223589 User submitted reviews online!!
West Palm Beach/Lion Country Safari KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (561) 793-9797
CGID5159

West Palm Beach/Lion Country Safari KOA

Camp Information
Sites
233
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   6   10   10   10   10   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$62
We stayed here for four months. The place is way over priced and on the weekends anything goes. I had teens running around at 2am several weekends. If you don't request it, mowing and weed eating is not done on the site. Too many of our friends from the North border take over the campground and our generally very rude. We left two months early because of the atmosphere in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
This was our second stay here. Most of the sites are great; large and wide. There are a few that are tight together, but we managed to avoid those. The pool is much larger than normal, and I even manage to swim lengths in it. It is very quiet at night, and you can hear the lions from the Safari Park next door. The park is very well a managed, and the staff work hard to help out with any requests. The only negative comment is that the park is very focussed on seasonal campers, so getting a specific site during the winter vacation can be hard, even when reserving well in advance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$60
The campground is adequate for a nice stay in the area, however I do have a few criticisms. The first is the length of the pull thrus and the tight campground configuration. The pull thru sites in the area we were in were barely long enough to contain both our motorhome and toad, and could only do so if I unhitched the toad. Numerous sites containing fifth wheels and TTs could not hold both the trailer and its tow vehicle, resulting in tow vehicles being parked in spots that were not within campground policy. Combined with the narrow interior roads, the randomly parked tow vehicles created obstacles when it came time to depart the campground. On the morning of departure, I could not exit my site without asking my immediate neighbor and their neighbor to move their trucks for me. Secondly, there were places throughout the campground that needed attention from someone with a weedeater. I noticed this mostly on campsites that appeared to have been occupied for an extended period. Lastly, I think it's very odd that the campground doesn't have cable. There's just no justification for that. As a heads up, I'd like to make note that the water pressure at our site consistently measured 80 psi, which is a bit high. That's a lot of negatives, but honestly, the campground has a lot going for it too. We had two days' admission to Lion Country Safari included in the cost of the site. We took advantage of that and had an enjoyable time in the park. For a KOA, I think this campground is a decent value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$62
Beautiful campground; shaded and well kept. The best part was that the price included tickets for two days admission to Lion Country Safari. This is a MUST GO destination for everybody. This turned out to be one of our best trips and will be returning again real soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$65
Perfect place to stop off on the way to Key West. We arrived right at sun set and were led to the site by an employee. In the morning we did hear the lions. Very interesting to hear them roar. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
Loved this campground! I love hearing the lions and tigers at night! Would recommend this campground to everyone. The campground is clean and nice and most of the employees are nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$70
We stayed for two nights and loved this place. Big site for our 40' rig and plenty of space to spread out. Can't believe the price includes the safari next door. We really enjoyed that and waking up to roaring lions was really cool. Pool was large and dog park was good too. Certainly will come again. Everyone was very nice and pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$65
Ditto the previous reviewer. This was the only place we could find on the way to the Keys. They are the highest priced CG that we have ever stayed in our 4 years of RV'ing. Of course we should have figured as much for KOA. With that price they don't have cable TV. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$74
We overnighted here on our way to Key West. A bit off the beaten path if traveling the FL Tpk or I-95, but not too far. You can hear the lions in the park which is immediately adjacent to this campground. The pull thru we had was large enough to handle our 40' MH and toad. Nothing wrong with the campground, but we will choose somewhere else to overnight in the future due to the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$46
The park was was easy to find with well placed signs showing the turns. Check in was quick and easy. The staff showed us to our sight. The lion safari next door was great. We used the passes obtained from the campground which were included with the stay to go two days in a row. Loved hearing the lions in the morning and night. The bathrooms were clean as well as the separate showers. The only things that we found odd was the pool closes at dusk (not much else to do) and there is no cable TV, although our regular antenna picked up a few digital stations. Overall a nice place to stay to see the safari next door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Very nice and wooded campground. Very clean and kept up nice. Nice staff. Dog walk park, playground area, cabins you can rent and separate tent area. You hear the Lion Country Safari animals next door. Some permanent park models. It isn't that close to shopping or restaurants though. Kind of far from everything, although that does make it a little more quieter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
