220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Spring Hill Mobile Home Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (919) 967-4268
CGID5200

Spring Hill Mobile Home Park

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   2   8   10   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
This has been our favorite campground since we've started our journey last month. It is very, very quiet, very beautiful, and the trees are amazing! The sites are huge and you feel like you are walking through a forest when you walk your pets. The owners are amazing and so friendly. We highly recommend this campground. We came for one night and wound up staying for six nights, and are coming back in the middle of the month! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
This is our favorite when we travel through Chapel Hill. The folks here are warm, friendly and accommodating. Many of the RV parks in the area are close to highways and noisy. Spring Hill is the place to go if you want peace, quiet and forested camp sites. Our mutts just love watching all the deer in the area. This place is easy in and easy out. We drive a 36' MH with a tow, so tight spots we avoid. The pull throughs here are spacious and not close to neighboring spots. Follow the directions on the website because the GPS can turn you in the wrong direction just prior to arrival. When we call ahead, they always save a spot for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Beautiful mature trees, very friendly park hosts, very quiet. This is our second time here and we are planning a longer stay next year. Well lit even though heavily treed. Very large sites, felt very private. The park has the longest pull-thru sites I have ever seen. Forget about your satellite dish with all of the tall trees but local channels and cable were great. AT&T connection for iphone and ipad were great. The free park wifi was excellent with 10 megabit per second downloads. A true gem, good value, will stay here again. There are a number of long term residents but that did not detract from our stay. The park is close to good shopping, churches, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Has gone downhill since we first came here a couple of years ago. Severely overgrown with weeds and leaves are always blown on top of existing leaves causing a very bad insect problem. A little insect and weed control spraying would really help. People could not even sit out at all, much less walk and enjoy the outside areas. We visited several friends in the area and their homes did not have the insect issues. We had to put on repellent first thing each day and reapply a couple of times daily. It appears the owner has lost interest in keeping the place clean and neat. He was never around. The managers are nice, but other than taking payments and escorting you to your site, they have no authority to act on anything. The place is depressing now as old mobile homes cannot be replaced except with RVs, and owner is not making people keep their units neat and in good repair. It could be a nice location but it needs to be better maintained. We would not let kids on the one piece of playground equipment due to the worn and splintered wood. This could easily be repaired too, but it seems they don't care if kids are there or not. There are more full time working people living here than visitors. That would not be an issue if they maintained decent places. Also put bulls and other dangerous animals are on premises and more than once these dogs have challenged us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
This is a lovely campground with excellent hosts who were very attentive. They escorted us to our site and made sure the WiFi was working well. The shaded lots are very spacious and well maintained with a garbage can at each site. If there were shower and laundry facilities and a newspaper box this would have gotten a 10 point rating. Beautiful campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
What a delightful surprise. This is a campground in dense woods with enormous large, long sites. A few older permanents still around, but on balance a clean, well maintained place. A little far off I-85, but well worth the trip. Quiet and peaceful, with very helpful and friendly staff. So nice that we'll try to find any excuse to visit the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
We were in this park for 9 days and were very pleased! The owner and managers were very nice and and went out of their way to help us. The setting was so nice and quiet with spacious sites and lots of trees. We would definitely recommend this park to others and would come back again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Great location for Raleigh, Chapel Hill and Durham area. Owner and staff could not be nicer. They understand service and will not disappoint. Heavily wooded sites but no issues for even the longest RVs on drive in and out. Pull through site was long enough for 2 sixty footers. WiFi was perfect. AT&T did not work in lower area of CG but did once up the hill. Verizon worked well. Deer fed through every evening and kids had a ball in the creek. Could not recommend this CG any more highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
This is a lovely shaded park just outside of Chapel Hill perfect for visiting the Raleigh Durham area. It was formerly a mobile home park (a few remain) but now a very quiet RV park with enormous sites, many long pull-throughs all with full hookups, cable and Wi-Fi. The sites are level on gravel, trees and shrubs provide privacy. There is not a bath house or laundry but there's a great coin laundromat just a few miles back to town. The owner and managers were wonderful, from our first contact to helping us get settled; they even drive you to your site making sure you're all set. They are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We stayed 3 nights and would love to return for an even longer stay. If you're looking for a beautiful and peaceful camping experience, this is it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
