223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Sycamore Lodge was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (910) 652-5559
CGID5238

Sycamore Lodge

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   4   5   9   9   10   10   1   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
Rate reflects Resorts of Distinction membership. Beware of the cons when going to this campground. In 15 years of camping, we have never had such a long list of rules (72). We found multiple staff members rude and unhelpful. We were told our site was a full hook up, and found out the site did not have sewer. The campground map shows most sites are full hook-up (although they are not). They have very few full hook-up sites. Their solution is a “honey wagon” that will come around a couple of times a week—for an additional charge. We called ahead to make sure they had a pool. We were told they did. When we got to campground we now were told, the pool was closed for work—not sure when it will open. They are less than honest, even when asked direct questions. Quiet hours start at 11pm, but organized activities cause it to be loud much later. Campground handles big rigs, but some sites are small and there are tight turns throughout, so it would be wise to scout the site before driving your RV through the campground. Sites are level and most have trees—great for shade. Very poor satellite and internet reception. Verizon cell coverage was spotty. The positives: laundry room was clean and air conditioned, shower and bathrooms were clean and trees are pretty and offer shade. We do not plan to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Like a previous reviewer stated, you will either love this place or hate it. We loved the remoteness of the place; we did NOT like the fact that they billed it as full hookups- electric, water, sewer- and when we got to the site found all the sewers in the area capped off. I asked for another site but was told that they had none available even though there was a row that would accommodate us with sewers. The price reflects C2C rate. AT&T, water pressure, and 50 amp were all good. I was surprised that my dome satellite got through the trees. Stayed here in a 40 footer which created some angst as the roads are a little narrow and the corners kind of sharp. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
This is a campground that you will either love or hate mainly because of the location I think. You are a good 20 minutes from the closest big town with a grocery store, gas station, etc. So if, you like to be out in the country this is your place. The campground has potiential to be a really great place but needs a little work like the spot I was in was all sandy. There said they are working on making more spots with chat gravel and that would be a good improvement. There is plenty to do for a family with mini golf, pool, lake, horseshoes, basketball court, and acres to explore. My family and another was invited to stay for free if we would take a two hour tour for their timeshare program. We did the tour and just decided it wasn't right for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$60
Stayed at the CG for two days with the free tour. Really nice, out-of-the-way CG. Staff became rude and crud when we declined to buy a time share. Will not return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$10
This is one great campground...for families and 'empty-nesters' as well. There are planned activities, level (wheel-chair accessible) sites, well-maintained restrooms, showers and laundry, pull-throughs, and cabin accommodations. This is a popular campground any time of the year, particularly for Halloween when campers and RVers go all out decorating for the holiday. There are also some great, small community festivals in the area throughout the Fall. Staff is very friendly and helpful; there is Bingo on Friday nights and live music groups on Saturday evening. The only drawback is the distance to town (Aberdeen) if you need supplies that may not be carried by the camp store. Memberships are available to the public but no 'permanent' set ups are allowed. Flies and gnats can be bothersome at certain times of the year so having a screen-room for day-time use is helpful. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
We stayed here on Coast-to-Coast points. Paved interior roads, but a confusing layout and no security, can put you into a difficult "back out" hole before you find the office. Sales and marketing of spaces is a big part of this operation. Sewer service is very limited (12 out of 250?). Our space was large, level and covered with pine straw. It was set up for sewer, but the system was not yet in use. Due to the number of owner occupied sites, it was a little noisy. If you play golf, this is the place for you. We might stay here again in transit, but not for an extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
Sycamore Lodge is our absolute favorite place to stay. We love the pine trees, and the fishing; and appreciate how clean everything's kept. It has all the amenities that you could as for; and it always has activities to involve the whole park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
