206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Lathrop State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (719) 738-2376
CGID5142

Lathrop State Park

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   7   5   9   9   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This was an overnight stop and they do not take reservations (at least this time of year). We stayed in Loop D with 50 amp power, no w/s. Very large private sites. They are all pull through; however, the turning radius is not adequate on some of them if you are a big rig. The sites are flat but not level. Regardless of these two small drawbacks, I highly recommend it. Beautiful park with lakes, hiking, good roads, golf course. We do not use the public restroom facilities, so I cannot comment. I did use a restroom in another area of the park and it was extremely clean. Best spot for the night or the weekend in the area. Great views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
So beautiful. The views are out of this world. Nice large sites. Peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
This is the only campground that we visit every year. We love the large sites, the privacy, the spectacular views and the great hiking in the area. The La Veta museum is well worth a visit. It is work in progress, but still remarkable for a little town like La Veta. The best way to find Lathrop State Park from I 25 is to follow the Hospital signs. The park is directly across from the hospital. There is also free Wi-Fi in the hospital cafe. I have never camped here in the summer. There isn't much shade, so it could be hot. The fee of $17 with a life time CO SP pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Price is $20/night for Pinion D-Loop, with electric only, but requires a $7/day pass for your car if you do not have the Colorado State Parks pass ($70/year). Gorgeous mountain views. We did experience some winds. Verizon signal was good. Good highway access to 160 and I-25 is not too far away. I used the showers which were $1.50 for 10 minutes which accepts quarters only. Our pull through was a bit tight on the exit for our big rig. There are community water sources and trash receptacles scattered throughout the park. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
We stayed here for 1 night while traveling through. The park is not that close to Interstate 25, but it is easy to get to & from. The view of the nearby mountains and lakes was nice. The campground was built on a slope so the sites were not necessarily level. The interior roads and sites were paved. Almost all of the sites in the Pinon campground are pull throughs. There were a few back-in sites. Only a few of the pull through sites were long enough to accommodate our motorhome and toad. The radius of some of the sites made them pretty short. They only have electrical hook ups (50/30/20 AMP) and an outside table which was not on an all weather hard surface pad. The utility connections were towards the end of the site so you might need a lot of cord. There are no trees in the area so there was no encroachment on the sites & road. There was sufficient room to open slides. As there were no obstructions to the southern sky, satellite reception was good. Since there wasn’t free WiFi, we brought our own Verizon WiFi. Reception was satisfactory, but coverage didn’t seem to be the same throughout the park. There wasn’t a specific pet area but leashed pets were allowed in the campground. There weren’t any bag dispensers and waste collection cans. We used the restroom/shower building. It was clean. There was a charge for the showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Loved this park. Only about 10% full on a chilly day in October so if felt like having a huge beautiful park to ourselves. 2 lakes, boating, fishing. Good hiking paths and gravel roads for walks/jogs. Really a special place although I can imagine it might be overrun on a summer weekend. Only a limited number of electric hook-ups so make a reservation. There is a second campground with no hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Loved this RV park. Don't really recall price, so rate is approximate. Spaces are great, many with shade and very well spaced. View is fantastic. There are two lakes: one for boats with wakes, one for quieter recreation. Did not do any fishing, but lots of walking space with or without your dog. Really nice. Would like to come back again, but looked like weekend spaces were booked well in advance, so plan accordingly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
This is a beautiful State Park in Colorado with lovely, clear lake waters for swimming and boating. The sites are clean, paved and level. Each camping loop is well marked and generously spaced for a relatively private camping experience. The bathrooms were clean and well lit at night. Filling up our 37 ft. 5th wheel with water was no problem and the sewer dump station was designed with easy access for a big rig like ours. The only complaint we had was the staff inside the office/check in area were so unfriendly that they never even smiled. However, the educational displays inside the ranger station were impressive and are influential for children and adults alike. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Beautiful park, paved interior roads, level sites, water hydrants throughout the park so there was places to fill our fresh water tank and yes, the water is good. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
