224149 User submitted reviews online!!
River Bend Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (707) 887-7662
CGID5129

River Bend Resort

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   6   1   1   8   4   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
The $44 rate includes tax. This park is located on the Russian River near many wineries. A great location to go wine tasting. The park is interesting in that there are mostly Full-timers who take up the full hookup spots. And there is a "tent city" behind the park on the 1/4 mile or so trail to the river and small "stony" beach. Our back-in site with electric & water only was spacious with a large grassy area, picnic table & fire pit. WiFi was available at a cost. It did have a drawback in that it backed up to the busy River Rd. While it was uphill to the road, it was still noisy. The restrooms & showers were clean, however they did show their age. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
This is a nice, small park, and we got a shaded spot overlooking the Russian River. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$49
Park is OK. What I disliked: When I arrived, I first had to empty the holding tanks and thus went to the dump station. When I was almost finished and wanted to proceed to my site, a woman (maybe the owner) approached me and asked some questions - she obviously wanted to make sure that I was not some unregistered guest using the dump station. Which is her good right but the way she did that was kind of rude (e.g. she could have introduced herself). They don't have free Wi-Fi; there is a service available which you can try first for one hour before signing up and paying. Which is a good thing because when I've been there before and the connection was horrible. Also they don't seem to enforce their rules very strictly - dogs like pitbulls and the like are not allowed in the park, according to the rules, but there was one tenant with a bull terrier. Although the dog seemed too sluggish due to his obesity to be a threat, I'd prefer not to encounter those kind of dogs in a campground. Apart from that I would stay there again for a night or two. Restrooms and showers were clean, laundry facilites worked and the rest of the staff I encountered did better than the (supposedly) owner. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
The staff were friendly, the park has recycling. Other than that I did not like this RV park. Our site was 25 feet away from the dump site. The smell was so strong my husband and I could not sit outside most nights. The park itself was extremely overcrowded. There were two couples in tents next to us at the back end of the dump site. When we woke up the next morning there was a third tent practically under our back window. I was very thankful our neighbors were considerate. A few of the rules were no loud music or screaming at anytime and quiet time is at 10 pm. These rules were never enforced. The RV park is situated below a very busy road and traffic noise was a problem at night. There seem to be quite a number of permanent residents whose old and unkempt trailers have collected a lot of junk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
Couldn't be more disappointed with this "resort." Saw the misleading website with pictures that look nothing like what you get, and booked 3 nights. Occupied mainly by full time residents with dilapidated old trailers parked practically on top of one another. I wouldn't let my kids out of my site after seeing a few of them. No sewer hook ups or pull through sites available, they were taken by these residents. Cable line was cut, they advertise Wi-Fi but only 1 hour free per day, and then $6.00 a day through an outside source you link to. We did, and unless you sit within 10 feet of the office where the modem is, you won't get a connection most of the time. River access was a joke, you have to slide down the side of a hill that ends with no shoreline. Residents on day one, were blocking the path smoking pot and wouldn't even move to let us pass. Most travelers on our end were cramped tightly, some slide outs touching neighbors awnings, tents interspersed throughout. Hard to sleep at night with a very busy hwy right in front of our site. Used the showers once and the water went cold after 5 minutes, toilet overflowing in one stall. How this is a Good Sam Park is beyond me. All that and 60.00/night? Plus they have signs EVERYWHERE advising that you cannot have any visitors entering the area without paying $5.00/ per person! Yuk! Just a gross trailer park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
We were here Memorial Day week-end,arrived Tuesday in a 36-foot RV and it was empty except for permanent residents. A day later literally hundreds of tents packed cheek by jowl, many to a single spot, looked like tent city..very few RVs. That said we very much liked this camp and its staff. It is an older park that has long-term units in the front in various states of decay but very nice, large, full service RV sites in the back on the river. Next door is The Pub, a funky small restaurant/bar with good food. If you are visiting the Guerneville area in an RV this is clearly THE place to stay. BTW there is a huge statue of Paul Bunyon in the playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2012
$50
Pretty old and "rustic." Mostly full time residents and not well maintained. No river access, not really big rig friendly. Was quiet and close to wine country, but that is about all that can be said. Wi-Fi was weak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
