221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Port Crescent State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (989) 738-8663
CGID5207

Port Crescent State Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   9   10   9   10   8   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
This is a very well maintained state park in a great location. Beautiful sandy beach, playground for the kids, beachfront sites available, some with cement pads. The staff was very friendly. We camped here during Cheeseburger Festival, the campground was full and everyone had their campsites decorated in celebration, it was fun! The shower facilities near our site are in need of updating, however the showers closer to the beach are nicer. The campgrounds are a short drive to Caseville. We will absolutely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
While the campground itself is quite nice, the overall layout of the park is rather peculiar. It is in two distinct sections: one for camping and one for day-use. Most of the options for hiking are at the day-use end, and there is no connecting trail between the two areas, so one must either drive or walk two miles along a busy road. In addition, because dogs are not permitted on the beach, it's not possible to get to the one trail near the camping area with a dog, as getting started requires passing through the beach area to get to the trail head. In summary, this is a good place to camp if you intend to swim or lie on the beach, but not very good if you are interested in hiking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Loved this park. Excellent kayaking, both in the lake and nearby rivers. Park is clean and quiet with some short trails to hike. Not much else going on in the park HOWEVER a short drive into the rustic old town of Port Austin is a trip you won't forget. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Great park. Have been going since I was 6. Would recommend this park to anyone! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
First time at this park as a camper. Love this park. We had site 89 on the beach, great site, if you do not mind sand and wind. The weekend we were there it was misty and colder. But still outstanding. Great walking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
This is my favorite campground. It is absolutely beautiful, with excellent lake front views, wonderful trails, friendly people, darling town, and lots too do. We stayed right in front of the beach and plan to return every year for a week. I would not recommend to stay right by the playground if you do not have children because when we were there the parents did not watch their children. We got bombarded with baseballs all of the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is a very busy campground that seems like it is almost always full. We had site number 42 which was on the highway side of the campground right next to a newer restroom/shower building which was very nice and clean. The map on the reservation site makes it appear that the highway is not as close to the campground as it truly is. Our relatives had the site across from us (43) and there was about 5 feet between the campground fence and the road. The highway noise is pretty loud during the day and the cars are very close to the fence, but there was very little traffic during the night hours, so it was manageable. We had a few windy days towards the end of our stay and noticed a strong sewer smell coming from the restroom building on those days that seemed to invade our site, so would probably not choose this particular site again due to the smell. The restroom buildings in the other sections of the campground are definitely in need of updating, although they did keep them pretty clean. The best sites seemed to be the ones along the beach side in our section and many of them had a great lake view and their own beach access. We could see the lake from our site by looking through the site behind us. We did notice that many of the sites were very small and saw several people with larger motorhomes and travel trailers having trouble fitting their rigs on the site. The beach was not very clean on the end where we were (lots of dead fish remains, sticks, weeds, algae, etc), so we had to walk a long distance to the main beach access each day to have a clean spot to set up our stuff. The staff was very friendly and could be seen regularly picking up trash from the grounds and cleaning and checking the restrooms. There is not much to do in the Port Austin area, but if you want to just go to the beach and relax this is a great place to be. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
This is definitely a campground, not a fancy RV park. It was nice, well maintained, supervised, and clean. It is not modern, but they have retrofitted many campsites with paved pads. If you are looking for a place to sit in your big rig and watch TV, I wouldn't recommend it, but if you just want to camp, pull in the trailer, have a campfire, roast marshmallows, play on the beach, watch the chipmunks, all the things we did as kids when we camped, then this is a good place for that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
When we booked this trip the State of Michigan Reservation system made our site, 75, look like it was lakefront. It was not. The lake front sites, which are very nice and some with pavement, are very, very difficult to get. You can book up to 6 months in advance, but when I tried, 6 months to the day, the web site crashed 5 minutes after it opened and it took 35 phone calls to get through, and then the good sites were gone! Too much work to book for what is really a mediocre park with the exception of the lake front sites. The sites that they say are on the highway side, are so close you can see and hear the traffic. The rest of the sites are way too close together.. The sites by the beach that are the best are right by the beach access. Also, site 112 is very shaded and scenic. Site 75 has no lake view and little shade, plus the smoke from campsites above it on the hill in the back, drift down and make it hard to breathe! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com