The Pinon Campground in Lathrop SP is one of the best in the state. Loops B and C are the best. Loop A is the oldest and the sites there are more crowded. There is no Wi-Fi in the park but you can go to the hospital across the road and get on. Lathrop State Park has two lakes. There is a wonderful 3 mile paved walking trail around one of the lakes. There is a golf course next door. I visit this park every year. It does not have full hookups. Every site has electricity and the sites in C and D will accommodate large rigs. There are no individual water hook ups but there are plenty of places to fill your fresh water tank. There is great hiking in the area and the little towns or La Vita and Cuchara are enchanting. The rate of $17 is with a senior resident pass. The regular rate is $27 and that includes the daily use fee charged by all CO parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Great views and a nice park. The rate shown includes the $7 park pass. Electric only, but water is available at spigots. We enjoyed it here and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Very expensive for a state park ($20 plus $7 daily use fee), but pretty and pleasant. We're here early in the season (it was snowing as we pulled in), but 2 loops are still open. 50 amp hook-up in a pull-through site, fairly level, with a water faucet (for tank filling, not for hooking up) right next to us, so what's not to like? Walsenburg is a charming little town with some nice antique stores to explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
There are two campgrounds at this park. Yucca campground is non-electric and is close to interstate and noisy. Pinon Campground has 50 amp electric sites with pull through and back ins on pavement. You can hear some interstate noise but it wasn’t bad when sitting outside. At night we couldn’t hear the traffic when inside. The sites are close together but we found site 42 (pull through) to be large and private. Site wasn’t level but it didn’t take much to level her out. Site had a nice table next to the trees where we also put out our chairs. Camp Hosts were helpful and friendly along with the Park Rangers. Verizon cell and air card only worked with our antenna and signal booster. We didn’t have any problems getting a signal on our dome satellite. We only stayed one night and would have liked to stay longer. Park is not taking reservations right now (Sept 18,2011) so it’s first come on all sites. Weekends are busy but midweek there’s not many people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Surprised at the price per nite, most I have paid anywhere. They include a day use fee of $7. Never paid a day use before. Put us in A loop in a pull-thru. Very tight, and you exit into the bushes. Ranger came just before we went to bed to tell us they had made an error, and the site was reserved. Asked us to pick any site of our choice in the morning and move. We went to D loop and got a wonderful site with a gorgeous view of the snow-capped Sangre De Cristo Mountains in the distance. Rangers and hosts were nice. Would not stay again because of the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$11
This is the second time I have camped at this park. And I plan to go back again next week. It is a really nice state park. Convenient to I-25 yet far enough away that you do not have traffic sounds. The sites are large and very easy to get in to. Since there are no individual water hookups be sure and fill up first. There are several faucets on each loop. All loops have flush toilets. Two of the loops also have showers. This is a large campground. During the week you can usually get in without a reservation. Colorado State Parks are very popular so reservations are a good idea for weekends. There is a golf course next door to the park. There is a wonderful paved walk around the lake where you are guaranteed to see geese, ducks and probably Great Blue Herons. The only drawback with this park is lack of shade in the summer. There are lots of small trees which give good privacy but not much shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Most sites are pull throughs and nicely spaced. The park is a bit pricey considering that it is power only and there is that annoying extra charge for the TV permit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$11
This is a wonderful state park campground and we have stayed here a number of times. The sites are large and relatively level. Electricity is reliable. Most sites have pretty good privacy. Some picnic tables and fire rings are too close to neighbors. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rate reflects senior pass (Aspen Leaf) rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Check-in at the visitor center was smooth and easy. The sites are located within walking distance of the lakes and are spaced nicely. We stayed in site #72 which had plenty of privacy. Water is available through spigots throughout the park and at the dump station. Toilets are available, but no showers. Dirt and gravel driveways and sites. Tall trees with narrow driveways, so disconnect your towed before entering. The electric hook-up was too far in front and we had to use an extension cord. Weekends can get crowded so make reservations. Colorado State Parks are a little pricey unless you have an annual pass, but worth it for a short stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
