223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Barstow / Calico KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 127 user reviews. Phone: (760) 254-2311
CGID513

Barstow / Calico KOA

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   3   6   9   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$46
We stayed here for an overnight stay as easy access from I-15. Very large and level gravel sites and picnic table in good condition. Clean and nice restrooms and laundry. Campsite is kept in very good condition. There is highway noise, cable TV picture not great, and Wi-Fi flaky, but OK for overnight. Price on high side. If you stay here you must visit Peggy Sue's 50"s Diner just half a mile from the campsite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Good for a KOA. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Easy on and off interstate. Close to some of the old mining towns. We will return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This is a nice park with shrubs in between most of the spots for privacy. They have a nice fenced off dog park. The sites are gravel stones and are fairly level. The showers are clean but require quarters to make the water come out! Really! I suggest they charge $1 more a night and include the water! Nice pool and kid friendly with a nice play area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
We have stayed here before. We would give this KOA a 10 but it is in the Mojave desert and the scenery isn't top notch. Despite that, they have done a great job with what they have to work with. A bit windy but long, wide sites with Oleanders between providing privacy. Sold WiFi (a bit slow in the evenings) and cable (all analog). Dog run is really large and all new. A great place to overnight as it is conveniently located just off I-15. Try the strawberry ice cream. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$46
This is an attractive CG. We stayed here previously about 8 years ago. And had no negative memories This time we were disappointing in several things. 1. We were assigned a poor site furthermost from the showers even though we are KOA Card Carriers and the facility was not even half full. We changed sites. 2. The WiFi was out of service. 3. The showers had a 6 minute limit per "button push" on wall boxes that were originally a coin-operated showers. Just kind of "chincy". We felt that $46 was steep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$50
Park is close to freeway and gas stations, so some noise. Roads and sites are gravel with some trees for shade. Water, power, and cell (AT&T) were good. A little pricey for what you get, but not much else around. Close to Calico Ghost town. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
Stopped here for a night on our way back from Las Vegas to avoid a windy drive. First, I would always make a reservation. When I called I was told if I show up without a reservation after hours I would pay more. That said, we arrived and the office also had well stocked store that also carries beer and wine. Within a 5 minute drive is gas, fast food, and a diner. A motel/hotel is also nearby. The sites are a gravel/rock type surface which was nice. We didn't have to level. We had a full hook up site and everything worked including cable TV. Trees blocked my dish but didn't matter. Nice place witha little bit of freeway noise but very faint. Nice stopping point. Fenced in clean dog park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$46
An easy off easy on I-15 campsite but very low traffic noise. Gravel roads and sites, sites are spacious, but at an angle which is good for pulling through but loses a bit of space. Good cable TV and Wi-Fi. Good sized pool but closed during our stay. Sadly as with most KOAs these days it is overpriced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
This is the best KOA we have ever stayed in. The staff was helpful and friendly, the park was immaculate! Pull through sites are large and wide most have shade and the vegetation forms privacy between sites. It has a large fenced dog run and a large open area for walks in the desert. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The pool unfortunately was not operational while we were there, but we will definitely make this a stop on any future travels. It is also within 3 miles of Calico Ghost town. A great find! You can hear the freeway noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$41
KOAs tend to be a bit overpriced and this was no exception. However, the park was quiet, clean and well landscaped with large pull through sites. We enjoyed the night we spent here and given the lack of competition in the area, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
Park is nicely maintained. It is near the interstate but the noise was not an issue to us. Park is all gravel with sites varying in length. Nice spacing between the sites and I like that they put up a row of nicely trimmed bushes between each site for privacy. Some sites are shaded and some out in the open (great for satellite use). Our site was not very level (side to side) so leveling blocks were needed. Wi-Fi was free and worked great during our stay. Typical KOA in that I believe it is over-priced for the area, but it is a nice park for an overnight stay or a stop to see Calico ghost town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
If you need a place to stay on I-15 between the coast of CA and Las Vegas this is a nice place. All gravel, no grass between sites but large shrubs for privacy. Big rig friendly with tow. Everything was very clean. If you have dogs you can walk through the gate to the desert and let fido off the leash. That was nice to do. Easy on/off I-15. Stayed at the far end of the park, no noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This is a nice park that I would probably stop at again when in the area. The roads and sites are all gravel. The sites are flat and some are satellite friendly. There is a picnic table at each site. There is limited screening by oleander bush hedges. They have numerous signs that these bushes are poison to both man and animals. There is a lot of highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
This is an oasis in the middle of the desert and we were very pleased with this KOA. Our site #33 was a gravel site surrounded on both sides with beautiful Oleander bushes giving much privacy and shade, not only to our site but to all of the sites. We had a pull-thru site with full hook-ups. The cable and WI-FI were good. Site was level and long enough for our RV & car. A very pleasant KOA and we were very happy to find this "Oasis" out here in the Mojave desert. Chances are, we will not come this way again, but if so, would definitely stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Since it was an event weekend, the price was $10 higher than normal. This was a typical KOA campground but sites were level and had some understory for privacy. Sites were pea gravel and of ample size for our 30' RV. The laundry and restrooms were clean but we were surprised that showers required payment. The campground is located right off the interstate so it was good for a one night stopover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