This is one of the most beautiful KOA's we have enjoyed. Upon arrival, after making on-the-road reservations, we were welcomed, placed in an area near the pet walk, and everyone was very friendly. The laundry room was very clean, operational, and convenient, the pool was pristine, and the overall grounds well maintained and clean. Oh, and yes, you can hear the lions in the AM & PM, which made one of our dogs very nervous, but nonetheless, you feel safe. The free admission into the Safari Park was a delightful surprise, and it is beautiful and well maintained, as well. I would definitely stay here again should we be in the area. This is a diamond of a KOA, upholding its reputation to a T. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$55
This was the nicest KOA we've ever stayed at. It's pet friendly, but they don't tolerate barking. They have a lovely fenced in dog park. Lion Country is right next door and it is an excellent attraction. The lions roaring had us, and the dogs spooked for the first couple of nights, but we got used to it. They've got loads of different species and hundreds of animals there. A must do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$50
This park's online coupon combo with the Lion Country Safari next door is what drew us here - it was a good deal (nightly rate includes safari admission). It was a nice park - nice sites, clean bathrooms, good Wi-Fi connection. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$68
This KOA is located about 12-15 miles West of West Palm Beach and is not close to anything other than Lion County. They do offer you entrance passes to the animal park. The sites are tight and a lot of typical KOA rules. Lots of pull through sites and pave roads. Very little if any shade. Staff was nice and helpful. A typical older KOA park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
Park is clean and kept up; utilities were good. Price included tickets to Lion Country. Sites are small, which during the summer is no problem; but it would be uncomfortably close if the park was full. And yes, you can hear the lions roar. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$81
The park is very clean and professional, easy to maneuver even the largest of RV's. Most sites being pull through. They have someone in a golf cart escort to your site. But the only real draw is that the park is connected to the Lion Country Safari itself, and the roar of the lions heard in the evenings and mornings. There isn't much else to do in the park. There is a pool and playground, but little else. The store is small, the sites provide no shade or privacy, there are plenty of rules and restrictions, and no cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$56
Our site was a little tight some others were spaced better. The lady who checked us in tried to compare which package price was the best for the money which was helpful. We definitely wanted to visit Lion Country as many times as the 3 day package allowed. We stayed 7 days and used the 3 day package offer 2 times. Lion Country itself is a wonderful place for people of all ages. Workers at both the campground and park were very helpful. Many staying at the KOA were Snowbirds mostly from Quebec speaking French thus didn't speak to many. We did hear the lions every night because the park was next door we loved hearing them. We would come again if we could bring the Grand kids and have a better site not so tight. However we would not stay as long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
Stayed here one night and visited the park. Definitely worth the trip. Mosquitoes were pretty bad but not much you can do about it, just bring bug spray. Campsights were well maintained and so were restroom facilities. Would recommend this campground as you can't beat being so close to the animals! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$48
The combo package (camping/park entry) is a good deal and if staying here, definitely locate the coupon on the Lion Country website. This place is a typical KOA, with usual tight sites and few trees and plethora of rules and signs reminding you that your more in a compound rather than a campground. All the rules and signs are a bit of a turn off, but that's how some like it. The big drawback to this place is what flies around the campground and to be fair to the owners, it's hard to control the flying nasties when your camping next to a game preserve. But be prepared. First, the mosquitoes are huge and really hurt. Even if there is no rain there will be mosquitoes due to the wading pools the animals use in the game preserve nearby. We think you can minimize it by staying on the otherside of the campground away from the animals. Second, there are the wasps and hornets to contend with. Mosquitoes at night and wasps during the day. Hundreds of them, we were not sure where they were coming from but suspected the dumpster nearby to be as big magnet for them. Also, there are trailers and equipment parked in plain sight of many sites which border the animal park. It's rather unsightly and annoying to stare at a rusting car carrier parked in the middle of a campsite. This KOA is ok for kids for a weekend, but we won't be going back due to the aforementioned reasons. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$55
This was a very nice, clean campground. Our stay here was in conjuction with a visit to Lion Country Safari Zoo which is adjacent to the campground. We were able take advantage of the 3 night special which included zoo tickets, this brought the price WAY down, so we only paid full price for 1 of the 4 nights we stayed here. It was a real treat to hear the lions roaring at different times throughout the day (and night)!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$32
