223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Desert Shadows RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (623) 869-8178
CGID5232

Desert Shadows RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
638
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   9   8   8   7   10   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
One of the best RV Parks in the country. Absolutely immaculate grounds and facilities. Staff is more than helpful and willing to take time to answer questions or lend a hand. RV section sits in the middle of a very large, permanent mobile home park - the residents are very nice and their pride of ownership shows throughout the park. My rate included the Good Sam discount. This is my second time at this facility and would highly recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
This park is a mobile home park, with about 30 pull-through sites for short stays, which are up front near the entrance. These pull-throughs are long gravel sites with a small concrete pad. Water, electric, and sewer only. Maybe it's because we were here in June, but it was like staying in a ghost town. No atmosphere, no greenery, no lawns, no shade. 107F and nowhere to get out of the sun and heat. OK as a one night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This resort is mostly park models for snowbirds and some permanent residents. Parking for short-term is on a gravel site with rigs fairly close together. We found the location to be very convenient. The resort was quiet, clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
There are over 600 spaces at the park, and only 3 shower stalls that close at 10pm. Also no free wi-fi at the sites, but you can reach it at the pool. There is no cable but a few channels over the air. Very low crime at the park, we never even locked up our bikes. Upwards of 90% of the park is retirees living in park models. A large indoor pool and hot tub is very nice, as well as a large laundry room. You can rent a gate opener to allow easy entry/exit through the back gate by Costco. The spaces are tight, no shade or grass, and this place is absolutely sold out in the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
I agree with the last review, nice place but let's not get carried away. We saw same minuses. More park models than RVs. We are active retirees. This place seemed to be populated with those less active and more sedentary. Kind of stuck in the '80's-'90's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
By biggest complaint with this park is with Trailer Life/Woodall giving it a triple 10 and a top 100 park by Good Sam. I actually spent the first 30 minutes deciding if I wanted to spend six nights here or try another park. I expected so much more and was very disappointed. With that said, it's a nice, clean park, and the staff and extended stay residents were very friendly. So here's what I didn't like. About 90% of the overnight sites are back in and they are literally wedged between park models. No idea why they chose to design the park like this. No cable. No free Wi-Fi to sites. Gravel sites. No grass. No picnic table. Restrooms are not open 24 hrs. Had to go onto park model carport to get to/use hookups and driver side compartments. Here's what I liked. Nice reservation queue for rigs. Nice wide paved roads. Great amenities like billiards, pool, bocce ball, shuffle board, scheduled activities almost daily, easy access to highways, Costco right behind park. If not for being a great location to visit family and friends, I'd look for another park to stay at next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$21
Rate is monthly, plus electric. We have stayed here before and decided to stay for 2 1/2 months this year.We had a corner site with 2 grapefruit trees and concrete patio. Everything worked well and we got Cox cable for the stay. There are a lot of park models, but the residents are very friendly and we were invited to all sorts of activities. A twice monthly Saturday morning pancake breakfast with eggs, sausage and drinks is $3.00! The indoor pool was clean and sparkling. Costco is right out the back gate. We have family close by, and this was excellent for us. There are so many things to do in Phoenix in winter and early spring--Barrett Jackson Auction, Phoenix Open golf, NASCAR, spring baseball and so much more. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$37
Clean, well maintained park. We planned to stay here one night and ended up staying 3 weeks. We extended our stay on 3 different occasions and had no problems. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Although children are welcome, I wouldn't say the park is family friendly. Absolutely nothing for kids other than limited use of pool. Not sure how many actual RV spots are available; the park appears to be mostly permanent residents in park models. Rate reflects daily with 10% discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$39
