224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Collins North / Wellington KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (970) 568-7486
CGID5128

Fort Collins North / Wellington KOA

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   5   3   5   6   5   7   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This was the closest we could get to Cheyenne for Frontier Days. Traveled with 2 other couples. Okay sites and we were parked together. But the flies were horrible (couldn't sit outside much) and in the evening, the stench from the neighboring farm (cattle ranch, whatever) was overwhelming and sent us running inside immediately. Will not stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
I did not look at the reviews and should have. The place is run down. The lots are not level and the Internet service is just bad. Close sites and the electrical connection was busted on my site. The place was quiet. They did escort you to your spot. The mosquitoes were really bad. They could spray. Will not stay here again. I just thought KOA were nice places but not this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
I made this reservation without checking the reviews of the park and that was a mistake, I should of known when there was nothing available at the other 2 KOA's in the area, but this one had plenty of spots. Anyway, the main issue is the smell from the cattle feed lot. Other than that and the 30 or so full time residents and old run down campers and the old junky cars speeding around the park it was fine. The site we were in was concrete and very level, utilities worked good, WI-FI was ok, cable TV was good, the staff was as nice as they could be, the store was stocked very well. I wonder which one was there first, the camp ground or the feed lot, surely no one would build a campground that close to a feed lot (1/8) mile. Final word is, if you must stay here, check the wind direction, if it's out of the NE, go somewhere else, we cut our stay short by one day just to get the heck out of here and lost the money for that day and I don't care, they can keep the rain check because we will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
I should have read the reviews before we came here! We got here today around noon. People in the office were nice & helpful. Most of the RV's here are being lived in on a full time basis. And yes, they are older models with lots of things around them that looks tacky. But the most atrocious thing about this park is the smell!! Oh my goodness! It is so horrible. There definitely isn't a mention of the feed lot being in close proximity to the campground. Stay here if you must, but if the wind changes direction you may lose your supper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This is a typical KOA - dated and aging. It was adequate for an "over-nighter" but would not meet our requirements for a "destination." As noted in previous reviews the proximity of the "feed Lot" is significant to this park's acceptability. If you are "down wind" you are accutely aware of its presence. Otherwise the park is acceptable. Wi-Fi acceptable, water acceptable, electric a bit more problematic. The power dipped quite a bit during peak demand and the power posts were badly worn. I was concerned that the connection was too worn for safety but it did hold out for our visit. Site was barely long enough to accomodate us connected but did. This park has a significant permanent and long term presense. It badly needs sprucing up, updating and maintenance. I would avoid this park in the future. I just got the feeling that everything worked, but just barely. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We have enjoyed this park over the years but not this time. They now have 60-70 long-term units and most of them are OLD and trashy. They also have 10 or so stored where you can see them. These old ones are 25-35 yr. old. Nice people working there, clean bathrooms, nice pool, and decent hookups. We may use them occasionally since the location is good for us, but only for one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
We stayed here 2 nights. The park is a little out of the way. The sites were concrete, but very uneven and we had a terrible time leveling. The staff was friendly & accommodating. The most memorable part of our stay was the overwhelming stench the first night we were there. We thought a sewer had backed up. It turns out there is a nearby "feed farm" and when the wind comes from the east you have to close up the windows and stay inside. Forty a night with a discount is a bit much to spend for a park that smells to that extent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