I found the campground to be clean. The site had a table and BBQ pit. There is privacy with oleander plants separating sites...problem...they are deadly poisonous and with a dog or child...well, not a good combination. I would never let my dog go on his own in the "dog area." There are too many dangerous things out there like snakes, etc. I'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Good for an overnight, but not to much in the area except the Calico Ghost town. It is the desert, so expect hot and dry conditions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
A big surprise. Expected a desert ghost town, but camp is quite nice. Large gravel sites with hedge separating. Near Interstate 15, but surprising quiet. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
This is actually a very nice park. It is clean and nicely maintained. The trees are finally getting big enough to provide some shade and they are between each site. The amenities are clean and nice. Staff is also great. We always stay here when going through and will be back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Not a bad park at all, it's just very hot here so it really is an overnight stop. Thank goodness for the pool. Nice dog walk area as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Ok for a 1 night stop. Typical of KOA it was expensive for what you get. $40 got us a W/E pull thrum (no sewer or cable). Easy pull thru access to a reasonably level (1 board to level) site. WiFi is ok but not outstanding. Not a lot of options when traveling thru this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Sites in this park are susceptible to road noise from I-15, which is within 500 feet of the campground. Some locations at the back of the park have shrubbery that might diminish the sound. Be sure to ask for placement away from the highway. The free Wi-Fi had decent speed when it worked, but it often dropped off to a no response condition. I switched to my Verizon broadband (2-bar signal) in order to get some work accomplished. The cable TV is a joke. There’s a decent selection of channels, but the picture quality is terrible. It’s fuzzy, and has the appearance of over-the-air television of the 1970’s. I used the antenna on my motorhome and found that the picture quality was far superior to the “cable” offering. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Fortunately we only stayed one night. The highway was so loud we had to run the fan to drown it out. Our pull-through site had no sewer which was OK since we were just passing through but that was way to much $$ for what we got: no sewer and very little sleep due to the noise. Should have stayed at Wal-mart. Huge dog walk area. Park was clean and lots of foliage between sites to offer privacy We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This KOA was OK for overnight. Check-in was easy, staff was helpful and friendly. The sites and facilities were clean and cared for. The gravel sites were not level, but had adequate elbow room. Pet areas were largest we have ever seen but they were sand, and in the desert that gets too hot for dogs' feet. We will return for overnights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$37
Typical KOA. Good overnight stop; marginal for longer stays. Somewhat short, loose gravel pullthrus with no clear delineation between site and roadway so campers tended to hang out into roads a bit making maneuvering interesting at times. Utilities fine; WiFi signal strong, but very annoying with constant log-outs. Fair amount of road noise from I-15. Turn right leaving campground for I-15 South to avoid u-turn. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$38
Was pleasantly surprised by this campground! Easy to get around with a big rig. Roads and sites are well maintained gravel. The landscaping is very nice. There are oleander bushes between sites for privacy and quite a few large trees. Interesting mining equipment in front of the store. The tent sites are raked and each site has a shade structure over the picnic table. There is a grass playground for kids. Each site has a raised charcoal BBQ. The store has a great variety of groceries and RV parts at fair prices. The showers are large, tiled, and private. Good views of the mountains. Easy access from the interstate but the traffic noise wasn't bad. Would have given this park a 10 if there would have been an enclosed dog run. They do have a large area cleared of sage brush for dog walking. About a 10 mile drive for groceries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
$35 per night reflects weekly rate. Easy access from I-40 and I-15. Nice tall trees and bushes in-between sites; very private; good picnic table. Pea gravel sites are very level. Close to 2 diners (less than one mile away); more services 5 miles south on I-15 in Barstow. KOA has a good-sized camp store. Staff is friendly. Free Wi-Fi was too slow to use. We enjoyed the close proximity to Rainbow Basin, a must-see of multicolor rocks, and Mule Canyon where we rode our dirt bikes. Nice pet walk area although it appears a dog peed on our newly-washed Jeep's wheel. We did not visit Ghost Town but it was close and the KOA looked like a much nicer campground than the Ghost Town campground. Highway noise not too loud. We enjoyed gorgeous views, sunrises and sunsets. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Good overnight park. Convenient to I-15. Dirt roads some very dusty segments. Pea gravel site (#45) so level that jacks were not needed. Caution for most of the light/WiFi antenna poles that curve out over the middle of the streets. Overhead clearance is 13'4". Some customers pull in so far that their rigs stick out into the interior streets and some motorhomes do not pull forward enough so their Toad is in the street. These cause some close maneuvering to get out if leaving early. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
We have stayed here before. It really is a well run park with lots of amenities. Nice pool. Very helpful staff. Clean. Far enough away from the freeway that it is not too noisy. A solid well run KOA park. Good running wifi until the evening came. Then slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is as good as it gets in the middle of the desert. They are well marked and easy to find - right off the freeway (gas available). The sites are easy to navigate, and hook up. They are wider and longer than expected. We did not need to unhook our trailer and still had lots of room. The pool was refreshing during the summer heat. The staff is very service oriented. They'll take you to the Ghost town or even to pick up dinner! We ate at Penny's, a very well run diner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Easy to locate and navigate through the park. Check in was fast and easy. Site was level and all utilities work as they should. Nice overnight stop. Would stay again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This is a nice campground in the desert in eastern California. We stopped for one night and it was more than adequate for our needs. It was very hot and the pool was a great way to get refreshed while the RV cooled off. Nearby is a great restaurant called Peggy Sue's 50's Diner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Stayed for a one night stopover on the way from the Grand Canyon to Sequoia National Park. Nice welcome and easy check in. Sites are spacious, level and shielded by hedges from adjoining sites. Pool was nice and very welcome after a long hot drive. No issues at all, would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Nice campground. Easy to access level pull through sites. Convenient access from I-40 and I-15. I grew up in California. Barstow has never been on my list of places to visit. This campground is a comfortable convenient place to stop over for a night on the way to another destination. I'm a bit concerned that the pull through sites may be a bit short for a longer motorhome with a toad. Also the sewer connection is near the end of the site. I would have had a difficult time hooking up if I didn't have an extra long hose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$90