Great park, very clean and kept up. Beautiful cabins right on the watter. wonderfull layout and prably the best lodge I have seen at a park and great for kids We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$400
We have camped at Sycamore Lodge 3 times before this trip. When we got set up and turned on our AC after running a while it quit. After checking out the camper we tried again and the AC ran for awhile and quit again. We then got a staff member to check the electrical outlet and come to find out we only had 107 volts and that was not on the AC itself it was at a receptical. Most RV AC's are designed to run on 120 volts. We were then told that the park is at the end of the line for electricity from the power company. Needless to say our fan motor burned up and may have damaged the compressor. So if you are planning to go make sure that they have enough power so that you do not burn up your AC unit up. Also the campers next to us also had some problems with their breaker tripping. I wished that we could have been so lucky. We had no other choice, but to stay the night. But we did leave the next morning. I don't feel that the staff cared the we had burned our AC up they didn't even offer us a fan for the night and it was 91 degrees in our camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$1
This was our second stay here. Both stays were wonderful. We bought into the park after the presentation because we were so impressed with the place. It is a nice family friendly campground with two playgrounds, paddleboats, fishing, shuffleboard, minigolf, and horseshoes. My daughter loves the playground by the lake and she loves the waterfall and goldfish pond. The sites near the waterfall are rock and have cement pads. The wooded sites are sand and do not have a cement pad. Both sites were nice. We had full hookups both stays. Staff was super friendly and helped with getting us parked and setting up. One even drove around offering fresh homemade bread to campers. We already have reservations for Easter weekend. As members, we don't pay for our stay, we pay a yearly fee instead. Only downside (if this really is one) is there is not much near this place, ie: nearest anything is about 9 miles away according to GPS. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$10
We came here on a free pass that we received when we purchased our rig knowing that we were required to sit through a sales presentation. We had NO intention of buying, but we were soooo impressed with the CG that we did indeed buy into it. The presentation was not high pressure and we could have easily walked away, but we didn't. The park itself is beautifully landscaped, nice dog park, great lake sites and we love the lodge. It's a great place to sit in front of a fire and read or watch satellite TV and it has Wi-Fi connections. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the sites very large and well kept. We have already made reservations to spend the New Year's weekend here and were able to secure the same site we are currently in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
We visited this campground on our Coast to Coast membership and were very impressed with the property, staff and other campers. The large dog run is a huge selling point, and a nice way to meet other campers. Great general store and spotless bath house with individual rooms that contain a shower, toilet, dressing area and sink. We look forward to visiting again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
Since we stayed on Coast to Coast, we were not allowed "full hookups". Sewer was at the site, but was told the state had not given them permission for use yet. We stayed a week and had to have the honey wagon twice. Quite inconvenient. WiFi is ONLY at the lodge. Nice CG, but rather remote. Staff was not overly friendly. Probably would not stay here again on Coast to Coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Love this private campground! We visited for 10 days. They have a large dog run that is very nice and kept clean. This entire campground is very clean, including the individual bathrooms in the bath house. (Love the privacy.) They have social activities such as Bingo and other fun things on the weekend, including a Worship Service on Sunday mornings. They have 2 shuffleboard courts, 4 horseshoe pits, beach volleyball, putt-putt, half basketball court, a pool and a jacuzzi. The game room has pool tables, foosball and air hockey which cost 75 cents. They also have paddleboats and canoes on the bass lake. You check out all equipment at the General Store. The staff is very nice! The Lodge offers satellite TV and an area for reading books and completing puzzles. Wi-Fi is available in the lodge, also. Purchased a membership and am excited about spending more time here. It is in the middle of the country, so you may want to stock up your food pantry! Only a few sites have sewer hook-up, but the Honey Wagon comes around 3 times a week. You pay $7 to the General Store the night before you need your tanks emptied. Most sites are shaded with TALL pines. A very comfortable and pleasant setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
We stayed here as Coast-to-Coast, as stated by other post, very nice CG. Office folks were not overly friendly. Sites are pretty large, but the CG was 1/3 full, and they put another camper right behind us, so when we walk out our door, the camper is 10 feet from our door. Poor planning to say the least, especially since 2/3 of the CG is empty. No sewer hookups either (although there was lots of sewer site available), had to pay $7.00 for honey wagon. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