Stayed 23rd-26th while visiting grandkids over Christmas. Park is mostly permanents or snowbirds. It is located off I-17 north of downtown. Has twenty 50 amp full hookup pull-throughs. Free Internet in club house, Wi-Fi at space is available through TengoInternet ($$$). No cable. Markets, restaurants all within a two mile radius. The park is well maintained, with trash pick up at your site M-W-F. Will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Nice park - stayed here on our way through visiting relatives. Close access to freeways, shops, etc. Gravel pull through sites with full hookups. Concrete pad to put by door so you don't drag gravel into your rig. RV part of park is located in center of a mobile home park so you have access to their lobby, pool, laundry, etc. Free Wi-Fi in lobby / library. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$33
We stayed here visiting family in Phoenix for Christmas. Check in was easy and we were escorted to our site, which was a nice long, level pull through. Only thing missing was a table. The site was clean and well maintained. We did have a problem with the power (it went on and off a couple of times). I moved the power cord to the next pedestal for the night and reported the problem the next morning to the office. Within 10 minutes, they were out and replaced the breaker-problem solved! Good location, close to Costco, freeways and restaurants (In and Out Burger!). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$38
The park is near I-17 and 101, with fairly easy access. There was shopping within about 5 miles of the park. The park’s staff was only informative about the park’s services: the free Wi-F\i being in the lobby and library; the available over the air television channels and availability of internet connection at your site for a fee. There was no mention of garbage collection. At first glance the park appears old and tired. The majority of the units appear to be long term/full time residences. They seem to have been manufactured in the 1980’s and 1990’s. There appeared to be only one that might have been manufactured in the 2000’s. The park is divided into two different sections. One for people with dogs and the other for people without dogs. There are two different types of sites. The majority of the sites are back-in. There are few pull throughs that are in the middle of the park, right on the main entrance road. The pull throughs are gravel with a crest so there is a slope to the front and back from the center high point. The back-ins seem to have a minor slope as well (mostly front to back). The interior road is paved. The pull throughs offer a good view of the southern sky for satellite reception as the pull through sites are on an island with roads on both sides so there are no obstructions. The back-ins might pose more of a problem to get a clear view of the southern sky depending on the adjoining neighbor. They have full hook ups: water, electricity (50/30/20 AMP), and sewer. There is no cable TV. The pull though sites have an outside bench and a small concrete patio. There is no outside table. The sites are gravel. Not much space between the sites. There was garbage collection at your site twice a week. Other than that, the common dumpster was located next to one of the fenced pet area. There was a fenced pet area with scooping utensils for clean up on each side of the dog half of the park. There were sufficient paved roads in the dog half of the park to walk the dogs. We only used the park’s free internet connection since the only access was in the main building. There is both a Cat5 and Wi-Fi connection in the main building. The pull through sites are fairly close to the main building. It just wasn’t convenient to pack up the laptop and head over to the main building. We didn’t use the indoor pool, hot tub, restrooms/showers or laundry room. All of these are located in the same building in the center of the park. We would only stay here again if we needed to be on this end of town for no more than a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$41
If all parks could be like this one. Quiet, clean, a wonderful indoor pool and spa. The only complaint I have is the showers have only plastic curtains instead of doors and you can walk right into the ladies room, no door there. The streets are paved and spaces are generous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$43
This is a nice quiet park with friendly staff. The overnight pull through spots are long and wide. Utilities worked fine. This was our 2nd time staying there as a base for spring training baseball and we'll be back again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$43
This was a great campground. Staff couldn't be more friendly, or helpful. The things to do around the resort could keep you busy most of the time. I enjoyed the pool, golf hitting cage, and library with their computers. It didn't bother me that Wi-Fi costs at the sites and free in the club house area. Close to just about everything. I will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
This is the 4th time or so we have stayed here as it is convenient to the Mayo Phoenix campus. I have not a clue what the person who gave them a 3 was talking about - have never seen any of that here. It is mainly a resident community, older to be sure but well kept up. The laundry is great and huge. As are the pool and jacuzzi - both indoor. Short term sites are pretty level and long. Downside is no TV for short term section and Wi-Fi is Tengointernet which is fine except they don't tell you that up front. It works great. We are certainly happy here and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This is a mostly permanent resident park. However, it is a very nice place to park that is well organized, reasonable, easy to get a big rig in. In fact I found nothing wrong with this park, but nothing to motivate me to score them above an 8. This park is in the city. But it is in a mid range residential area and quiet. If your GPS routes you through relatively narrow residential streets as my new Garmin did don't worry about it. Getting a space is not a problem here in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$43