Very nice KOA. Rate quoted was based on monthly rate. When we were here it was about 90% snowbirds, mostly friendly with clean sites. Other than the delightful roar of lions, this was a very quiet campground. A few negatives but nothing major. Were not enough washer/dryers for this size campground, we tow a cargo trailer that had to be put in a storage area which was unfortunately locked so ever time we wanted to get motorcycles in and out we had to call the office and have someone come unlock the gate. They were there quickly, but just a pain. Also, we were charged an additional fee for a storage area we were forced to use because the pull throughs were no where near long enough for us to stay connected. Also, if you go to the Safari, check your receipt BEFORE you leave the ticket booth: they charge a parking fee! Yes, a parking fee at a drive through facility. Go figure, and there are several signs posted that no refunds will be given once you leave the ticket booth: kind of a nasty money maker I think. We would return to the campground but, been there done that, with the Safari. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$60
We came in late to this park for a one night stay, but opted for the special two night stay that included tickets to the Lion Country Safari park. We walked to Lion Country and it was a very pleasant surprise. They rented us a car to drive through the park for $11. The wife checked out the laundry and things were nice enough we extended for a third day. We also enjoyed a $2 french toast breakfast with sausage, juice and coffee hosted by the park. There are level pull-thru gravel sites with well kept grassy areas between sites and gravel driveways. Lack of trees makes for good satellite reception, but the Park is surrounded by trees. Good for an long term stay. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$45
We camped here on a special that included tickets to the Lion Country Safari park. The People that run the park go out of there way to please you. Check in was a breeze and they lead you to your sight and help you park.They park every one so you are straight with the concrete patio that is provided for all sights. You also have more room than on some of the commercial camp grounds I have see. They have a very nice heated pool and a big area for the kids to play with swings and such a pet area for your pets to play. At night you will hear the roar of the lions and the monkeys in the morning from the park right next door to the campground. The only down side I saw was that if you use there showers and rest rooms they are on one end of the camp and a good walk depending on where you are. Also need 20 to 25 feet of sewer hose and the pipes are about 6 inch`s high off the ground. So a support for the hose is also a good idea if you are going to leave it open to drain. If you go make sure you go through Lion Country Safari park. If you have pets you have to leave them at a kennel at the park or in your RV at camp. They do not allow any soft tops or open cars in the park but do rent cars just for the park. They do run specials and there prices are not bad for this day and time. Kids will learn a lot more than at the big theme parks in Orlando for a lot less money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
They put in a nice Dog park, but lock it at 8:30 pm. We went to use pool at 730 pm, and was told they were closing it at 7:40pm. My wife can't handle the sun, and we wanted a little later, however, they lock place up after 8 pm, and after 10 lock it closed. To me it was a part time camp ground, at bes,t not worth the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
This was our first time here, or at any KOA campground, since we like the nature-oriented state parks. We were pleasantly surprised at how much natural forest area surrounded this camping area. We were fortunate to get a space at one edge, where I could do a bit of bird watching, and for those who do that, note that there were more catbirds here, in one place, than I have ever seen. (Perhaps they were stopping over during migration, or it may be that there is a high population during the winter.) Proximity to Lion Country Safari, combined with the tickets which are part of the campground package, makes this a really great deal, whether or not you have children. If you do have kids, especially small ones, this is a great place to go, between LCS next door for free (with nice kiddie rides, petting zoo, etc.) and the very nice play area for kids at the KOA itself. (LCS also has a drive-through safari experience which is really quite nice, and if you have no car you can rent one cheaply for the ride.) For tenters, there is a primitive campground, and for those with RVs of all kinds, there are spaces to accommodate all. There are also small cabins for rent. Showers and restrooms were nice, if taxed heavily in the morning, and the individual showers had lockable doors for privacy. For those planning an extended stay, you are close to civilization in the form of food shopping, restaurants, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
A great family park. The staff was awesome and the facilities were immaculate. The waking up to the monkeys sounded like they were right next door to the pop-up. The lions woke us up in the middle of the night - which was an experience my boys will never forget. And the KOA had a special rate for additional nights that included the ride through the Lion Country Safari. It was a deal-saver and was somewhere we will go back to many times again. The pool was very clean. The Wi-Fi was accessible even to the back of the campground. We will be back soon after the heat and humidity goes away. It was a great place to bring the kids - they will love it and the memories will be remembered. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
Sites are large and comfortable. Lions actually are so close that they do keep you up at night, but it is interesting. Big complaint is that like most KOA's the wifi that is promised does not exist. It can be used only by seasonals that are located close to office. I have learned never trust KOA when it comes to Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$50
We stayed here over the Halloween weekend. They ran a great special that also included 2 days in the Lion Country park. They had plenty of Halloween activities for the kids too! Most folks decorated their campsites and it looked like a Halloween village. Trick or treating was so easy and safe! The campground is always spotless and the staff is friendly. Wish there was a bit more shade though. We would definitely come back here again, especially for Halloween. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
