223582 User submitted reviews online!!
Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (866) 787-2754
CGID5115

Gold Canyon Resort (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
800
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   3   9   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Great park. Fantastic landscaping. Very clean. 24 hour security. Beautiful clubhouse with all the facilities you could want including 2 pools, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzis. Quiet and friendly. Good laundry facilities. Not much to complain about here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
Rate reflects a 30 day rate. Overall we are very satisfied with the resort. The site we had did have cable TV ,electric, and trash were included. For longer stays that differs as per website. The cable is good, the trash pickup is twice a week, and since no can is provided most purchase one. We did at Camping World. The pet area is not adequate in my opinion...poor grass,no trash can there and no lighting. Also limited area to walk the dog. We heard they have plans to expand the pet area in October. The resort location was perfect for us as away from major traffic areas but 10-15 minutes away from anything you need. Also, we went into the housing development across 60 and could bike, walk or hike into the mountain. There is plenty to do in and out of the area such as hike,golf,sight see multiple cities nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$47
We received a coupon for a free visit at a rally. The price I quoted is a daily rate without a coupon. The grounds are lovely with good signage and a nice entry road. The roads by the camp sites are a bit on the narrow side for easy maneuverability in and out of sites. The sites are gravel with nice-sized concrete patio pads. Our site had quite a slope, but most appeared to be flat. The utilities are placed at the back of the site and we had to use an extension for the sewer. The majority of the sites are occupied by older park models but most have attractive landscaping. The park is immaculate and the green of the golf course, and the landscaped park models, are a nice change from the rocky grounds of much of this area in Arizona. There are many activities and we felt welcomed and were invited to participate in dances and meals. There is one dog park. It is a nice size and has grass, but no shade in the heat of the day and no lighting at night. There is no WiFi or cable unless you purchase a package. Other than that, my only complaint was that we backed up to a park model with a noisy A/C unit and a noisier dryer. We would stay here again, especially if we could stay for a longer period of time so we could get involved in activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$44
A large 55 plus park. They have a nine hole par three golf course on the grounds. The course is in nice condition. Have a beautiful pool and two spas. Lots of things going on if you want to do them. Lots of permanent residents but everybody was very friendly. Great staff--very friendly--and the grounds were well maintained. Have a security gate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
Hard to believe what you do not get for $45 a nite. You get a nice lady at check in but the men that park you and hook you up could not be ruder. They all repeated again and again that we are not able to park you or hook you up to our own desires, then you will not be able to stay here, so prepare to leave. What you get is a large park that is gravel everywhere except for a cement pad. Nice dog area. If you want to stay with a few RV's and thousands of Park models, this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
Here with an RV owners' club, thus the reasonable group rate. Fantastic, luxury park. Nice mix of park models and RV sites. Gravel sites with cement pads for chairs, table, etc. Great food was prepared and served by gracious resident hosts. Small sandwich shop in park along with gold shop. A general store for forgotten or run out of necessities might be a nice touch, but large stores are not too far away. Three close by our site, well cared for "bark" parks were appreciated by our dog, and well lit for nighttime use. Lovely large swimming pool and spa. Equally clean smaller pool and spa. Park advertised many winter activities. Still playing afternoon volleyball in the large pool. Comfortable outdoor seating area near the large pool. Grounds were well-manicured and a pleasure to explore. Huge, paved, roads throughout park. Back in spaces allowing easy maneuvering of big rigs onto sites. A bicycle or golf cart is helpful to get around as park is huge. Immaculate shower facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
Facilities are first class. Many activities to choose from. If you are bored its because you choose to be bored. The main building and adjoining rooms and spacious and well kept. The ballroom is lovely and hosts many nights of dancing at reasonable prices ( $4 to $10 per person) and the bands are well vetted. The park is clean and cared for. Good mix of motor homes and park models. The age group is 55+ and many are aged 65-75 range. We were to stay a few days, but instead we booked for a month then added on another month because its a place to return to again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
The rate reflects $800/month over 28 days + electric. The park is quite nice and clean. Wide paved roads, pea-stone sites with concrete pads. We did not find the other residents overly friendly compared with other large parks. Facilities work well. I would have rated it higher, except there is no free wi-fi, except in the club house, and there are no dumpsters to put your garbage into. Collection is twice/week and the birds attack the bags until they collect them, usually late in the afternoon, yet they want them out at 6 am. A very nice park, but over-priced in our opinion. For that reason alone we will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
We came her for a four day stay and due to an auto accident stayed for four weeks. The rate reflects weekly rates and mix of season and off-season rates. This is a first class RV resort that is well cared for. The staff and residents are very friendly. Our experience was so postive that we plan on returning next year for an extended stay during the season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$48
We stayed here a month. We enjoyed it so much we are coming back for 3 months in 2013. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$45
This is the place. If you want to see the RV park to judge all other parks by, visit this one! Would have rated it a 12 if possible. Everything was clean, operating properly, and well maintained. Staff knew the answers to everything. Very friendly regulars. Not cheap, but well worth the 'splurge'. Spent one extremely relaxing month here between tennis courts, pool (s), and sauna room. Will live here when I hit lottery. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$8
We were here for 3 months, Oct - Dec, and received their special rate of $750. We really enjoyed this campground. The facilities are is very good shape, clean and well-landscaped and well-cared for. Pride of ownership showed through. The people who lived her are very nice and friendly. Most of the units are park models but there are many people who travel in their RV's who winter here also. Most of the RV'ers are return visitors. There is a golf course, tennis courts, pickle ball courts, several pools, 8 pool tables and a myriad of other activities. We especially liked the close. The lots were spacious and consisted of pea stone. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
