214299 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Boonesborough State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (859) 527-3131
CGID5201

Fort Boonesborough State Park

Camp Information
Sites
167
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   7   7   9   8   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
This is a great family friendly campground. There was so much to do within walking distance. Lots of activities run by the campground (clogging was our favorite), a pool, Fort Boonesborough, a beach along the river, and geocaching. Even though every site was taken when we were there it was very quiet and well controlled. Most of the staff were very friendly, especially the ones working in the store. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
We normally stay at another park on our way north but thought we'd try something new this trip. We weren't disappointed. However, the site we had was a little smaller than it should have been for our 33' motorhome (it stated a larger coach should fit). We backed as far as we could and yet have our jacks resting on the asphalt. That left not much room for our tow car. The electric was close but the water spigot, shared by two sites, was quite far away. No problem-we used our tank water. There was quite a lot of space between sites and the grounds were very well maintained. We visited the Fort while here-next to the campground. It would be a mistake not to! This reconstructed fort (in the 1970's) consisted of many rustic cabins arranged in a square. Many of the cabins were "occupied" by "1800s residents" displaying period clothing. They demonstrated yarn spinning, candle making, deed preparations, blacksmithing, woodworking, etc., all done as it was during Dan's period. The docents were very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. We highly recommend visiting here. There are many other historical places to visit close by but we were limited by time. We WILL visit here again. Thanks Kentucky, for a great state park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
This is a beautiful state park, make no mistake about that. The forest is dense, in fact so dense that we could not get DirecTV from our spot. Our crank up antenna, however, was able to capture enough local channels to satisfy us. Our Verizon cell phone and broadband Internet connection was great. The park is pretty much dated with mostly asphalt pads that are short and narrow for larger RVs, and your tow vehicle has to be parked on the adjacent grass. Our spot #4 was level enough to make leveling our motorhome a breeze. Our space was on the road that leads to the park entrance and traffic past our motorhome was speedy and noisy at times. Speaking of noise, the traffic on the nearby highway is noisy, and the close-by park sewage treatment plant is very noisy; it runs all of the time. The electric and sewage hookups are adequate, but the water hookup is far enough away to require our 50 ft water hose. As I walked around the park, I noticed that a couple of RVs had to use at least 100 ft of hose to reach their water hookup. There are lots of activities in the park and lots to see and do in the area. I am not sure we would return to this park again with the high price of staying here not reflected in the park quality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Main advantage was close proximity to Interstate Highway. This is an old park and there are some indications of both it's age and the degree of maintenance. For example, just about all of the shower heads and controls need to be replaced or repaired. Just plain worn out. A lot of water is being wasted. Washrooms nicely heated, kept clean. The park is quiet at night, but when the trucks are running back and forth on their way to and from the next-door quarry operations, you can't help but notice. There's a 'herd' of feral cats here and indications that someone is throwing out food to them on a regular basis. We were using only lights in our newer 19 ft trailer when the circuit breaker tripped. Before that, the lights flickered. We never had this problem before and we are inclined to suspect the camp's electrical wiring. Grass was well maintained and in good condition. Extra charge for Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Park is quiet and easy to find. Roads are paved, as are the sites. Sites tend to slope quite a bit and we sought a different site than the one assigned. We found a different site but still had to put the motor home passenger side dual on a block to avoid extending jacks more than we desire. Water service is shared by two sites so you very well may need an additional hose to connect. The sites are short and our 36-foot was backed in so the jacks were barely on the pavement. Our toad barely fit in front of the coach but only by parking parallel to the drive and parking partially on the grass. The park is maintained by the state and is okay. The park is located south of Lexington but remains a convenient trip into town and distilleries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Large, very popular campground. The landscape was well-kept and attractive. The big attraction is the total reconstructed fort with enactments and this is walking distance from the campground; although, a bit of an uphill hike. We are in our 60's and were comfortable doing this. Nice campground store. We had good satellite reception and our Mi-Fi worked well. There was lots of room to walk the dog. The only downside was a large mill of some sort next door that was noisy during the day but quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
We stay at this campground a lot and enjoy it every time. The bathrooms are decent and the employees are friendly. They have a camp store on site and it is reasonable in price. We really like this campground, but it could use some more updates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is a pretty nice state park campground. We had full hookups in site 22. Great majority of the sites have no sewer. Shade trees are abundant. Water hookups are a distance and a long hose is needed. The park was quiet and clean. Store on site is handy for snacks or drinks. Park is convenient to I-75 and a quick trip into Lexington. We never could get a satellite signal on Directv. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Just need to add to previous review comments. They do sell internet hook ups.$3.50 per day. The water hookups are a distance and you will need a long hose. Don't miss going to the fort. There is also a well stocked store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Paid $28 weekday, $30 weekend less 10% senior discount. A bit on the high side, but close to Lexington so they can charge more. Limited number of sites with sewer on the first loop. Most of them have some grade but a couple are OK. Sites vary but many of them are level. Some are pretty short. Overall not a bad park. The Waterfront Lounge across the river had good reasonable food and daily specials. For a nice scenic ride take CR 169 across the free ferry (cars and small trucks only, it handles 3 cars max). This becomes Highway 1974 and goes thru nice horse country and ends up right in the middle of Lexington. A nice option to or from the city vs I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
