219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Silver Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (231) 873-3083
CGID5105

Silver Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
237
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   6   8   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
We stayed here again the end of July. We were here last year too at the same time (see review immediately below). This time we were on the lake side of the campground. This side is extremely tight! Hookups were good. The only issue is the dump station is in the other campground on the other side of the highway, kind of a pain to drag the gray water tote across the highway. The area is all sand, so you better love sand if your in the area. Lots to do in the area, and the town is within walking distance from the campground. For the price it was a decent stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This is the first time we have ever stayed at a state park. It was how I expected it to be. Not much other than a place to park the trailer and have a fire, nothing special. No grass, all dirty sand. We were on the other side of the road away from the lake. The rangers would do there usual walk around. Nothing more than just a presence to be seen. Within walking distance to town and attractions. Only a short drive to the sand dunes. Next time we go we will probably stay in a full service campground even though it may be $20 more a night. Very fun area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
We stayed in site 228, in the section across the road from the lake. The campground for the weekend was full every night, very heavily used. But we were surprised at how calm it was, especially after dark. We were concerned that with all the ORVs & 4x4s, that it may be a bit rambunctious, but it was VERY quiet after dark and pretty normal during the day. The park maintains strict control over ORV use inside the campground - not allowed unless road licensed. The restrooms and showers (separate from the toilet area in separate rooms) were not spotless due to the heavy use, but fairly clean (sand is everywhere). One complaint we do have is that multiple vehicles are allowed on each site, so the access roads were very tight and crowded with all the vehicles (even beyond the ORVs) - getting some large units in and out could be a bit tough. Unit across road was very shaded, no grass, but large sites. The unit near the lake had trees but not as thick, so some grass, but sites were much tighter. You can walk to the nearby town for basic food, hamburgers, go-carts, etc. You do hear some of the noise from the road that runs between the two units - it is heavily traveled by the ORV traffic heading to the dunes.The park also has a beach & day use area, a boat launch, off-site parking for extra vehicles & trailers, and within the campground along the lake front, a nice large grassy area with benches for kids to play and to sit and watch the activity on the lake & the sunset. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Nice CG in a great location. CG is right on Silver Lake and the Dunes of Lake Michigan. Plenty of activities for the whole family with the lake and the dunes right there. Beautiful sunsets over Silver Lake. Our site had a great view of the lake, and was less than 200' feet from the shore. The town area is a short bike ride away, as is the lighthouse on Lake Michigan. The CG is very full in the summer, with plenty of families and kids around. We rented a pontoon boat and spent a day at the beaches by the dunes. We had a great time exploring and climing the dunes I recommend the Jeep tours on the dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Very nice park! We had a site with a great view of Silver Lake (#6). The sites are close together, but it did not seem that we were on top of our neighbors. The sand dunes are the major draw at this park. There are 3 sections (commercial dune ride, hiking, and personal ORVs). Also Little Sable Point lighthouse is in the park area along Lake Michigan ($2 adult, $1 child to climb). The rest rooms were very well maintained. However the showers could have been hotter. We will be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Rating of excellent only if you stay across the street from Silver Lake. Those sites are shady and large. The sites in the portion of the campground that are next to the lake are small and noisy. Lots to do in town. Swim at Silver Lake or on the beach at Lake Michigan. There is a river for fishing and a lighthouse to explore. We will be going back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
There are two sections of this campground. One section on the lake and another across the road. Right across the lake from the dunes with great views. Busy campground with many off road vehicles due to the dunes. Can be noisy at times, sometimes early in the morning. All sites are shaded, some are larger than others. Little or no privacy. No alcohalic beverages are allowed. There is a nice beach at the campground or you can drive to the lighthouse where there is a fantastic beach on Lake Michigan. If you don't have your own off road vehicle you can ride the dunes via Mac Woods Dune Rides ($15) or rent dune buggies at one of the rental sites. Silver Lake is a place with lots to do putt putt golf, go carts, shops or just walking up in the dunes. Nice sunsets. We always have a great time here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com