206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Cottonwood RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (867) 841-4066
CGID5191

Cottonwood RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   10   7   6   4   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Wonderful location, only 15 amp power available, with water and a dump station. Great, but popular, stop for those traveling the Alaska Hwy. Sites are fairly level, owners are very helpful, and ready to serve you, but don't walk on the grass. Facilities were clean and well kept for a seasonal campground in this area. Would highly recommend this campground for those traveling the Alaska Hwy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
In our entire Alaska adventure, this was our favorite campground. If you want peace and serenity after a day's driving, this is the place to stop. Because of the nature of it's surroundings they have some different rules---such as you carry your garbage out with you, and electric service is only 15 amp, because there is no electricity available to the entire property, just a very large generator.But the 15 amps, gets the job done. Wi-Fi will keep you connected, but simiply sitting by the most beautiful lake and mountains of Kluane will repair your soul. We stayed on our way up the Alaskan highway AND on the way back. Will stay here again next chance we get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Views across the lake and mountains all around make this a lovely setting. Roads and sites are gravel, with greenery between sites to give a bit of privacy and natural feel. Our site was electrical only, conveniently placed, 15 amp. They offered WiFi, but did not work when we were there, nor is there any cell phone service in the area, so enjoy the quiet! Bathrooms and showers were spotlessly clean, even if the shower stalls are a bit small. This park feels extra clean and neat overall, and the owners are quite pleasant (as long as you don't get him started on WiFi!). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
This is one beautiful place! Unlike the previous reviews, I won't complain about the utilities. We were warned beforehand to switch our water heaters to propane instead of electricity. No problem. Limited WiFi, so what? Enough to check email. We had no problems with the electricity going off. The owners were friendly and helpful, and the grounds were spotless. The trash could be a problem, but not if you're careful and don't generate too much. We'll be staying here again on our way home from Alaska! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is a hard campground to rate. It's view is second to none. Kluane Lake is absolutely spectacular as is the mountains behind you. The owner's are nice. The down side is that power is limited to 15A, which borders on being a dry camp. I would highly recommend they change their power distribution so there are a few 30A, a few 20A a few 15A and possible a few 10A sites. I know they can't justify a larger generator, but could change the distribution. The laundry room is closed and the one dump station is on the wrong side of the drive. The power is only on from 4pm to check out time. But, again, the view is worth the other inconveniences. We were in a 45-foot MH towing a car and didn't have any problems. I'd certainly stay again. In the Yukon, the view doesn't get any better than this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
First let me say that the other posts are correct about the views. They really are nice, and the park is well cared for. But that is not the whole picture. The electric is only 15 amp, and is supplied by a generator. The park may also shut down power completely for 4-5 hours a day. The voltage dropped a few times a day, causing everything in the rig to reset when the Surge Guard tripped out. There is no cell service, and the only internet is if you stand on the deck outside the office, and is still a bit weak. Sacking out your own trash is a pain for more than one night, and if you have a pet, there is no place to discard pet waste. Since there were several bear sightings in the park, trash and pet waste must stay inside your rig. The dump station is difficult to access in a large rig. It is on the way out and you must pull to the extreme right side of the road in a slight curve next to some bushes. And flushing is not permitted at the dump station. The location is very scenic, but in the overall sense is lacking in many areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Same as the previous reviewer. Nice site, beautiful views but we signed up for this RV park because they said they had Wi-Fi. But they don't have it at the sites, and we were right across from the office! Also, dumping was not convenient, could not flush the tanks and we had to pack out our own trash. The owner told me it was because of bears, but the real reason is that they do not want to pay a trash company to empty bear proof bins. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Beautiful lakeside sites, where you could park front-in instead of back-in in enjoy the sights. The owners were very friendly. There are no garbage bins, because of the bears in the area. Please note that the Yukon Government Campground a few miles further north was closed this July. One of the best campgrounds during our holidays. We would stay again here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Excellent RV Park. Friendly owners and very well maintain park. Beautiful view of the lake and mountains. We would recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This park has got to be one of the most beautiful campgrounds I have ever seen. We had a spot right on the water, with a spectacular view of the lake. It was raining, which is too bad, because if it had been sunny we would definitely stayed another night. The park itself is beautifully groomed. The owners were delightful and very helpful. There had been bear sightings recently, but we did not see any. This park is definitely one to put on your "must stay at" list. We loved it. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
