206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Ionia Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (616) 527-3750
CGID5204

Ionia Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   8   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
This campground is set way off the road and provides a very nice country setting. A variety of different lots to choose from. Many of them shady and private. We took advantage of the hiking trails and really liked the part through the woods and over the creek. The bridge was out on the trail, but I think it just made the hike more fun. The beach has improved with much better sand than the previous year - although it is a distance from the campground and you will probably need to drive there. There were a lot of fishing boats on the water and people seemed to be reeling them in. There is also a horse campground too, so if you like horses take a walk through there. The playground has little to offer with only swings and a sandbox. The bathrooms were clean and the showers appeared to be too. Roads were paved so decent bike riding with a mountain bike trail. People were very friendly and most were local. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
Clean, quiet, grassy, large sites, paved roads, nice cement fire pits. The "lake view" sites provide for a wonderful sunset. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$19
Ionia Recreation Area is a wonderful campground. The fall colors were at their peak, and the park provided the most beautiful landscapes. The sites were well groomed, shaded and mostly level. There are several sites that offer plenty of privacy and some that are more open and less private. The hiking trails were well groomed and provided wonderful views of the lake, river and forest. If you have horses, this park offers a separate campground and plenty of riding trails. The beach is a decent hike from the campground (approx. 1 mile) and the campground does not have much to do for the kids right in the campground itself. However, the park offers a ton to do: hiking, fishing, swimming, horseshoes, beach volleyball. The price is right and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were always clean and the showers were hot and had great water pressure (3 out of the 6 were out of order). We will definitely come back to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
We really liked this campground. We do not use the beach, so the distance to the beach was of no concern to us. Hiking trail was great, although more hilly than we realized. Bathrooms were very clean. Soap and hand dryers too! Our site was 49, right around the corner from the bathroom which was convenient. We had a wooded area behind us and shrubs and trees on the end lot. So the only campers by us were on one side (our backside) and across the road from us. We felt the site was wonderfully secluded. It did get noisy with kids in the evening but by dark, all was quiet. Rangers very friendly. Equestrian campground was fun to walk through. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
This park features grassy 90-ft. wide sites with asphalt pad and access road, bordered by shrubs that give lots of privacy. Hiking, biking and horse trails wind around a lake, three miles in circumference. There are special campgrounds for horse owners. An excellent beach with bath house is ideal for families. However, there is no modern playground equipment at the park, and the beach is one mile from the campground. Staff is friendly and regular nature programs are offered in the summer. Speed boats and jet skis are not allowed on the lake so it is friendly for fishermen. There is a special pier for handicap fishing access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
Nice park not too far from Grand Rapids. Two mile park road to the campsites is not good (lumpy and pot holed) but better in the actual campground loops; we have a 30 ft class A. We had site #24 which the website called secluded and level. It does have great trees and greenery all around but the neighbors are still close enough that you could easily hear their music, conversations and yapping dog so I wouldn't consider it secluded. Also, after our levelers got us level our rear wheels were several inches in the air so even though it wasn't a problem I wouldn't call the site level. Small issues but would prefer an accurate site description. Staff keeps sites clean and maintained, they have paved pads, picnic tables and fire rings. No water at the sites but available at the dump station and a couple of spigots throughout the loop. Park has a very nice beach as well as equestrian and biking trails. We like the private individual showers in the bathhouse. Price is reasonable for a Michigan public park (not counting the additional motor vehicle permit fees for both MH and toad.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$17
Very nice campground. Paved interior roads. Has a big lake with swimming. The bathroom house is very spacious and new. Also equestrian campground w/49 sites. Nice hiking trails/biking trails. Overall a very beautiful campground. Will come back soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com