This is an extremely difficult review. Wonderful facilities. Family shower rooms. Nice little store. GREAT PEOPLE! The problem is it STINKS. The place is too close to a cattle feed and farm. If your nose is easily offended, you will be very unhappy with this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Made reservations and arrived after closing. As promised, an envelope with map and site was on the office door. Couldn't get the shore power to work, moved, in the dark and rain, to two other sites and ran into taped over plugs, failure to pass our EMS system check. Finally knocked on owner's door. He sent us to a particular site. It worked, but was partially smashed. No doggie pickup bags, just a scoop. Coffee at 8 a.m., nothing else available. Grounds were well kept, construction going on nearby but noise doesn't bother either of us. I got the impression the owner was a bit tightwaddish. Just my impression. I wouldn't recommend it nor trash it, either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Nice park! They have a pool, shady sites, grass, private bathrooms, and level sites. There are good and easy hook-ups with cable. Workkampers are friendly and helpful. We like the fact that they do not have fire rings; thus no one's smoke is smothering us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Things haven't changed - thousands of flies, terrible smell from feed lot or farm, especially at night. Unlevel sites. Friendly staff. Would not come back. There are two more KOAs in the Fort Collins area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
The pool was not well kept, the front office staff are not real friendly (they are not mean either), the sites are close together and not really level, but the shower hook-ups were the big downfall at this camp for us. If you are unfortunate enough to have to shower when someone else has to flush the toilet, you will deal with SCALDING water for well over a minute and a half! With little kids, it was nearly impossible to take a shower without burning them! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
Typical overpriced KOA. Nicely kept, but too high priced for what was there. Sites are long and level. In a rural area, so it was very quiet. Managers were very nice. Wi-fi and cable included in price. Hookups were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
So long as the wind blows from the right direction this is not a bad little stop over campground. Good sites and friendly staff. Watch the entry as it is like driving in England: you enter on the opposite side of the road into the campground from normal. We will stay again when going through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
A nice campground!! Has large pull-through sites, trees, grass, friendly work kampers, large and private bathrooms. Also has a big pool with a nice pavilion. Easy hook-ups and we were escorted to our site. We will return!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
I spent several days at this campground. My first review post and I wish I had reviewed your website before staying at this facility. The previous posts on this campground are pretty accurate. The odor from the nearby feeder cattle lot is nearly overpowering and precludes sitting outside in the evening if the wind is blowing from the feeder lot. In addition, the flys are so thick that it is impossible to keep them out of the RV, out of the tow vehicle and off oneself. While the owners can't do anything about the feeder lot (except relocate their RV park), they could certainly have the area fogged every few days to get rid of the thousands of flys that are continuously present. The Wi-Fi can only be obtained while sitting in the lounge and not at the site as was promised. While Wi-Fi is good in the lounge, it is really inconvenient having to go there to get online. I most definitely will never stay at this facility again and I most strongly recommend that other RVers avoid this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Typical KOA - clean with all facilities. Problems: too many flies to permit sitting outside (they offer trail rides and keep horses, donkeys, etc); and they DO NOT HONOR THE PRICE THEY CONFIRMED. When we arrived, we were informed that their prices had gone up since we made the reservation. We only had two options: pay the higher price or forfeit the "full" amount already paid with booking. Contacted KOA Organization, who essentially informed me that NONE OF KOA PRICE CONFIRMATIONS MEAN ANYTHING! It is up to the individual campground to decide if they want to honor their own confirmed reservation! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We reluctantly stayed here for a month during an extended visit to the area, because the nicer KOA in Fort Collins proper charges $650 a month, versus $495 here (plus electric). The park is pleasant enough, the pool is usually clean, and staff is nice. But, the downsides are many, including; - a horrible cow manure stench that fills the air just about every day - flies everywhere. In your rig, your food, you name it. Sitting outside is impossible most nights. And while I understand the owner can't do anything about the feedlot down the road, the things he can do things about but refuses to are many. Such as - their WiFi is a joke. The owner will tell you you'll get it at your site but it's a complete lie. I should have known this when we checked in and saw people working in the lounge with their laptops - watch out for your electric bill. We really believe we were overcharged for our month, but silly us didn't write down the meter reading when we arrived, so we couldn't substantiate our disagreement. Their laundry facilities are expensive but lousy. You'll get cleaner clothes by beating them on a rock. After our month was up we moved to the expensive but MUCH nicer KOA in town because we just couldn't stand the place any longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