This is probably the most picturesque RV park we have ever stayed at. Lakefront sites with beautiful mountain views with lots of trees and flowers. Bathrooms and showers are very clean. They don't have sewer connections, so if you don't need that I would highly recommend this RV park. Also no garbage bins due to the bears. I would give them a 10 except their free Wi-Fi is painfully slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We have been on the road for 7 weeks and this has been our favorite campground. It is located on Kluane Lake at the base of a breathtakingly beautiful mountain range. You are surrounded by mountains, lake and trees in a peaceful atmosphere. Because they generate their own power, you are restricted to 15 amps, but this was not hard to accommodate. The owners take exceptional pride in this campground and the evidence of that is everywhere. Even though there were no more lake-front sites with water and a fire pit available when we checked in, they reserved us (at no additional cost) a site on the lake with a fire-pit so we could enjoy it in the evening. The Wi-Fi was somewhat erratic, but it was more an issue with cloud cover than it was with their signal. Be sure and have plenty of provisions if you stay here as it is hours to the nearest store. The area is a bear refuge, so be prepared to pack out your trash with you. We loved our stay there and will definitely stay again on the way back home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35+
What a lovely spot directly on Kluane Lake. The park is well manicured and a testament to the owner's years of care. The small store/office has a book exchange also which proved to be a pleasant surprise. We would definitely stay here again. This is grizzly country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The beautiful natural setting of this park is enhanced by the care the owners have put into it. Gravel sites are separated from one another by flowers, trees and neatly shaped shrubs. Restrooms and showers were very clean. The attitude was warm, welcoming and concerned that your stay be enjoyable. The electric hookups were only 15 amp, Wi-Fi was fairly slow, potable water was available near the office and a sanitary dump facility was on site. Oddly, no trash pickup is provided so you must take it with you when you leave. The limited services are understandable given the location of the park and we would eagerly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Very clean park. Nice staff, very pleasant and helpful. You need to take your trash out due to bear activity. Waterfront sites did not have sewer but the lake is steps away from the site. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This park was a plesant surprise! It is located on Kluane Lake with both pull-through and back in sites. There is a sewer dump as none are located at the sites. Sites have water and electricity. You camp on gravel and pack out your garbage. The people running the office are very friendly and helpful. We will stop here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We have driven by this campground for years when driving the highway and always wanted to stop for a night so this time we did. It is an excellent stopping point. The owners are very friendly and the lake is right on the campground and easy to get to. Our kids loved throwing rocks in the lake and wading and our dog loved the swimming. It was a great breaks from the long days in the car. As stated in another review you do need to haul out your garbage which is understandable as they have bears very near (and in) the campground on occasion. Wi-Fi was spotty but you are in the middle of the Yukon so you take what you get. We would definitely stop here again and hope to on our way back down the highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Perhaps one of the most picturesque locations imaginable: on the shores of Klaune Lake and the Kalune Mountains. Owners maintain an immaculate campground and are very pleasant. This campground is a MUST for anyone traveling to or from Alaska along the ALCAN! