223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Sam's Family Spa was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (760) 329-6457
CGID5116

Sam's Family Spa

Camp Information
Sites
153
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   9   8   8   4   5   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Nice park with a nice view of the mountains. Good level sites with easy utility hookups and good line of sight for a satellite dish. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$50
The good part about this park is the pool area. It has several hot pools and a normal pool. There are ducks and fish in a pond and various birds to look at. It is great for families in that way. The bad is the spaces. They are so narrow and close together that we had to re align several times to be able to get our slides out and open our sewer door. When another 40' coach parked next to us, we couldn't both have our awnings out at the same time. Some of the full time residents made us uncomfortable, but others were very friendly. The park was really loud on the weekend days and evenings, but this was a holiday weekend. My biggest complaint though is the nightly rate. The weekly rate was reasonable, but $50 for these tiny spots is really out of whack. We would grudgingly stay here again, but only because so few parks in this area are kid-friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$50
Stayed two nights. Quiet park. Easy back in for 38' coach. RVs only go left at the office, so park on the entrance road prior to the parking lot. Mobile homes are on right side of the park and going right is not fun. Got a space the same day of reservation. Price maybe why snowbirds don't full it up. Will return. We loved the birds, pond, pool, and hot baths! Wi-Fi was usable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$44
We come here several times a year and we have seen an impressive array of upgrades. The steam room is a real joy. Bathrooms/showers are always kept clean. They have a game room with billiard table as well. The only complaint I have is that most RV camps provide repeat customer incentives in the way of free weekends after so many paid. There is no loyalty program for those who consistently return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$44
Very nice park. Relaxing and fun. Lots of families. Pools are great and they have a lake with birds. Very nice. Hot in summer perfect in the winter. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$44
Ladies at check-in were friendly and helpful, even when dealing with the difficult people in front of us. Great pool facilities! Sites are plenty big, and not too off-level. I checked Yes for Pull Through sites because if you park in the southern Overnighters and Groups section, it's pretty empty so you can drive through a neighboring spot. The drive into Palm Springs is an easy drive, so it doesn't seem so long. Quiet at night. Full-timers and residents are friendly. Above average dog park. Would love to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
We chose this park as the mineral pools sounded nice and they were! Staff was also very friendly. The downside was that there was no Wi-Fi unless you set up your own account with a separate company for $30 a month. As the previous reviewer stated the park model homes were very rundown and in some cases deserted. The surrounding neighborhood was also not very nice. It was a 30 minute drive to Palm Springs or Palm Desert. The bathhouse while clean was "cold." It was a bare concrete floor - a type of bathhouse one might find in a state park, but not in a private campground. The sites were also close together. We could hear the dogs barking in the Motorhome next to us. Rate was based on the monthly rate. I would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$44
We rolled the dice and stayed here as it looked like it would be fun for the kids. So here is my take on it. The good - The hot pools are great. The spaces are very generous. In contrast to many of the reviews, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had a maintenance issue with our site's dump, and they were out and fixed it in a reasonable amount of time. The bad - This might not even be truly bad but rather not our taste. Once away from the pools, we didn't think the park was that nice. There is a large mobile home area that looks like a run down trailer park. A large portion of the park is considered "overflow" and as a result, it looks like a wasteland that they forgot about. Most of the sites are fairly uneven. We saw a lot of rigs with wheels off the ground and they still weren't quite level. If you are looking for a night or maybe two to relax in a hot spring spa, this place is fine. If you are looking for a nice place to vacation or call home for a month, I would look elsewhere considering the many choices in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$44
Amazing experienced. Our kids (6 and 3) absolutely loved the pool area. It is truly an oasis in the desert. Great ambiance with palm trees, very green and soft grass, and the sound of waterfalls. Check in was easy, staff friendly, and we were allowed to choose our own site. Highly recommended! My only suggestion is that it would have been nice to have a spa that is truly outside, so as to soak up the sun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
Remembering this is the desert, the sites are sandy, not level- which makes it harder to level. As said before, you are told to find a spot and then report back to the office which is a good idea. The reason for being stingy with a better rating is the lack of level sites and we could NEVER sign-on to their WiFi. Pretty expensive for being that far off the path and nothing around to see...The staff were very friendly which always helps make an iffy stay better! In all honesty we didn't go into their waterfall/swim area because of our pet. That might have made a difference in our view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Sam’s Family Spa…We spent a month at this wonderful spot. The crew is first rate, knowledgeable, helpful and very friendly. While some complain about the wind in Desert Hot Springs it was not that big of a deal for us. We did have maybe 6 or 7 windy days during the February month. Occasionally you hear kids playing or riding their bikes…but that is the Family in “Sam’s Family Spa” The pool was always clean and warm at about 86 degrees then you have a choice of four mineral pools with increasing temps. (rate reflects monthly price) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$44