This is an excellent place to stay as all lots are long and level and they have cement patios. Our Verizon MiFi worked well here. It was very quiet and the management was helpful in telling us how to find Duke University and Walmart for shopping. It would be a nice place to stay for a week but we were only staying one night. We will stay here again and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This campground use to be a mobile home facility so it isn’t your typical campground. We had a pull through space which was very long and accommodating. The spaces are gravel, nice and big. You won’t have a neighbor on top of you. We had lots of room. Lots of trees so no satellite, but they had cable. The WiFi worked efficiently. No laundry facilities on site which wasn’t good considering we were here for 4 days and it rained all 4 days on and off, more on than off so the perfect time to do laundry. Did get to watch the squirrels run around and deer pass through. Lots of fireflies at night that were a bonus. Was a little out of the way for the area we toured. Needed to be closer to Durham, but would stay here again if staying in Chapel Hill. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$14
The rate given is based on the monthly rate for a 50 amp RV. All the sites have 20/30/50 amp hookups. We actually stayed there for about 5 months and left to go south the middle of February. This is an excellent place to stay. It is quiet. No road noise. Plenty of shade. Gravel roads and sites. No restrooms or showers. We enjoyed seeing wildlife such as deer, turkeys, fox, etc. Convenient to shopping, hospitals, etc. Other people are very friendly. The owner keeps it very nice. He's also extremely helpful and knowledgeable. While it is called Spring Hill Mobile Home Park, it has only a few mobile homes among nearly 60 sites. The rest are all RV's. Propane is available on site for the best price we've found anywhere. It's the nicest park in central NC and we would stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
If you want a quiet get away nestled in the woods but still convenient to local attractions in Durham, NC, this is the place. The staff is friendly and helpful. The place is well maintained, and it is peaceful. We stayed here 5 days and loved it and will definitely be back again. However, call ahead for reservations to make sure they can get a place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
A 9.5 rating! I loved this place. It was quiet, wooded, homey and perfect for me, a southern boy. That said, there are some permanent residents who kind of act like they own the place, and the managers are super picky. My car will hardly go 5 miles an hour. Relax, 7 MPH is not going kill anyone. No bathhouse, no pool, no clubhouse, yet I still gave high ratings. It is a peaceful paradise. Just don't anger the sheriff(s). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
May 2012. This is a beautiful park with full service (50 amps, water, sewer, cable, wifi). The park is nicely shaded with large sites (no, huge sites). Lots of space between them and plenty of trees. (I saw 5 deer in our site on the first morning). The owner could not have been more helpful, including taking us to the site and helping us to park. Close to Chapel Hill (6 miles). The only reason that I do not want to write this is to keep room the next time we pass through. A nice experience and we will return (hopefully) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This was a beautiful campground with enormous sites shaded by large trees. It looked more like a State Park than a campground. The Manager was extremely nice and personally escorted us to our site. There were many large and expensive rigs, as well as some well-placed mobile homes. Residents seemed friendly, with two stopping to direct us down the road by the church, since there were no signs beyond to point of our GPS address. Advise calling ahead for specific directions and to insure there is room. We stayed here while going on a college tour of UNC and found it very convenient and within only 6 miles of the school. I would definitely stay here again. Higher points would be provided the campground if there were bathhouses or common areas to enjoy, but it was a beautiful, safe, well-run campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
As already stated by others, this is way off the beaten path, but the only camp in the area worth going to. Sites are a bit strange, instead of the sewer connections on the normal left side, you will find some on the opposite side which makes it that you would have to run the sewer hose under the RV and the sewer connection would be on the door or awning side. The only way around this is to drive straight into the site, ok for a motorhome but not so for a TT or Fiver. Also there is no ATT cell signal in most of the park. This park could be so much more than it is and I would hope the owners would continue to improve the sites and sewer hookups, which would make them more useable for all Rv's. It is a nice quiet park, a bit rustic but still a nice place to stay. We stayed here in a fifth wheel and would stay here again. Call for reservations though as space is limited with mobile homes and permanent campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Stayed here for 1 overnight in late October. Just the two of us. Not many folks around. A bit off the beaten track: be sure to turn into it at the Terrels Creek Baptist Church. Staff is friendly and helpful. Grounds are beautiful, tall oaks and pines but not too dense. Sites are huge (former mobile home lots). Very peaceful here, in fact too peaceful. There are NO bathrooms or showers, no camp store, no picnic tables, no fire pits (county ordinance), and no recreation or pool. Just one distant tiny, old jungle gym. Full hookups including cable TV worked ok. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is a very nice, quiet park. All sites are in the woods with several yards between sites allowing for some privacy. Roads and sites are gravel with level sites. Cable TV is great and much needed as satellite availability in woods is not possible. The staff members are very friendly RV'ers and know your needs. Excellent WiFi service. Very convenient to Chapel Hill less than 6 miles away. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$13