After reading some of the previous reviews we had our concerns, but we wanted to try a park closer to Phoenix so we gave this park a shot. Our pull through site (#503) was level, and long enough that we didn't have to unhitch the trailer if we didn't want to. The hookups worked fine. There is no cable TV for the overnight spots but the local stations come in fine. The staff was friendly and the pool and spa were nice. We were travelling with the family and we were charged $3 per person per night extra which we didn't care for, otherwise we would've rated the park a little higher. All told we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
This campground isn't bad. The park is mostly full of really old park models that are beginning to look rather sad. Contrary to the what it says in RV Reviews: cable TV is not really available. You have to subscribe with Cox TV and if you are only staying a week or so, it doesn't make sense. Costco is literally out the back gate but you have to purchase a key in order to get out back there. We were just passing through and probably will find someplace else to stay next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$70
This is a nice park in that it is close to the downtown, 5 miles. It is predominantly a retirement village, with long term residents with lots of trailers a few RV's for the snow-birds. They do rent some spots for short term RVers. The short-term area is very adequate and well maintained. I would not recommend this park to anyone with a pet. They have rules preventing you from walking a dog any place inside of the park. You must walk outside of the park, so unless you have a stroller like the full time residents, you need to carry your pet a long way or drive. They don't advertise this rule nor tell you this until you check in. This is very bad policy, and had we been told of this we would have found other accommodations! The other issue is the front gate. On arrival you are stopped at a front gate with limited space; you don't have sufficient space to clear your tow car from the street. No one form the office came by to open the gate for us. We are only 65 ft long (44ft coach plus the car). One of the residents came by to rescue us form this dangerous situation. It's just as bad when you leave; you have to pull out into traffic or risk the gates closing on your tow car. The Wi-Fi was very poor. I also felt the staff in the office to be inhospitable to short term renters. I feel you're better spending a little more and enjoy the park next door; plus you can enjoy the golf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$36
On our cross country trip we were going to spend a bit of time in Phoenix and went to this resort to see if we could stay a month. The park is OK. Nothing fancy. The office looks like a converted 70's church. The park itself is big, and has a lot of residents. It looks more like a mobile home park than an RV park. Their monthly rate is $595 plus tax and electricity, daily rate was $36 and weekly rate was $226.80 (plus tax for both nightly and weekly) When we went to the office they told us that since we were under 55, that we could stay at the park for nightly and weekly rates with no limit on how long we wanted to stay, but we didn't qualify for the monthly rate because of our age. So it's a 55+ park I guess, but they'll overlook that part if you pay more. I'm repulsed by this treatment. I wouldn't stay here even if I was 55 because of this. Their monthly rate is also higher than a much nicer park we found. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
This is an interesting place. It is predominantly a retirement village, with long term residents and snow-birds. However, they do maintain an area strictly for short term RVers. The short-term area is very adequate. There are pull throughs, on sturdy, level gravel. There is ample room between sites, so while you are close, you are not on top of your neighbor. The whole park is manicured and landscaped nicely. There is a dog run at the back of the park, and the neighborhood just outside the park is an excellent walking spot as well. There is a dog friendly section of the park, and a dog prohibited section of the park. Desert Sands has a wonderful pool and hot-tub area, and a huge laundry facility. There is a club house, and many more amenities. The staff was friendly, and helpful. Most of the people we met were just delightful, but in a park this size, you are bound to find at least one negative neighbor. She complained about me having too many dogs, but the staff was very courteous to us, and just asked us to walk them separately so that the number was not so obvious. All in all, a very good stay. Would return here again. BTW, take in the MIM (Musical Instrument Museum) if you go to Phoenix. We spent a wonderful day there! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
