214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Holland State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (616) 399-9390
CGID5117

Holland State Park

Camp Information
Sites
309
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   8   3   3   1   7   1   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We just left this state park and plan on never returning. We stayed in Lake Macatawa Woodstock loop. Our family was heading to the lighthouse and to get through the gate were treat like criminals. The men at the gate house were very rude. The lake campground was actually a parking lot and were not allowed to have fires. We regret ever stopping here and will never return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
We reserved online for a 50 amp site but when we arrived we found we had been assigned to a 30 amp site. The attendant was very apologetic and helpful. With the approval of the manager and a few dollars more they moved us from the Macatawa site to the Beach site-well worth the additional cost. The campsites at the beach are more spacious and much prettier. In the future I would request a site that backs up to a sand dune. But given we were there the weekend before July 4th, we were so happy to have a site with FHU. There was a nice picnic table but no fire pit. There was no wi-fi or cable but the price was right and we were a few hundred feet from Lake Michigan. We will stay here again if the beach campground is available. Space is important to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
We stayed during the Tulip Festival and found the campground not 1/2 full. Sites were adequate but for some without skill navigating trees on their sites it could be a problem. There were 5 units in our group, and getting sites back-to-back was great. The park has a NO-Alcohol rule but that was not a problem for our group. Hiking trails in the park with dunes, beach, lake fishing, boat launches, disc golf, and marinas nearby was a joy. Local restaurants were great and prices reasonable. We will probably all return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
This has to be the worst State park I have ever stayed in. It was absolutely filthy. The first site we tried to back into was way too short for our trailer. I went to the office and the rude young lady told me she was leaving and I had to decide between the site that was too short or one that was on an incline. I picked the one on the incline because I could not get into the first site, although I was very specific with the reservationist I spoke to on the phone. The campground was packed with families. Our fire pit was full of empty plastic bottles from the previous camper. I can't imagine what the camp host job is? It certainly is not to pick up trash. The sites are poorly marked. People park everywhere. This was my first experience at a MI state park. I sure hope all the parks in MI are not like this one, since I will be here 2 months. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
We stayed at the Beach Campground. The sites were nicely paved, but were very tight to position our 34' fifth wheel, and it was not a good place for pets. The campground is on a nice beach area, but it is very crowded there on the weekends. You must register at the Lake Macatawa Campground office before heading to the Beach Campground. You also have to pay an additional $8 fee for one night for a Recreation Passport. Very disappointed with our experience here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This is a very dirty state park. Restrooms smelled like urine all week. The grounds are not kept up and the sites are super dirty if you have kids. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We liked this campground, sites are on the smallish side, but the area is nice and you are close to Lake Michigan and the Ottawa Beach Store. Was a bit noisy at night. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This is by far one of the worst and overpriced campgrounds we have ever stayed at. We were at the Lake Macatawa "Pines" loops. Having prepaid online for our site, we were one of the many who arrived with the surprise of having to pay an extra $16.00 a day for vehicle passes (one for motorhome and one for toad). For a 2 night stay, that equaled $45.00 for 30 amp as the only hookup, with an impossibly unlevel dirt site crammed in with too many tent campers and no privacy. Place is not "waterfront" but is across the busy street from a small park. Bathrooms and showers were always filthy and overcrowded. Lake Michigan beach is 2 miles away, with a smaller "beach" loop that is simply a parking lot on the beach. Much cleaner private park with full amenities and hookups was down the road a mile, and for $3.00 more a day would have been well worth it. Will never stay at this park again. Michigan State Parks have a lot to learn from the clean and efficient Florida State Parks at half the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
A decent state park and the rates were fair. However, the nightly fee indicated does not include an $8 per night camping fee. We opted for the $29 annual pass. The sites were good size but sandy and very soft in places. We had to turn the motor home sideways in the site to find some ground that would support our jacks. Sites can also be very out of level, depending on which end of the loop your site is. The sites closest to the access road are sloped more that the opposite end. Bring blocks! We also had some heavy rain during our stay. The end sites at the low end had a flooding issue. The other choice in this area for camping is a private resort up the street but for a lot more money and small spaces. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Michigan usually has great state parks but this one was not as good as most. No hot water in the showers. Barely luke warm. My husband did say that the men's restrooms had hot water. The campsites are a little close too. The beach front Holland State Park was all pavement, no trees and parked very close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
