214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Fountain of Youth RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (307) 864-3265
CGID5246

Fountain of Youth RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   5   7   3   7   8   9   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
FOY RV Park. Nice people, fairly relaxed environment, beautiful water. Probably better in your own self-sufficient rigs as showers were not felt as sanitary; but there is a peace that comes with this spring water that cannot be explained. You must stay at least a week to leave understanding what is said. This deep peace seems to be a very we'll kept secret of this mysterious, beautiful area of the world. that is about all I can say because the waters stoled the show. I bottled some up at the source right where it comes out of the ground & we drink it & use it in our hair & on our skin in our creams. Floated around resting for hours on a drooping swim Matt for fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
Reason for the low number is the unlevel sites, had to use a board under one side just to start leveling. It was a little tight but I had no problem with my 40 foot 5th wheel, just went slow. The Wi-Fi and staff were excellent. Given what we had and the active train track within 50 feet, I thought the price was a little high. Yes, there is a hot spring pool to use but site cost was still too high. I would still recommend the park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Yup, this park has seen its best days long ago. Appliances in restrooms and showers are old and jittery, there is neither paper towels nor a hand dryer in the restroom. Upon check-in there is no explanation where restrooms/showers, laundry etc. are or if there is WiFi and if you need a password to use it - you have to ask for this. Here and there is a little bit of trash around and the sites are not well maintained. You need quarters for the showers. I'm definitely not the spoiled kind and since there weren't any other real problems I'd be willing to put up with all these shortcomings if they didn't charge 34 USD per night. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This is not only an RV park, it's an experience! Due to other reviews, we were cautious, so unhooked in town, and drove the 2 miles here to look it over, and decided to come in for two nights. The quirky clerk was polite, but reserved, til I asked his name, then he warmed right up. A friendly woman escorted us to our site. The sites accommodate all sizes, with a few saved for big rigs. Yes, the place is cosmetically challenged, but we had: full hookups, good Wi-Fi, a small patio with grill, and the largest mineral pool I've ever seen. It's beautiful and natural and included in the fee. (As another reviewer mentioned, no long list of rules!) Where else can you float at leisure in therapeutic warm water, while viewing gorgeous Wind River Valley terrain, plus see a train go by?! The trains do not blast their horns, by the way. The laundry room was fine ($1.25 to wash), and we met very friendly and interesting folks from all over, including locals, who come here for the water. We enjoyed Thermopolis: the state park, the dinosaur museum, a rodeo, bison in the pasture, cute shops. Kirby which is 12 miles away, has Wyoming Whiskey distillery with tours, and Butch's Burgers. We would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Wow, this park is really run down. Weeds, junk and trash throughout. The pictures of how this place used to look made me sad because it is now run down and ratty. I enjoyed the hot springs pool, but other than I can't say much good about the place. Showers and restrooms were so bad we did not use them. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Overall, decent park. My one real complaint was the showers. You had to pay to use them, and then the water that came out of them was the same sulfur hot springs water in the pool! I was pretty irritated by that, but otherwise I really loved this place. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
The park was nice and quiet, the spots a little tight to get in to with a large fifth wheel, but the staff was excellent and helpful. Warning that the GPS directions from Thermopolis are not quite as clear as they could be, do NOT try to go through the Hot Springs Park, the underpass for the railroad is 12 foot and we lost an AC unit by misjudging it. Use the highway to the left and go around the park and it is easy to find: at least now we know! The pools are warm and relaxing, interesting to see the natural hot springs in the park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We have stayed at this RV Park many times in the last 25 years and have never had a bad experience. We really enjoy soaking in the large hot mineral pool. It has a little sulfur smell but I think that the benefits of the hot mineral water outweigh the smell. There is a stage set up at the pool and many evenings throughout the summer the owner will sing which is very enjoyable. Also he will have a small Church service on Sunday mornings. I would recoment this park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