We stayed here last summer and were happy to stay again for an entire month this year. The monthly rate ($375) was a great bargain in the expensive Chapel Hill area, and it was easy to get to almost all the attractions in the triangle. This RV park was quite lovely too—each campsite was large and private. We really felt like we were in the middle of the country. Before you try to find this place, you should know that there is absolutely no signage for the park from Old Greensboro Road. So if you want to stay, your best bet is to call in advance and get directions. It would help if the park had a bathhouse, clubhouse, laundromat, walking paths, or something to do, and the small playground just wasn’t that entertaining for my children. I also found myself wishing for a picnic table at our site, since we don’t carry one ourselves. Still, the sheer beauty and privacy made up for these shortcomings, and, thank goodness, the Botanical Gardens in Chapel Hill were nearby. The park had no cell phone coverage for AT&T, but our Verizon Aircard worked great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
This is a nice, very shady campground for an overnight. If it wasn't for cable, there's nothing to do but hike. Also, there is absolutely no sign indicating it's existence. At the beginning of very narrow Old Greensboro Road, drive about 2.4 miles to a heads up street, Carl Durham Rd., then continue to the next road on the right, Spring Hill. The Terrels Creek Baptist Church is on the right. Spring Hill is the entrance to the campground. We only had four cars packed behind us. I figure the locals are used to slow moving tractors, so we didn't impede them beyond patience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This is a great park. We had a pull through under shady trees that was so large you could get lost in it. Owners and staff are super friendly and helpful. This campground was extremely quiet and peaceful. Wi-Fi and cable TV were the best I have seen. I look forward to the opportunity to stay here again. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Spring Hill RV Park is a lovely place. Our campsite (and all the ones we saw) was surrounded by huge trees and shady and comfortable on hot days. The park is located on the edges of Chapel Hill in a rural/farm area, so it's quiet. Still, you're only about 10-15 minutes from the university and hospitals. The staff were all friendly and helpful. They quickly corrected a billing problem. They offered useful advice in a way that didn't make you feel like an idiot. The pull-through site that we used was huge and very easy to pull through. The free WiFi was effortless. We didn't try the Cable TV, but it looked easy. They are very serious about the 10 mph speed limit, so if you want to be loud and fast, choose another park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
I had intended on staying here for several months but ended up having to leave to go stay with my mom for a couple weeks after she had surgery. Initially when I arrived, I stayed on their overflow spot for a couple of days until the site they had for me became available. I had site 40A and it took a bit of doing to back into it, but they expertly guided me back and I made the back on the first try. Then the fun began. The sites are gravel and the one I was in had a bit of a soft spot in that my rear jacks pushed everything down into the dirt. They did not leave me hanging, but brought out several huge blocks to put under my jacks to keep me from sinking into the soft dirt. The RV park is immaculate with lots of shade available and it's very quiet at night. As far as phone and internet, I have T-Mobile and my phone worked even though it usually only had 1-2 bars on it. I have my own internet (Internet-in-Motion) which is on the Sprint PCS network and my connection was tenuous at best. The park's Wi-Fi connection was a little more reliable than mine but still really slow. My only complaint were the ticks. OMG! In the 19 days I was there I pulled 18 ticks off my dogs and a dozen off me. One time I stood outside for less than 3 minutes and had two crawling up my pants so they waste no time getting on you. However, this is not particular just to this RV park as I understand that ticks are a problem everywhere in this area of North Carolina. Other from that, I definitely enjoyed my stay and would definitely return should I find myself working in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
Many permanent but each year, more are for overnight. Many stay in this area for a week or more. This campground only has full hookups and the cost $29 includes internet connection and cable TV connection with many, many stations. It is out in the farm area of Chapel Hill and it is very peaceful. At one dip in the road before you reach the campground road, Senator John Edwards multi-million dollar house is set back but all you can see is the road and a gate, but those here said it is huge with its own gym. There is nothing at the campground but a playground. No restrooms or showers! It is a nice place and considered the best camping near the Chapel Hill and UNC and Duke. Call for reservations and they warn you to call when you are about an hour away from coming to the campground so that someone is at the office and your site is ready. So much construction around Duke and neither university is RV friendly at all. So we drove around and it was interesting but were not able to get out and bike or walk around. I don’t know if I would want to have biked because UNC is built on rolling hills. Nice area though and I think some people must camp here when they are visiting the medical units of both universities. We would definitely camp here again but we would rent a car. Chapel Hill and Durham, the research triangle, are big cities now with 3 to 6 lane traffic patterns. Anything bigger than a car you have a hard time getting around and no place at all to park. Actually all parking is pay now and whatever visitor parking there is, it is taken by 8 in the morning. You can pay ahead of time (like three days ahead) for a reservation to park as a visitor at UNC but the sites we saw were again only for cars. The Duke gardens (Sara Duke gardens of 55 acres, a living museum of design, plant and horticulture) and chapel (a 50 bell carillon, with bells ranging in weight from 10 to 11,200 pounds, a Flentrop Organ -in the center of the campus) and the UNC museum (Carolina Basketball History), bell tower and planetarium (a NASA training ground for many space missions) are must visits but there are so many other interesting places to visit depending on your interests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