We camped here on a free gift to hear the proposal for membership and get a free night of camping. This CG is very nice. They have spent a lot of money to get going. The lodge is beautiful adjoined by large pool and spa. General store, put-put, horse shoes, tennis, shuffle board, fishing, canoeing, games and the live entertainment is great. Folks of all walks and the staff are very nice. CG is well set away from town but convenient and quiet. A great place for all campers that love the out of doors. We joined and recommend this CG for future guest and members. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$1
We went as a free weekend. There was a low pressure 90 minute tour and presentation for joining the private campground. The CG is part of Coast to Coast campgrounds. There is a lake with an adjoining playground. There is a larger playground near the hot tub and pool. It is an outdoor pool and hot tub that is opened all year. The future plans include paving CG, installing sewer at all sites and concrete pads. Some of the sites have been upgraded but sewer is not connected yet. Very nice CG and staff. Golf carts are very handy and can be rented. Canoes, paddle boats, shuffle boards, horse shoes, putt putt and volley ball are free amenities. Nice cabins are also available for rental. Only one bath house but private rooms with toilet, sink and shower. We will be returning soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
Used our Coast to Coast membership. A very nice campground. Easy to get into and out of with nice clean large sites. Sewer has been newly installed on many sites and is awaiting final approval before it can be used. Plenty to do for kids, adults and pets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
It is a great resort, very clean. It is getting more sewer hookups. We did the tour, which was a very low key sales presentation. The staff at sales was very nice, no pressure. we are looking forward to being back there very soon. We would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
We stayed free as part of a promotion, and had to go through a low pressure sales pitch. The campground was nice and quiet, but the roads are dirt, and there was some dust from all the golf carts. The pool may be small for the number of campsites. The bathrooms were very clean, and each section was a totally private bath with shower, sink, toilet, totally private and secure. The lake is catch and release only. Put-Put is available, as are shuffle board, horse-shoes,a volleyball court, and a children's play area. Wi Fi internet is only available at the lodge, and slow. No cable, but I did see some satellite dishes pointed through the pine trees. Sites were spacious and roomy, and shaded by tall pine trees. Not all sites have sewer, and there is an extra charge. This campground is part of the Coast to Coast Network. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
This is a wonderful members-only campground that is part of the Coast to Coast network. The sites are spacious and well-maintained, there are activities planned for all ages, and the best part for us was the fenced dog area where our puppy could run off leash. We were only able to stay 2 nights, but will definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
The campground is pretty and the staff friendly, but the sites are very, very small. While sewer is plumbed to many sites, the caps are marked with "Do not use. $500 fine." This strikes me as a rather excessive fee for dumping. The road the campground is on is very narrow, closely lined by trees and carries a lot of high speed traffic. When I passed an oncoming pickup, we both had to drive on the shoulder of the road, within inches of the trees. I don't think I could have passed an oncoming camper. This was just an overnight stop, so I didn't explore very much. However, there doesn't appear to be a lot nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This is a very pretty campground, though off the beaten path a bit. We did drive into Pinehurst to see the golf courses and clubs. We visited here as part of a sales pitch for Coast to Coast (we did not join). The sales pitch was informative and not the least bit pushy. I would have given this campground a 7 due to the condition of some of the roads and grounds, but it is very obvious they are working hard and working quickly to upgrade the facilities. The landscaping they have done so far on the lake sites is excellent. They have added 50 amp and sewer to many sites and are adding more all the time. The lake sites are a bit close, but the main area is nicely wooded and fairly spread out. The lodge is very nice, with a library, Wi-Fi (slow), and a couple of fireplaces. The staff is very friendly and helpful, whether you are a member or not. We will definitely return to use the rest of the free passes we got as part of the tour. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Very nice state park and wonderful golf course. Site #1 is great for a motorhome and we were able to get satellite easily at that sight. Only water and electric, but for 5 nights that is not a problem for us. Air card service was pretty good and it was nice and quite. Would definitely stop again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
