220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Black Bear Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 55 user reviews. Phone: (845) 651-7717
CGID5169

Black Bear Campground

Camp Information
Sites
176
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   7   8   9   9   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
We traveled in 2013 for 7 months, so stayed at a good number of RV campgrounds. We have been traveling in 2014 for 7 weeks & have been staying for a shorter amounts of time, so have been in a lot of them already this year. I have rated every campground we've stayed in and don't remember ever giving a 10 rating before. This campground is laid out very well, is clean and very well maintained. They have 2 laundromats, very good Wi-Fi and full hookups - with 50 amp. (Something we found as a bit of a rarity in the Northeast so far.) The staff was friendly and helpful, the park was quiet in a beautiful setting. We would definitely stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$60
This campground has roomy pull-throughs at the top section after driving up a winding, steep road. A few have shade. They are mostly gravel with some grass. Each site has a fire ring and picnic table. The Wi-Fi was good, as was the cable. The pool is located near the office quite a distance from the top section down a steep winding road. They offer guided tours into NYC. We would recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Nice campground. You must drive or be very athletic if you plan on coming down from the upper tier to the pool or office. The spots are plenty big enough and the bathhouse is clean. The problem we had all week we stayed was the smell of raw sewage (feces) near the bathhose/restroom all week. This is laid out with showers on one side and bathrooms on the other with a hallway down the middle. Our NYC tour guide told us they were actually reused shipping containers that had been repurposed. Pretty slick due to the fact that doing this and keeping them "temporary" does not affect their property taxes. That being said it seemed as though the pipes under the bathrooms must have been leaking because of the constant smell of feces. The place was spotless and the cleaning lady was impeccable and pine-sol'ed everything so you were never concerned about cleanliness. I toyed with going down the hill and notifying the office, but with the workkampers or whatever all over the place all day, I figured they must have smelled it too. They really push the NYC tour which is worth it, but makes me think there is probably some sort of quid pro quo between the tour operator and the campground, more so since I saw our guide going into the park. The sites were level and the hookups in the proper place. If you do go, take the tour. It is pricey but worth it and it lets you scope out the lay of the land in case you want to go into the city on your own the following days. We would stay here again if we go back to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
Pros: sites are a good size (wide & long enough). Gravel with grass. Roads are paved they are windy & steep (especially on the way out). Good WiFi, cell service & cable. We were able to set up our satellite without a problem. Cons: really nothing to do inside the campground except the pool, which is a long way down the hill. There are activities mostly for children. Lots of permanent residents at another area. They didn't bother us. I don't have children but they charge per child so I wouldn't call it family friendly. There are places to walk your dog but no off the leash Park. This park is fine for a couple of nights (as most people take advantage of the tour bus to NY or the closest to the train station). We were there for 2 weeks because of it being close to family. It was OK, but not sure I'd go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
We planned a week-long stay here in order to visit NYC. One day into our stay, we lost all electricity in our RV. (Inverter went bad, we found out later). We had signed up for the NYC tour. The manager was kind enough to cancel our trip as we had to work to get the inverter replaced. Showers were clean. The staff was very friendly. Spaces were spacious. The campground is about an hour's drive into the outmost subway station or you can drive about 20 min. and take a train into NYC. About the same amount of time getting to Grand Central, either way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$70
We enjoyed a quiet holiday weekend at Black Bear. It is very neat and clean. The roads to the camping area are paved. The pool is a long steep walk from the campsites. We did not pull a toad so we did not use the pool. Otherwise we have no complaints! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Nice place with plenty of changes made in the last 2 years. Nice paved road up the hill to our site. Clean pool and large sites. There is a section reserved for pipeline workers but that area is out of the way. Lots of wildlife in the area and great views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
Roads into camp are winding and tight for big rigs. Once inside camp there is a quite a large hill to climb where they advise keeping your speed to make it up the hill. Once in sites, very level, nice with many amenities such as putt putt and arcades. Only complaint is showers are push in buttons and as it releases it shuts off. Button must be pushed every 5 seconds or so. Additionally your temperature is set for you so you cannot adjust temperature. Showers are somewhere between lukewarm and warm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$63
The rate is for a pull-thru site with a Good Sam discount. This place is a bit of a drive from the interstate but it is very quiet. The site is very level and utilities are well placed. The internet service is also very good and cable is adequate. The hill going up to the the campsites was interesting. The sign at the bottom of the hill says, "maintain 20 mph" and I found out why. It is really quite a climb up to the sites so make sure you don't slow down until you get to the top. My only real complaint is the price. However, supply and demand is the rule here because there is not much in the way of choice in this area. We would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$54