Sam's Family Spa makes a nice stepping off place if you're headed east. Like most desert parks, Sam's is frequently besieged by wind and, unfortunately, the desert gravel spots at Sam's are not very level. On the positive side however, the four hot pools and swimming pool are incredibly immaculate. The water is changed on a nightly basis. The management ranges from friendly to a bit temperamental. If you don't wear your wrist band for pool/spa entrance, you're accosted by the dreaded night Nazi attendant. OK: I should have worn my wrist band as requested. I offered to walk back to get the band, but she gave me an insouciant wave and allowed me to pass through. Upon arrival, instead of being assigned an RV spot, you must wander the RV areas to find a vacant spot and then report back to a young lady whose limited English skills leave something to be desired. With as much territory to cover in this park, either an assigned spot or a friendly guide would be very desirable since part of the Sam's is occupied by full-timers. Wi-Fi is provided by Tengo Internet. Two day's usage is free; after that you must pay the going rate. The Internet signal is strong and worked quite well. All in all, our visit to Sam's was very enjoyable and I would recommend it. Many snowbirds must agree with me since many Canadian and cool weather states are well represented. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$44
We spent 4 nights here and found Sam's to be a very friendly and accommodating park. The pool area is a like a true oasis in the desert with multiple pools and hot springs and very lush landscaping. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Love this place! It is off the beaten path and when you first arrive you think it is just a Mobile home community, but don't be fooled it has lots of RV camping. The sites are level desert sand with full hook-ups and picnic tables. This place has absolutely immaculate rest rooms and showers. The best part are the hot spring pools. We enjoyed the waters for 2 days. Staff was great and this was a nice Oasis in the desert. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$45
We enjoyed our week staying at Sam's. The park is a bit weathered, but it was clean and comfortable,with a friendly feel. The pool and spa's are wonderful. The cable is fair. It is nice to have concrete slabs. We will be returning here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$37
Day rate based on weekly stay. There is nothing wrong with this park other than being somewhat dated. However, it is well maintained. We planned to stay one week and stayed three as the weather was nice and the park was not full during the week days. Thus, few kids and often was only a few at the pools. Sites are okay, but tight if park was full. Mix of long-term, permanent and overnighters. However, it has a good feel of community and good interaction between everyone. The pools and restroom are clean and the grounds are well kept. The park is 15 minutes from town, but it is easy to get around the near by towns. Utilities are fine and sites fairly level. Little shade, but good views of surrounding mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$44
One of the most relaxing campgrounds I have come across. Friendly people, great service and perfect pools. Really great pond and small dog, off leash dog park. Really kid friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$44
I can't add much to what others have already said about the park itself. We stayed 11 nights and fell in love with the "Sam's way of life." We really enjoyed the activities put on by the park staff and all the friendly people we met there. We loved the pool, the hot tubs, and the easy-going attitude of the park staff. We hated to leave and can't wait to go back for an even longer stay someday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
We love this place! Everything the other reviewers said is correct. The sites are narrow and not well planned, but the mineral baths are wonderful. (There are four with different temps, plus a pool and a pool spa.) Small fenced dog run was good for our dog. We met lots of nice people here. Originally we were only going to stay for 1-2 days, but ended up staying a week. We would have stayed longer if we could. My son really enjoyed feeding the ducks and the swan, and there was a kingfisher and egret living on the small lake, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$44
We’ve stayed here about a dozen times in the last couple of years and have always enjoyed our stay. Spaces are on dirt but most are fairly level. Spaces come with concrete slab with picnic tables, some sites are 50 amp and other only 30, but they are well marked as to which have 50amp service. The hot springs are very nice and well kept. The pool is also very nice and is naturally heated by the hot springs although not nearly as warm as the hot springs. Bathrooms and showers are clean. There is a nice Sauna but no steam room which is disappointing given the natural access to thermally heated water. The park is beautifully landscaped with large palm trees and a pond with fish and other wildlife. There is also a large grassy picnic area with BBQ pit. This is a family orientated park but weekdays are not nearly as busy as the weekends due to daytrip visitors, so if you’re looking for quiet time, stay during the week. Disappointments: They accept no discount of any kind including AAA or FMCA and regular visitors do not get free nights stays. Cable TV is significantly lacking in channel options and quality. They should invest in better cable which is why they didn't get a 10 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$43
We've stayed here in both a pop-up and now our motorhome. We love this place, we don't have kids but it looks like this would be a great place for them. As adults looking for some peace and quiet, I would suggest not staying here. However, if you don't mind a little noise and kids running and riding their bikes all over the place, this place is awesome. Nice sites, spacious for and RV park, nice wide road, 50 amp hookups and cable TV. The hot springs are REALLY REALLY nice, the pool is GREAT and the park is beautifully landscaped with large palm trees. Bathrooms/showers are nice and well kept up. What kept me from giving this place a 10, was the sewer hook ups. They are non-threaded and don't seat very well. Some stick up out of the ground pretty high, to the point were some people with lower drains may have a problem dumping. The last thing that prevented at 10 was the VERY LOW water pressure. I'm not sure if this is due to the way it's supplied (from the springs maybe?) or what, but wide open with no regulator it was pretty weak. Aside from those two things, this place is GREAT, this was our 3rd visit and we certainly plan to visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$44
