218713 User submitted reviews online!!
Winding River Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (609) 625-3191
CGID5118

Winding River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$51



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   4   8   7   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$51
We found this to be a fun place to camp . It is a true campground nicely shaded with trees and a beautiful shallow river running right along side of it . Yes there are a few older seasonal trailers there but they do not dominate the scenery and all the seasonal campers we met were nice folks . Pool, showers, playground, and the whole campground were clean . A good place for families . Your kids will have a good time . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This park is an older, well-maintained campground with owners who still care about their park, their customers and still give their campers breathing room to have fun. It may not have the technical amenities or the full-time babysitting activities that some campers like, but you can enjoy both worlds of camping; the busy activity weekends and/or the slower back-to-nature weekdays where you can enjoy nature, the river, or venture out for side trips including the beach, the boardwalk, or the excitement of the casinos. I have found Winding River-Mays Landing to be one of the few parks left in the area that still welcome the average camper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$56
Our stay was for 1 week. The people at the office were friendly and accommodating. The camp store was well stocked and reasonably priced. Aside from that, I was disappointed. Several seasonal sites resembled what you would find in a run-down trailer park: dirt-caked units with "week-end warrior" additions and/or modifications. I've never seen conditions like that in a campground. The pool experiance was surprising to say the least. Adults drinking alcohol in and around the pool(even though it was posted "No Alcohol"), and smoking around the pool with children present ??? There were no activities during the week, the campground turned into a ghost town Monday to Friday at noon. Our per day charge was $56, including $8/day for or daughter, and $4/day for our son. To me, that was steep considering what we found, saw, and was available. We've stayed at other places that offered much more w/o overcharging us for being a "traditional family." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. I would have rated this CG a 9 if a few minor things were different. The site we had was difficult to get into, and once in it was found to be a little less level than I like. This is an older CG and in truth, I hope to see more just like it. Clean, well kept. If they level the sites a bit they will be great. I don't care if they have Wi-Fi or Cable. I personally go camping to camp. I am not looking for concrete pads, built in barbecues, or other items. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
A very nice campground. Contrary to what other posts say, I felt the sites were rather spacious. I was, however, disappointed to see that you had to pay to operate the shower. The Egg Harbor river is the best thing about this campground. We went on a three hour tubing trip on the river. It was beautiful and clean cedar water. Didn't use the pool as it looked crowded. I will be camping there again in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The owners were nice. We had a very hard time navigating to the campsite (119) as the road was very tight due to trees. We then had a hard time backing into the site. Another trailer had to actually be backed in by a tractor because of how tight it was. There were a lot of permanants (nicely kept mostly), but we happened to be by one with 3 small children that were totally misbehaved to the point that they actually went into our campers while we were away from them. The playground was really nice, but the parents did not watch their kids. We do have small children (4 & 6) and I actually had to tell the other kids to let her on the slide. Overall, the other campers were not friendly and I felt very nervous about being there. The sites seemed large, but were hard to get into as stated above. I will not be returning to this campground as we saw many that were nearby and much nicer. One nice thing was the pool. It was shallow enough to let the kids play and not have to be in there holding them and there was a lifeguard. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
The best asset to this campground is the fact that the Great Egg Harbor River runs alongside it. The campground offers canoe rental service, and they drop you off upriver. The Great Egg Harbor River is an excellent river to go canoeing or tubing on. The river is mainly in the shade, it is not deep, its perfect for novices, it has a few spots you can paddle over to the bank and stop and have something to eat (either a pic nic, or at the Palace Outfitters pizza joint). You end up your canoe trip right at the campsite. Just pull your canoe out of the river, and head back to your campsite. It's perfect! The owners are nice people. The pool is nice, but it gets overcrowded when its hot outside. We would prefer more space between sites, as we felt not very woodsy or private. However the other campers were courteous and friendly. This campground is also only like 15-20 minutes from Ocean City NJ, and our family likes going there at night to walk the boardwalk. Wether you are camping there, or just want a day canoe trip, this campground fits the bill! We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com