This park is not bad, but not the greatest. The noise and smell from the rock quarry next door can get a little annoying depending on where you stay but isn't a deal breaker. Some of the sites offer some shade but others not so much. It was off season but everything was clean and there were pretty many people camping. We have been in the summer too and the pool is very nice, but you do have to drive over to it if you don't want to walk 3/4 mile. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
On arrival, the gate staff were welcoming and gave us full directions to our site. The pad itself (number 49), although asphalt, wasn't particularly level and was covered in straw. We found out later that day that the straw was to cover the mud that the heavy rain dragged down off the bank behind us and deposited on the pad. The wet weather meant that we couldn't explore the amenities on site although there was a well stocked store which we did visit. The bath house was really dated and, in my opinion, not particularly clean. However, all the services worked and the showers provided plenty of hot water. On leaving, I suggested to the gate staff that the pad could do with some of the mud being removed but my suggestion was met only with a steely stare! Fort Boonesborough suited us as a one night stop over, but I'm not sure that we'd stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Very busy campground on the weekends. Mostly families with kids running, playing and bike riding as kids should do. Blacktop roads and fairly level sites. Many sites are small; choose wisely if you have a big rig. Nice mixture of shaded and open sites but very few with any privacy. Some water and electric hookups are in odd positions so bring extra cord and hose. The constant noise from traffic and the rock quarry next door is as loud as others have stated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
There are many sites – some on the Kentucky River and the rest in two main loops. Many are not level. Bathrooms are clean but this seems to be an older park with bike riding, bird watching, boating, miniature golf and a half mile hike to the Fort which was very interesting. There are many things to do in season and they do have a public pool for one to use. It’s a good base camp when visiting the Blue Grass Region and the city of Lexington and surrounding horse farms. It is not the best park that we have camped in but we used it for just an overnight and it was very convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Quite busy for the Halloween weekend. Long list of activities turned out to be dull, but the camper decorations made for an incredible walk at night. Lots of kids, good playground. Only one short hiking trail. Nearby fort was interesting & close to Lexington. This is a campground for those who like life at the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
We had a lot of fun at this campground. It's not fancy and not a lot of amenities. It was October, and they were very busy. Lots of campers with Halloween decorations. Campfires every night at most sites. Restrooms need updated and better maintenance. We had a non sewer site the first night but was able to move to a full hookup site the next day. They only have a few full hookup sites. Staff was very helpful in our move. We will return here again especially in October! Happy Halloween! Verizon Wireless worked good here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This park is very pretty and the staff are great. However, the toilet and showers are not cleaned nearly enough for the amount of people who use them. We stayed for 8 days, and I gave up using the showers after the first night because they were just too dirty! Using the shower in the RV is not a problem, but it did mean we had to pack up every couple of days to use the dump station as there are no sewer hookups at the campground. I would stay here again, but I would be prepared not to use the shower facilities on the grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
A beautiful park. I do agree with other reviews that the noise from trucks entering and leaving the quarry area was loud and annoying especially early in the morning. The pull through site we stayed in appeared to be created as an afterthought as it had one section of crushed stone across a grassy area and the remainder was paved. The site was not level. There were numerous small sites that seemed barely long enough to place an RV. The water connections were placed in odd locations and ours was so far away an additional length of hose still did not reach. I like the fact that the sites were not close and there was plenty of grassy area. This was our first time at a state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This is an old campground, and the overall park shows its age. We camped in the very back which was a great spot EXCEPT for the never ending rock quarry noise, highway trucks with their jake brakes, and VERY high water pressure. Made the mistake of not using a regulator and blew two water lines inside the camper. This was probably a great location in the 70's, but it is near the bottom of my list of KY parks. The swimming pool was poorly maintained and staffed with inattentive kids. Don't get me wrong, there were plenty of families and great people who come to this park year after year but frankly it was so poorly maintained that I feel it was a waste of money. PS: Bring shower shoes and don't expect clean showers or restrooms. Be happy the water works. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Nice Kentucky State Park. Site pads weren't very large and some larger rigs had a tough time fitting but our truck camper had no problem. Nice pool nearby. Very relaxing after a day of touring the area. Bathrooms closed at 8AM for cleaning. Seemed like a strange time for a Saturday morning cleaning. Only 2 of 3 showers were working but everything was clean. At least 3 dump sites that I saw. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
