220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Northern Rockies Lodge was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (250) 776-3481
CGID5188

Northern Rockies Lodge

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$58



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   9   5   1   4   9   5   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$58
We were very disappointed with this campground. On first arrival, we found the setting magnificent, and we choose a site right on the water' s edge, with stunning views of the lake. However we soon discovered the staff was far more interested in accommodating the guests staying in the lodge than those in the campground. We ate dinner in the lodge one night and while the food was good, albeit expensive, the service was very poor. The "free Wifi" lasted all of 15 minutes, and even after buying more time, it still wouldn't let me log on most of the time. The staff at the desk offered no help at all. The laundry room consisted of one washer and one dryer in the basement for the entire complex. The store was essentially useless, not even selling milk. Considering the price we paid, we were hoping for a far more pleasant experience. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This location was recommended by a fellow camper and it met all expectations! Resort is located on the lake and all the RV sites have a view of the lake and mountains. Accessing the campground area can be a little tricky with limited space. Site was excellent once we understood the route, work-camper helped us find the way. The lake is a beautiful aqua-green color. Only stayed 1 night but would highly recommend this resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
Nice owner, nicely laid out RV park. In need of some additional cleanup of old run down buildings. This campground is a rearranged old Alaska Highway lodge campground. Overpriced for what you get by about $10-$15, but in line with other Muncho Lake private parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
There were some sites for very small rigs that were on the lake. Ours faced huge ugly tanks and a loud generator that ran all night long. Very tight -- if all the pull-throughs were filled, I don't think everyone could get their slides out. We paid $55 for a 15-amp site (which they didn't tell us up front)-- and we couldn't even run a computer and our microwave at the same time. PLUS, it was against park rule to run your own generator - EVER. At quarter to six, the noisy helicopter landed, so my sleep ended. They give you 20 cents a liter off gas, but the gas was 30 cents a liter more than anywhere else nearby. Food prices in the restaurant were ridiculous, too. The young man who checked us in was rude and uncaring. Other than the lake being pretty, I'd rate them less than 1 if I could. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
For $55 a night, one gets 20 amp electric and water only, and not on the lake. Oh, I forgot you also get their generator that runs all day and night. Of course, this was not mentioned when I made the reservation. We picked this place (knowing the price, but not about the generator) because of the Muncho Lake setting, and it is magnificent. However, the constant loud noise from their generator destroys any sense of peace and tranquility this setting would instill. And make sure you have plenty of fuel or you will pay $1.89 a liter! To be fair, they knock off 20 cents if you stay there - big deal - the next station up the road is still 25 cents less than that. These people are obviously out to make as much money as they can off people or take unfair advantage of people who may be stuck in the middle of nowhere. We would have stayed just up the road if they had been up front about that generator. And the Milepost and website pictures are deceiving. The lodge itself and cabins look very nice, but the RV sites are something else. The back-ins require you to back down a road to your site - also not mentioned or to be seen in the web photos. OK for a bus, more difficult for a 5er - not to mention they are more expensive because they are right on the lake. There are other RV Parks in the area - don't make our mistake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$56
We stayed here while traveling through to Alaska. The place was a little pricey, but considering the location, we thought it was acceptable. We paid a total of $61.60 for a family of 5. The staff let us walk down and pick which site we wanted, and then come up and let them know. We picked one with a view of the water (cost a little more, but nice.) Yes, it was back-in, and we did have to use our leveling blocks for our camper, but no biggy. The view was beautiful; loved watching the float planes and walking the shore. We didn't eat in the restaurant because it was a bit pricey for our family, and we already had a cooler full of food. We would stay here again. We thought it was very, very nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$58
Muncho Lake is beautiful but you don't need this campground to see it. This was one of the most expensive parks we stayed in and our site was in someones front yard, next to the highway and with a view of the shop. The laundry room consisted on one washer and one dryer. There are a minimal number of lake side sites, all back in. We would not stay here again and would recommend camping at a Provincial park instead. (Admin's note--be aware that Provincial Park Campgrounds do not have hookups of any kind--only dump stations and water.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
The most beautiful view on our trip. The sites were nice but as in all of the Yukon, not always level. We camped in a pull through site which had full hookups. It seemed it would be tight, but we were the only people in the pull throughs at the time. We quickly learned that a CONVOY was coming through and they were all booked the next day. The owner was very nice and caring. The staff was very helpful. My only complaint is the restaurant is not very kid friendly and is VERY expensive. They did have a reasonable take out menu. We passed the "Summit Lake" campground on the way out, and found it was just beautiful but had no hookups and seemed very remote. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
Beautiful Lodge, decent restaurant and some pretty good camp sites. We camped in our 45' motorhome on the water front section (back in's only). Extremely tight to get into, but the views are tremendous. Only 20 amp electric and pricey, but for one night very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
Expensive. We parked in waterfront site with terrific view, but no sewer and only 20 amp power. We have a 45' motorhome, but it was tight. The McDonalds Provincial Park 500 yards west of here has excellent dry camping facility right on beautiful Muncho Lake for a fraction of the price. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
The location right on Muncho Lake gives this park a high rating despite its lack of amenities. It was easy to get in and out with our 33 foot rig, but our site was not level side to side. We had no one on one side and there was about 30 feet on the other side. Power is supplied by a generator, so 20 amp service is all there is. We had no problem with the water pressure and we had sewer. We knew if we wanted to stay at Muncho Lake and have some hookups we'd need a reservation. By mid-day all of the full service pull-through sites except one were occupied. There are only 5 of them. The park is behind a motel and cabins, and appeared clean and well maintained. The park is very expensive, we knew this before arriving, but it is also the only one in the area with hook-ups. They give you a 10 cents per liter credit on their fuel, which is 1.599 per liter, and a dollar off coupon on meals in their dining room. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
The sites are very overpriced for what you get. It was $48 for 20amp electric, very poor water pressure, no sewer, no TV, no Wi-Fi, and very crowded narrow sites. If not for requesting an empty space between us and the next coach we could not open our slides. They have a restaurant with very overpriced food ($16.95 for a hamburger) and their diesel prices amount to highway robbery!!! The most we had paid prior to there was .89/liter and they charged $1.69/liter. When we questioned them the owner got defensive and tried to justify their price gouging. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PARK! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
The people were friendly at the motel desk. They only had 15 amp service and the gravel pull-through sites were small. They had shaded sites. The campground was poorly laid out and we had to take a chain down when we exited the campground. Fuel was really expensive here even though they give the motel guest and campers a 10 cents discount. We wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We came in a caravan, price is based on the flyer. Views are exceptional, sites are tight. Go with the view. OK for an overnight, but if you are self-contained, just pull off in one of the pull offs in the area and stay there. This place is very expensive for what they offer (God provides the view at no charge). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com