This RV park is mainly a retirement community of well maintained mobile homes. Children are welcome for a maximum of 2 weeks but some of the amenities are for adults only. The indoor pool is open to children from 12am to 2pm and 5pm to 7pm, no children are allowed in the spa. The pool and spa were the best I have ever seen and the shower area was new and everything was very clean. There are many amenities available such a a billiard room, craft room, library and game room, fitness room, a very large laundry facility with a relaxing area and there is a auditorium where they have pot lucks, bingo and dances. The community is very friendly and the staff is always happy to help. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
Staff at check-in was friendly and helpful. This 55 + park, has full hook-ups, air TV, WiFi ($), free WiFi in the park library, paved interior roads, sites are concrete and gravel. There's no tables, no grass, and little shade. Many full and long term guests, but their sites all well maintain. Park residents all seemed very friendly. Lots of activities in house, we stayed a week and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
The only reason I didn't rate this a 10 was because they won't hook up cable TV unless you're staying at least a week and you have to go to the library for free WiFi (otherwise it's fee-based Tengo). Nice, quiet 55+ resort with everything else you could want. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
This is a nice park, that is mostly permanent mobile homes. As you enter the park, on either side of the roadway are the sites for short time stays. These sites are pull-throughs and are level. There is no cable which was a downer as I had wanted to watch ESPN for NASCAR race. The TV signal though on antenna was very good for all the local stations. They have a very nice library with lots of books, a enclosed swimming pool which was very nice. A pool room with several tables, lots of outdoor shuffleboard courts, bocci ball court, bingo nights, a TV room and a nice laundry room. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful pointing out stuff in the area to see and do. We would definitely stay here again. The WiFi was very good but it is a Tengo Internet pay by the day or week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
This is an older park with mostly permanent residents, which is very typical in Arizona metropolitan areas. The RV spots were in their own rows, across large streets from permanent residents. Sites were large, level, gravel covered. The activity program is quite extensive if you're interested in that. We thought it was overpriced for the setting, but we'd stay there again for its proximity to Scottsdale and Phoenix. Excellent satellite access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Not nearly as nice as most of the snowbird parks over in Mesa, and the residents here seem very old and inactive. At least there's an RV area in the front so you can meet other travelers, but they are packed in fairly close. Pull- through sites are $34 (plus 12% AZ tax!) and on thick gravel. Back-ins for $30 are nearby and also dispersed around the park, are tight & not level. Costco is behind the park, and I-17 nearby but noise wasn't bad. Security is worrisome though, since there are numerous signs about vandalism. Indoor pool and spa looked inviting. Laundry room is large but dryers are old. Only 3 small showers in dirty, cramped room by pool. Nice little library with one computer. Staff was friendly. If you really have to be in Phoenix, this is an okay place, but don't stay too long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Used it for an overnight as I had to go to Mayo Hospital for a shot for my back (very handy place to stay for the hospital). We were in a pull-through site (501) and it was good. Level. Typical AZ park: gravel. Wonderful indoor pool and good laundry (did not use it but checked it out). Staff extremely helpful: needed directions, etc. How about an ice machine with free ice: have not seen that before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
Park is well laid out and relatively quiet for being so centrally located. The facility amenities are second to none in my travels, thus far. Just be sure to lock everything in sight as things have a tendency to disappear day and night due to heavy transient traffic in area around park. Security is more or less the responsibility of the visitor or resident. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This is a typical Phoenix area 'park model' site. But they have about 40 pull-through sites near the entrance of the park. Paved streets, gravel pads. Big spaces. I stayed in space 283. I used the laundry: large with nice machines. I was meeting with a client in Peoria: only 8 miles away on 101. Office staff is efficient. I will stay here again if I need to meet with the client again. This park would be a 9 or 10 if it had some landscaping [grass] and privacy. Only item on the space was a worn out park bench: no picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Mostly full-time residents. Sites are level but close together. Some sites have obstructions (fire hydrants, Power Transformers, etc) that make them difficult to get into. $6 per day extra for cable tv. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com