did nothing but knock our organization and told us that we should buy in to their group and ours would no longer be very welcome. The volunteer workers were wonderful but they were the only part of this park that was redeeming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
A DUSTY and NOISY park. There is a freeway and railroad tracks. There were several trains all night long. We stayed here with Resort Parks International. The staff is friendly and there are activities in the clubhouse. The pool and jacuzzi are clean. The pads are dirt and very narrow. There are cement patios. The roads are not paved. It is close to Algodones and Casino. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Pilot Knob RV Resort is an OK campground but it's unfortunately located immediately along Interstate 8, a major highway moving truck traffic into and out of southern California. We stayed in the back of the park so noise at night from the highway was minimized but none the less, it's still very noticeable inside a Class A Motor Home. All the streets are dirt/gravel and there's lots of dust but that's just part of being in the desert. Electric, water, and sewer services were adequate. Over-the-air TV reception from Yuma, AZ, is quite good and there are NO restrictions to satellite reception. Many of the sites have cement pads on which to sit in your lawn chair to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. There are few amenities in this park yet it's called a "resort", another stretch of the truth. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we had excellent Verizon Broadband and Cell Phone connectivity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2009
$35
What an incredible dump. I'm continually astonished at what people consider a nice campground and rate highly. This is the closest we have had to stay on the highway - continual truck traffic and many many trains. The "resort" is nothing more than dirt. The dog walk was a gate in the fence that let out onto a vast unfenced wasteland. The check-in procedure was an interrogation where I was asked questions that no one else has asked me in my journey across the US. What on earth difference does it make what chemicals I use in my tanks? No other campground seemed to have a problem with their septic systems. Just a weird experience all the way around and an OUTRAGEOUS price for an overnight with only water and electric. These people are strange and I can't recommend them at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
Spent three days/nights here. The wind blew 2 out of the 3 day/nights. Can't have the windows open then. To much dust. There is some interstate noise and train noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
This a Coast to Coast campground. Was a great place for visiting the Yuma, AZ area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
We camped here with our reciprocal agreement through RPI. The campground is very well maintained with plenty of activities through out the day. The restrooms, as well as the rest of the park, are very clean. The wind blows here a lot which can make it dusty at times. The Wi-Fi only works at or near the clubhouse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
This is a membership park and we stayed using our Adventure Outdoor Resorts membership. We were very disappointed in the attitude of staff and volunteers in the park. They seemed very snobby and not at all welcoming. We were also disappointed in the lack of activities. Other parks have water aerobics and exercise classes which this did not. (There was an older couple who had some tapes that they shared to exercise with but when they left-no more). The staff said "this is your club house, use it" but when a few of us attempted to, we were rudely interrupted by the staff and the quilting corner seemed to rule the roost. Several of us said we won't be back. The schedule when published had several mistakes re: times. Very disappointing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$10
Have camped here many times. Staff very friendly but it is true what others have said "Quilting Rules". It is close to Mexico, has great meals. What I hate is even though there are sites close to the club house empty (lots of them) they stick you in the back. Laundry is usually closed or on a two or three day use schedule. Pool is extremely small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$8
Wonderful activities, entertainment, meals, games, good church service. Heated pool, spa. Good local activities. Neaby Casino. Los Algadones is one of the better border towns, with few beggar children, good food. Nearby Yuma with flea mkt. Close to Salton Sea w/beaches, Slab City, Salvation Mtn. Interesting area towns to see agriculture harvesting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2005
$7
This is a Western Horzion-Sunbelt-AOR, Coast to Coast, RPI & Passport America membership park. Access is easy, about 1/4 mile off I-8. It is about 5 miles from Algodones, Mexico. Little to no shade trees, but who cares in the winter months. level gravel sites, nice and wide plenty of room for our 36' triple slide 5th wheel, concrete patios, roads have what seems like 3' deep trenchs accross roads for speed bumps. Some of the best winter sunsets can be seen from here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2004
$30
This is a Coast to Coast, RPI & Passport America park. It is a membership park & is better than some that we have stayed at. We stayed here in 2003 & 2004. Access is easy, about 1/4 mile off I-8. It is about 5 miles from Algodones, Mexico. Getting in the entrance of the park is rather tight, but we did it with our 39 ft. motorhome & tow car. Sites are gravel, level, of adequate size for a big rig & easy to get in to. There are concrete patios. Roads are gravel with lots of pot holes, which they call speed bumps. Roads of reasonably wide. Laundry & showers are clean. There were a few trees, but they are no problem. Visual appeal is average. There is a security gate for which they give you a code number to use at night when it is closed. We would go back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com