206925 User submitted reviews online!!
Hartwick Highlands Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (607) 547-1996
CGID5227

Hartwick Highlands Campground

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   7   7   5   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
We stayed here with a group to visit Cooperstown. The campground is clean and the sites are well laid out. I give this campground a lower rating for three reasons: 1) It's not close to the things you come to Cooperstown to see, 2) Wi-Fi was not good and very unreliable, 3) no cable and very limited local channels. For the price we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Nice park, but expensive. Many sites were in the open (mostly pull throughs). We stayed in a nice shaded area and it was a back in site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Very nice campground with long, gravel pull-through sites. Very close to Cooperstown and Dream Park. Very friendly staff and owners who went out of their way to be helpful. Be sure not to use GPS and follow the directions to campground provided by web site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
A great campground, very obvious the owners take pride in a clean place. We asked for and got an open site to use my satellite dish. Friendly front desk staff. Large pull thru mostly level with space between sites. Power was fine running two ACs. Water pressure good. Just a very few long term residents with very neat setups. No junky rigs anywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This is basically a very nice park but somewhat a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde in that the wooded campsites are very nice and rival a State Park for privacy and shade but the sites in the open are completely unshaded, yet they are adequately spaced. The tent sites were very nice as well and some were isolated from the rest of the park. The restrooms/showers by the office were clean and separate and the other bathhouse I visited was clean. The pool is very nice but a bit small and got crowded one evening. The internet was very erratic and could be slow at times which could have been caused by a small bandwidth available to the park itself. Even though this was Hall of Fame weekend at Cooperstown and the park was full it was generally very quiet and peaceful. With the internet so slow and the lack of cable I cannot give the park a higher rating but if we ever come to Cooperstown again, we will stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Previous rating of "5" was a little harsh for the reasons given although "9 or 10" is equally out of bounds. Descriptions provided are accurate. The open areas of the CG are arranged to provide full sun all day, read that a no or very few sites will provide any shade by your rig/awning. Nice pool and gated access. Beware of the dog (excrement) in many grassy areas from the unleashed pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We stayed here for a few days to see Cooperstown and Lake Otsego area. Would suggest the prime time to visit the area as many places were still closed but a good campground for overnighters. The campground is newer and the owners friendly but one that is on the pricey side. The roads to access the campground are poor (are all roads poor nowadays?) so watch for the potholes. The spaces are level with good hook-ups. Cooperstown and other spots are minutes away. The park is very kid friendly, quiet and dark at night – good sleeping weather. We would have given them a higher rating except for two issues – Wi-Fi was terrible (Tengo-thing) and no cable TV. In today’s market, to earn top dollar, you have to have all amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
There is nothing bad to say about HHCG! Very friendly and accommodating staff; great interior roads with lots of space for all types of RVs; some wooded spaces; clean bathrooms (and all other facilities were very nice, also). Being close to Cooperstown and other area sites, made it a perfect place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Nice. One of the best I have stayed in. Extremely convenient to Cooperstown Dreams Park. The one glitch that keeps me from scoring this as a "10" is the GUEST FEES. If you are considering this Campground because you are meeting family for a week-long Youth Baseball event, I recommend that you address the GUEST FEES issue with the owners before booking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
This was a great campground. You could choose either wooded and very shaded (but no satellite) or the open grassy field. We had wooded. Very clean and picked up. Staff was extremely friendly. Sites were packed gravel as well as the roads. Weather was different every hour. Had several heavy thunderstorms but not the CG fault. Wi-Fi did not work well in wooded valley but Verizon card did. Wooded sites were very spacious and separated. Power and water was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Owners are just terrific. Very accommodating and friendly. We had a pull-through site that was very large and level. We did have trouble with the Wi-Fi (never did get it working). Owners offered to help get us up and running, but we were so busy that we never had time to take them up on their offer. Fire ring on site and reasonably priced wood at the office. The grounds are immaculate and very attractive. We would definitely stay here again. Close to Dreams Park and short drive to Cooperstown. Don't miss the Farmer's Museum. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Wonderful place to stay! The family who built and run the place is very friendly and knowledgeable. Choice of open sites in field area or wooded sites. Bathrooms/showers (free) spotless, grounds well-cared for. Our wooded site had some trash left by last campers but was overall spacious, level and quiet. Lots of space for kids to run, bike riding, horseshoes. Convenient to Cooperstown and surrounding area, including trolley parking lot. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
