223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Indiana Dunes State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (219) 926-1952
CGID5141

Indiana Dunes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   9   8   8   8   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Nice wide sites, very pretty. Paved roads and sites. No water at site. Showers decent and same with toilets. Mosquito's prevalent. Not a favorite! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
Rate includes entrance fee/reservation fee over 3 nights. We like this park but it is very busy in the Summer - no matter what day of the week - but what else would you expect for a CG right near the lake 40 miles from Chicago-Land. The park itself is nice and the sites are big but it is noisy as many of the sites have large family groups with 3 or 4 tents set-up on each. The restrooms/showers get dirty towards the end of the day as they only seemed to be cleaned once a day. Good hiking trails to the lake and dunes and easy access to the train into Chicago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
This is a very busy park during the summer. The beach is very nice with a concession stand and lifeguard protection. There are also miles of walking trails in and around the dunes. On a clear day you can see the skyline of Chicago across the lake. The nearby town of Chesterton has many stores and restaurants. There's also a train station at the entrance of the park (with freee parking) that has scheduled service to Chicago. As for the campground itself, the sites are all paved and many are long enough for large fifth wheels. The sites are electric only but there are several water spigots scattered around the park that you can fill up from if you run out. Just be sure to bring a water thief since there are no threads on those spigots. There are also two water fill stations (with threads) as you enter the campground. We were disappointed to see that many large trees have been cut down since our last visit. Perhaps the ash borer is to blame. As a result, many previously shady sites now receive a lot of sun and there's not much privacy between sites (although spacing is OK.) Since this is such a busy park, even on weekdays during the summer most sites are occupied so it has a parking lot look to it with the absence of some of the trees. If you like a social atmosphere with plenty of families, this is the place for you. If you want a more private, secluded, quiet environment, then I recommend the National campground just to the east. Although it has NO hookups, it is very pretty and in a dense forest with a modern restrooms and showers. As for this campground, the restrooms were cleaned daily (the family restroom was closed permanently which is irritating); there are two playgrounds; cell reception is good; TV reception is spotty; there is a campstore open until 9 or 10pm with the basics; sand is everywhere (you're around sand dunes after all); we never saw a Park Ranger drive through but most campers observed quiet hours beginning at 11pm. We would return because of the beach and the park is well run, it's just not the prettiest campground. With all the other families and two playgrounds, our kids had a blast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
Nice campground with clean restrooms and shower area. Playground available for the kids and a camp store on location. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Rate is for non-holiday Sun-Wed. Rates increase Thursday through the weekend. Very popular weekend destination. We were on a stopover from Florida to the west coast. Great state park and campground. Clean facilities. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
This is an excellent place to view the dunes. We took trail 4 which is labeled moderate. It had many wooden steps (100+) and climbed the largest dune (fully forested) then down to the beach. There is an easy beach trail, but not well marked. Return by the beach trail or car pickup at the pavilion could avoid a round trip on trail 4. This was a good experience and we would do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
Great site. Flat concrete pads for RV and car. Electric only, but water and dump station available. Nice hiking trails within the park. A short walk to the beach. Friendly people. Clean showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
This is a very pretty state park. The sites are very big, level and paved and the roads are paved. There is 50 amp service, which was needed in July. No water or sewer, but there is water located around the park and there is a dump. The trees are pretty thick and we were unable to get satellite service. Even the antenna service was marginal. Very quiet park. Close to the Lake Michigan beach, which is beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
A few years ago this park was converted from a campground to an RV park. The new sites are all nearly identical and will all easily handle big rigs. There are trees but satellite TV is accessible from many sites. All sites are electric only and all are 50-amps. The showers and restrooms were excellent during our stay, but we were there during a quiet part of the year and things could be different during high volume months. The state park itself is a wonder. We have travelled a great deal and cannot think of anywhere that has more diversity of environment in such a small area. The lake side of the dunes is a nice beach while the other side is a combination forest and marsh. The trails both climb the dunes and meander through the forest. This is an especially nice stop during the early spring and late fall. They have reduced the rate on the sites and visitors are subjected to only a one-time park entry fee no matter their length of stay in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