Typical KOA. Kabins were nicer than other KOA's. The A/C worked great and the WI-FI gets a 10. The only problem we had was the water heater pilot light went out twice. We could have used the camp showers, but took cold ones instead. Nice flat camps and friendly, helpful staff. The price was $79/100 for the 2 nights we were here: way too much $$$ for a KOA. There was a music festival that weekend, and they raised the prices for Saturday night stay. I would go back in our trailer, not their kabin. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Kind of an average KOA park. Not bad, but not great. The roads and sites are deep gravel. Some of the roads, particularly in the tent area, are very dusty. The sites were good size, and some had large mature trees between them. The water pressure was low, barley #40 at the regulator. I was bothered by the road noise, as it goes on all night. Their off leash dog area is the desert behind the park. If you can trust your dog, they can run free in a huge area. You are close to Calico Ghost town, and several off road trails for both vehicles and hiking. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
This was a great park to stay in. We had a group of 11 RV's that stayed there. Although Barstow is not exactly a garden spot, this park was very nice, level, the staff was friendly and everything was clean. We stayed there for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You can hear the freeway, but it was not bad. Large dog area at the back of the park was open desert, but it was clean and had a refuse barrel and shovel. I used dog bags. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$38
Clean and level gravel sites separated by oleander bushes that were a little bare because of the time of year. Employees were average in terms of friendliness. From here we visited Calico Ghost Town (which is a tiny tourist trap and not something I'd recommend) and also the Calico Early Man Site which, in this archaeologists opinion, isn't an early man site but was nice to see. The campground was quiet and we asked for and got a pull through spot at the far end of the campground (to maximize quiet and be as far from the freeway as possible). You can also buy propane here though we didn't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Only squawk is highway noise. I-15 is a hundred yards away, and the roar is noticeable, but not intolerable. Our unit is closest to the freeway; others further away are much quieter, no doubt. Spotless, apparently newly remodeled restrooms and showers. Quick and pleasant check-in. Spacious sites, nicely leveled. Fine overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Wow, super clean! Quiet and nice huge field for the dogs. We were only here for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
Very nice! An Oasis in the desert. Big camp-spots, very clean an tidy. Friendly and helpful personnel. You can tell the people are committed to making this campground a nice place to stay. Ideally situated between Barstow and the Ghost town of Calico. Brilliant diner on the other site of the freeway (not Peggy Sue's) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Very pleasant campground. Hardworking and helpful staff. We loved the sunset and the sunrise. Our campsite on the end of a row gave us quick access to a huge open area for dog walking. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This was a stop over. Park is clean but old. Staff very helpful. Only problem we encountered was trying to do laundry. Washers would trip breakers. Nice pool and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Nice place for an overnight. Some trees, shrubs for shade or privacy. Nice pool with several people swimming. There is a game room and general store. Level gravel roads and spaces worked for our 40 footer with toad. Good water and electric. Wi-Fi OK, cable TV worked. The Calico Ghost town is worth seeing and won't cost a bundle. You pay for what you want to do, such as the little train ride is $2 per person, panning for gold is $1, etc. I like the park, and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Small park, but trees and shrubbery between sits give some privacy. Only 29 full hookups and park fills up most nights, so if you need a full hookup, I recommend a reservation. Gravel and dirt throughout but not too dusty. Wi-Fi was slow, but the cable TV was good although only basic channels. Lots of families, so if you want to use the pool, expect to share it with children. Overall, not a bad park for a 1 or 2 night stay. Close to freeway but not too noisy. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
A rather nice desert park with well developed foliage. We've stayed here numerous times as it is convenient for us based on our traveling style. The sites are long and level. This trip in, we had a rather large and noisy group several sites down, but they did quieten down at the appropriate time. The check in staff were friendly, and this park is well kept up. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This is a very nice KOA. It’s clean and well run. The staff is friendly. They let us change site and pick the site we wanted. They have basic cable; Verizon wireless internet reception was fast as was our Verizon cell phone reception. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. They give you tokens for the showers. The sites are gravel, long and were wide enough for our 3 slide outs and awnings. While here we visited the Mojave National Preserve and Ghost Town. We recommend this KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
So far I've been on the road for over 6,000 miles, through out the southwest. Most of the stays have been in private RV parks. This park has been the best of all of them. Most of them have been gravel parking lots. This park has level gravel sites with nicely landscape grounds and vegetation between each site. One of the cleanest parks I've been in. Bathrooms and showers appear to have new tile, fixtures and are immaculate. Staff is very pleasant and accommodating. If I came back to this area, I would make it a point to stay at this park again. The rate was with a AAA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$34
Not much to do, but an excellent choice for an overnight stay while traveling on I-15. Nicest bathrooms that we've seen in a long time. Sites were level, front desk staff was very pleasant. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$38
This is my favorite place to spend a Sunday night on my way home from Las Vegas or the Colorado River. Reasonably level, nicely graveled pull through spaces with lots of shade and oleander privacy hedges, cable TV and sparkling clean swimming pool. They seem to make an effort to stagger the RV space assignments so there will be an open space on either or both sides of you whenever possible. A very nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$37