Just as the previous poster said, a very nice park with big sites and super friendly and helpful staff. We are big - 36' fiver with HDT, 60' long. They took me to the site in a golf cart to look at it, then guided us in and helped park. Lots of trees, but not really tight. Did not try my sat. dish, but trees might be a problem. Excellent Wi-Fi! and good cable TV. They sell propane by weight or metered - I needed refill, they said to drop my tanks at the office in the AM. I did so on the way out and when we returned in the afternoon the tanks were not only filled and back at our site, but they were installed back in the fiver! I really appreciated not having to muscle those two 40 lb. tanks back into the compartment! Excellent price as well. This is not a destination park, but an excellent place to stay while visiting the Chapel Hill area. Good location, very quiet and not over lighted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This is a great stay in the Chapel Hill/Durham area. Sites are large, grounds are maintained nicely, peaceful and I woke up to the sound of cows from the nearby farm. What a treat! Most of the sites are occupied by long term or permanent residents but there are some overnight sites available. Owner is extra nice and helpful. Self contained units only as there's no bath house facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
Owner goes all out to be helpful. Campground is not a destination campground but rather a base for nearby touring. About 30 minutes from Durham and Duke Medical Center, 15 from Chapel Hill. Sites are large. Occupants ranged from mobile homes (either seasonal or full time) to large Class A's, fifth wheels, and trailers - full time, seasonal, weekender's, overnighters. Most sites are shaded. WiFi is most excellent. Cable choices abundant. Trash is picked up at the campsite 2x a week. Monthly rate includes electric so you know just what your expenses are going to be. Secure, quiet, friendly. Would recommend this to anyone who doesn't need entertainment and playgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We used Trailer Life directions. The highway sign 54 was behind some branches of a tree so we missed it. Then had some truck problems. Called the owner to tell him we were going to be late. Very understanding, asked if there was anything he could do. Even called us back several times for an update. We got in late and he gave us an escort to our site. We didn't use the cable TV but did use the Wi-Fi and it was excellent. Getting in with a HDT and 35 ft 5th wheel was easy. Getting out had to be careful, owner needs to cut back a few branches. Very quiet campground. Won't have had a problem staying longer then just one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$22
We didn't have trouble finding this park, but we probably would have if we hadn't gotten directions beforehand from the owner. It is out in the country but no more than a 10-minute drive to nearby Chapel Hill/Carrboro, home of the University of North Carolina. There are some older mobile homes there, in fact most of the sites are occupied by mobile homes. About 26 are for transients. However, the mobile homes seemed to be well kept. Also, this is one of the quieter campgrounds we have ever stayed at, despite our suspicion that many of the occupants may be commuter students. Roads in the campground are well-maintained gravel, and all of the sites, both permanent and transient, seemed to be spaced very far apart we were very happy with the accommodations, especially because it was a pastoral setting with just a short drive into Chapel Hill. But accommodation is all it is. There are no bathhouses or toilets, but the full hook-ups and cable worked great. There's no camp store. This is not for people who want to enjoy sitting around the campground. But it's ideal for those who want to spend their time in Chapel Hill and have a quiet place to come back to for the evening. We will definitely be back. But it's important to remember that they do not take credit cards. You can pay in cash for with a check. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
Newer sites are okay but you will likely have a very old mobile home next to you. No satellite service but cable and wi-fi work well. Very hard to find and fairly far from town. If you want quiet this is the place to be. Owner was not often on site so getting help was a problem if you needed anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
This is not a bad park if you can get by without restrooms and showers or a pool, none of which are available. Another drawback was that there were several mobile homes which have seen better days, but the sites they were on were well maintained. If you can get past these things the rest of the park is great. It was located a few miles southwest of Chapel Hill in an area with rolling hills and beautiful ranch estates. The roads were well maintained gravel. The whole camp was heavily wooded, but the sites were wide enough to maneuver into easily and accommodate slides. The sites were very long and contained crushed rock, granite we think. There was plenty of room between sites. The whole CG was natural looking with lots of squirrels and birds, but it was also well cared for. The cable TV worked great with lots of channels, and the WiFi was strong. The best thing about the park was the manager/owner couple. They were not in the office when we arrived, but our site number and registration papers were posted outside. Within 15 minutes after we arrived he came down to greet us, and she came by a little while later to see if we needed anything. We did have trouble with the Wi-Fi at first so we called him, and he came right down and fixed it. We were impressed! We indicated that this is a family friendly park, and they did have a play set for children, but there is not anything else for them to do. This is not a problem for us so we did not view it as a negative. For our needs this park was a 10, but we rated it lower because of the missing amenities. If you need an RV park in this area we recommend this one, and we would certainly stay at it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com