We broke down just as we were entering the campground. Our one night stay turned into 7 while we got our truck repaired. This is one of the most well kept and maintained parks we have ever stayed at. The owners are friendly and helpful. There is a steep grade to go up to get to the campsites but it didn't seem to be a problem for anyone. There were quite a few pipeline workers living there. Other than hearing them leave early in the morning, they were extremely quiet and I think they went home on the weekend. The Wi-Fi worked great and they had cable TV. Good Verizon signal for data and phone. The spaces were large and the roads were easy to maneuver. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$54
Upper sites are quite narrow and close together. Roads are steep and narrow. Wifi reception and speed was excellent. Quite pricey for a one night stop. Site was level. Probably just keep driving next time thru. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$57
Very clean and nice park. Enough space between campers. One way paved road going in and out of park. Got satellite reception for DirectTV, also good Wi-Fi connection. We took the one day into NYC tour they offer at the park. It was great, good talkative driver, and was a good way to see city without all the hassles. We also commuted into NYC via commuter train about 20 minutes away from park. Took us about one & half hour to get into NYC, not including drive time to train parking lot. We would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
This CG is way overpriced. Yes, everything works as it should and the sites are crushed rock, the roads narrow asphalt. CTV & WiFi worked well, and our own hotspot pulled in a 4G signal. The oil workers dominate the lower levels of the park and the travelers get the top of the hill, very steep pulling up to the top and coming back down again. The CG amenities are kept clean but the laundry is expensive. When we mentioned the high cost of wash and dry the staff member simply replied, "Everything is expensive here." We also signed up for the bus tour into New York. The bus leaves the CG at 8AM and whirlwind (maybe tornado) best describes the tour. There wasn't time enough at any of the stops to do more than take a couple pictures and get movin' again. Lunch at the Liberty Park Diner took longer than any other portion of the tour, except the drive. This CG is nice but the cost of staying here really doesn't go with the overall condition. We probably won't be back here again; might stay for a night or two if there isn't a choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
The place is run by work-campers, the owners are elderly and not on the premises. They would not reserve a specific spot in advance because, we were told; “so many changes are being made we never know what will be available”. This should have prompted us to look elsewhere but we didn’t heed the “warning signal” looming in the back of our minds and gave a credit card deposit anyway. We arrived late in the afternoon and were given space 113. It was “all we have available” so we took it. It is at the top of the long hill every vehicle climbs on their way to any of the campsites so all that traffic passed by the front of our coach every day, all day and late into the night. The vast majorities of campers are working on some pipeline or other major project and commute in and out of this park 5-6 days a week. The neighbor to our right was one (both husband and wife worked and commuted in separate vehicles) and we listened to their diesel trucks start up and leave at 6AM nearly every morning. We were here to see the sights in New York City and were going to stay two weeks but left after just one. Would we stay here again? No. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
In my opinion park is overpriced. It is close to attractions in the area and to the train into Hoboken so you can get to New York City. Interior roads are paved with sites being rock/gravel. The majority of the park is filled with workers from a pipeline but they have been placed in their own area, which is becoming quite junky. Lots of trees but the regular sites were open allowing us to use our satellite. Space between sites was fine. Wi-Fi was free and worked good during our stay. For the money I would have expected a better looking park. It was fine for our visit but probably would not come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$60
What I look for in a park is the basics to be covered. I would like a level site and the hookups I need to be there and reliable. Wi-Fi is also a very important element (to me) and that is an area that could be improved on. Yes, they have Wi-Fi, but it isn't very good. Aside from that, there are a lot of run-down trailers and MH's including a few that don't even look like they could move if they wanted to. Just an observation. Overall, I would have expected better for the rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$47
This is a nice campground. Sites were level, WI-FI was decent, and we were able to use our satellite dish. It is a little tricky getting to the upper area but not a problem. The biggest issue was the stink bugs; it’s been two months, and we are still finding them. We stayed here two weeks. Would stay here again if they could get a grip on the stink bug problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
My site was a flat level, crushed slate, back in site. Site was probably about 70 feet long. No need to level the trailer. Site also has a picnic table and a fire pit. Had heavy thunder storms at night and the sites drained very well. Access roads are asphalt and are all one way travel direction. WI-FI alternated between slow and good connection but the Wi-Fi never disconnected. There is a nice store in the office. Office staff also was very helpful in locating local services and area attractions. I needed repairs for a sink drain pipe that had cracked. Teresa, Staff, recommended a good repair service. The service, Regins RV Service, came to the campground and did the repairs. I enjoyed the campground and would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$70