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Spectacular setting! Friendly staff. Nice clean restrooms/showers. Don't plan on cooking anything that smells too good to bears. No garbage cans are provided, so you keep your garbage with you, and pack it out! For an 'off-the-grid' park, the facilities were remarkable. Did I mention the setting is just spectacular? We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This park could be a 10 if they provided a little more. The setting overlooking a crystal clear lake is super. We had a site that backed up to the lake. They only have electric hook-ups. Its just 15 amp electric which they generate. There is a water fill and a dump. At the dump there is a sign "Do not flush your tanks". You also have to take your trash with you. But the staff is super helpful and go out of their way to help you. The owner walked us to our site to see if it was to our liking. I saw her do this several times. The Wi-Fi was poor to fair, and there was no cell service. They have a laundry. We didn't use the showers and rest rooms but checked them out: they were spotless. We paid $28 dollars because we asked if they have any discounts. So she gave us $2 off. It pays to ask. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Excellent stop to catch your breath after the run down from Tok. Clean, peaceful and a beautiful setting. One of our favorite setting for a campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This was a tough campground to rate. It was definitely a 10 based upon the location alone. The owners were very friendly. The park does not have any provisions for trash disposal. You are expected to take all your trash with you when you leave so plan ahead. The campground only accepts cash so be sure to bring enough with you. The 15 amp electric caused our Progressive Industries EMS to cycle on and off due to the high voltage level. We ended up just unplugging the coach until we wanted to charge the batteries or run the microwave. We would definitely stay here again but wish we had had better information before arriving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This park is well accessed off the highway and far enough away that there is minimal highway noise. The owners are onsite and go out of their way to accommodate their patrons. The park is well maintained. They generate their own electricity and have 15 amp service, their wifi is minimal, but you don't stay here for wifi. The lake setting is beautiful. The owners had suggestions on hiking in the area which were much appreciated. Because they participate in the bear protection program they ask that you take your trash out with you. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a well maintained, nicely laid out and very clean park. The owners were very friendly and it's obvious they take pride in their campground. The nicely treed park has beautiful views of Kluane Lake. Our pull-through site was plenty long for our big rig with slides and our truck. The interior roads were gravel and in good condition. The sites were also gravel and level. As previously stated, electricity is 15 amps and generated by the campground, although the generator was not overly noisy. There is very little road noise. You do have to take your trash with you-there are no dumpsters. There are no sewer hookups but there is a dump station. The above price is in Canadian dollars. We camped here in a fifth wheel and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
The owners were the greatest. This campground was the best one that we stayed at. We stayed here before going up to Alaska and on the way back. How relaxing after a long trip. Thank you for being so friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
The CLEANEST shower I have EVER seen!! The owners sure take love and care of this BEAUTIFUL place. By far the BEST RV park we came along. Would like to have stayed a bit longer but didn't have the time. On the shore of a spectacular lake. My family (including small children and a large dog)felt very welcome. On our way back up to Alaska this will be a stop for us. The review say "no sewer" but they do have a dump. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Lovely rustic campground on lake with outstanding views across the lake. Beautifully landscaped and planted. No water or sewer. Friendly, attentive owners make this a charming haven in the middle of nowhere! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Beautiful location fronting Kluane Lake, but there are some problems with this park. The water hookup is not at the individual sites but at a building near the office. There are only 3 stalls and 3 showers in the women's bathroom, and 2 sinks, so it was frequently crowded and hard to keep clean. There aren't any counters to put your stuff on in the bathrooms. The wi-fi is only available on the deck near the office and in the laundry room, which was also crowded. We had a big problems with flies and bugs, so much so that we spent little time outside. You have to take your garbage with you, ostensibly because there are bears in the area. The electrical hookups are only 15 amp. So, while it is a lovely park, $30 seems steep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This park is a nice stop over on the long leg from Whitehorse to Tok. We had planned on only staying overnight but extended our stay an extra night because it was so peaceful. A good number of the sites are right on the water with electric & water. The restrooms and showers were spotless. There were a couple of quirks; they only accept cash, there are no trash receptacles (you pack out what you bring in due to bears), there were a lot of flies near the water but very few mosquitoes, and the power occasionally drops out for short periods. These negatives might discourage some folks from staying here but the beauty and peacefulness of this park easily overcame the negatives. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com