As stated before, this is a very quiet scenic park with fairly good privacy. The restrooms are clean and adequate. The only draw back to the asphalt sites is they are VERY unlevel. It took a fiver in front of us four boards under the tires to get level side to side. Many class A's cannot keep all four tires on the asphalt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Rate includes daily entry fee of $6 per vehicle in addition to $20 for camping in a 50 amp electric site. Water hydrants located throughout the loop. Spectacular views of the Spanish Peaks and Sangre de Cristo Mountains. Large, well kept sites with picnic tables and fire rings. Has a children's playground, two lakes and a nature trail. Easy availability Monday though Thursday, but reserve ahead for weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Very nice for a state park. Some sites have water. TV works from antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Very quite park, all asphalt parking for the RV's. Very easy to pull in and pull out. Stayed on loop C, lot 69 with beautiful views on the twin mountains. Lots of birds and sounds of nature. Park ranger was by about an hour after we arrived so felt secure. Nice fire pit & picnic table. Large tree like bushes separated each site so you did have a little privacy. The views were wonderful and it was so quite can't wait to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This is an okay park for overnight. The sites are sometimes assigned by staff who do not understand how much room it takes to maneuver a 40' 5th wheel. We had a terrible site this time (we have stayed here before in the same rig). We did not make reservations as we have in the past and this may have been the problem. It is a quiet park with a beautiful small lake that we always see people fishing in. There are electric hookups, and a dump station available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$46
Park is a nice stop over for us en-route to our destination; however, we feel it is rather expensive. We made reservation online a month before arrival and that cost us $10.00. There was a camping fee of $24.00 plus a fee for our vehicle. No shade available but that is not expected for the area it is in. Nice view of the Twin Peaks. Friendly at the ranger office. Sites were clean at our pad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
Make sure this campground is open before you drive a big rig up to the gate. This campground is currently closed. The lady that helped us, suggested that we drive to La Veta, Colorado. We took her suggestion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Sites will accommodate almost any RV. This an excellent place to stop for one night or a few days. Like most of the state parks, most of the sites are reserved on weekends, so call ahead. A state park pass is required so you will not save money over private camping but we truly enjoy the camping atmosphere. water is available close to many of the sites and there is a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
$18 per nite plus $6 access fee = $24/nite. Nice park with good access for big rigs and good 50 amp service at all sites in the Pinon campground. Some sites have partial shade for chairs and tables. Picnic table and fire ring/grill at each site and also a tent spot with tie down rings set in concrete. Pretty setting with great views of the twin peaks of the San Juan mountains. Good hike up to the top of Hog Back ridge and gives you a great view of the campground. We were here early in the season and were told to just drive through and pick whatever site we wanted. Camped in loop D, which has some of the best views, but looked at loops A, B, and C and they also have good circular pull through sites. We would come back and stay here for a couple of days next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
The pull-throughs are those C-shaped pull-throughs, but some are large enough and straight enough for a big rig to pull into and out of without unhooking the toad. We were in Loop D and it appeared that the electrical had been recently redone. I was last in this park and this loop about four years ago and improvements have been made. Besides the electricity, the sites are now paved rather than gravel. There is NO shade here and it can get very hot. Arrived around 1:00 pm on a Tuesday without a reservation and there was plenty of site availability. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
This was a very nice park. All facilities were excellent. The only thing that kept this from being a 10 was the silly Colorado rule that will not allow a camper to book for more than three nights without a reservation. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
This was a real nice place and I was glade to find it. The only drawback was it had community water only. We stayed overnight so that wasn't a problem. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Park was very clean & well kept. Staff was friendly & helpful. They even let us move to a site when we were unable to level. Beautiful views from most sites. Sites are configured in four cloverleafs. Most sites are blacktop pull thru sites. Some were level, some aren't. All water hookups are community hookups although the one in out site was within a foot of our table--we thought this was odd. The electrical at our site had been upgraded to 50 amps, but was on the wrong side of coach. Need very long cord. Doesn't seem like a lot of thought went into their utility placement. Parking was blacktop, but camping area was sand & gravel. They had a central trash area by exit which was quite far from many sites. There are two lakes in park, but both are quite a ways from camping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com