It is a nice park on the Russian River. Perhaps 70 % full timers. They have a separate newer section for non full timers and tent campers. No frills close to the highway. Great pub featured on DDD right next door. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This campground is on the river, sort of. It has a 10' wide steep river access. It is difficult to walk anywhere from the park except the Diner/Bar next door. It is right on Highway 116 so you are never far from the road noise. The sites are ok, some are close together. There is a store in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$47
It looks a little run down when you first pull in but the spaces in the back by the river are really nice. There is a little bit of noise from the road. You can walk to a pub that was featured on Food TV network Diner, drive-ins & dives. Rest rooms require a code, don't forget to get it when you check-in. I would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Good location for wine touring. Wi-Fi didn't work at all. AT&T and Sprint didn't work at all. Verizon had a pretty good signal. They have a ridiculous policy about guests visiting: $5/per person. Lots of old, run down trailers and 5th wheels in half of the property - tents and RV spots on the other half. Sites were a little cramped, but with trees between some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
This park is on the Russian River. The park is split into long term and short term. The better views seem to be at the long term sites, though we could look down from our site R-10 and see the river. Our Verizon air card worked pretty well here. There is some cable TV service (about 20 stations) and our AT&T phones were better down the road a few miles. This is right in the middle of wine country, with many wineries to choose from if desired. There are picnic tables and fire rings at sites. There are trees, somewhat level gravel sites with some grass in between. There is playground equipment for children and a tall statue of Paul Bunyan. The Safeway store is about 4 miles west with decent selections. It is a nice park, just seems overpriced. The $43 dollars plus tax ended up being closer to $47 a night and that was with Good Sam discount! The countryside is beautiful and it is a bit cooler since it is 11 miles west of Hwy 101 and about 20 miles from the coast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
A family reunion brought us to this area which is close to Guerneville and the other vacation towns along the Russian River. The staff was friendly and helpful and overall the campground was okay. The cable TV worked well, but I had to go outside to the open area and sit at a picnic table with my laptop to get WiFi service, even though the manager said it worked at all the sites. There were many full-timers, which was fine, but the bathrooms were a bit shabby, so I skipped using their shower. If we were in the area and need to stay in an RV park, we would return to River Bend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Friendly staff and great location for visiting the CA wine country. Clean restrooms. Play ground for the kids. River access. We stayed here before and we will stay here again. It gets particularly busy on the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
A strange park -- lots of full timers and they put the rv'ers in th back along the river. A great location, people are all nice, it's just a strange set up. It is tight getting in, especially for big rigs and larger trailers. I would stay here again on if along the river. The office people were very nice. It is driving distance to wine tasting, dining etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
The worst place I have ever stayed. Got to spent 2 nights there. Hook up were far away, dif to reach. 1/2 of the site were permanent residents. Cussing, arguing and yelling off and on all night. The owners did do anything. I will never go back there ever again! Even my kids thought it was the worst ever and they never complained. the bathroom locks were broken, anyone can enter. river access is a joke, takes you to the water with no bank. steep narrow trail, not safe for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$43
We loved our riverfront site and would definitely recommend this park to others. It is clean, free hot showers, and I could even get free wireless on my laptop which I appreciated. Good general store and a dog walk for Peaches my dog. Excellent location for day trips to the wineries and only a couple miles from the Pacific ocean and some great beach spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
This is definitely not a resort. It was a Good Sam Park, but did not meet standards. It was unclean, many permanent units, and hard to access upon entry. We planned on five nights and left early (after two nights). Probably one of the worst places we've stayed. Will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
Park was clean but definitely not a resort because it is too close to a busy road. Unfortunately due to low amounts of rain this year the "river" looks more like a canal. Park staff friendly. Cable TV was not working while we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
This is not a resort. It was a big gravel area with nothing between the camping sights. The Russian River was similar to a canal. The steps going to the water were destroyed and you couldn't get to the water if you had to. There were about 30 to 40 very old trailers that were permanent. There might have been 6 or 7 of us that weren't permanent. The noise from the road was terrible. The fellow that checked us in was very nice. They had the ice and drinks we needed. We had a site next to the water with trees. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