This was our first visit to the Indiana Dunes State Park CG. It was easy to locate and the check in process went smoothly. Nice small general store with just a few essential things someone may forget to bring. Although we didn't use them, the bathroom facilities were recently renovated, so they are very nice. Nice beach access. That is the main reason to come to this park. The CG is a typical state park, with no frills. The grounds could have used a bit of sprucing up. We will return to this state park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Campground was packed for Halloween trick or treating. Showers were nice and hot and bathrooms kept clean despite the crowds. Our second Halloween camping trip here. We'll be back next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
Clean park with easy access for big rigs. Close to Chicago with the South Shore Line train close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
Very nice campground. Large, comfortable mostly level sites and well maintained. $10.00 entry fee charged when entering but covered by cost of campground fee(s) after the first day. Proximity of South Shore train station into Chicago very convenient (and reasonable). Couldn't drive and park there for the $7.90 fee ($3.45 for seniors 65+). The only complaint was that the staff at the camp store had several people "hanging around" the porch by the front door (appeared to be family members) and most were smoking. Pretty uncomfortable to enter and staff member wasn't the friendliest I have ever seen. Still a great place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Another great Easter weekend camping at the Dunes. Hardly any other campers. The restrooms were clean, but not as clean as previous visits. Still nothing to complain about. Enjoyed the bird tagging on Sunday morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Camped over Halloween. There were lots of activities. Trick or Treating, campsite decorating contest, saw-whet owl tagging was the highlight. Staff did a good job keeping the restrooms clean on a very busy weekend. Showers were hot with plenty of water pressure. Nicely finished boardwalk trail to the beach is new. One of our favorite places to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is perhaps the best state park we've stayed in. The pads are level concrete and the sites have ample space for even the largest rig. Facilities are clean and modern. The campground is within easy walking distance of the beach on a new boardwalk. We stayed 3 nights with our caravan and would love to have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
First you have to pay the park entrance fee, THEN you pay another 25 for a site. THEN when you try to use the showers, the water runs cold. It's a newish park, so what's with the shoddy upkeep? Nice setting, but also - it's at the high end of prices for electric only, no hot water. Humph! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
This was a very nice state park. We only stayed one night on our way home and wished we could have stayed longer. We had a smaller site, but friends we were with had a large site with a concrete pad. Many hiking trails and within walking distance to the lake/beach. The beach was beautiful and very clean. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
The campground was nice with some fairly spacious sites. Bathrooms seemed clean and well maintained. The problem we encountered were the rude campers. We camped from a Friday to Wednesday. During that time there was constant dog barking; screaming babies; campers next to us with the most bright, obnoxious lights on at night; and campers playing loud music. We have little kids, as well, and we're not fuddy duddies but it just got a little old. The worst was the camper next to us who brought along a mosquito fogger and sprayed that stuff several times a night even while they (and we) were eating. We complained to the park staff, but they refused to do anything about it. Again, it's a nice campground but not necessarily the most peaceful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Campground was good, but the state is collecting a $10 fee to out of state people just to enter the park. Will not go to Indiana State Parks again until they do away with this tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Since it was so early in the camping season they let us pick out our site, set up then return to the gatehouse to pay. Very friendly staff. Had a great time on the bird walk Saturday morning. Naturalist kept the kids interested. Beautiful beach, lots of trails to hike. Great shower houses. This campground is packed in the summer but this early in the spring there were maybe 8 sites in use on Easter weekend, and four of them were our group. Like having our own state park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Good time of year to visit, low cost, park and beaches quiet, beautiful trees. Very relaxing. Rate shown does not include 10$ park entrance fee. Big sites with concrete base and plenty of space for tow truck. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We waited all summer to find a weekend to camp at the Dunes, as it was full. The wait was worth it! What a great campground. My 2 kids had a ball. They rode their bikes, went to the 2 different play areas, ran up and down the small sand dune on site. Had fun showering in their facilities! The campground is clean, very family and dog friendly. We were surprised how big the sites were. Has a camp store on site, that had anything you would forget or run out of! It rained for a good part of the day. However, it did not stop us, we broke out the yahtzee and cards and had fun! The kids had fun in ponchos, running around in the rain! Can't wait to come back here in the summer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Nice park off I-94 with lots of concrete spaces, roomy, most with trees. Electric only at sites, water available at entrance, dish worked. We would definitely stay again. We have a 40' RV, and the space was not a problem to stay hooked up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Delightful park. Great concrete sites with double parking on each site. We got over 30 channels on our digital TV. One of the nicest bathhouses I have seen and used, hot water all the time. Lots of maintenance folks keeping the park clean. Beautiful beach, stunned at how crowded it was. I feel paying an additional $10 entrance fee because we are out of state was silly, but for a park this nice, I'll pay it. Will definitely go here again! Beautiful trails and really nice playgrounds for the kids. Chesterton is 3 miles away, has everything you need. Also visit the official Visitor Center too! I would give this park a 10 if it was full hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We only stayed one night, but wish our visit could have been longer! This campground was easy to navigate. Our site (like most) was spacious and very level. The beach was absolutely gorgeous, although quite crowded during our visit. The only downside was the bathrooms - the stainless steel used for the sinks and counter tops accumulated persistent puddles and didn't seem very clean, although there wasn't any noticeable trash or filth. We definitely want to come back for a multi-night visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
We have camped here several times and it is a favorite for all of the reasons listed by other reviewers. It accommodates even the biggest of RVs and their slides. It is not heavily forested but has lots of trees. We like our satellite internet/TV (even through the Chicago OTA stations are available). For those who'd like to get satellite TV via permanently mounted dish on the RV, I have done a site survey of those sites with a view of the Directv satellite (101). Here is the list of sites 1,2,3,7, -12,21,22,29,30,31,-32,35,36,37,-38,-40,41,58,61,-66,-67,73,75,-78, 80, 82, 97, 100, 101,-111, 121, 125 135, 136. Minus sign indicates iffy depending on dish location. If you have a ground mounted dish, other sites will also have a shot at the sky. The reservation system requires a site number selection, so this will give you the info needed before you arrive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
We camped here for two nights during the week. Has very spacious sites with a fair amount of shade and concrete pads with well maintained picnic tables and fire pits. The sites do not have water or sewer hookups, but do have full electric. Since it was during the week the campground was only about 20% full. I understand that weekends are very crowded. There is an excellent beach and hiking areas. This is an interesting geographical area. Probably not a destination site for us but will certainly camp here again when in the area, or on our way through Northern Indiana. We had plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Campground was totally redone in 2007. All sites are large with poured cement pads (although not all pads are level front to back) and large asphalt parking for tow vehicle. Best camp shower I have seen short of Fort Wilderness campground at Disneyworld. Great beach, good nature center with bird observation area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
We made an overnight stop here. Be aware that an additional park entrance fee is charged to campers, and that this is $10 for out of state residents. The sites are extremely neat and the concrete pads are easy to back into. All roads are paved. The park was quite empty on the Wednesday night we camped. Our site bordered a major dune along the lake shore, although climbing it would be quite an effort. Reaching the lake is easy with other paved access routes within the park. We would use this park and campground again, even as a stopover, in spite of the comparatively high cost. Our rating reflects the cost and lack of some hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Indiana Dunes State Park Campground is a very nice facility. All facilities are well taken care of and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Great park but may be limiting on length for some. We have a 45' and length was tight. The sites are wide and well kept. Lots of nice families there. The beach is a short walk and beautiful. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$17
All workers were friendly and helpful, clean and well maintain park. The only reasons we didn't give it a 10 was, no water, no sewer, no wifi. Do not camp by the comfort stations the fans are extremely loud. Lots of places to ride your bike, there is a nature center and tons of stuff for all ages. Beach is close enough to ride a bike or walk. Beware the entrance is not included in daily fee...if you are an out-of-state resident the park entrance fee is double. Also, weekend nights (Thurs-Fri-Sat) fees are $25 per night, week days (Sun-Weds) are $17. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Excellent campground. We actually found this campground last year when we were looking for some way to escape "Yogi's Ghetto Adventure" in nearby Portage. This simple state park campground is a wonderful stop for a long weekend. With no water or sewer, I can't give it more than an 8, but still definitely recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Since this park was redone several years ago, we have really enjoyed camping here. This time we arrived on a Sunday night and were very glad to have a reservation, as the campground was almost entirely full (signs read that it was full, so perhaps a few reservations didn't show). Very crowded, but most sites are large & spacious. Very nice paved pads, with plenty of room for longer rigs plus the tow vehicle, or multiple tents at a site. Agree with the previous poster who mentioned the sand getting all over the bathhouse floors - it goes everywhere! The park was so busy that the campground hosts were overwhelmed with extra duties, which is probably the reason the bathhouse wasn't too clean (though far from nasty) during our stay. Will definitely consider staying here again, but more likely off-season (spring or fall). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
