206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nolin Lake State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (270) 286-4240
CGID5106

Nolin Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   8   10   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Wow! What a beautiful state park! We stayed here for two nights while visiting Mammoth Caves. The sites are huge and spaced well apart. The outside sites on the loop all border Nolin Lake, but the inside sites have great lake views as well. All the sites on the main drive back up to woods. The roads are plenty wide and most sites are accessible even to big rigs (no pull-throughs though). The bathhouse/bathrooms/laundry was very clean and modern. There is a nice playground and volleyball court in the campground and a beach just a short distance away. If you look at Nolin Lake SP on Google Earth you’ll see many sites underwater. They had severe flooding in 2010 (when the picture was taken) that required a lot of rebuilding, so most everything is fairly new. The sites include a nice metal picnic table, fire ring, lantern hook, and our site even had a cable bolted to the table to tie a pet. The roads are all paved and the sites are crushed limestone. We talked with the camp hostess a good bit and she’s a real sweetheart that has been there a number of years. Note when driving in that you will see a sign that says “roadway ends 2500 ft”. The road ends at the state park, so don’t let it worry you. Also, the shortest route to Mammoth Caves from here requires you to take a (free) ferry across the Green River. The ferry will not accommodate an RV. We stayed here in a 37’ fifth wheel and would love to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Very nice park if you want to just get away. A lot of space between sites and almost all have shade trees. Pretty location with about half the sites right on the lake. The only "entertainment" is the lake but that was fine with us. Only one bath house and it is a good walk from some sites. Again, fine with us since we have a toilet in the trailer but could be a hassle for tent campers with kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
Exceptional state park with large clean sites and good separation from adjoining campers. Camp is a little distant from any groceries but not too remote. Lake front lots are actually a short walk down a short path (10-15 steps) but most are very convenient for bank fishing. We found a rope swing at site 27 and quite a few arrow heads at the bank of site 19/21. If you want proximity to water, try the sites 19 through 29 (odd) and 30/31. There is a small swimming area and good trails to ride bikes with the kids. Short runs for most electric and water lines 25 feet or less. Great park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
This is a beautiful park, sites are very large. It's quiet and serene. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because the showers were not well kept, and there was no hot water. This would not stop us from staying here again. It was an easy drive to Mammoth Caves from here. The only downside, if you can call it that, there was no nearby stores or cell phone coverage. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, Nolin State Park is the place to be! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
Very nice park with level gravel sites. The help was very friendly. There is a large dump site. The roads from the freeways were often very narrow and without shoulders. It is more than 15 miles to the nearest highway that is not a state or county road. If you are going to Mammoth Cave the office will give you driving instructions that include a ferry ride across the Green River. It is much shorter than taking the road around the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
This was a great campground. We stayed here for 1 week. The sites were large and level with a gravel base. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers were clean. The beach area was clean, but there are no lifeguards on duty. I would highly recommend this campground for a visit to the Mammoth Cave area. Grocery stores are about 30 minutes away in Brownsville. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$21
This is a great place to stay. The size is small so even if they were full it would not be a problem. The sites are huge. Everyone has a level, graveled drive and a large area with a picnic table and a fire ring. There is even a cooking grate on the fire ring. There are sites right on the lake so you can fish right next to your camp site. I understand that if you have a boat there is an area near the campsites that you can pull your boat into, so you do not have to keep taking your boat in and out of the water. There is a playground and horseshoes and walking trails. They still have a lot of cleanup from the January Ice Storm but the park is very neat and clean. It is suggested to call for reservations. They are most likely full all the time. I plan on staying here many times! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
This is a top notch park. The facilities and grounds were always clean and there were a number of groups using them so staff was busy to maintain. I used the laundry facility - looked like fairly new machines and cheap prices ($1). The only complaint I would have is the push button set up in the showers. You can't regulate the temperature of the water and it was scalding hot. I'm not sure if the push button actually saves water - but it is a pain to have to have to use. There is only one hiking trail but it's a nice walk. Not enough rain to have any water at the falls. The trail needed some better marking and the staff was receptive to this comment. Speaking of staff - they were great!! The park is convenient to Mammoth Cave NP which is a must see. Hope to visit there again to see more of the park above ground - I spent 4.5 hours on a 4 mile tour of the cave and it was awesome. This is a great park to stay at if you're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Excellent park. Very clean. We stayed on site number 15. The Gravel pad was very flat and we had a lot of room. Trees separated us on one side from the next site and on the other side we were 30 feet from the rest rooms and playground. It is a short walk to the water for fishing or swimming. The beach is clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The camp store is small and it is about an hour drive to Wal-Mart so make sure and bring everything you need. I camped here with my wife and 3 kids and we will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
My wife and our 3 children stayed 5 nights in this campground. We enjoyed the beach and the playground equipment. There was ample room between the campsites, nice trees, and a hiking trail. Although the campground was mostly occupied, it remained quiet and relaxing. The park was very well maintained with paved roads and cut grass. The loudest things were the boats that came blasting by infrequently during the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
We used this park as a base camp for five nights during the middle of the week while visiting Mammoth Cave and other area attractions. Absolutely beautiful setting with sites spaced far apart, a nice mix of sun and shade, friendly staff, and clean facilities. Since we were here during the middle of the week we practically had the place to ourselves but we were told that anyone wanting to stay for a weekend should make reservations because it is a small campground and fills up quickly, especially on weekends during nice weather. A few things you should know are that this campground is in a remote location in a dry county, and the camp store only has a limited number of items. Make sure you have all your supplies and beverages with you when you arrive. If going to Mammoth Cave it is about 30 minutes to the visitor’s center, but you are entering the park thru the back way and roads are not well marked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
Excellent park. A bunch of space between sites and ample room. Close to the Mammoth Cave area, and you can take a ferry across Green River to Mammoth. Park is open year around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$21
This campground is beautiful. It is manicured and well maintained. The staff is friendly and delivers ordered firewood to your campsite. If you do laundry here, be prepared to run the dryers more than once to dry your load. I had to run the dryers twice for a normal load. Also bring supplies needed. There are some small markets within driving distance that carry limited items, for meats and additional items, you will need to drive to Brownsville (believe the closest town) for more extensive shopping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
Very nice and quiet park. There is no major roadway nearby and we never heard any airplanes flying overhead so if you like to hear nature only you will enjoy this park. The campsites had long driveways and level pads; those surrounding the bathhouse were completely paved. Site separation was also nice, I would estimate 75 feet. The bathhouse was very clean and had a laundry room. The camp store was only a small room in the park office with very few provisions and no cold food other than ice cream. With the nearest grocery store many miles away, come prepared. There is nothing more than a couple of convenience stores in nearby Bee Spring. Firewood could be purchased at the office and they deliver it to your site. Very friendly Staff. We visited nearby Mammoth Cave National Park for more hiking trails (Nolin Lake only had one trail) and other activities. Cave City is a little further away and offers plenty of tourist traps and kid friendly attractions. I would recommend this park if you are interested in truly getting away. Our Cingular cell phones didn't even work in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$16
Wonderful campground. Each site has a long drive way, with gravel sites. Good drainage when it rained. Well maintained. Beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff. We arrived after dark and the ranger brought us firewood and trash bags.(A good bit of wood for $3.70). Very steep roads leading to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
The price I quoted here was for Memorial Day weekend, and they make you book for 5 nites instead of the 3 we wanted. The usual price is $22. The park was small, clean, and the sites were large and well spaced. It is almost completely level, which makes it great for biking. They have a small beach area for swimming if you don't have a boat, and the fishing was good. Ticks were bad, though, so take precautions. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com