220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Walnut Grove RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (913) 262-3023
CGID5124

Walnut Grove RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   3   6   5   4   6   6   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$34
The people that run the park were very nice. The park is in a residential area; tight, extremely close together, long term residents, no grass or "yard" area. It was just OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
The new management group seems to be "getting it." New little store is a nice feature, big annoying speed bumps have been removed, discount for military/veteran or Good Sam is very welcomed. Previous dog issue seems to have been resolved (likely need to judge that better when it is warmer). Staff is more accommodating and friendlier than before. Good to see them walking about. Would like to see permanent sites better managed, too much stuff outside, looks trailer-trashy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
The owner is very sweet. There are a lot of monthly campers but they are very restricted about personalizing their lot. There is NO grass in the camping spaces, only gravel. We lived there for 9 months. They promised to forward our mail but that never happened. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Our pull-through site was very narrow, we had only one slide out, not enough room for living room slide. The park was overpriced in our opinion. The sites were gravel. Might stay there again if the other parks in the area were full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
While pull through sites were concrete they were not level and really leaned. Leveling blocks were needed. Spot 407 had no room on either side. Truthfully, there was 2 inches between my slide out and the one parked on my side below me. Thankfully on the other side was a Class C with no slide outs. Although we've been in some tights ones before, they were nothing like this. Wi-Fi worked sometimes and sometimes it didn't. No cable here. Only over the air channels and only 6 at that. You are very limited as to where to stay in Kansas City, but I would look hard to find somewhere else. The staff was friendly and they did forward a piece of mail to me so I am thankful to them for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
The new park management does not pay as much attention to tenant rules compliance as did the previous group. Dogs were often a nuisance, improper vehicle parking was not corrected, and the trash dumpster overflowed routinely. One tenant had about a dozen dogs out every day in make-shift cages and they barked constantly which got other dogs in the area riled up also! This place is too small to not manage these things better. Previously, it was common to see management walking about dealing with issues. This time there was nobody outside. All the staff stayed in the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Only discounts given are for military (which we don't qualify for). Good: owners were accommodating with us, the laundry was good and reasonably priced, we liked the location (close but not too close to all the city stuff - still had a small town feel nearby). Bad: very aggressive speed bump right near entrance, early morning noisy yard work some days, and some owners don't pick up after their dogs in the dog area in the back. Worst: a lot of loud trains at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This was an OK park in that the people were friendly and it was easy to find. It just was not that close to Kansas City and there was little shade. Also there were no tables provided and the spaces were very close together. Some spaces are really unlevel, which can be challenging. About half the spaces were long term residences. The internet was not very good and my wireless card ended up being faster. I do not get these parks charging for more people like in hotels. My mother is in a wheelchair so she is not going to us any extra services. Otherwise it was not a bad place at all to spend a couple of nights. I probably would not be a long term residence. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Pros- close to Kansas City, good Wi-Fi, close to some shopping, friendly staff/owners, quiet. Cons- tight spaces for parking (5 feet away from the neighbor) and maneuvering for a 36 foot 5ver, kind of pricey for what you get. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Owner accommodated us on a Saturday night with less than 24 hours notice and warned about the tight space available. Very friendly and accommodating owner/manager. Recommended RJ's BBQ, which was fabulous. Train nearby. Right off busy street. It's close to downtown and the only RV park around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is not an RV resort. It is a place to park your camper while you are visiting the Kansas City area. It has electric, water, and sewer connections, and the staff/owners guide you in to your site. They also have free internet that puts out a really strong signal and is fairly fast. They do not have cable access, but I have a $14 hi-definition antennae that pulls in over 25 channels quite clearly. That is inside an all aluminum camper, which tends to hamper reception. I suspect that if I put the antennae outside, or on the roof, that I would get even more channels. Everyone (owners/staff/guests) has been extremely nice to both me and my dog. Both of the owners have stopped us during a walk to give my dog a treat, which I thought was really nice of them. They also seem to like my pup, because they go out of their way to come over and pet and play with him. They have a very nice lounge/tornado shelter, that has TV, a book lending library, and more. It reminded me of a very cozy family room in an extremely nice house. The park is in the heart of the suburbs of Kansas City, in the small, charming city of Merriam. I do not know the history of Merriam, but I suspect that it is long and interesting. I highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Walnut Grove is a nice and friendly park. I was a bit leery of coming here because of reading other reviews about the size of sites. . . But my 37 foot 5er was no problem. There are 6 0r 7 pull-throughs that accommodate much larger size RVs. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very quiet except for the thunder storms. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was there was no cable TV. Only a few miles from Downtown Kansas City. Just a little FYI, fuel up in Missouri as well as libations on the Missouri side also. I would suggest Walnut Grove to everyone and we will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
