206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Moraine View State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (309) 724-8032
CGID5181

Moraine View State Park

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   2   9   7   7   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
The RV campground is called Gander Bay Trailer Area, a beautiful wooded park on 158-acre Dawson Lake, all located on Moraine View State Park. Sites are spacious, although not particularly level in some cases. There are also two other tent campsites, an equestrian campground and a group campground at this state park, as well as numerous picnic areas. Our 30-amp electric pedestal was not working properly, so we couldn't operate our AC, but we made do for the one night we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We enjoyed the campground and agree with most of what has been said about it. The bathrooms are beat up, but were clean. Many of the sites are closer together than what you would normally expect in a state park, but still more spacious than most private campgrounds. If you are camping in a motorhome, it may be difficult to level on some of the sites. We had our choice of sites and used F5 that was very level. Great view of the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is our favorite park to camp at. Usually camp here at least a few times a year. The play equipment is top notch, (although someone has severely damaged part of it the last time we were here). Bathrooms are maintained decently and regularly. Have never had issues with electric in 3 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
We hate to give this beautiful campground such a low rating, but until the electrical problems are sorted out we have no choice. We stayed at F1 and the ground fault protectors kept tripping. One of the hosts said that whenever it rains a lot, and it had, the ground faults trip. He gave me a plug for 20 Amp with the ground knocked out and it worked for about 2 hours and then it began tripping again even with only the main on the 5ver plugged in. We basically wound up boondocking here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Had a great time, the hosts were friendly and fairly took care of some irritating campers. Playground equipment is newer and suited to all ages. There is a paved road around the lake which is great for walking/riding about 3-4 miles long, with picnic areas regularly. Great fishing spots and hiking all over. It makes you feel very green when driving in to see all the windmills in the area as well. Most of the spots are a good size with a couple very large so they didn't have to cut down large trees. The sites are pretty level with a gravel pad, there are a few concrete handicap sites. There are no sites designated as pull-through, but a couple can be used as such. It was easy maneuvering a 30' trailer through there and could easily accommodate 40' rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Beautiful lake front state park. Visited June of 08 not January of 09 as website forced me to enter. Inexpensive and clean. Really wish it had sewer hook ups. There are 3 or 4 sites that back up to water and would request those if ever return. Visited local family and may not lug 5er that far again just to camp. fishing was awesome though. Kids caught hundreds of bluegill. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
We arrived late on a rainy evening. There are no pull-throughs, however, since the park wasn't full, they were able to provide an area that worked as if it were a pull-through. The hosts were very nice. Many mature trees but not much privacy between campers. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
We attended a rally at Moraine View. The campground was pleasant and quiet during the week. Over the weekend as the campground was almost full, the bathhouse facilities were not as clean and the campground noise level was higher. The playground is located next to the bathhouse and kids appeared to treat the bathhouse as part of the playground. That made it sometimes difficult to get to the bathhouse. The facilities are not adequate for a full campground. Some kids rode their bicycles on sidewalks and walkways fast enough to be of concern to pedestrians. The campground hosts were pleasant, helpful and very much present on the site. When storms and tornado warnings went into effect, the hosts made sure campers knew to take shelter in the bathhouse – and we did. The campground only has electric hookups on the sites. Water spigots are available but are few and far between. Two dump stations are available. The water which may have been potable was far from clear. The campsites are nicely spaced among large mature trees. The playground was a nice playground though close to the bathhouse. The campground is a popular site with families for tent camping and activities such as fishing, swimming in the beach, hiking, and biking. The campground is far enough from major roads to be a quiet campground. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
This is one my favorite parks. It is always clean and quiet most of the time. There are some pets restrictions, (certain breeds not allowed) But otherwise most dogs allowed. Theres plenty of fishing available with a bait shop/concession stand close by. Food is good and priced reasonable. The beach is open again and only cost 1 dollar per person. They have ice/firewood available at the concession stand and some firewood available at the host station. The restrooms/shower house was clean and neat as always (at least when i've been there) The host are good they rotate between 3 couples so the one you check in with may not be working when you leave but they are all nice people, also they have 2 dump stations the main dump station is by the entrance to the park and the other on is just inside the campground by the check in station. My son caught a lot of fish this last trip. There also is a clean and updated playground located in the middle of the campground. There are no pull thru sites. In sections A , section P, and section F there are reservable sites. Highly recommend reservations on holiday weekends. Website has map available to see and also reservation forms. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Nice wooded sites. Clean restrooms and showers. Pleasant camp hosts. Nice lake for fishing and also has a swim beach. 3+ mile paved road around lake is nice for biking. A few hiking trails. If this campground offered full hook-up it would be a 10 in my book. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com