We pulled up to this campground and the people at the office were very friendly, as they always had been when I spoke with them on the phone. When we got into the park, we noticed numerous run down old travel trailers parked in the woods with run down cars. We drove further up into the woods and saw the cabins that were for rent and would have been greatly disappointed had we rented the cabins. There were a lot of long term campers with run down sites. We got to our site and it was a narrow, uneven strip of gravel with another trailer parked in it. We pulled into another site after calling the office. I called the dog walker and got her on board to walk our dog so we could go into NYC. The Gray Line Tour Bus offered from the park is $90 per adult and $70 per child. I later found out that this was in a van, not on a bus and I would not recommend the tours after our DC experience. The train ride is an hour into the subway station. This park is not a convenient distance away from NYC! The moral of the story is, park your trailer here and stay in a hotel in the city if you want to enjoy yourself. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
A very nice, quiet campground. We did not use the bathrooms but did look in and they were clean. We had a nice, level site in the upper section with tree shade for the afternoon sun. There were a few seasonal (actually seemed like "lifetime") sites that were a bit rundown, set back in the trees, but this section was almost all travelers. Lots of well cared for rigs, from tiny to huge. Hookups were well placed. A small ice cream truck came through each afternoon with goodies for sale. The camp store stocks many high-end items for campers who are caught short or forgot some gear at home. There are sleeping bags, tents, lanterns, etc. There was not much food and no perishables like bread or milk for sale. Big hills to climb up and down entering and exiting this upper area, but large motor homes and trailers were able to make it OK. Might be a little intimidating for a novice, but it is doable. We plan to return to this campground in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$53
Very nice campground. Very large campground. Very spread out. Most RV sites are more than a half mile from the office. No bikes allowed down around the office area. No late check in, and would be lucky if you catch anyone in the office. We stayed here while on vacation across the country. This is the closest park to New York, an hours drive to the Hobooken Path station. But leaving before 9 in the mornIng and not getting back till after 9 at night, we NEVER saw any of the office personnel or the office open. Campground was quiet and clean. Lots of large, old growth trees. We would stay here again no problem. Could have scored it higher except for the odd office hours, and strange bike rules. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This is a poor place to rent a cabin. My reservation was for 8 nights and when I arrived they only had it down for 2 nights. The owner tried to imply this was my fault. After much discussion they gave me a different cabin but with only 2 beds instead of 3 like I had requested and told was available. I was told I could rent a cot for $10.00 per night. After getting this all straightened we got to the cabin and it was filthy. Someone had used the toilet and it wasn't flushed, toilet was dirty, carpet was stained and dirty, kitchenette was dirty with dead bugs on floor and counters. Don't stay here! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
We did not like Black Bear Campground. We stayed 3 nights and will not go back. They advertize that there are no steep grades, but you have to go up a big hill to get to the sites then drive down another to get back to the street. They really need to trim back some tree limbs here too!! Very tight for a 35.' I would not want to have anything bigger here! No, activities for campers, just an ice cream social one night. We even stayed Memorial Day weekend and figured they would have some things to do. Overall very disappointing!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
What a great park. They have everything you or anyone could want. Very very quiet park. Nice and clean including the bathrooms.They just renovated their pavilion and it looks great. They also have a great little store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
We stayed at the campground during the off season. The campground is large and I would guess in the summer time it is beautiful! During the winter there are a few year round residents that really need to clean up their sites, nice people but a terrible first impression and depressing to look at on a daily basis. Power and water were included in the weekly rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$65
Nice campground overall but be forewarned that there exist a infestation of stink bugs. These bugs overtook our pop-up camper so much that we had to leave 2 days earlier than planned. A full refund of the days we lost was denied. Instead the owner gave us a 1 day refund (she said she was being generous) and refused to refund our money for the bundle of wood ($6.50 pricey) that we never got a chance to enjoy. We were on site 56 near the pavilion. We have been camping for years and are not squeamish to bugs. We had to pack up and leave in the dark after collecting (for 2hrs) at least 100 (not kidding) stink bugs INSIDE the camper. If you do not have a complete hard side RV I would find somewhere else to go. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
