221771 User submitted reviews online!!
Ray Roberts State Park Isle du Bois Unit was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (940) 686-2148
CGID5197

Ray Roberts State Park Isle du Bois Unit

Camp Information
Sites
182
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   9   8   9   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$33
This is a wonderful State Park, and we keep returning. We even have a favorite site, 62. It is hard to beat the relaxation and enjoyment of this ample wooded, quiet, lakeside location. The wide variety of birds and the frequent visits from grazing deer at our site was delightful. Unfortunately, there is no sewer at the campsites, only a dump station. The rate for our 30 amp site was $25, but we also had to pay entrance fees which accounts for the total of $33 per night. We went to McDonalds in Sanger for internet access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$26
At first we had site 46 which is a pull through and was a really nice "level site" but when attempting to level the motor home each time the back wheels were off the ground by 6". So we were able to move to site 51. We always enjoy this park and find it to be very clean. The staff are helpful. The park is very quiet. Just check out the sites if you need a level one for bigger rigs (33' and longer) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
This is one of our favorite state parks, very clean, level sites, clean restrooms and friendly staff - not to mention 10 minutes from our home. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Very nice sites. Very clean facilities, and we enjoyed the lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Great place with great staff. Family friendly and safe. Not crowded. Spots are roomy. Each has a grill, table, water and electric. 50 amp spots are pull-through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This is a fine park. We stayed in Deer Ridge area. Most of the sites there do not have water views. We were there on a weekend -- lots of kids. We did not have reservations and the sign said if you do not have reservations, don't even bother. However, we had no problem getting a site. We were lucky, our site had a lot of space, but many of the sites there are close together. There are some nice walking/biking trails. We would stay there again, but would probably make reservations and would try for a weekday with fewer kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
What a great park so close to DFW. Great hiking and biking trails as well as some great horse trails. Lots of Geo Caches too! We visit as often as we can and they do offer Wi-Fi but near the office so if you want to check mail you can run up there. The park gets busy, so go early to get your sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We were just overnighting with the goal of staying at 4-5 state parks as we crossed Texas. This is a lovely park off season. I imagine it is packed during the summer, given its proximity to the Metroplex. Sites are paved with a picnic table and many have extra room for a tent. We had a gorgeous view of the water from our site, but there are many without views. We thought that the $25/night price was too steep for a state park, especially since we've stayed at ones we liked better for $14 or $17/night. But proximity to big city must be the reason. We would stay here again, though. The drive to the park through the horse country estates is something! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
The Isle du Bois unit of Lake Ray Roberts State Park is one of our favorites. Sites are paved with a picnic table and many have extra room for a tent. We have a 38'9" fifth wheel and did not have any trouble with the campsite. The pull-through sites are 50 amp. Other sites are 30 amp. This time we camped in the Deer Ridge area and have previously camped at the Quail Run area. Both are nice and both have sites that are on the water. There is no sewer but the restroom and shower facilities are very clean. The overall park is clean. It is also very family oriented with playgrounds in each campsite and well as on the beach. It is wheelchair accessible, as the walking paths are paved. A wonderful state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
We enjoyed this park very much. I believe that one of the previous reviewers was confused about which campground he was reviewing. There are no gravel roads in any of the RV loops in this park. The sites are not crowded. They are spaced nicely, and there is lots of shade and trees between sites. There is a two mile bike loop that is nice. The beach and swimming area is nice also, and there is a camp store near the beach. We will return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
We love this park. Everything is very clean and well maintained. The only complaint we really had is that the restrooms are very dark and dangerous. I was scared for my wife and daughter to shower alone. They seem to turn the lights on during the weekend, but not during the week. Very aggravating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Park is gravel and very, very dusty. Sites are large and level. Access is good from highway. Long walk to office and meeting rooms from camping area. Long walk to dumpsters. Park has potiential, but probably won't be realized. Don't plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
It is a nice park, we stayed in the Deer Ridge section. There are several pull through sites with 50 amp service. The park has a nice beach area and very good launch ramps for boats. The nearest town of any size is Sanger, Texas, the next large town is Denton Texas. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com