We stayed here on the weekend special, which includes 2 nights and 4 tickets to Lion Country Safari for 2 days for about $100. This is the best deal. We've been here many times before and everything is always clean and kept up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This was our first ever experience with our new RV. We literally picked it up and went to this park, as it was an hour or so from where we picked up our RV. They were friendly, helpful, led us to our site, had great specials and packages that included going to Lion Country Safari, and yes we did hear the Lions in the morning. The pool was very nice and lots of fun but did close several times for rain storm/lightening and did not re-open as quickly as I thought they should have. But they said they have to go by someone else's forecast?? Also the pool closed at dusk, which for the summer it would be nice for it to be open a bit later. THe bathroom were spotless as were the showers. A really fun place to visit and take the kids next door to the attraction. We were very lucky to pick this as our first spot as it was enjoyable and the camping store had at least a few things we did not have for purchase such as a fry pan! The stores were about 5 miles away. I expect we will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Good park you can hear the lions roaring next door at the wildlife park. Big pool, paved roads you can wash your rv and vehicle with permission from the office. The only thing I don't like about KOA is the sites are small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
We saw this on the Travel Channel and went to see it on a drive down to the Keys, since it is on the way. It is a comfortable, neat KOA campground with friendly staff and accepts everything. Limit is 40' and our Monaco Dynasty 40 just fit. It is very organized and monitored 24 hours a day with a very good staff. Late night and morning the Lions are very noisy and hungry! Apparently they feed them every third day, so I suspect the 2nd and 3rd days are the noisiest. No complaints but it is weird to hear very loud lions roaring. And we found out it was breeding time, so the males more loud than normal. Good fun, very easy atmosphere, nice store. A good time for all. Well recommended as a unique park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
This is a very nice park. It is 37 years old so it is not to current standards. There is VERY limited spaces for big rig access, and the road coming in is tight because of the age of the park. We actually shifted our plans by one day due to availability of a large enough spot for our 5th wheel. The staff was super friendly and they have an escort to the site if you arrive before 8:30pm. The property touches the Lion Country Safari and as other have mentioned, you do hear the lions roaring. This is not however a nuisance. It was not loud enough to wake me. The shower facility was old(er), but very clean, and the bathroom area looks to have been remodeled recently. They have a large selection of entertainment things such as bocce/petanque court, basketball court, suffle board, swimming pool, horse shoes, and volley ball. They also have a nice little camp store that sells your typical stuff as well as souvenirs for the safari. They also sell propane. Nice park, and we will be back. Check the websites for specials as they have package deals to get into the park. (This park only got a 9 due to the age.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
Love it and will go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$35
We enjoyed our stay here. The roar of the lions was quite amazing, but I am still wondering if it is real, or recorded, as they sound very close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$50
This was the closest campground I could find to the VA Hospital in West Palm Beach for an appointment. It still took me 45 minutes to get there. For a KOA this was an OK location. We took the two day camping special that included tickets for 2 days for two people to the Lion Country Park. The campground staff were very pleasant and helpful. The pool was very clean and we received all the local stations on the antenna. They do not have cable. The computer dial up location in the office worked fine. The site was ample in size. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Decent park. If you are going to Lion Country and staying in the area this is a great place to stay. You get a nice discount into the park $6 each as opposed to 20+ and the park itself is acceptable. There is a pool, place to walk the dog for their business but not much else. I wouldn't say its not kid friendly there just isn't a whole lot for them to do. It is located just outside a nice area with plenty of shopping but the park is still far enough away to be away from it all. I wouldn't' stay here for a month or anything but you can keep yourself occupied for a week or two. I found the rates to be reasonable for the area and the park itself is adequate and comfortable. Staff was friendly as well. Sites were mostly pull through, full hookups and the place was kept clean. Not the best but certainly acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
We camped on a 4 night special which included 2 days of free Lion Country Safari. Great!!!! Do not break up your day for the free hot Dog, Hamburger picnic. It was plain roll and meat with drink (they ran out of Chips). It was awful. The free ice cream social was a small Carvel cup. They refused seconds to 2 little girls while the girls watched an employee eat 3. No tents allowed at RVs, small old picnic benches, Nice large cold cold pool (good for the kids), no cable, no WiFi, lots of no signs, not friendly staff, very pricey so make sure you look for the specials on their site. I would camp again on a Special only. We sure enjoyed hearing the Lions Roar at the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
