223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Babcock State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (304) 438-3004
CGID5183

Babcock State Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   9   8   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
We had a mixed experience during our stay at Babcock. The sites are very nice and most of them were shaded. There are two sections, both separated by the road into the park. We stayed in the main section. It had a bathhouse, playground and several water fountains. There is a smaller section across the road, but those sites seemed closer together and had less shade. The sites in the main section were well spaced and some of them were close enough to a fountain to drag a hose to fill your tank. About 50% of the sites were not very level so plan accordingly. The biggest issue we had was with the restroom facilities. They were clean but not well maintained. The men's restroom had 4 stalls and only one of them had a working lock. My wife said none of the stalls in the women's restroom had a lock. I mean how basic is that?! All they had to do was put a cheap $1 hook and loop pin in the door and it would be fixed. Instead we had to use our hands and feet to keep the door closed while using the facility. Another toilet was not mounted on the base properly and had a broken seat. Overall, the setting is very nice but the facilities could use some work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Excellent State Park. Large spacious sites. Your choice of wooded or open sites. 30 amp electric only but fresh water available in park and two dump stations. Park has swimming pool, lake, paddle boats/canoes, trout stream, hiking, mountain bike trails and a working grist mill. Great location for area rafting, fishing, zip lines. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Babcock State Park campground is exactly what I expected from a State Park. Clean, well kept, large shaded sites, affordable. Nothing fancy. I realy have no complaints about this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Our site was level and easy to get into. The dump station is a bit tricky. It wasn't to busy so we just drove around until we made it work. We saw lots of deer during our 2 night stay. The campground is clean and well kept. My boyfriend used the showers and said, " They were a bit worn and small." The playground had a couple of swings and a slide, other than that, the kids can bring bikes, the area is nice and level for riding. The Gristmill is working and very interesting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
We had site 32, was very large and spacious. There didn't seem to be a bad site in the place. All the sites were well spaced to offer privacy. Our site had a water tap behind it and we were able to connect a hose and fill our water tank. The area where we had our picnic table was a little uneven/sloped. I liked that each site had a garbage can for campers to place their garbage in rather than walking to a central garbage area. It was about 20 minutes away from the River Gorge Bridge attraction. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Our site, in the across-the-road section was spacious and shady, and much quieter than the family-filled main section. Tidy and beautiful grounds. Disinterested staffers were annoyed that campers were arriving and interrupting their manicure and bull session (four staffers spent most of each day in the office). Poorly laid out dump station requires clever driving and many U-turns to use: from the pay station, make a U-turn, after dumping, make another U-turn to get to site, all across the entrance highway. Beautiful and historic buildings to explore within park. Pool not open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Camp sites were well spaced and clean. Our site was level and had a fire ring. All camp sites are gravel. There are drinking fountains though there are no water hook ups and one fountain has a faucet that you can attach your hose to and get drinking quality water to fill your tank if needed. They do have a dump site and washers and driers. Wildlife is abundant, saw whitetail deer multiple times while there inside the campground. Two adults camping in a truck camper. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Good state park, two areas with the smaller one being across the street and better for motorhomes or large 5th wheel / trailers. Electric only, but they do have water available. We had an excellent site and this is a great location to see the area, New River Gorge etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Amazing state park near New River Gorge area. This park is not for those who want the "RV park" experience. Many sites have no hookups, the rest have only electric. The bathouses are spartan but clean, adequate hot water in decent showers, laundry facilities and dump station are available. Wonderful hiking trails with mountain views throughout the park, horseback riding available from onsite vendor, great mountain biking opportunities. The park is 15 minutes from many New River rafting outfitters. A nature lovers dream! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com