What a great RV park! BIG spacious sites, some up on the hill overlooking the beautiful trees and others in the woods. The staff here goes over and above to help. This is a family-run park, and it's apparent that they have a great love for their work. The laundry works well, a little pricey at $3.00 to wash and a quarter for 6 minutes to dry. The Wi-Fi works very well, only wish there was a connection for cable TV. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Wonderful campground. Closest and most convenient to Cooperstown. Grocery nearby. Flat, level, large spaces either in open area or woods. The owners are an extended family that care about the place and the customers. The restrooms, showers, laundry are spotless. Would definitely stay again. We ended up staying 8 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
We thought this was a great park for an overnight stay. We were in the area to visit the National Baseball Hall of Fame while on our way to Canada. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the site was spacious and relatively clean. The only real issue I had was that the site was angled and we had to use all ten of our leveling blocks on the front-left side to make it level. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
This is a large property with both wooded and open sites, including several large designated tenting areas and a string of rental cabins. Interior roads and sites are well-maintained gravel, which does generate a bit of dust during dry spells. The wooded sites are generally back-ins, and the open sites are a mix of back-in and long (70'+) pull-through sites; all should accommodate rigs to 45'. There is a good-sized and active swimming pool and a pavilion available for rental for group events. Given the proximity to Cooperstown (think the park is actually in Milford) and various sports camps in the area, this park is popular with families spending time with kids involved in baseball activities. All of the sites in the open area should be satellite-friendly. Park Wi-Fi was strong and stable, and cell service was good. Although there isn't a designated dog run, we were able to exercise our two dogs by walking the various park roads as needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
The staff was very friendly. There is quick access to free parking and the trolley system into Cooperstown. The WiFi was good at our site. We enjoyed this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
This was our first RV camping trip and it was excellent! A beautiful wooded spot with a beaver pond in view but far enough away from mosquitoes. Located close to everything in Cooperstown, including a few choices where to kayak, which we did in the Susquehanna River. The Wi-Fi was spotty, hence the '9' rating. Otherwise the staff was so helpful and friendly and the grounds clean. It was just a wonderful experience. Full hookups were great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$43
We camped here just one night to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame (about 7-10 minutes away). We selected this park because the reviews suggested reliable 50amp service and reliable, free Wi-Fi. Both of these are true. We are camped in the "field" that other reviewers have complained is "a parking lot". Yeah, it is. However, the spaces are huge! Our pull-through spot must be 100 feet long and 50 feet wide. It's not like our awning is banging the coach next door, like some parks in Florida. We are taking off early tomorrow. And, even though the office opens at 9am, the owner has agreed to meet us at 6:30AM to fill up our propane tank. This is a nice park. With a concrete pad instead of gravel, a hot tub, and a bass pond or a slightly lower price, I'd rate this place a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This is a wonderful campground. We stayed here for a week in site F12 while my son played baseball at Cooperstown Dreams Park: a short 5 minute drive away. The wooded section of the campground is just amazing. If you are looking for a great spot, I would suggest F9. It is close to the bathhouse (which are extrememly clean, but a little spartan), nice wooded site with lots of privacy. The wooded sites are all leveled with gravel and well thought-out in the layout. Be advised, the wooded sites are a little bit of a hike to the office, laundry and pool, but there is plenty of parking available if you hop in your car. The laundry facilities are very clean and modern, but pretty pricey (about $4 per load to wash and dry). The staff here is just wonderful to work with. Very helpful. We were not able to hook up our satellite TV in the wooded area (due to the trees), but it would have been easy to do in the field sites. Can't comment much on the field sites except they did seem big, but not much privacy with no trees around. All in all, excellent campground for the Cooperstown area. This is what camping should be like! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