We were pleasantly surprised how nice this KOA was. Easy to access from the freeway which could be a little noisy but did not bother us. The office/store is very nice as are the spaces. There are trees between each space (in most cases) which gives some privacy. There were very few full time residents there. We will definitely come back as it is on the way to Laughln Los Vegas and greater LA area. My cat (leashed) loved the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Great place in the desert. Nice and spread out and isolated, with a HUGE dog run area (basically beyond the fence and off into the desert as far as you can see). Nice stopping off place (for our 40 footer) to and from Las Vegas. Note: Barstow is the closest place for food/goods, and it is a 10 mile drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
We have stayed here several times. The sites are gravel, large, and fairly level. Sites are separated from each other by tall oleander bushes, so are fairly private. Good pet walk area (not enclosed). Wi-Fi works well, but we always have to go back to the office as the user name and password never seem to work the first time. The biggest drawback, and why I rated it a 7, is the showers. Each shower is a separate and fairly small. It gets quite cold here in the winter and the showers are apparently unheated and have door vents. It was 39 degrees this morning, so hot water, but cold air. Brrr. We will stay here again, but be aware of the chill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$46
We arrived at nightfall and were assigned a site close to the front. Therefore, we had the noise from I-15. Typical KOA, pretty clean restrooms and showers. Had to use token but they were free and it was possible to add more tokens without leaving the shower. More than 1 hook would be nice in the shower and maybe a bench, and the space to put on your clothes is very limited. There are unisex showers and they are bigger, but I only found out after my shower. The laundromat is clean too and the machines were all in working order. Our site was level and I didn't have to use planks. Driveway and sites are on gravel and the WiFi worked fine. I didn't check cable TV. I would given a higher rating if the park would be further away from Interstate 15, but would nevertheless return if in the area again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$56
Camped here for Calico Days at the ghost town. Price reflects special event pricing for 5 people and we don't have the discount. The facilities are well kept. The bathrooms and showers are excellent, the pool is nice, there's a playground for the children, and they have an archery range with equipment to rent. Wi-Fi worked fine. Our site was level and gravel. It was close to the highway so sitting outside was noisy but it was far enough away that inside the trailer it was quiet. We did have a little problem with ants at the site. There were enough to make us to not want to sit outside one night. All in all we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This is a typical KOA - clean and well run. They put us in a very quiet area but close to everything. The laundry room was very clean as were the showers (they give you a token). The Wi-Fi and cable TV were excellent. The staff was friendly. Definitely worth the extra cost for a clean campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We always stay overnight at this park when we are coming or going on Interstate 40. The sites are long and level so that unhitching our 5th wheel is not necessary. There is a nice, small swimming pool, and a children's play area. Being in a desert area, the tamarisk trees and the large oleander bushes help to provide shade. The management is always friendly and informative. The traffic and train noise can be annoying but for one night we find it tolerable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
This is a great overnight location. It's well keep and works just perfect for an overnight visit. It is hard to rate higher with it being in the dirt and in an area like Barstow which is not a destination place. We have stayed here before and will stay here again. There are friendly staff, the sites were level and easy to pull through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
We have stayed here in full hookups sites which were accessed directly from the interior roads, but this time requested a 50 amp W & E which required that we go back out to the access road, through a gate, and over a rough drop. The site was nice and long, plenty of space between us and the next RV, but because of the Oleander bush near our door the site was very narrow. We would return if in the area but might request a different site other than 45. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Typical KOA - clean, close to the freeway but no noise, everything worked like it should. Nice place to spend the night while on the way to someplace. Have stayed before and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Good for an overnight. Sites fairly large and level. Utilities worked well and the 50 amp was required as it was near 100. Verizon air/cell worked very well. Sites are gravel with no grass anywhere, but it is desert. Would stay again if en route. Check at the desk for coupons, we received some for Penney's Diner for $2 off for each of us. The food, breakfast was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
For our purposes this park is a 10. We use it as a over nighter traveling and use it frequently. Very nice staff. We request a certain spot every time and they are always great about saving it for us. Nice large sites that are divided by shrubs so you have the privacy effect. Great cable and Wi-Fi. Behind the park a huge field for our fur-kids to run. Right off the I-15 on a service road but the noise was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Stayed here overnight due to motor home repair needed. Was glad to have a place with hook ups at least after spendimg entire day at Barstow Walmart getting new tires installed. This place is convenient if you're heading to Las Vegas. There was a large pool that looked clean, but we didn't use it. I did use the coin-operated shower. Tokens are provided when you check in (two tokens allowed per person). I think each token got you 6 minutes of water. Bathrooms and shower were clean enough and the two tokens adequate for a lady to shower. The park itself is all very soft dirt so it can be a mess getting in to your RV. Seemed to be a lot of mature trees and shrubs around. Didn't notice too much as it was dark when we pulled in and got out of there ASAP in the morning. OK place to stop overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We stayed at the park for one night. Our site was gravel and separated from the sites on both sides with an Oleander hedge. I had to use one board to level our trailer from side to side. The cable TV and free Wi-Fi worked very well. My trailer and tow rig are 50 feet long and fit in the site end to end. The rest rooms and laundry were clean. There was a game room with ping pong, fooz ball, air hockey and a pool table. The swimming pool was heavily used due to the fact it was 109 degrees when we checked in and it was still 89 degrees at 2200 hours. Even though there were constantly people in the pool, it remained reasonably clean and cool. The staff was friendly and gave good recommendations for a local place to eat. (Peggy Sue’s was a neat 1950’s style dinner.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Nice park, located 3 miles from Calico. Only stayed the night, but would stay again. Nice pool and large store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