In June, this large SP was still recovering from major flooding of the Kentucky River the previous month. Large sections of the tent camping and picnic areas are still deeply muddy, and the beachfront was not completely reclaimed. It's obvious the Park staff is working very hard on clearing debris. This large RV campground has been groomed, and is ready for visitors. Pool was open, although we did not use it. We enjoyed the short hike to the Fort: both a paved path and a nature trail are available from the campground. The Fort is a living history museum, and we spent an wonderful afternoon visiting. The adjacent gravel company was quiet all weekend, however boaters on the nearby River played loud music at night. CG hosts toured the property frequently, and held games and activities for the kiddies. We liked the privacy of the loop at sites 136-139. Water hook-ups are shared between sites, and we had to use a 75' hose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
This is a very nice campground. The site I was in was pretty level. Route 627 has a downgrade beside the campground. Trucks use their Jake brakes descending the grade. Next to the campground is a working quarry. There is more noise here than just about any place I have been. If you want a quiet place during the day, this is not it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
We stayed at spot 139 and it was pretty secluded. The check-in attendant did not give us a map or any idea on how to get to our site. If you can print a map off the internet, I would. You can see your campsite on their web site before you make your reservations. I thoughy this was a real plus. The bathrooms were clean and there were scheduled activites to do. Make sure you bring plenty of water hoses because the water hookups were kind of far. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$21
The campground was very well decorated for Halloween. It was very crowded with many sites exceeding the allowed number of campers/tents/cars per site. The sound of the interstate was a bit annoying, but not a deal breaker. I saw very few level sites, we had to block up the front tires to keep from lifting the front wheels when leveling. The water spigot was more the 50' away (took 3 hoses). Overall very clean, the staff was friendly and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$16
This would be a nice park if it wasn't across the street from a rock quarry that starts work at 7AM. It generated a lot of noise and dust. Also, the park is located on State Road 627, which is a cut through between Richmond and Winchester, KY. There were a lot of semi's using this road with Jake Brakes on. This was at all hours of the day or night. We spent 4 nights at this park because we didn't know about the above. We wouldn't stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Arrived at the check in Friday night and was greeted by a worker who was very curt. No map or directions were given at check in as to where my campsite or bathhouses were located. Water hook ups are located away from the electric hook ups, so you will need to bring an extra long hose to get water. We were in site 73 and we were more than 25' away from the spigot. Lots to see and do and shopping is less than a 10 minute drive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
We camped at Fort Boonesborough on a weekend. We live near Lexington and tend to stay close to home. It's a real easy pull to get to the CG. The CG was packed with people everywhere. The sites were a little cramped in the back, we stayed at site 162. It has three dump stations and the bath house near our site was newer and clean. The sites up near the entrance as you came in were a lot better looking with more room. The pool was nice but the decks were dirty and people were allowed to eat on the pool deck. The life guards were a poor excuse too. You better watch your own kids because they are too busy texting and chatting with each other. There is no quarry noise on the weekend of course and it was very quiet after 2300 hours. Nice park over all and we will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Beautiful, spacious sites, all water/electric/50 amp. (except for separate tent area). Nice mini golf area, pool with water slide. Fort was disappointing and expensive to visit. One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at! Noise round the clock from a nearby quarry was the only downfall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
We stayed one night in this state park. Overall this is park is well equipped and up to date. The bathhouses were clean and in good repair. The park was clean and the sites were for the most part level. The one we had was paved. However, the tenting area was one of the best I have ever seen. There were no hookups in the tent area. But, there was an abundance of trees for shade. This park had all the bells and whistles one could want. I saw 4-5 playground areas for small kids. They had tennis courts, putt-putt, horseshoe pits, an activity center stocked with games, a pool, and a nice old fort near by, laundry facilities, volleyball, and more. It also lies near some river with a boat launch. This state park has a reservations system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Satellite reception is excellent if you have the right spot. Some spots are blocked by the trees. Roads and sites are paved. Restrooms/showers were clean. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
Park is down in a bottom making satellite reception next to impossible. Swimming pool was a healthy walk from the camping area and some sites we noticed were terribly unlevel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This was quite a nice place on very historic grounds. Being a history freak, this is high on the appeal level. On the negative side, it's right behind a quarry and, if you're in camp during the day the beep beep of the loaders could be annoying. They do shut down at night. The other negative is the water outlets can be a very long way from some of the sites. Mine was a full 75' away, but we dealt with it. Plus was the friendly atmosphere, nice sites, fairly clean for a heavily used spot, bathrooms and showers were in good shape through out the stay. They do have a huge pool with a water slide. The original and the reconstructed fort are on the grounds. Power was near at hand. I'd go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$12
Sites were very small, many vehicles could not fit in site. Ranger was a little over bearing. Sewage treatment plant located in middle of park. Could not smell anything though. Pool is extra charge. My site was very dirty with garbage laying around. Only good thing to say was restrooms very clean and the most water pressure I have ever experienced in a shower. Almost painful!!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
Nice safe Campground, Large playground and activies for kids during summer months , some shade,some not . 3 dump stations We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com