Stayed at park off and on throughout Feb, and March. Never a problem getting a site. Loved the Hot Springs. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$17
We spent more than a month here and enjoyed every second. There are large sites with plenty of space between the units. The roads are paved, but with gravel sites. The regular pool and the hot pools fed by hot springs were always warm. The hot pools were the centre for the social activities but regular social event were also organized in the club hall. The name Family Spa says it all: it was a great place for every member of the family. The reasons for 8 rather than 10 was that the Internet was provided by Tengo rather than the park itself. This is not only costly, but also inconvenient. We had trouble connecting and was told to try again. It worked the second time, but I was charged for two connections for the month. Tengo wouldn't correct the mistake until I showed them the statement from the bank. As we were Snowbirders, this could not be accomplished until we returned to Canada. In the future we will avoid parks that use outside Internet providers. We will return to this park but will not use Tengo again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$44
We really liked this park. The people working here were very friendly and helpful. The hot pools were fabulous and very clean. The camp sites were a good size. There were limited cable channels, and internet was through a 3rd party for $4.95, but worked well. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This is a good desert spa park. The pools are clean and the surrounding pool area is shaded and pleasant. Lots of sites, helpful staff. Of course, you can always use more shade in the desert in September but we have always enjoyed our stays here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$44
This park has two types of folks staying. Permanent residents in mobile homes, and RV folks who are both long and short term. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The sites are back ins only. Would have preferred a pull through, but we knew ahead of time that there were none. We had good internet service, however it was an additional $4.95 per day through Tengo. The sites are a bit tight considering that they are back ins only, but we did see big 40' rigs there, so the sites were large enough for those. The back in sites and the price caused me to rate it an 8. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$38
This was an amazing campground. It was very family friendly. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The pools were always warm and clean. There were quite a few permanent residents, but everyone that we spoke to were friendly and nice. We actually stayed an extra week because we loved it so much. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
Nice campground. They do have cable but you end up with 8 channels total. WiFi is extra through TengoInternet. It does work, but it is slow. We really liked the sauna, hot springs and pool area. We stayed here a month and went almost everyday. This is a great location for Joshua Tree Natl Park, Coachella Valley Preserve, Palm Springs and other area attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$50
This park is really unique and whimsical. We found the spots spacious enough for our big rig, but we had electrical problems at both of our sites. They will need to upgrade soon. Inside the pool gate, however, is a tropical paradise! Wildlife is abundant in the area of the pond. Next to the pond they have a picnic area with different animals featured including peacocks. The pool was wonderful and the hot spring pools were so relaxing. The sauna was great as well as the locker rooms for the pool/spa area. We most appreciated the welcome mat they put out for families. We had just left Tucson where we had a very difficult time finding parks that would accept couples with children. The nearby Palm Springs had plenty of food and entertainment. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$40
Great family campground. Fantastic pool and hot tub facility. Sites were very wide with a patio and picnic table. Rocks and sand were the materials used in each campsite. Hookups were old, but sufficient. Well return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$34
I agree it is a strange park, but we loved it. Half of the place is mobile homes and the other half is an RV resort. There are 4 natural mineral pools and a large swimming pool that is also heated by the natural hot springs. There is a sauna which is seldom used but in great shape. There are showers in the bathroom areas that can be used if you prefer not to use yours in the RV. It is very clean and the staff is very friendly. They have a small store with most of what you could need. The entrance to the pools is carefully watched to make sure you are staying at the camp. They do this by requiring a wristband to enter the pool area. The pool areas can get quite busy with children so keep that in mind. We will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$50
The staff was rude and unhelpful. The campsites were crowded. The spas were very dirty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$38
The name says it all. Not a park for retired folks. Would be great for families. When you check in they tell you to find a spot and come back and tell them what number. Asked if it was ok to drive through with a 40' MH and toad. They said do what you like. Don't do it!!! Will not be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$50
This place is pretty worn out. It could use some attention but I guess it is the desert. There is a big pool, a covered baby pool and three (or four) pools of verying temperatures which were nice. There is a big pond full of fish you can feed - it was great for the kids - but not fishing allowed. There are a lot of permanent residents on side of the project. The spaces for regular rental each have a concrete pad and is just dirt otherwise. There is a *very* small playground that consists of a swing and a very small climbing gym. I will likely take a pass on staying here again - its just not our style. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$38
This is a strange park, but we love it and have been many times. Half of the place is mobile homes and the other half is an RV resort. There are 4 natural mineral pools and a large swimming pool that is also heated by the natural hot springs. It is very clean and the staff is very friendly. They have a small store with most of what you could need. We will definitely go back again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com