I visited this campground in Nov. of 2006. I had planned to camp there with my 42 foot RV in 2007 while visiting my son in West Palm Beach. There ad in Trailer Life says "we welcome big rigs" That's incorrect. Their written advertisement says that they have 152 pull-thru sites (32 X 52). That's incorrect. I was told by the staff (in person) that they don't have ANY pull thru sites and have no more than TWO sites big enough for a 40 foot RV. I was told that the reason for this was that Lion Safari was the oldest KOA campground in the KOA chain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
This was our first RV experience , so take this with a grain of salt. Friendly ,helpful staff. Led us to our site and ensured that hook-ups were lined up with the trailer. The lions can be heard throughout the day and evening roaring. Tickets to Lion Country Safari were included with camp fee. No camp fires allowed. Overall, a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
We stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday and purchased a package that included 4 nights, 4 two-day tickets to Lion Country Safari, a pancake breakfast, barbecue, and ice cream social for 159.95 (up to 4 people). I though it was a pretty good deal - they are running the same special for July 4th and Labor Day, as well as something similar for Halloween. The events were pretty simple - plain hamburgers and hot dogs, pancakes only, no side items - but still seemed like a fair value. The tickets to Lion Country are worth around $20 each so that alone was a $160 value. The Safari was great, we had a lot of fun driving through and taking pictures of all of the animals. Each ticket is good all day so we went in the morning and in the evening two different days. Also there is a very well kept small amusement park inside with a petting zoo, paddle boats, boat ride, giraffe feeding gazebo, bird sanctuary that you can walk through, Ferris wheel, and a large water play area for the kids. The campground was nice but I would not recommend our site (#56) as it was very tight and adjacent to a cypress head. I had barely enough room to park our tow vehicle. We arrived in the evening and it was raining, but a security guard met us at the gate and stood in the rain to assist backing into the site. The staff was friendly and the bathrooms were clean. Also every morning around 9am you could hear the lions roar - very cool. I would recommend this park if you have never been, and especially if you have kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$34
Very nice and friendly park!!!! Site was big enough, had a concrete pad, and was virtually bug free!!! Staff was great and store was well supplied. The lions roar was of course, the main highlight, although the roaring one morning at 5:45 was a little ridiculous. My only complaints were the distance to West Palm Beach(approx. 20 min. also because of heavy contstruction) and the lack of WIFI(smaller parks are carrying it now) Would stay here over and over again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
My experience camping at the Lion Country Safari KOA Campground was very good. The staff were very courteous and helpful, the pool was very clean. The sites were pretty much average size; we had a shady site up against the fence next to the house they keep the lions in overnight. You cannot see thru the fence as it is overgrown with trees and high brush, I believe this is done on purpose, however you can certainly hear the lions roaring all the time. The rate I had was a weekly rate which broke down to 31.00 a night. It was well worth the money to stay at the KOA park and go into the Safari Park any time you felt like it. When you buy admission to the Safari Park, you can return to go thru the park as many times as you want during the same day without paying any additional admission fee. Overall, we had a very good time and it was made even better by the reasonable rate we were charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$44
We enjoyed this KOA and the Lion Country Safari next to it. It was interesting waking up in the morning and hearing the lions roaring. The camp staff was very friendly helping us find a nice local beach. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The two biggest problems we had were the location. It is so far away from anything. The other was the noisy campers that came in sometime after midnight. There were 2 large travel trailers and diesel engine trucks. The next night the campers were drinking, laughing and talking extremely loud and they let their children run wild all through everybody else's sites. We couldn't find any phone numbers to call management. It was the worse night of sleeping we had the entire week we were on vacation. When we complained to management in the morning, they seemed to know exactly which 2 camp sites we were complaining about yet seemed afraid to approach the people about it. We left that day. We couldn't take another night of that. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This place is very misleading. They say you can see the animals from some sites but this is not true. All you see is overgrown brush and garbage on the other side of the fence. They are very kid un-friendly and not what you would expect from a KOA near a theme park. The rates are another misleading item. $6.00 for each person. So the $35.00 is for two people and everyone additional is $6.00 so the site costs $51.00 per night + $1.50 for 30amp service. Staff was mean to my kids and the attrendents are not nice either. One guy yelled at my daughter right in front of me and that's when I had enough. DON'T EVER YELL AT MY CHILDREN!! That's my job. All she did was jumped in a pool cannon-ball style and nobody was in the pool/area except us!! Anyway the sites are small and the park is nasty. Livins have junk RV's on some sites and you are not allowed to BBQ outside the RV. But you can buy a BBQ in the General store to BBQ. ??? Never again and I am wondering what KOA is doing about this. They were awarded the 2003 KOA Presidents award. Figure that out. Lights out at 10:00pm and don't get caught outside after that or else. More like a prison then a campsite We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com