My overall impression of the campsite is just ok. The owners are very nice and helpful. With easy access from the interstate, the campsite itself is laid out in typical KOA fashion -- somewhat close spaces but very well organized. The problem was the smell of cow manure -- quite strong depending on the wind direction. Maintenance could be better -- the grass needed mowing. I would try someplace else next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Good sites but the smell is a real draw back to this place. I doubt we would stay again. Shame as it is really a pretty nice KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites were clean, with plenty of room and everything worked as advertised. The campground is far enough from the interstate so as not to be a problem with noise but close enough to be convenient. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This is a beautifully maintained campground.  The owner is helpful and gracious.  We stayed for one night in a premium paved pull-through site.  There is Wifi service and cable service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
As others have noted, if the wind is from the wrong direction (NE, I think), a very foul stench engulfs this park. For our overnight stay, everything was fine until the breeze started about 6 PM. The air was still foul when we went to bed, but was gone in the morning. The park itself has very good facilities (FHU, cable, WIFI, and a pool). It is too bad a stay at this otherwise nice park is often ruined by this unpredictable and unpreventable problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
We stayed at this campground during Cheyenne Frontier Days. Because they thought they were going to be full we stayed in the overflow area. The people that run the place are great. They want to do all they can for you. But, there is a feed lot up wind from the campground, and the smell is terrible. It happens only a few times a day (9:00 at night is a sure thing) and you can hardly breath. The electricity in the overflow area looks like 30 amp service but is only 20 amps. There appears to be 1 30 amp outlet there if you go around and check them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
This may be a one time fluke, but about an hour after we got there a stench was in the air that was absolutely unbearable. It smelled like a chicken coop. We thought it would blow over, but it never did. We had to seal everything off and not open the door. The smell was just as strong the next morning. It absolutely ruined our stay. The kids could not play on the playground and we could not sit outside. We could not get out of there fast enough. The manager was very nice, but I think we were the only ones that were not permanent. I don't mind permanent residents, but many of these were in nasty, beaten up Raves with no wheels, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Nice, quiet park. I would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
When checking in I requested a 50 amp site. I found that 50 amp was available only in the “premium” sites. For an extra $8 per night we got a concrete pad that was not level side to side or front to back, and cable TV with only 24 channels. Water pressure was extremely low at only 30 psi, and sites were separated with only a few patchy weeds rather than grass. There were several seasonal or permanent trailers, most of which were old and in deteriorated condition. The campground was supposed to have WiFi but it was not working - it was due to be fixed next week sometime. It is only about 100 yards off I-25 so there is lots of traffic noise. I had originally paid for two nights but we decided to stay for only one. When I requested a refund I was told that a 48 hour notice was required for any refunds. I pointed out that this was not posted anywhere in the office or any of the campground literature, nor was it mentioned at the time of payment. The response was that this is KOA corporate policy and I should have asked when I checked in. So much for friendly customer service. So we ended up being held hostage against our will in this dump for an extra day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Half of the sites were concrete pads for the pull thrus. The sites were very close together. No shade trees that helped any at all. There were many extended stay older RVers in the park. Many dogs and not very clean in the Pet Exercise Area. Water pressure was low the whole time. Will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
Do Not Stay Here!, Not unless you want to smell the CATTLE LOT just 200 ft. above the hill to the entrance. All dirt roads and lots of dust, non stop expressway noise. We arrived and weren’t sure how long we wanted to stay. (Wanted to visit Ft. Collins) Owner convinced us rate would be cheaper to pay for one month in advance, so we did. Paid for one month and regretted it every day we stayed. Refused to give us a refund very next morning. The sites were extremely unlevel, even his new deluxe ones; which we did not stay in. It took TWO pallets to reach our steps. Mud holes and ruts. Most sites had old trailers and long term residents. Lots of old junk laying around them. Not a place to bring children. Pool had green mossy water. Wi-Fi never got working. Absolutely NO water pressure and water smelled very, very bad, we used only bottled water and water purifier in our tank. Unless you like tilting your motorhome so the tires are completely OFF the ground and rolling out of bed and smelling cow dung; I’d not recommend staying here; It’s a KOA DUMP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com