We have stayed in this Resort for the past 5 winters. Last year we purchased a Park Model so that should tell the story. The Facilities are great the staff is friendly and helpful. The activity Director does an excellent job. Although there is never a want for something to do. The area is beautiful and the guest are always fun to be with. I would rate it a 10 but no park is perfect although Gold Canyon is close. My daily rate is based on the monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
As first time snowbirds to Arizona, our plan was to stay 3 months at Gold Canyon and then 3 months in Florida. We were so impressed with the resort, the excellent management, the great amenities, Arizona's fantastic weather, that we purchased a Park Model after only 3 weeks. We have been here a little over 3 months and the resort has lived up to all our expectations. The other residents are great and there is a good sense of community. We plan to spend many happy years here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
We have stayed here for many years and 2010 is our last. This park is experiencing a meltdown. The management has become very confrontational and intimidating/condescending. The park is quite pretty but not worth the overinflated prices. Come on, it is gravel sites and a slab of cement. There are many, many other parks which are much nicer and at a better price. This park used to be a jewel but sadly now is lacklustre. The final straw for us when we were in the pool with many other folks this winter when the manager came through the pool area like a stormtrooper and was asking everybody, including those in their swimwear IN the pool, to show their I.D. badges. Everyone has to have their badges visible at "all times" but come on, IN THE POOL!!! We have had enough! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
I would rate it a 10 but the sites are a little too small for a 10. It is clean, the people are friendly and there's lots of activities. Also a lovely clubhouse and pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
We have spent the last 3 winters here and have reservation for next winter. The rate I quoted is based on the monthly rate divided by 30 days. The park is near the limit of 80% Park Models, how ever all the people staff and guest are wonderful. This is were a Hotel it would be a 5 star Hotel that you bring your own bed. If they don't have it no other park does either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
We stayed here for 2 months and will come back again. Very nice campers even the ones in the park models. The club house is excellent and lots of activities. Lots to do in the area as anyone who has been here will know. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
If you do not want to stay in the massive Mesa RV parks and do want a quiet, friendly resort, then Gold Canyon RV and Golf Resort is for you. Spotless campground and facilities with a nice par 3 executive golf course. Lots of activities at the resort which you can take part in or ignore. This is about 90% park models, but within 24 hours, both of our neighbors came over and introduced themselves, and offered help or information if we needed it. Good location to explore western Phoenix. We drove into Phoenix one day, and it took 35 minutes. Mesa is about 10 minutes away. Plenty of restaurants and shops in Mesa. A must visit in the area is the Desert Botanical Gardens in Phoenix. Until May 31, 2009, the DBG has the Chihuly glass exhibit throughout the park and it is spectacular. Check it out online at www.dbg.org. We would definitely stay here again, and probably for a lot longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We spent a month here and would have stayed longer if we could. People are super friendly and the club house and pool are superior. We found the showers as clean as any top notch hotel. Hiking trails all around, mostly up into the mountains. We loved the howling coyotes and the view of the Superstition Mountains from our site. Restaurants are both close by and 20 miles away in Mesa. We signed up for three months next winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$23
We stayed for 3 months and this is a great park with excellent people staying in the park. The manager increased rent by 100.00 per month for 2010 . He does not seem to get that in the park people is what makes a park good . Yes they have all the facilities and amenities but so do other parks. With him raising the monthly rent people will be leaving. This will make this park the same as all others, only as good as the people that are left with a lot leaving.. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
We enjoyed Gold Canyon RV and Golf Resort very much. We found the staff, at all levels, to be extremely friendly and helpful. The folks in the park models were friendly as well and make you feel welcome. We have not found that to be the case in all parks. The RV sites are quite wide, giving you a lot of room to relax and entertain. The views of the Superstition Mountains are better on some sites than others, but as you walk around the park, the views are gorgeous. There are numerous stores and restaurants within 7 miles of the park as well as entertainment. The Renaissance Festival is held just 4 miles from the park during February and I believe it continues into April. Hiking in the Superstition Mountains is superb. Pick a flat trail or one that climbs. Whatever you choose, the trails are excellent and the views extraordinary. A 23 mile drive up State highway 88 takes you to Tortilla Flat. The road is a gorgeous mountain road with vistas to die for. The town has a great restaurant and is a restoration of the old stage coach stop. The clubhouse at Gold Canyon is huge and beautiful with so many activities you have no excuse to claim boredom. We are going back for 4 months in 07-08. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
Nice park lots of activities in the winter. Very clean facilities. Most sites only have paved patios and a fine gravel type base on the rest of the site. They have a nine hole par three golf course that winds around the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
This is a senior oriented resort with mostly winter residents in park models. There are some RV spaces scattered throughout the resort. The spaces are quite wide, with a small cement patio. We were in the only space available that week, as the park fills up during winter months. The clubhouse is very nice, with a large, open area for billiards, and a nice pool area. There is a full schedule of social activities, dances, wine tasting, and entertainment. The staff was very friendly and courteous from the gate guard, to check-in to the person who escorted us to our site. They take only cash or check, no credit cards. The 9 hole Executive Golf Course was nicely maintained. This resort is on the far east edge of the Phoenix area, so there is not much around, but the views of the mountains and fresh air is wonderful. There is one supermarket nearby and a couple of western style steakhouses. Plus, it is just a mile from the Gold Canyon Golf Resort and Spa, so there is great golf nearby and restaurants at the resort. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
This is a fine park and I have camped here many times. I now rent an annual space but am cancelling. The staff are snobby, grumpy and rude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com