What we liked about this KOA was the beautiful flowering hedge between sites, which provided a great deal of privacy. We are 40-ft. and had enough room for our tow alongside. The dog walk was an entire field at the back, which you seldom find. The staff was always out working, raking sites in the 107 temps. Easy access off interstate and WiFi was great. Would definitely return if in the area, but will probably stay in the northeast in future summers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Stayed here one night while traveling along I-40. Another hot day (107), but they have 50amps, so the AC is running quite well. Free WiFi. Park is not very full, probably because of the hot weather in Barstow area. Would stay here again when passing through Barstow. Roof mounted satellite works great from site #36. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
We arrived and checked in with no problem. The staff was courteous. We were only going to be here for one night so we chose electric only, not a full hookup. Our site was so narrow that my husband had to make 3 passes in order to get just the right angle, so that we could open our 3 slides, and the door. The bushes were encroaching onto the site too much. We didn't want to disconnect the truck but had no choice, since the site was also too short. I thought we were supposed to have cable TV but there was none at our site, and none at the nearby sites. Maybe its only at the FHU sites, but it doesn't say that anywhere. the Wi-Fi was free and worked well. Overall, aside from our frustrations, it seems like a nice park, especially for families. If I stayed here again I would check out the site first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Great overnight spot. Convenient to the highway. Nice privacy between spaces with tall oleander hedges. Can get windy here and sure, it's sandy, but it's the desert. There is a big dog run out back. We have been here before and are never disappointed. The late check-in is always easy. Friendly staff in the office in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
Park has friendly staff, clean facilities, a convenient location, and nice pool/playground for the kids. The "dog walk" is incredible with miles of open country right behind the campsite. I took my dog out for a 3 mile run the evening we stayed. I will stay here again if we're ever in the area. It's a great overnight stop if you're heading from the Grand Canyon to the California coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
We spent the night here in spring. It was a bit warm but not bad at all. The place is entirely dirt ( it is the desert ) and no grass. But they were spreading out new gravel while we were here. I wasn't to sure about this park when we arrived. After checking in and getting settled, we were pleasantly surprised. Hookups were fine and the grounds keepers were very helpful when needed. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
This park is fine if you're just passing through. The spaces are gravel and very large, in fact we were able to open all four slides and still had enough room to park our Jeep beside our motorhome. We only used electrical hookups and they worked fine. Check in staff was friendly. The dog run area is really just open desert, but our two dogs loved it! Would certainly stay here if passing through the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
We have stayed here previously and still find it more than adequate for an overnight stay. The park is actually pretty this time of year with lots of trees, bushes and birds. The laundry and shower facilities are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
Any port in a storm! I'd only stop here again if I had to. Freeway noise for starters. Older and typical KOA. Sites are dirt and some have new gravel. My site #30 had so much gravel I got stuck half way through and switched to low 4-wheel drive. Without my big Super duty F250 diesel I would not have made it through the 6-inch tire ruts. The site next to mine was hard pack dirt. The sewer hook up is so far foreword that I'll have to move in the AM to empty the tank before I could leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$46
Stopped here on way back to Vegas from San Diego and wanted to see Calico Ghost Town. We stayed here for Wi-Fi access only needed to book more reservations. The site we were told was the last one for the evening and would not recommend this site for trailers our size or larger we have 30' which stuck out at both ends. Game room was a change for our kids as we are at state parks mostly. They had a well stocked store and restrooms appeared updated. It is dusty there and the staff was friendly towards us. The showers require tokens which were given to us at check in. Bring your fire pit which most seem to do and the table was worn bring covers 8yr old got a splinter. Would recommend for a stop over or off road fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
Loved this place. Late check-in easy. Had a late check-out time (12 noon) in the morning too. Very private spaces with tall oleander trees separating. Calm atmosphere. A bit of freeway noise, but not bad. Large dog walk area out back. Friendly staff. Could have used the WI-FI code at night - but it was simple enough to get it in the morning. Only had water and electric sites remaining as it was a weekend night, but the dump was conveniently located. A good place for short or long-term stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$33
The Barstow Calico KOA in Yermo, CA is a nice place to stay if you are passing through this area. It's only 3 miles away from the Ghost Town of Calico (which I didn't have time to see), is easily accessible from Highway 15, and is located near several cute diners. We ate at Peggy Sue's Nifty 50's Diner while here and liked it a lot. There's a pool to swim in and you get a lovely view out your window of the Calico Mountains to the North. The pull-through site we got had plenty of room for our 33' RV with both slides out and our tow vehicle as well. Easy drive in and out. Fairly level dirt site. Dog walk area available. Helpful staff at the registration office. Wi-Fi worked just fine. Shower rooms leave a little to be desired. (They were a little small and cold because there was no heater. The water didn't get that hot and the pressure was kind of low but still did the job.) They were clean at least. Even though the park is right off of the frontage road of I-15 it was still nice and quiet. Lots of big trees to absorb road noise. The park was fine and I would stay again if in Barstow/Calico area in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
Great park for overnight stays or, if you want to see Calico ghost town (just down the road). I paid 33.75 with KOA discount. If you are a pet owner - its a great place with acres of desert behind the campground to walk your pets. Desk people are nice and very helpful. The site we were in has the sewer offset too much but that isn't true of all the sites. There are shrubs between the sites for some privacy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