This is a tough campground to rate. The pros include the owners, who were just great. hey were very friendly and eager to help. The campground is clean and the landscaping is well maintained. The bathrooms were just ok. They were cleaned twice a day, but the layout was tight and the quality of the floors/walls/fixtures was just ok. There are a few seasonal campers that had well maintained sites and seemed friendly. The camp store was adequate and the laundry facilities were really nice and modern. Also, the campground is located in a convenient location with the Dream Park about 3 minutes away, the Baseball HOF about 10 minutes away and the Soccer HOF about 20 minutes away. Now to the negative aspects of the campground; there are almost two campgrounds. One is in a field and the other is in the woods. The wooded sites are really nice. The sites in the field are just ok. They are well spaced, but I am just not partial to camping in a field with 30 other campers who can all see each other. My second knock on this campground is the pool. It is a nice pool and it was well maintained. However, the pool seemed way too small for the size of the campground. This is especially true for a campground that caters to kids who are playing baseball at the Dreams Park. All in all it was a good campground, but not a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Wonderful place!!! Choice between wooded and open sites. All are huge and level. Family owned and run with very friendly staff. Nice pool and recreation facilities. Easy drive into Cooperstown. Only complaint: no cable and limited TV in wooded site, but we really didn't have time for TV. Be prepared for steep hill on roads into park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
The best part about this park is the owners. They go out of their way to try to accommodate whatever you need to make your stay a good one. We wanted internet, so we moved from our assigned spot in the trees to the top, but we still were not able to get internet, which was disappointing. The park is pretty, easy to get to and close to everything in Cooperstown. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
Road and campsites are gravel. We stayed in the open section. There are several wooded sites but we needed to be sure our satellite would work. We had a large pull thru that was very level. Everything was clean and mowed. The laundry room also had new machines and was very nice. Staff was friendly. Great location for Baseball Hall of Fame, or Cooperstown Dreams Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$41
We arrived one day earlier than planned and spent our first night on a pull-thru site that was neither level nor landscaped. Looked to be one of about a dozen sites largely designated for transients and one-night visitors. Moved to our reserved site in the woods on the second night. It was beautiful, totally level, fully serviced (50 amp)and easily negotiated in our 40-foot motorhome even though it was a "back-in". The only negative was an inability to obtain a satellite or antenna television signal ... and the campground does not have cable. We were able to receive NPR on a small radio but otherwise, were cut-off (information-wise) from the world. We could not get a WiFi signal at our site. Nice areas/trails to walk. As the closest RV campground to Dream Park, Hartwick Highlands is devoted to baseball 24/7. A very interesting and lively place. Cooperstown and environs, as always, are terrific and great fun. Lots of wonderful places to see, things to do, and restaurants to visit. We will return just because it is all such fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Beautifully maintained campground with sites to suit all tastes. We preferred to have some shade so we were in sites D-3 and D-4. Many of the sites are in an open field. The owners are very amenable and eager to please. We were VERY close to Cooperstown. We would definitely return there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
This is a clean, spacious park. The grounds were well-kept. We stayed in F7 - a great site in the woods, close to a bathhouse and easy walk to the pool and playground. All things (laundry, arcade, bathrooms) were clean and maintained. A great location for Cooperstown and Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta. Wish we had more time to stay! We would return and tell our friends about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We spent a week here while our son was playing at Cooperstown Dreams Park. Staff was great and campground was very clean with nice restroom facilities. Very short drive down a country road to the Dreams Park. Would highly recommend for anyone who takes there RV to Cooperstown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
This campground is actually in the city of Milford, NY. Do not follow your GPS to get to this campground. Follow HWY 28 to Seminary Road. Do not take Burke Hill. Their Directions state this but GPS will show Burke Hill which is a real bad road. This is a nice campground. A lot larger than it looks. It has some very wooded sites that are great but you won't Sat there. We got Directv in site C14 35 226. Showers and restrooms are distant but clean. Trash bin is at front. Sites are not quite level. Took two lego blocks to level. Good room between sites some grass but a nice open areas for walking dogs. Great swim pool. Has many nice cabins. A little expensive for us. Wal-Mart is 11 miles away but P&N grocery about 5 miles. Only negative is that the shore power is close to the front of the sites. Had to park TV in rear once disconnected. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
Very nice, clean and spacious sites. We had shaded back-in sites for our 38' 5W and had plenty of room. If the new wi-fi would reach all the sites, we would have given this park a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
This is a very nice campground conveniently located to the Baseball Hall of Fame and other attractions of Cooperstown. The campground is very spacious, providing easy access for big rigs, large sites, good roads, etc. If there is a downside to the spaciousness, it is that many of the sites are a pretty good walk from the pool, camp store, and other facilities. One quirk is that the hookups are located toward the front of the pull-through sites - - be sure you have long sewer and water hoses. There are not many trees in the central pull-through area, but there are smaller back-in sites in the perimeter wooded area. At the time of our stay, the laundry was closed pending installation of a new septic tank. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com