This is a very nice campground, with sites in the woods that have enough spacing between them to give some privacy. We were there mid-week, and it was about 40% full. The on-line pre-registration process worked well (we are from out of state), and the park has some very nice trails to explore which go through the woods, up into the dunes and to Lake Michigan. The restrooms were pretty nice, but the sand from the area will be on the floor, and the campground had a nasty habit of cleaning them at about 8 am. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Great park! Might be crowded in season, but awesome in a warm October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
What a beautiful park! After traveling around Chicago and all the traffic, it was just what we needed. Got set up in time to go to the beach on the shore of Lake Michigan to do some let stretching, photo taking, and watch an wonderful sunset. We could see the skyline of Chicago and with the sun setting it was a truly awesome. Nice level concrete pads. Sites were good size with good spacing in between sites. Wish we could have stayed longer and we would definitely like to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We loved this campground - stayed here twice on a recent trip. The sites are paved with cement and are very spacious. The bath houses are palatial and very clean. No matter where your site is, you won't have far to walk to get there. The only thing I'd like to see a little more of is privacy. There are no plantings between sites so it feels a little wide open. Not too far from the interstates. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Very attractive park near attractive dunes on the lake. It's hard to fault anything with this park, except the lack of full hookups. Sites are large and attractive. Nice hiking trails through the dunes and along the beach. Fee includes a $10 non resident entry fee into the park We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This is a great state park. All the campsites have level, concrete pads and lots of space. There are trees around most of the sites that make them fairly private. The biggest draw of this campground, though is the lake and the dunes. There are miles of hiking trails along the dunes, most have a brochure. Be sure to check out the nature center you can get a birding list there and see many different species from their observation room. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
The campgrounds are very clean and spacious. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful. We locked our keys in our car and they sent help right away. Many trails to hike and the Indiana Dune beach is around the corner. The campgrounds have been upgraded with new showers and they were in the middle of building a boardwalk that will lead to the beach. It's very family friendly and I would recommend it to all my camping friends. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We always enjoy camping at the Indiana Dunes. The campsites are spaced apart decently, there is plenty of shade, and the campsites are well maintained. My daughter loves to take her father on the trails up and down the sand dunes and out to the beach and nature center. There are often nature based activities going on each day at the nature center or the beach. Yes, you can hear the announcements on the life guard loud speakers. However, unless there was an emergency, I have not heard them go off every 15 minutes as stated in another review and at night time, they stop. Due to Emerald Ash Borer and other pests, the county is quarantined, so do not expect to bring your own wood in. You pay for your wood at the store and then it is delivered at your campsite. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$17
Park is very clean, sites are large and paved. It costs an additional $10 per vehicle to enter the park but it is a one time pay so if you stay longer than one day you don't have to pay again. Staff is very friendly and keep the park up to very high standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$17
Nice family campground, alcohol not permitted which makes it quiet. Spacious sites, nice playground area. Extra 10 bucks to get through the gate state park fee. Beach is noisy and blaring loudspeakers announcing rules & regulation every 15 min or so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
Beautiful state park CG, completely reconstructed in 2004, with paved/concrete pads, wide sites, electric hookups at nearly all of them; some sites are suitable for big rigs, others for tents only, most for rigs in between. New bathroom/shower bldgs are gorgeous, large, with nice big showers. Sites tend to be open, with a few large shade trees for each, but no undergrowth in between; very tidy CG. Camp store on site sells firewood, necessities. Trails over dunes and to the large public beach. Note: No alcohol allowed in this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com