Nice little desert RV park. Pretty, friendly, welcoming, and a nice pool. Downside: sites set up so that none of the lovely landscaping offers any shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
A decent park in the middle of the desert. The pool was not the cleanest we have seen. It was a good place for an overnight on our way from LA to Zion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
They have propane on site. They have pull through sites, cable and leveling was fairly acceptable. Our Verizon air card worked well. It is a well lit area. There is nothing much around the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
The campground is clean but dusty since no roads are paved. We have stayed here several times over the years, experiencing electrical problem frequently. The park tries to fix problems quickly but management is reluctant to reimburse any fees when electrical fails. Their check-in is speedy with few issues. The sites are narrow but can handle up to 70ft. The entrance into the park is narrow so large rigs need to be careful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
The check in was very fast. The site was easy to find and spacious. The sites are between lovely Oleander bushes and there is plenty of shade. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a large dog walking area beyond the fence which was really nice. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
It is next to the freeway LA-Las Vegas. A noisy place due to traffic. Good wifi. There is a very small pool with no shady areas. Rather narrow sites, especially when using slide-out and awning. When windy, there is lots of dust everywhere, which is logical in the middle of the desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
Not much to recommend this place, but its location and the fact that it is a KOA. It does have trees, but they run east and west, so you still get the sun on your rig. Their 72' pull throughs are really only about 60'. I had to drop my toad to get it out of the road. That was a pain in 98 degree weather. Propane was $3.39 a gallon. Because it has the only trees around for miles, it has an interesting selection of birds. I would probably stay here again, if I could not find anything better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$37
All packed-sand sites, some with trees. They advertise WiFi, but it is terrible! It drops out very frequently, barely allowing a connection. I was near the Office WiFi tower and still only got an intermittent connection. You have to carry your laptop to the office to sustain a connection. I called several times only to be told excuses. "Maybe too many others are online now," or "We had a storm a few days ago." I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
This is the second visit for us. Well maintained and a really nice place to stay. We will be staying there again on our way down south next winter. A very nice KOA We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
If you're looking for a well maintained RV park between Bakersfield and Las Vegas, you'd be hard pressed to find anything better than the Barstow/Calico KOA located in Newberry Park. The listing for this park is Yermo, California, but if you tried to find it on the MapQuest maps, you would come up empty. Simply take the Ghost Town Road and turn left at the Shell station. All this aside, this KOA has level sites that are quite long and very wide. If your RV has a triple slide out, then you'll have no problem getting well situated. Most sites have cable TV (adequate), electricity and sewer. All functioning quite well. Road noise from Interstate 15 in the south portion of the RV park is quite noticeable. The swimming pool was closed off and doesn't open until April. The pool may have been a welcome addition to the Barstow/Calico RV park's amenities since the temperature was nearing 80 degrees during our brief respite from travel. Astronomers: if you've got a portable telescope, don't forget to bring it to this KOA. A brief stroll to the rear of this RV park provides dark, crisp skies to launch your celestial adventures. All in all, the Barstow/Calico KOA is a nice stopping off point for visiting the Calico Ghost Town (3 miles) or a longer jaunt to Las Vegas if traveling east. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$37
We were only able to get a water/electric hookup which also does not offer cable TV. Even so, we were surprised that the price was almost $40/night. The park is well kept, but some of the sites are a little difficult to get into and oddly shaped. There are some nice shade trees. They also have a very large laundry room. With your site, you get a table and a BBQ grill. Since the park is easy access off I-15, it is a good place to overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
We stayed here for one night in a motorhome towing. They were able to put us in a pull-through site with fewer trees so we could get our satellite connection. The escort to the site was great since it was a little tricky. Very easy off and on to Interstate 15. I would recommend this park for an overnight or a few days if exploring the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$41
Clean, well kept facility, hard packed dirt roads (it's the desert after all), friendly and helpful staff. Right off the freeway, easy access but you can hear traffic all night. A bit spartan for long stays, but a good base camp near Calico Ghost Town and Barstow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
This is a great overnight spot if you're on your way to Las Vegas or the Grand Canyon. We stayed here twice in the last year. The first time we had a terrific site in the rear of the campground where there is a great open desert area out back. The second time, even though we made reservations two months in advance, they stuck us in a crummy little site up near the freeway which was very noisy and had no privacy because there was some kind of to-do going on nearby and the campground was full. They have a nice little swimming pool here, but the best feature is the huge open area behind the campground where you can run your doggies to their hearts' content. Not a place you'd want to stay more than a night, but great to have it there in the middle of pretty much nowhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
Very nice campground. It is sandy but this is a desert. There are hedges between each site which provide a lot of privacy. The Wi-Fi is great, cable clear but limited. The highway noise is present but not bad. There is a nice desert garden in the entrance. This is a great KOA! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
Good campground for an overnight - right off the 15 and full hook-up sites, including 50 amp and cable connections. It includes a pool, playground, and well-equipped camp store. The sites have a picnic table and tall grill, no fire pit. We didn't use the showers or bathrooms, but peeked in one and it wasn't very clean at 8 a.m., not sure if typical. I would not recommend for an extended stay - sand/dirt sites without a blade of grass. Tall shrubs divide each site and give privacy, also block the sandy wind that blows. Also close enough to the I-15 to get traffic noise, worse at the front of the campground closest to the showers and pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$41
