214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Aspen-Basalt Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (970) 927-3405
CGID519

Aspen-Basalt Campground

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   4   8   7   3   2   6   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
If you go by first impressions you might just turn around and head to the nearest Walmart parking lot when you see this place. But in this case, first impressions do deceive. When you approach this park it looks like a decommissioned KOA with a bunch of old trailers and motor homes parked in it. There are a fair number of seasonal/permanent campers here, but the ones we met seem nice. The sites are level gravel, there are many pull-throughs, and all services work fine. Some of the sites are a bit narrow, but not so narrow they hamper awnings and slides. The cable TV is all digital with many channels to choose from. The WiFi is decent. The restrooms and showers are modern, spacious and spotless. The pool, which was closed for the season, looked nice. There's a short walk to the Eagle River which runs behind the park, and the park is situated about 12 miles from Aspen. The rate I quoted does not include the available AAA, AARP and Good Sam discounts. Yes, the grounds could use a bit of modernization, but all-in-all this is a very nice RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Not sure how to write this review. This place is the only game in town so if you're visiting Aspen it's pretty much where you stay. The folks running the place are very friendly and over all if you just need a place to sleep it's fine. We were here several nights. The grounds are right on the road and so there is road noise but it's white noise for the most part. The sites are very close together and by in large look to be either seasonal or year round homes. While generally quiet we did have a yippy dog next door but he only bothered us one night while his owner was out. It works, but it's not what we'd call pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
We arrived on a Sunday with reservations. The office was closed, but our instructions were by the door. That would have been alright, except we could not get the cable to work, and did not know if the fault was theirs or ours. The WiFi is underpowered, but worked well early in the morning. This is mostly a workers' park, and there was a mobile home park across the fence with barking dogs. Our site was near the front, gravel, fairly level. This is the only game in town if you want to be near Aspen. For half the price, I would stay here again; otherwise, no. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
This park is a little "diamond in the rough". True, there are many old trailers in the back in which many very nice, hard-working maintenance employees live but, if you stay as we do for the summer, ask for a back-in spot up front. They are spacious and shady with a big lawn area behind and we've had a bunch of fun with everyone we've met here. This park is very central to everything, which is great because there is so much to do in the area. The management is really nice. Only complaint is the water pressure, but it's not all that bad. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
I booked this campground because I wanted a full hookup site near the Maroon Bells for fall colors photography. Had some problem finding the campground and got the voice mail all four times that I tried calling. However, after settling in to our site, all hookups worked and the restrooms/showers were sufficient and quite clean. The owners were very helpful (once you get to talk to them) and friendly. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This campground has a great highway location near Aspen, but that’s about it. It’s shoved in between a trailer park on one side and a group of condos on the other. Do not stay at this campground unless you desperately need full hook-ups in the Aspen area. They made it clear to me when I registered that they are the only game in town. That’s good because I don’t see how they would get customers if anyone else opened a decent location in the Aspen-Basalt area. You could go down valley to Redstone or Glenwood (but I haven’t heard good things about Glenwood parks either). It’s sad that in such a beautiful area that someone can’t open a good full-hookup RV park! This park is 100% gravel with a few trees and a gazillion long-term residents in dumpy-looking trailers. I guess there would be some appeal if I had kids and I needed a pool as well, but I don’t and I didn’t. I wouldn’t stay here again for a pretty penny. I only gave them a score of 3 because the staff is so nice and the laundry facility is so clean --oh, and the Wi-Fi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This park had been sold since we were here a few years ago and has really gone down hill. Got in after dark, but when we got up it was no longer a neat, clean park but a messy trailer park. The manager was not at all friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
This was a KOA, purchased by a non-corporate owner. The CG looks like a trailer park that had added several pull-through sites. Sites are gravel but leveling was quick and easy. Site hookups are in tandem; one faces N and your neighbor has to face S. The store is small and accordingly, not stocked well. We were directed to the site by the owner in a go-cart. It has very easy access from Colorado 82, but the entrance sign is hard to see because of the metal building site driveway next door! Yep. They are building a medical care building right next to the CG. We were awakened very early by the metal building workers next door. Much backup beeps, shouting, clanging of metal on metal. But, the laundry room and the women's john were very neat and clean. I couldn't get into the men's john because the push-button combo lock wouldn't work. Couldn't complain because the office was closed and the owner nowhere to be found at mid-afternoon. I don't think I will stay here again. If you're contemplating using it, better call first to make sure the owner hasn't sold out to the medical complex. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
Yes, the roads and sites are gravel. And yes, they are VERY close together. And the location is not the greatest either. But it's the nicest place around the greater Aspen area and quite convenient to all the tourist destinations. The good points to this park include a friendly staff, level sites, free wi-fi, and cable TV. And although the park is gravel it's not as dirty and dusty as you might think. If I ever return to the Aspen area, this is where I'll stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
Friendly staff, clean pool, and spotless restrooms but that sums it up for this campground. The spaces are close together with no privacy as sites share utilities and face one another. Many permanent residents with run down rigs in adjacent section of park. Grossly overpriced. I am not joking when I state that there was a sign next to a coin box near the hot tub that said "50 cents for bubbles"! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
While the friendly staff and well-kept sites are certainly quite nice, the location is a bit sub-par. It is next door to a trailer park, which is not the most pleasant of neighbors. One of the trailer park resident's dog barked incessantly one evening. After a complaint to the Aspen-Basalt Campground's owner it did stop the next evening. However, while on vacation I don't really like to have these types of disturbances. (Please don't mis-understand. We take our dogs camping, but constant agressive barking is unpleasant.) The swimming pool is clean and sunny. The staff is quite helpful, including setting us up on their wireless network (for a small fee). The sites are of average size but dusty and mostly sunny. There are a few shaded spots with limited green space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
Not too many RV spots to choose from in the Aspen area. This CG is of that annoying design where sites alternate directions and share utilities. Sites are gravel surfaced and very close together. There is no visual separation between sites. They sell LPG but hours are very limited and the staff is not very flexible about varying them. This is noty a destination resort but will do as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$33
Very nice campground just outside of Aspen, CO. The entire grounds were clean and well kept. I would stay there again without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com