We had a very nice quiet weekend. We went on a sales tour. They were very nice to us and not pushy. We have since joined Coast to Coast and will definitely be back visiting this campground. They have a pond, pool, hot tub, club house, and lots of activities for members. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$1
This is a great CG! About the only thing I can complain about is that the roads are not paved. It's a private CG and in the Coast to Coast network. We were staying here on a 'free' weekend as a gift. They have a great playground for the kids. The pool, although cold, was open and clean. Hot tub was nice and HOT! Paddle boats on the lake and putt putt golfing. Private bathrooms (sink, toilet and shower in a single private room). This is definitely one of our top 10 favorite CG's! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
Very nice campground under the pines. This is a Travel Resorts of America campground and they have made many improvement from what we could see. Also, this is a great location in NC if you like golf. Staff was very nice and the restrooms were modern and clean. Only downside was not having internet access at your site. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$3
Return visit here, found things a little bit better. Roads still not paved, but some had fresh gravel on the. New playground area for kids is great. Wireless internet available in main building only, not at sites. Still only have about 2 dozen sewer sites. They had no planned activities for the kids except on the weekend, so during the week, they got bored. Beware of the full timers, or snowbirds, some of them think they own the park and are very rude. Very quiet at night. Would recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$1
We went for a free weekend to "preview" the campground and had to attend a sales presentation. So first, I think it is fair to say we did not buy - not because we didn't like the CG, but because it was out of our budget. The sales staff were friendly and there was no pressure - we listen to their offer and simply said no, and they were OK with that. Now for the CG itself - we enjoyed our stay and the CG was nice. There a lot of amenities for kids and adults and they have many "themed" weekends. While we were there, they had a poker tournament and live band for entertainment. They have 2 nice and enjoyable (for the kids) playgrounds, a "recreation" room for the kids and "adult only" rooms for some non-kid time. There is also a stocked lake for fishing, and canoes and paddle boats to use for free. The interior roads and camping areas are all gravel and they have no sewer hook-ups. The area is all sand and pine trees. We are rating this CG an 8, only because of the lack of sewer hookups, gravel roads and no concrete pads. Otherwise, it was an outstanding CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$8
Great campground. Friendly people and very helpful. Lots of activities planned for everyone of all ages. Nice, shady and level sites. The water doesn't taste too good. We added a in-line filter to our fifth wheel and that did the trick. We will definitely return to this one! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$8
This was a great campground for the whole family. The pool was nice and clean. They had plenty for the kids to do. The sites were large and you didn't feel cramped. Nice little camp store with mini-golf and a rec room. The lodge has a separate area for only adults with WiFi and A/C. I took advantage of that several times during our stay to catch up on work. The 3 acre lake was nice with a footpath all the way around. The campground also has private/lockable showers. But, get there early - they get a little nasty. The staff was nice enough. Plenty of fun on bikes and places to ride. No trails though. They always seem to be making improvements at this campground to make it even better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$8
A very clean park. Somewhat off the beaten path but worth the drive and the stay. Pool was very nice, and main lodge is very cozy. All sites do not have sewer hookups, but they are in the process of installing more. Several dump stations, and a Honey truck come around three times a week. I would recommend this campground for anyone. They have planned activities for kids and adults, and of Course if you golf, you are just minutes away from the Mecca of golf..Pinehurst. Didn't give them a ten due to the fact all roads are dirt and very dusty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$13
This is a membership campground. We bought a membership, but my parents camped next to us as guests for $13/night. They have around 30 sites with sewer hookup, the rest are electric and water only. They are supposed to add more sewer sites as they grow. The campground is on an old tree farm, and has large long leaf pines for shade. Lots of golf carts, but as large as the campground is, it is almost necessary to have one to get from point A to point B. It has a quiet community like atmosphere. Bathhouses were immaculate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com