Typical KOA in that it has lots of recreational features for kids and is expensive if you don't need those features. Very dusty particularly if it is windy as it was when we were there. Our site was roomy, with high shrubs on either side to provide some privacy. Location is convenient; Wi-Fi is strong, at least close to the office; some good sites for internet and tv satellite access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
Very nice KOA near Barstow CA off I-15. Sites are well spaced but a little dusty with all the desert sands. Great wifi and roof mounted satellite reception. AT & T cell phone great. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Good for an overnight. Sites are a little narrow, but all four slides went out with no problems. WI-FI worked for 2 of our 3 computers, and worked well for them. We would stay here on another trip if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Sites were shaded; pool was clean. The showers were in need of repair; no locks on door of one shower and door handle fell off of the other. We stayed at many KOA's along the way, but this one was the most unfriendly! The morning staff was a little less curt but after a long drive through the desert it would have been nice to be greeted with a smile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
This park is ok. The sites are not large and the shade is minimal in the desert. If you like desert hiking, there is desert access at the campground. The staff is cordial, but I wouldn't label them friendly. We've stayed at this KOA before, but we may not return after dealing with a curt staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
Good park for overnight stay. Not a destination park. Calico ghost town nearby and good for a few hours at best. Will use this park for stops on the way to and from desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Well run, all amenities available, easy access, highly recommend to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
This is a standard formula KOA. The staff is very friendly and helpful and has supplies for almost any RV need. We found that the propane cost here was priced significantly less than other stops we had made - so we filled all three bottles. Each space offers a LOT of privacy by a hedge of Oleanders that are planted between the spaces. I am sure that when they start to bloom in the early summer it will be beautiful and add to the ambiance. The sites are all sand as mentioned earlier - but everything in this part of the country is all sand - it is just part of the terrain. They have a HUGE area to run dogs to let them really get out and play - which our girls really enjoyed. We have camped here 2 - 3 times after weekends in the Mojave Desert dirt bike racing. In the laundromat the washing machines are all very clean and all of the equipment has worked every time we have been there which is a real bonus. My husband and I also recommend Peggy Sue's for a meal. It's a great "greasy spoon" type of diner located just around the corner. One final bonus about this KOA - during our last visit the area was hit with record winds - which are not uncommon for that portion of California and Southern Nevada. Interstate 15 had been closed ahead so we pulled in and took the last available spot. One of the workers helped us set up camp since the winds were so fierce it was hard to even stand up. Once we got to our site we noticed the winds had subsided significantly. As it turns out, the KOA is surrounded by taller trees that took the worst of the winds while leaving the interior trailers protected. It was a HUGE relief to be out of the wind and in a safe place for the evening. We plan to stay here again when our travels take us to this part of the country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$36
This is the perfect place for a stopover from Interstate 15 or for a few days relaxation, all the sites are wide, spacious and shaded by hedges and trees, every site has their own barbecue and table, the sites are positioned so you get the feeling of privacy, a short walk or bicycle ride away is a great diner which serves anything from breakfast to full dinner, we loved the peace and quiet this campsite has to offer along with the cleanliness of the washrooms and laundry, the free Wi-Fi worked perfectly, the staff are friendly, if we ever pass along this route again we will definitely make it our business to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$34
Great halfway stop between the Coast and Vegas. Nicely angled pull-through sites make them seem wider than they are and make navigation easy. Bushes between sites provide a sense of privacy. Typical KOA. (i.e. higher priced). This one is well maintained, spotlessly clean and neat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
This campground is conveniently located halfway between Los Angeles and Las Vegas. We used it to park our rig and drive our tow down to Disneyland. It was much easier to visit in California attractions using the car. It took about 11/2 hours using the car pool lanes. It is close to an outlet mall and some good restaurants. We recommend eating at Peggy Sues 50's style dinner about a half mile away. You need a car to get around. If you can handle an all-sand site, this campground is an ideal stop over. It easily accommodates big rigs with tows. The sites have privacy scrubs and the roads are easy to maneuver in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
One thing you always can get at a KOA is a reasonably good park with lots of things to do, clean restrooms, and good size sites. This is probably an average KOA. The sites were dirt only (really desert sand) , not gravel, but the site was level and easy to get your rig unhooked. If you've made a long trip across California or Arizona and are nearing the end of the day this is a good place to rest for the night. We would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
This campground is actually quite nice. You are in the desert and it is very hot which makes for the perfect swimming pool situation. The sites are level, there are bushes between each site which makes you feel like you are camping even though you are in the desert. Also makes good privacy. Campground is also very clean and tidy. Those are the good things. Now the only 2 bad things. NO campfire pits. I do not know if the reason is because of the desert or not, but I do not think you should be able to use the word "CAMPGROUND" if you cannot have a campfire. For example, Las Vegas KOA is NOT a campground by any means but they advertise as such. Now for the worst part of all for this KOA here in Yermo, California. They advertise WI-FI but there was no signal and the only excuse they could come up with is that the heat made it not work. I do not buy that excuse since the Las Vegas KOA, where it was hotter, had perfect WI-FI ! The reason it upsets me so much is that on this trip we encountered so many campgrounds that advertise the WI-Fi and when you get there it is not working. And they always have some excuse followed by "THEY are having somebody coming in to fix it in the near future". "They" must mean the campground owners. Setting up a wireless network is SO easy these days ! Why can't these businesses that advertise WI-FI not get their act together? When I go to the office to see what the problem is there is always a few guys like myself standing there with laptops in hand asking why the WI-FI does not work. For some of us the WI-Fi is an absolute necessity when travelling. Peggy Sue's diner is cool to look at but it is dirty and greasy looking. For a REALLY GOOD meal go a little bit in the other direction and there is PENNY'S DINER. Massive sandwiches with fries for $6 !!! A feast ! I would recommend this site very much but NOT if you must have WI-Fi. Price was $32.90 with the KOA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