We went up to Holland State Park for a long weekend. After we got here we found out it was also Senior Class Trip week, so there were lots of teenage campers in the park. You would think this would mean a wild and raucous party 24/7, but that was not the case. Either there are mild mannered teens in Holland, MI or the park did a great job with ranger monitoring. There was a bit more vehicle traffic the first night we were here, but once the park closed for the night, it really quieted down. We stayed on the Pines side, and while we would have enjoyed more room, we were able to fit our 35' motorhome in the space with no problems. As its name suggests, this loop was all pine trees, so provided tons of shade. The Woodstock loop has trees as well, but was definitely sunnier. The restrooms and showers were okay. It was rainy at times while we there, so things got a little muddy. The camp hosts had tons of brochures and books for kids and adults. There are also life jackets available to borrow. There's a small beach on Lake Macatawa across the street. Lake Michigan is about a mile away by car or bike path and the beach there had a basketball court, volleyball nets and a large bathroom. We drove around the beach campground and were glad that it was full, because it is just a parking lot with picnic tables but no fire pits. I guess if you spend all your time at the beach it might be okay, but otherwise it was just a parking lot that must get incredibly hot. No pets are allowed on the beaches, so leave your dog back at camp. If you have a car, check out downtown Holland and the farmers market on Saturdays on Eight Street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This is a great state park that offers 2 types of camping. They have the beach campground right on Lake Michigan, and the inland park that is a couple of blocks from the beach. This campground is a typical state park. Lots of trees, but few modern amenities. No full hook ups, wi-fi, etc. We love the beach campground, which is literally a parking lot adjacent to the beach. Watch the beautiful west Michigan sunsets! Both parks/campgrounds are very clean. Holland is a great city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
Beautiful park and very quiet. We really enjoyed our stay. All sites are pavement sites, but the beach is a short walk away. We enjoyed the pretty sunsets in the evening! A great restaurant nearby is the Ottawa Beach Inn. There was a lot of road construction in the area and we had to follow a detour to the campground. Some of the roads were fairly narrow. We took our dogs to the local dog park which was only a few miles down the road. Since pets are not allowed on the beach, it was nice to have a place where we could take them for a special treat. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
Not really our cup of tea. The park was fine, but too much beach and not enough park for our taste. If you are into the beach go. If you are into Dutch stuff go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Busy place, 3 choices of location, on the lake, in the pines or in the open area. We stayed here and saw the final parade for Tulip Fest. That was well worth the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$43
We were extremely disappointed. In addition to the $29 campsite fee, an additional $8 parking fee for the RV and and additional $6 parking fee for our tow vehicle was tacked on. This totaled $43 per night. The park was old and our site had no water hookups. Road noise can be heard throughout the park all night. The park has an additional camping area near the water. Again, a huge let-down. The "sites" were actually made from a converted parking lot. Painted lines separated one campsite from the next. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Used the beach areas, and were very pleased with the cleanliness of the park and safe access for our family to bike and walk to Lake Macatawa and Lake MIchigan. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
This is a great favorite. Always very clean, very spacious sites, always great neighbors, very quite after hours. There are a lot of great things to do in Holland, plus you have the state park beach Holland, and Tunnel Beach just 1 mile down the road, and Lake Macatawa across the street. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
My family and I enjoyed this campground. We stayed on the beach loop with full hoop-up. The shower houses were very clean and newer. Some of the negatives are that the sites are a bit small with no vegetation for privacy. There is no shade, and if the wind comes off the lake you may not be able to use your awning (However, the lake wind makes the air temp. much more comfortable then just a few miles inland). Also there is no grass, all pavement and sand with limited areas to walk dogs and no playground for the kids. My kids still had a great time playing in the sand behind our camper, going to the beach, and riding bikes. Also...use caution...if you don't care to camp with lots of teenagers you should avoid the first week in June. It seems to be a local tradition to celebrate graduation with a big week long party at the campgrounds. DNR is always making rounds in the campgrounds and would be quick to respond to any issues. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
We camped here back in 2008. It's your typical state park camping, but we and the kids enjoyed it. There was nice shade; bathrooms were so so. I would recommend it among the state parks. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Nice campground with nice beaches and close to everything. They have nice trails along with bike trails if you are into biking. Friendly staff and plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Very nice: we enjoyed staying in Holland! Lots for kids and adults to do. We had a very enjoyable stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
We stayed in the woodstock loop of the park and it was great! A short walk to Big Red lighthouse and beautiful, very large lake Michigan beach. There is a channel that links lake macatawa to lake michigan, I could have sat there all day and watch the boats. We took 3 kids with us and they all had a blast. Each site has its own fire ring. Showers and bathrooms were cleaned everyday. There is only a few full hook ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
We happen to live in Holland and enjoy this park a couple of times each year, usually in the fall. We prefer the Pines section over the others as most of the sites are shaded. There are miles of bike trails in Holland that are accessible from this park. It is right across the street from Lake Macatawa and just down the road from Lake Michigan and the beach portion of the state park. If you don't feel like cooking there is a great restaurant (Ottawa Beach Inn) that you can walk too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com