We chose this campground for the NYC tour package offer. Our site was on the newer upper section which we recommend highly. The campground was great but I would like to give some info about the NYC tours. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and our guide. BUT please be forewarned that the tour is in a van, not a bus. The view is very limited. Also, we only had 7 passengers.Three of us were over 200 lbs and we were comfortable. Had the van been filled to capacity (11) it would have been an impossibly cramped ordeal. Be sure to tell the campground owners if you are a large person and request that be honored when booking the tour. Hopefully it will help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
We were looking for a place near West Point. This is a 45 minute drive to the west. We parked on top of the hill with great visibility for satellite dishes. (I asked for it when I called.) We hadn't been here before, but I found a number of forums where people recommended it as close to NYC and West Point. The people were very nice! They put in a new road this year to get to the top parking area that eliminates the old 180 degree turn. The office/store is being remodeled. We didn't use any of the facilities. The swimming pool appeared to be open and used. One large area of the park is obviously 'worker bees' in trailers, but it is kept fairly clean. I was told they never completely sell out, so it's a good last minute place to stop. We got a 'buy 6 nights & get one free'. It is a little off the beaten track, but we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
We stayed here two nights to be close to NYC for sight seeing. We parked on an upper level site. There was a winding paved drive to the site, and there was one fairly sharp turn, but there was room to swing out so that we had no problem making the turn. Everything else was fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
This was our first time in an RV. We chose this site due to its closeness to New York city. We went to checkout the bathroom facilities when we arrived and that was the only time we went near them they were not clean with one toilet over flowing. The showers were not clean with dead moths and other bugs all over the floor. If we had not paid up front we would not have stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Shore Services: 50amp. Sewer was good and water was 42 psi. The WiFi is good. Verizon Air card was poor -110 and the Sprint Aircard was -81. Cable TV was good. DirecTV is accessable on the hill. Sites are gravel and the interior road is asphalt. The sites have plenty of room between them. I stayed in site F and could park my tow vehicle beside the trailer. The interior road is very narrow and makes it difficult to back onto my site. One of the fulltimers have a brick wall around a flower garden that was in the way to bend enough to my site. If I had driven in and parked from the passenger side it may have been better. The interior roads are narrow and going up to the upper sites is rough. They suggest you maintain your speed going up the steep hill to the upper campground. Only problem the road is rough and there is a left hand hair pin and it is steeper going to the top after the hairpin. RV's with Tow cars will have to drop them off at the bottom of the hill. There are some long term Tenants located in unusual places. If you stay 7 days you pay for 6 and get the 7th one free. They have a tour into NYC that is $90: not bad for what it would take you to go by yourself, especially if you have never been to NYC before. If you want to go to Ellis Island and Statue Island they take you to the Jersey side which has a lot smaller lines to catch the ferrys. If I were in the area, I would probably stay here again but would be particular where I stayed. This is about the best campground in the NYC area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This was a nice park, and the sites were average size, but the entire park is spread out nicely in the hillside and hilltop. The wi-fi was the fastest we've had, and was free. They had a pool, but we didn't use it, although there were plenty of kids that were. We stayed here because we had friends in the city, but didn't want to be too close to the traffic. The location worked well, and it's about 1-2 hrs. drive in, depending on where you're going. The only drawback, was the steep road that went up to the upper sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$55
We were there late in the season, and the pool was closed. Wooded area has not been cleaned and it was very buggy and quite rugged. Internet signal was low, not good for Skype or VOIP. NYC tour was awesome and only reason to camp there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This campground was nicer than I expected from prior reviews. Yes, there is a steep hill and a sharp turn, but I have run across steeper hills and more difficult turns. I had no problems with our 38 foot 5th wheel. Sites at the top are long and level and most are satellite friendly. Good Verizon and AT&T signals. The tour is worth the money, and if you want to do it on your own the commuter rail is an easy drive and will take you to Penn Station with a quick change of trains at Secaucus, NJ. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
Black Bear is about 10 miles off of the main highway, so it is little inconvenient, but it is still only about 75 minutes from New York City. It is slightly difficult to get into but fairly level when you get to the top of the hill. I had to use some blocks and my front wheels were off the ground, so you may have some trouble leveling the M/H. The swimming pool is about 1/2 mile from the top of the hill, down the steep hill, and it was closed while we were here for some reason. It was quiet and roomy. There are several trees, so you may have satellite or you may not. There are only about 6 or 8 channels on the cable. I do not have an antenna, but it may be that some off the air channels are available. I would consider staying here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This park is not fancy at all. However, it is a relaxed setting and close to New York City (NYC). I highly recommend their tour of NYC. They have a van that takes you in with a very knowledgeable guide. This was one of the best tours that we have taken. We are staying a week so got a discount which I thought made it very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