I agree with the previous poster and will add the following. This is indeed a difficult park to review. We also chose this park because of proximity to a relative who lives nearby. Small park, probably would be difficult to navigate with a large rig and especially if towing another vehicle. We are 30 feet and do not tow. We had no problem backing into our site as the site across from ours was empty. Our site was fairly level but did have to lower rear jack a bit. The owner was very helpful and assured us they would help with anything we needed. We thought the price was quite reasonable, the staff friendly, the directions to park excellent. This appears to be the only park in the central Kansas City area and is not bad for a one or two night stay. One other comment is that there seems to be a lot of auto traffic in and out, but that may just be the current residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This park gets a bad rap that is not totally deserved. There is no doubt that it is a small, very tight park, but they are very good at helping you park and once you're in your spot it's fine. It must be remembered that this is the only RV park for many miles and it is in a very good location, if you desire to be in the Kansas suburbs of Kansas City. We have kids in the area and have stayed here many times in our 40 footer without problems. My only problem is they accept no discounts for anything and their price is on the high side. I think they know that they don't have any competition, you will just pay the price for the location. I guess that's just their business model! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is my first 1 rating ever! I can always find something redeeming about a park. Not this one. HORRIBLE! Good luck getting in. If you do get in, good luck getting level. And then good luck getting back out. Smallest spaces of any park I have been in. We had booked it, and then heard rumor that it was not good. So we called them back to make sure we could get a big rig in there. They lied and said "Oh yes, it is easy with big sites." Do NOT stay here! Don't even call. Just don't bother. Really bad We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
I would not recommend staying here based on the looks of the park and the soft gravel that made it impossible to stay level. The pull through was extremely narrow, but luckily no-one was staying on either side and it was very hard to drive around the park as it was so tight. We specifically called ahead as we were towing a car trailer behind a big coach and they told us that there was plenty of room for us. Not so. It was a good location for us to visit friends, the neighborhood felt safe, and the internet worked, but I would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We stayed less than one hour. This is not an RV park, even though they claim it is. No, cable hook-ups, no satellite service: no nothing! Couldn't get out of here fast enough. Hard to get in and out, all back ins. They have two or three pull-throughs, but you can't open your slides. We ended up driving around Kansas city for four hours looking at one site after another: all dumps! We located a great Park outside of KC in Peculiar. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We are staying here as I type this. This is NOT a resort type campground, but is perfectly suitable for our purposes. We are here in KC visiting a friend who lives in the area. The site is gravel and fairly level. There are no amenities worth mentioning here. Just a place to park with hookups. Very conveniently located to just about anything in KC area. On the plus side, the WiFi works great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Don't even slow down! Keep driving! This park is hideous. Most of the sites taken by permanent residents in trailers that look like WW-II era. One 5th wheel has a small pickup truck (which doesn't appear to have been moved for years) with the bed full of garbage/debris parked permanently under the 5th wheel nose. The few sites that are available are extremely close together. We were so close to our neighbor that we couldn't even put out a folding chair! Our slides were so close we had to turn sideways to pass between them. And they have the nerve to charge $32. We found out about the COE (Corp of Engineers) parks in Lee's Summit for only $25 and reserved a spot there for the following days we'll be here in the area. And they are beautiful, grassy, clean,huge trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
Friendly and considerate, this park is a bit run down, but also very comfortable. Getting in and out of the place while towing can be a hazard because the road is busy and the traffic is fast. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
As always, a friendly bunch runs this place. Great location for Kansas City access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
We've found it's easy to oversleep here. They have a number of long term campers, and it's shaded by large trees, so mornings are not bright and noisy. It's been a regular stop for us for several years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This place is tough to rate. If your travels require that you stay in Johnson County, this is spot for you. Conveniently located near suburban communities and Kansas City: you can’t beat the location. The monthly price is right and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Laundry is a good value. Wi-Fi is strong and dependable. The park tends to attract friendly folks who stay awhile to work, visit family and friends or receive medical care nearby. That said, this park is old, unlevel, tight, and spartan. No picnic tables, fire rings or swimming pool. You have enough space to put out your awning in most back-in spots, but the pull-through sites are so narrow some rigs can’t fully extend their slides. When the place is full, which it frequently is, those sites can be especially tough to maneuver. Between traffic and trains: noise can at times, be a problem for some. The next time our travels require us to stay in Johnson County, we’ll come back. But, for travelers who are simply passing through Kansas City, there are better alternatives around the outskirts of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is an urban park and was very convenient for us to visit family in Overland Park. Also very convenient to major shopping (Costco, etc.) This site is quite cramped, but we had no problems with our 40' Class A motorhome. Our site had 30 ampere service, but others have 50 amperes. Laundry is spotless with large washers ($1.25) & dryers ($0.75). Owners are available and just as nice as can be. We enjoyed talking with them. The park was full of repeat customers, so they must be doing things right. Our only big negative is the trains. Although the tracks are 3/4 mile away, the constant crossing whistles day & night will keep you awake. Earplugs are recommended. Overall, if you need a place near Kansas City this is a good bet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This park was very tight to get in and out of with our 32 ft fifth wheel and I used to haul oversize loads over the road so I can put our little rig into anyplace. The park was convenient for us and close for a wedding we attended that covered several days. I would not come back here for just one or two nights. We had a 50 amp back in site that required the nose of our rig to be very high to get level. No table and very little space anyway if there had been one. It was convenient otherwise I cannot really think of any positives to talk about. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We have been here for two weeks and absolutely love this place. The owners are so helpful and make everything so easy here. They have long term spots for people like us with a monthly rate which really helps! It is very quiet even though it is in a city. Everything is near by and convenient. Most of all, it is the owners and another gentlemen who go out of their way to be pleasant and so helpful: this means alot to us. The sites are roomy and easy to get in to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Obviously my opinion of a good campground differs from other reviewers. We found this urban campground to be very cramped and difficult to get into and set up. I had to back up and move over 6 inches so that we could get our slides out without hitting the rigs on either side of us. Putting out the awning was impossible. We had a pull-through site but had to be very careful when we left so as not to hit the rig next to us. When we arrived, it was quite hot and the voltage was dangerously low to run the A/C. Fortunately, we only stayed one night and definitely will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Small park with paved roads and gravel sites. It is in a nice residential area and next to a school so the entrance comes up quickly, they have a helpful entrance sign. There is not a good place to park for registration without parking in front of other sites. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They escort you to your site and assist in backing in which is really needed. Once in the site it is adequate and slides and awnings could be put out. We had a 50 amp site with full hookups, and were able to get satellite reception, not all sites are suitable as there are large trees around. No cable TV but they have a very good and fast WiFi. We would stay here again as it is a good location to visit the city. Shopping is back toward and just past the Interstate with a small mall, groceries and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Staff was friendly and acommodating. They are open until 10pm, so that was nice when we needed a last-minute spot. Camp is small, and sites were gravel. Sited needed to be filled/leveled/maintained a little better. Nice location to go into Kansas City for some sightseeing! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$29
Not a resort-type campground, but a great location with good services. Owners are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
We've stayed here for the last four years in a row. It's mostly permanent residents but it's clean and safe. The location is excellent, if you want to be near Overland Park or the other Kansas suburbs of Kansas City. The park is fine for big rigs (we're 40 ft) but reservations are suggested to ensure space. The park would be much nicer if they would add picnic tables. This park is very old and is not a resort but it is in a great location. If you're just passing through, you might be able to find a better place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$29
If you're looking for a resort campground, this isn't it. But, if you're looking for a good place near the Kansas City metropolitan area, this is a good choice. Location is the attraction here. Facilities, such as laundry and showers, are adequate and clean. We've stayed here numerous times and have always found the owners/managers to be helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$31
Great location, but not for the family. I stayed here for work in the Kansas City area and it was a great location for that. The staff was great and helpful. This is just a parking spot with hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
We were looking for a campground close to our family in Olathe, KS and this is it! They are not lying when they say "No" to big rig access. It is not impossible because the owner was able to help us back a 40' 5th wheel into a site, in the dark! The campground is in town, in a residential neighborhood, so they are limited on space. When we used our slides, there was hardly room to walk between our neighbor. We were only using the space to park and sleep, so it was not a problem for us. The campground was clean and easy to get to from the interstate. The bathrooms were clean, yet worn. If we needed to stay in Olathe again, we would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
This is an older park dating from the 30's, formerly a mobile home park. We had partial shade in a back-in spot. It was tight for us. Larger motorhomes had to work hard to get in and out, but everyone seemed to do it okay. This is a city RV park not a country park, so don't expect a spacious grassy setting. If being in the city is important, this is the place. Parking is side by side, on gravel. Owners were friendly and accommodating. Wi-Fi was free. We had 50 Amp, water and sewer. Sewer pipe was at back of rig, so a long stretch with the hose. It was slightly up hill, and hard to dump. Not a fancy park but I would stay here again though I would look for a different site. Also, some rigs are very long term. One owner said they were slowly eliminating long terms so that the park could serve more recreational users. This will take time. Access is very easy off of I-35 and west on Johnson Drive. Good shopping nearby in many directions. Lots of restaurants. Look up Wood Yard BBQ on Merriam Lane. A hole in the wall with terrific food. Pick up and bring back to rig to eat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
This is an older RV park in a residential neighborhood in Kansas City. Although there were several big rigs here, it is not big rig friendly and requires very careful manuvering. The sites are very narrow and short. If our neighbors on either side had slides we would have had to flip a coin to see who could extend theirs. There is no grass - the entire park is gravel. It is truly an RV parking lot. On the plus side, it is the closest RV park to downtown and, they have free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Like all have mentioned, this park is a packed parking lot. No cable TV and the WiFi was spotty and I had to have them reboot several times. Owners were OK to us. Just a weak park. No amenities. No discount until you stay a month! Park was always packed with RVs, though. The only reason this park does business is because they are the only one inside the Kansas City area. Next time will take an outlaying park and drive to KC. We parked in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
Please do not visit this campground! The RV's are parked on top of each other. It looks like an RV storage facility. The site they wanted to put us in was an "overflow" site that look like they pulled the dumpster out so we could put our trailer in. The campsite was on the street. Our front door would open to the side walk then the street. The staff and owners were very rude. An owner even hung up on me when I called. There is nothing pretty about this RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com