This is a very nicely maintained KOA. The staff is friendly. Everything is clean and maintained. It is on an interstate frontage road however the noise is not bad. Nice tall oleanders between each site for privacy and some trees for shade. I would recommend it and stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
Owners and staff certainly do deserve credit for maintaining a clean well laid out park. Sites are level and roads are wide enough that if your rig is a little too long for the site, it is not obstructing traffic. Looks like the pool has been rebuilt and the water is clean and fresh. Well-stocked store. Sites are sand and dirt but the other amenities offset this one drawback. We would stay again on our way to Vegas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
The price was quite high for what you get. $36.00 plus an extra $3.50 for our 11 year old granddaughter. They claim the sites are 70 feet long, but our 50 foot motorhome just barely fit with almost no room for our car. We stayed here mainly for the pool and it was filthy and cold and our granddaughter wouldn't get in. We wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
(Rate was with the gold card discount.) I think the owners deserve a lot of credit here. Yes, I guess it can get dusty in the desert – something they can’t control – and freeway noise? Couldn’t hear it over the AC. Consider the efforts they’ve put into it: fastidiously maintained desert sites with indigenous plants, immaculate showers (six huge unisex ones in a separate building in addition to the three in the men’s and women’s restrooms), 24 HD quality TV channels on the cable and above average WIFI throughout the entire park. When we were here they had a crew rebuilding the pool; a project that has to have run into the tens of thousands. I don’t know whether we’ll be in the neighbourhood again, but if we are, we’ll go significantly out of our way to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
Friendly staff, even drives to your site. Nice desert landscaping. A restroom/shower building was just across from my site. But, unfortunately, that's about all the positives I can come up with for this KOA. The restroom/shower building was unheated and dingy; wifi didn't work at all; and it was a bit on the noisy side with truck traffic from the highway. At least it was cheap! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Decent overnight park located in the outskirts of Barstow. It was like camping in a dust bowl but the restrooms and showers were clean. Sites were on dirt and sand but nice size. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
We found this park to be of a really high standard. The park was well maintained and the facilities were clean and very nice. the sites were big and quite private with many trees and hedges throughout the park. The park was a bit dusty but that is to be expected in the desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
Nothing fancy about this Campground. The sites are gravel, which was raked, and separated by shrubs from the site next to you. Not far off the highway but quiet. The office staff were courteous and helpful. Showers were clean and the bathrooms were clean but dated. All in all a good place to stop for the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
Nice place for an overnight stop over, it is in the desert so there is no grass and the sites are gravel, but there is a privacy wall of trees/shrubs between the sites and the sites are fairly large. I did not see the questionable people/rigs mentioned in an earlier review. I would stay here for an overnight anytime but not an extended stay in the summer it is very hot! The campground is not well marked off the exit, go north past the Shell station and take the first left after the service station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
Campsite was littered with dog droppings, swimming pool was mediocre, dog walk area not lit at all. Will try to bypass this one if possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
We stayed here on our return trip from Arizona. We had stayed here on our trip out to Arizona also. This is a nice (HOT) family rv park. Your price for camping includes your admission into the ghost town. The ghost town is a fun family activity. The sites are dirt and somewhat level. The gate is manned until 4:00 p.m. After that time, the ranger spots people coming in. The rangers will register the guest and if the site is reserved, they will make sure that the correct person is in it. The sites have wooden posts that they put the name and date of the reservation. When calling for a reservation, the people are nice and helpful. This time through, the campground hardly had anyone in it. Maybe because of the heat. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$35
We had to stay here only because we had mechanical problems with the truck. They were friendly enough but, unless you want to camp in the desert this is not the nicest place. They said it was being sold to another owner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Have been camping here every year for several years, on the way to other places. Had real water problem (low pressure) reported it several times, no response from management. All in all, it is a wide spot in the road when I need to sleep, but no maintenance, no new facilities, crummy water, who needs it? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Nice campground, lots of room in our site. Very level sites. Dirt roads and dirt sites, little or no grass. There are shade trees. Pool was clean and so was restrooms. Great store with lots of items. I'd use it as a stop over again sometime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
We stayed just one night. All the sites are pull through and many are shady. The people there were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
Trashy old KOA in a very unappealing area. Way overgrown and some really unkept RVs. I would stay here only if it was the only option! One nice selling point is Peggy Sue's Diner, just on the other side of the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$26
The only real downside to this park is the dirt sites. But it is the best rv park in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
We dry camped since the hook-up sites were taken. The area is the Mojave Desert, so the ground is gravel. The camp grounds were neat and well kept. The dry camp sites are away from the highway, so the noise was minimal. Keep in mind this not a resort, but a nice place to spend a couple of days exploring the surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Sites are not paved or have gravel, they are dirt. The park appears WORN OUT AND TIRED. Staff is friendly, but gang types are hanging out at the pool. Close to Hwy 15, noisy. Needs to be remodeled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Very friendly and clean. Easy in and easy out. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com