We stayed here one night during the off season. Our site was #64 on the upper section. It had 50, 30 and 20 amp electric box, cable,picnic table, charcoal grill and fire ring. There were many renovations being done. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the seasonal sites need to be maintained better especially the Jones Beach Bus. Scattered around the campground were numerous electrical stands that held about 20 electric meters and phone boxes. I felt like I was camped at a power station rather the a campground. I hope they plan on building nice sheds around these meters. We had six deer visit our campsite while were were preparing dinner. The staff was friendly and helpful. The site were close together, but since it was off season, we were not crowded. We would stop over again if were were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2008
$40
Pros:Only park in area open in winter. Staff/Owners friendly and helpful. Very pretty part of Orange County. Electric good, Wifi good. Cons: Water pressure not so good, but ok. They advertise Cable, but it doesn't work at all. Permanent residents have shoddy and garbage filled spots. Sites not level and all gravel. This park is NO WAY a $40 a night campground. They need a massive clean up. They also need the permanent residents to clean up their mess. It's sad this could be a very pretty campground with some work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
This is a nice park not a 40$ a night park. The sites are gravel but are not level. I should not see very old run down trailers as permanent residents in a 40$ a day park. The back in sites are close together. The staff is very nice and helpful I called about low water pressure problem with park they fixed it immediately. The roads are paved with a steep grade and sharp turn on the way up to the top sites they are the only sites for short times stays. Lots of wildlife like deer seen daily. Park is in a nice location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This is an older park. The owners are also older, and rely on hired help to maintain the park. Water pressure is good, electric voltage can be low on hot days. Not all sites are level, but most of the back-ins are more level than the pull-throughs. There are many extended stay sites for construction (pipeline) workers. They are good neighbors, but go to work early (starting at 5 AM) six days a week. They, and the park, are quiet at night. We stay here to visit relatives in NYC and use the train from Harriman, NY, to get into the city at Penn Station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Campground is situated on the top of a steep hill, access is difficult. There are insufficient toilets for the number of campsites, lots of showers. Overall impression of the place is shabby and in need of sprucing up. Low voltage on many sites and a few sites have sewer problems. Close proximity to NYC, tours offered by the campground are heavily promoted, but not available every day. Make reservations early. Many working people are here and on weekends trucks are parked all over. There is a large section of run down units the 'permanent' residents', many of their units are old and dilapidated. Most especially the old bus on the top level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$42
We all must have gotten the same unlevel site next to that ancient Pace Arrow! Sewer was leaking somewhere out back, but the WiFi WAS working, and despite the pouring rain, it was an OK overnight stay. I can't imagine driving a 40'+ MR up that hill and around the curves. Tip: Diesel Pushers - pull in your awning over the door prior to heading down the hill - I tore mine off here - my first MR accident. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
The web site makes this look like its wonderful. In reality it is on top of a almost mountain like hill or ridge. There is a hard switchback on the way up to the camp sites that could be hard for big rigs. We made it with the 29 foot travel trailer, but it is tight. They ask the motor homes with a "Toad" to unhook before you go up. The swimming pool is not on the same level with the campground and is a little far to walk to. They prohibit bike riding up or down the hill, too steep. So can not ride your bike to the pool. We selected this CG based on their New York City tours. We never did get on a tour even though we stayed for five days. So if that is your plan, make reservations well in advance. Their attitude about helping us was "too bad". Many extended stay folks in seemingly empty campers. The one next to us seemed abandoned. Heavily overgrown with grass and piles of wood covered with ratty tarps. Cable TV didn't work at all and WiFi was out part of the time. Showers were reasonably clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
The park is on a steep hill. They try to sell the tour aggressively. It is a good tour and convenient.. So if you are looking for a tour, it is a good bet. The tour guy is nice. But it is obvious the campground gets a commission because they sell it hard. Their sites are not level. And when I went to tell them about it, all they did is make fun of me asking why I couldn't get my rig leveled. They said "the sites are level, we put a level to it". I didn't know what to say??? The sites at OUT OF LEVEL by at least THREE FEET. What kind of level are they using? I don't mind an unlevel site, but don't make fun of your guests! We will NOT return for that reason. They pressure you to extend your stay "Well.. we have this nice site, if you were willing to stay an extra night or two, we could make it happen". OK, I took the bait and that "nice site" was not level either! I could NOT get my rig leveled and looking around the park, it was a common theme. There is a steep and sharp turn on the park, but if you can make it this far to Florida, NY then you probably will make the sharp turn. Their electricity had a LOW VOLTAGE condition. They blamed it on the electric company. They must think I am stupid ?? There is 118V when I put no load, and once i try to get a load there is 95V. If it was the electric company, it would be 95V to begin with. They wont accept responsibility. Instead they are building the park, adding more sites, and everything is done in a shoddy matter. These guys need to step back and take their blinders off and look at themselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