This park is a junk yard. The park has junk in every corner. The dumpster was overflowing when we arrived but was emptied by the third day of our visit. The sites are very close, my awning was about two feet from the neighbors slide and their sewer dump was next to our slab. The sewer system backed up at least three times during our stay. The showers are pay showers. We had some relatives stay in the guest house and it was filthy and infested with rodents. The mineral hot springs have an odor and we were prepared for that, but the entire campground stunk from the poor sewer system. This place is very run down. The sites are semi-level. My trailer hitch was almost to the ground to get the trailer level. Wi-Fi was non-existent. There are train tracks near the park but there was not a lot of train traffic. For the money, this was a complete rip off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We only stayed one night. Did not use showers since they were pay. No one around when we arrived and waited until we saw someone to check in. Sites are tight getting into and out of for bigger RVs. Wi-Fi very sporadic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Not where I had planned to stay, but glad I found it. Located on the North side of town. Friendly staff. Hot springs on site. Pull through with plenty of maneuvering room and open space, vs the competition in town. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Fountain of youth  RV camping with mineral hot springs! Included in the cost is unlimited use of the warm and hot mineral swimming pools.  Please note: mineral does mean there is a sulfur smell at the pool and in the campgrounds.  I had a great time swimming and lounging in the warm waters in late afternoon and again in the evening - the pool is open 7am to 9:30pm.  No band played poolside at night this time we stayed.   A short drive into town took us to the historic mineral spring terraces, the fantastical white sulfur spring, and then through the bison park. The sites are gravel, not quite level, and the campground in general could benefit from a bit of sprucing-up and updating.  I visit for the pool and the Big Horn River aka Wind River. I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
For those who have used this park in the past, it is just the same as always. It is older with tight spaces, but everyone has a patio, picnic table and a grill. The power is good. The pool is cleaned weekly and fresh water is exchanged several times a day. It is mineral water and has stuff in it. This has been a bad bug season everywhere, use a spray. There is a small pile of stuff to recycle. Would stay here again and enjoy the rustic pool which is so nice with any temp you want. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
The only positive I can come up with is good Wi-Fi at our site which was in view of the office/residence. Otherwise, this park is unkempt with clutter, trash, junk, dirt, leaves, weeds, etc. everywhere. There is no maintenance or cleaning of the park or facilities. There is a pile of rusty slides, rotten wood, old tires, and foot high weeds near the entrance. A big dumpster for aluminum cans is overflowing with cans and bags all around it. Dirt near the restrooms, showers, and pool could be shoveled. After 15 minutes in the pool surrounded by scum, algae and bugs we went to the state park. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
We would not rate this campground a 10 because we've stayed at newer, fancier, pricier, cleaner, quieter parks, but never have we enjoyed one any more than this one. The lady who showed us to our site by the RR tracks was not only very friendly but volunteered her nursing knowledge for us. And the other guests were very easy going and comfortable to talk to. There was a diversity of income levels present judging by the trailer and tent sites. We try not to use showers/restrooms and didn't here, so can't comment, although the laundry was fine. Many campers had come there for years. One couple told us they'd come for some very long time, like 35 years or so. I can't think of a gripe we had, although some might be bothered by train traffic. Personally, it reminds me of my childhood, and I sure wasn't awakened by it. There was also overhead air traffic, commonly encountered in the west where it's just a long way to the next big city. We stumbled onto this park and enjoyed the pools so much we extended our stay. Surely will return if we have the opportunity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
It has full hookups, including electric. It is a nice campground with hot springs to swim in. It is a little pricey, but worth it for the hot springs and electric hookups, especially in 102 weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
A little crowded, but very friendly. We were not insulted with a list of rules first thing. They treated us as adults. We enjoyed the hot pools and would stay here again. No check out time which suits us, hate to feel rushed by parks wanting you out before noon. Common courtesy is all that is needed, not rules and more rules. My favorite RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Only thing this park had going for it, was the on site swimming in the Hot Springs. If we were not going to use this it would not be worth staying here. The site was a bit dusty and the parking was not level. The showers were small concrete cubicles, not very clean, with no air ventilation. I thought I saw a large spider web with spider! (Had it been true, my daughter and some other people might have gotten a show with me running outside!) At around 3:30 AM we felt we had a train running through our camper with the whistle blowing! Had not realized the tracks were so close. Also the highway is right above the park. One other possible good thing going, was that it did have some shade. WiFi was available but to get on we were told that we should sit closer to the office as the trees (?) could interfere with it. Never was able to get on. We would not stay here again, but looking at the other RV Parks, we probably would not stay in Thermopolis. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We have visited this park several times over the years, but finally reached a 'last straw' moment on our two trips this year. The park had always been a bit unkempt and crowded (your neighbor’s sewer is a few feet away from your unmovable picnic table and BBQ), but in the last while it appears the owner/operator has decided to maximize profits by increasing rates and overcrowding the park. On our last visit, upon confirming our reservation and paying $92 for two days, we were led by the owner to a weedy, bug-filled field by the garbage cans (no service hookups either). Thinking it was some sort of joke, I went to ask the owner what was going on. He shrugged his shoulders, said reservations were not guaranteed, and after a lot of discussion, offered up a $3 (yes, three bucks!) discount. After a family discussion, we decided to cut our vacation short and left. On the previous visit, we actually got a real campsite (!), but awoke the next morning to find a large RV parked two feet from our 5th wheel rear bumper. Apparently, the grass tenting spots located behind most of the RV spots are now routinely housing not tents but large RVs. So, we had 3 RVs parked within 10 ft of our 5th wheel, making it feel more like a RV sales lot than a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is by far, the worst campground I have ever stayed in. Weeds, dirty, rundown. The mineral pools look inviting, until you get in. We were told that they were cleaned that morning. We only stayed in a couple of minutes because of the scum, algae, dog waste floating, etc. We went to town to the free state bath house. We only stayed one night and only that because we could not find anyplace else to park. We drove through in the car before taking the motor home out, then drove around town looking for a parking lot or some place else, but had no choice. Moved the next morning to the other park in town. (Much nicer and less expensive, too). We WILL NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
The staff was friendly and the pools were nice to use. Has many large shade trees and grass between sites. Bathrooms were clean, but didn't use the shower. The store was closed during our entire visit, the playground has equipment in pieces, when we arrived there was garbage left at the site next to us, and there is junk stored around the perimeter of the park: cars, trailers, etc. If we stayed here again it would be for the pools. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This is an older park, but kept in decent shape. It has a great hot springs pool included in the price (might be why $20 rate for 1 person is about $10 less than rate for 2 campers) The river side is quite a bit quieter than the highway side, but Wi-Fi reception starts getting iffy towards the end. The staff is friendly and helpful, but had to hunt them down when checking in as they lock the office when out & about in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Park is adjacent to a very busy highway. Too much traffic to sleep with the windows open. RR tracks on the other side. Tight roads, tight sites, very rundown park with trash and abandoned parts and vehicles all over. The owners are nice, but this place could use a lot of TLC. Stayed here because of the on-site hot spring pools. We did use them but thought they could be a little cleaner. Price way too high for the condition of the park. We would not return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This campground has a number of minuses and one huge plus. The grounds themselves are a bit run down and the sites are small and dusty. The bathrooms were utterly disgusting; worse than a bad gas station. (None of my family would shower there once in the 3 days we spent.) But the mineral hot springs pool that is part of the camp is magnificent. It's huge and has 3 sections, hot, hotter and really really really hot. It's almost magical and my kids and I spent hours were day just bobbing and drifting in the water talking with the other guests. So if you can hack a really gross bathroom (or you travel "self contained") definitely consider this place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Big Attraction-two Natural Springs hot water pools- one warm-the other warmer. They were great! Showers took quarters-two will get it done. We have stayed here twice because of the hot springs and will stay again next year. Owners are friendly, and this year had entertainment by the pools. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Overall, the campground is nice. Owners are very courteous and helpful, willing to help you out if you have a problem (or forgot your hoses). Mineral pools are great, he is trying to find a way to clean quicker. WiFi is spotty, but no charge to use it if you are able to get it. Not exactly quiet, with noise / music from patrons as well as Ron's concerts, but are tolerable. Ron isn't a bad singer either. Then come the trains. They are close enough that you can just about hit the train with a rock. Showers are pay-type. As the other reviewer stated, Space #14 is right next to another ht spring. It bubbles and gurgles all through the night, smell is overwhelming of rotten eggs. Oh, there is a rotten egg throughout the park, but the same smell is throughout Thermopolis as well. It is from the hot mineral springs. If you are coming in late at night, no problem. If you want a pull through, just drop the flag / rope that leads through the grass area, and pull into a spot. Check in in the morning. There isn't really any set check-in / check-out time, which makes it nice. Won't be long until it is abused, I am sure. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Stay away from site 14 next to Maytag well,showers cost $1.00 not very clean, giant pool divided into two, one 98 degrees, other at 103- 106 degrees, this park has new owner who is really trying to improve over what used to be, I would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com