We stayed there for 3 months, so price reflects average daily rate. As others have said this is definitely not a resort. More like a campground. We didnt have any problem with road noise however we were further away the perhaps others. Same vicious dog that was previously was mentioned. Near the last few days there they moved to another site, but the dog was still there. It even got loose a couple of times. I would stay again if they made the dog owner get muzzle the Rottweiler. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Calling this RV park as a "resort" is truly the ultimate exaggeration. It is one of the worst maintained and run down places that we have every stayed in. The overnight spots appeared to be in better condition but for a monthly stay you are put in amongst derelict RVs and old trailers. There seemed like lots of dogs on chains that barked and we remember a big rotweiller that lounged at our smaller dog as we went by. Management's reaction to our concern about the fact that the dog may get loose, was to tell us not to walk down that street anymore. The monthly sites are so narrow that there is no place to park a vehicle and you can practically touch the slide out of the RV next door. The Wi-Fi was hit or miss even though we were assured that it was strong. This park is very expensive for what you get. We would never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
While the park advertises that it has cable TV hookups, it does not have them in every site. The "premium" river view sites do not have cable TV hookups. The antenna reception is very poor because of the trees. The WiFi connection is very weak and is only available in the center of the park, in the tent area which is very close to the router. It is not available from your space. The park has a beautiful view, but it's spaces are too close together and it is over priced for what it offers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
The office person answered all my questions and helped me find fun things to do. It was quiet, clean and I felt safe. It has an older part to park and a newer part. They were flooded out in January and I must say they did a fabulous job of making everything work for the 2006 season. I already made reservations to come back next year. Call Kelly or George and they will help you in any way they can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
RiverBend Resort has the nicest people working there. They helped me find place of interest to go to during our stay. The river is right there as their backyard. Very kid friendly and quiet most of the time. I would come back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
We stayed here for 2 months while I was working in the area. The advertised 'recently built' sites had the sewers leak raw sewage into the tent camping sites when they were full. This is also where the children's playground is. The only 50 amp sites are the recently built sites and those sites do not have cable TV. They have exactly 3 pull through sites. The other sites are NOT big rig friendly. There is no river beach access, you must cross the river using a rope across the river to get to a beach. There are some scruffy looking permanent residents of questionable charactor and 'business' dealings. One weekend a fulltime resident threatened a camper with a knife. Not exactly what I would term as 'family friendly'. The drains in the bathrooms had the covers missing, which could be a potential injury. Unfortuanately, there are not a lot of RV parks to choose from in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
Advertising claims larger RV sites overlook the Russian River and they charge for it. However, trees, weeds, etc., are very overgrown so in order to actually see the river, you have to bend over the fence. Sites were gravel but not enough and not flat, lots of dirt which turned muddy if wet. Inner roads quite narrow and difficult to maneuver with a larger rig. Older part of the park has some scruffy looking permanent residents but newer section is cleaner. Advertising also claims cable TV at the newer sites, yet there was no cable at all, just lots of wires sticking up in the air. Traffic from River Rd can get pretty obnoxious. Person in office was very nice but not very helpful. This park has lots of room for potential if the owner would only see this. Best part of the park were the volunteer hosts: very friendly and helpful. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
We phoned ahead because we would be coming in late to verify the park had a space available. The lady was very nice and said she would leave a note on the door to tell us the particulars. We pulled in to our campground space and there was no way to get the motorhome level and I was not sure if I would trust plugging in to the busted electrical outlet. There were other campers in the park but none of them seemed to be occupied. We went to the restrooms and found them to be boarded up and then busted open so people could attempt to use them. After making phone calls to find another park, and locating one at 8:00 PM, we were on our way out. A lady stopped us on the way out and we told her it was just too dirty for us to stay here. She apologized that after the recent flood, it has been difficult to clean up. I understand this, but it had been two or three weeks after the flood and this place was absolutely filthy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com