This park advertises its proximity to New York and offers van tours to NYC leaving from the park. That's probably it's best feature. The park is situated on the side of a hill requiring you to make a steep climb and navigate a sharp curve to get to the camp sites. And of course, the laundry facilities are at the bottom of the hill in the office! Uneven gravel sites and there were problems with low voltage on the days we were there. WiFi reception was excellent however. There are many long term residents living in rundown trailers or coaches. Would not be my first choice if we return to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
This park was chosen because of it's location near a train station with good connections to NYC. There are a large number of long term guests and some of the trailers and rigs looked like derelicts. Not very inviting! The grass in our campsite was long and needed to be mowed. Over all a disappointment, specially considering the price. We stayed here pre-payed for five nights with a no refund policy if you check out early. We told the front office the first morning that we found trash in the fire pit at our site and that it needed to be mowed. And again on the third day. When we left on the 5th day it was the same. This RV park would not be our choice again. It's a shame because with some work this could be a really nice park... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Location, location, location. We visit family in New York City, and this is the closest park, not counting the one in Jersey City, NJ, where you can only stay two weeks. We have stayed here twice for two months at a time. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Sites are only adequate, they need more help with the mowing and weed removal. Very quiet and on a hill with good views in the winter and early spring. Water pressure is an issue as well, so keep your water tank full in case you need to supplement. We will be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
This was a vary nice campground, quiet and restful. The staff was top notch and had all the local information you could every want. The WiFi Internet was the best I used all season. The sites were large and level and the road were set up one way and were in good condition. We have recommended this park to friends and they loved it as well, we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$38
Road to the upper sites was tricky with a Big Rig but possible. You must unhook at the office. Park needs lots of work. Office staff pleasant but either we were overcharged for a back-in or the price was outrageous for this park. There are not many parks in this area and the drive to West Point was 45 minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$38
This is an old campground, not well maintained. Only reason for staying here was proximity to satellite repair people. Lots of seasonals; some look like they've been here forever. Free WiFi but reception in our area not strong. (We needed it until our satellite fixed.) Only a few sites with southern sky exposure for satellite. Kind of kooky old owners, but they tried to be accommodating. They promote their facility as being close to New York City, and tours directly from campground are available. But if reason for coming is to see the City, we preferred Croton Point Park in Croton-on-Hudson with Metro North train station right outside park (where we stayed in August). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
We have camped at Black Bear numerous times and yes there use to be old junkie campers and old bathrooms but I wish to say that they have new people caring for the camp and it is very clean and organized. New bathrooms and showers and very well maintained, the grounds are in great shape, well groomed. Pool area very clean. Roads in good shape. Management very helpful. And they do have tours to NYC. The only thing they lack here is activities. All in all it is a good clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$41
I agree with most of the comments of other reviewers, the place is messy, facilities not well maintained, etc. However, we stop here whenever we are in the area because it is the best home base for visiting NYC (which we love to do). It takes about an hour or so to reach the city on a NJT commuter train, located about 15 minutes from the campground. The office has a flyer telling how to do this. The other campgrounds in the area (Newburgh KOA, Yogi Bear Gardiner) are at least 30-40 minutes farther out from the City. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$37
Mostly messy seasonals. Old rusted motor homes parked everywhere. Cable was not functioning. I would stay away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
This park was neither great nor terrible, as the rating reflects. The roads to the sites were unusually steep, and we chose not to use the dump site because of this. The sites were spacious, but the grounds were not particularly well tended. We did not go to the swimming pool. The showers were trailer-type construction and were clean one time but not the second. Quiet. Free Wi-Fi and cable were reliable. Location is convenient to Route 17 but quite a way from NYC. Owners were cordial and helpful but a little pressured for their tour (which we did not take) and extra days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
The best WiFi around. It worked well in all parts of the campground and was never down. The staff were friendly and helpful. Park is just a short drive to the train station for service to New York City. There is a large woods within the campground that is great for walking a dog. Many small towns around that are worth a visit. The only reason for a less than excellent rating were the presence of a few "permanent" campers that were in poor condition. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com