223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Merry Knoll Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (315) 686-3055
CGID5248

Merry Knoll Campground

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   8   7   9   7   1   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Friendly and helpful owners but this park is not a destination facility. Good for an overnight or two if the state parks are full. Rate normally $37 for sewer, water, and electric and little else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This is an excellent choice to see the area. The transient sites are in field, but with a really great view of the St. Lawrence river, and access to the river as well. Owners could not have been more gracious and helpful. Large sites, fairly level and well maintained. Decent Wi-Fi, good over the air TV. Easy access into Clayton and Alex Bay. We'd definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Very convenient for Canadians shopping in Watertown. Clean, older campground with seasonals that are nicely kept. Great customer service and pet friendly too. We enjoyed our stay and will be back to stimulate your economy next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Park is convenient to all 1000 Island attractions. Park owners very friendly and helpful. Access is quite narrow and tight. Spaces are quite unlevel and we had to use several boards to get our unit even close to level. Wifi signal was good but had trouble connecting. Camped here 4 days Sept 2012. Rate $32.40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This is a small, but great campground for a stay in the 1000 Islands area. The owners are wonderful and try to help wherever they can. It has a great view of the river and close to many activities in Clayton and area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Location next to the St. Lawrence River and views were the best thing going for this park. Tight road access to transient area and uneven sites are the adverse things. Did not experience the power problems mentioned by a previous reviewer, but we did not have to use any air conditioning. The utilities performed adequately for us. The sites would probably get quite muddy if it rained. The owners were very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Bad power. The owner told me the voltage throughout the park was bad. At our site, it dropped to 95v where it stayed throughout the day. Others were also having problems. Management continued to rent to new arrivals which added to the problem. We ended up turning all the power off at the box. Manage would not offer a partial refund as the owner told me he was not going to suffer a loss of money due to bad power. Cash only-no checks or credit cards. Definitely will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
Cash only! Good Wi-Fi. We had a view of the water. Bathrooms/showers were dated, but very clean. A very nice couple owns the campground and they try to keep everything very nice. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
This is a very nice campsite with a river view. It is clean and the owners are friendly. Only drawback is that they do not accept credit cards, cash only We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Mostly seasonal sites. Clean park with a few decent sites. Nice overlook to St. Lawrence River if you can handle the steep climb back up the hill. Owners are very nice and helpful. We had a site with 30 amp service and were charged an additional $5/day for using our air conditioner. At $43/day, the park is over-priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Stayed over July 4, 2011. When making the reservations I was told I had a 50 amp hookup. Upon arrival was informed only 30 amp hookup was available. Electric service was poor ranging down to 103 volts. Views of St Lawrence was fabulous. Owners were very customer oriented. Very well maintained landscaping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
All of the rain in the last few days made it a bit muddy. We were given a tour of the camp by the manager in a golf cart and selected our site. Everything was clean. The only problems we encountered: it's cash only. And there is a tree that made it difficult to pull out. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
In my opinion, this is not a big rig park. They have a section that is in an open field, but that appears to be seasonal or long term. The interior roads are narrow and not very friendly because of the trees. We were on a pull-through site, that I had to ask my neighbor to move his truck so that I could get out without unhooking. We will not be stopping there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
Rate was Passport America. PPA sites were full hook-ups but close to the road. Encountered no noise from traffic. Grass sites with concrete pads for tires only, dirt alongside camper and in front of camper entry door got soggy and puddled from the rain. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Easy in and easy out. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Very nice CG right on the St Lawrence, with good views of the ships going by. The owners are about the nicest people we have meet in quite some time, they really care about their guests and remember your name. The CG itself has some 50 amp sites but mostly 30 amps all backins. The water pressure is good, baths very clean. Mostly a 50+crowd camping here so it was nice and quiet. Would come back again. The rating is a solid "8" We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
We found the proprietors of this campground to be extremely helpful and friendly. We were escorted around the park and given our choice of sites. The lower field (suitable for big rigs) had a beautiful view of the St. Lawrence River. We chose a pull-through site in the wooded area which was level and large. We were in the midst of several seasonal sites but they were well-maintained and the people were welcoming and friendly. We stayed six nights and would not hesitate to return if in the area. The only drawback we found was that they do not accept credit cards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Another great week at Merry Knoll. We have been here before and it just gets better. Great park, with great owners, and a great time. I didn't want to leave. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This campground is nicely laid out, and the photos on their website are quite accurate. We asked for, and got, a nicely shady pull-through site. The sites with the best view of the St Lawrence River though, are in an open field on a hillside. The WiFi service was extremely slow during our visit, so we used our cell service instead. There is an extra $4 charge per day if you want to run your AC, although we didn't need it on our shady site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Unlike a lot of places, the photo's on their website accurately represent what you get. A few things to do in the area. Shopping nearby. No real issues except price, and if you want to see any view you are parking in a grass field. Their 30 amp service wouldn't run our air conditioner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
Very nice campground: the view of the water was very nice. It's also convenient to the museum and the tours. The manager couple were very helpful. We were very impressed with their friendly disposition. We really felt welcome. We will go back when in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This was our first trip to this park and area. It is located in a beautiful spot on the Seaway. A lot of our spare time was spent watching the ships pass by on the Seaway. We were very pleased with this park and the meticulous care taken by the owners. The location is very convenient to tour the area and the owners were very helpful with local info. There is also a dock on the Seaway to fish from or dock your boat. We easily navigated the park and parked our 40ft Motorhome in a super spot with a view of the Seaway. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
This campground wasn't the best I've ever been in but the view of the St. Lawrence Waterway was wonderful! There are mostly seasonal camp sites that are kept neat and clean. Some are a little older but well taken care of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Very nice campground. Friendly and helpful owners. Very convenient to Clayton and Alexandria Bay areas. Large site. Nice views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This is a great park for a family or just a place to sit and regroup for a few days. There's a lot to see in this area and the owners are more than happy to answer questions about what to see and provide directions to get there. They were most accommodating with our satellite TV and WiFi location requests and went out of their way to be sure we were happy with our site. Will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Better than most camp grounds that are nothing more than parking lots. All sites have grassy areas to sit. I found the space between RV's more than adequate for comfortable outdoor sitting. Big open grassy area in front of camp sites where larger groups traveling together congregated. Nice people run the camp. I would have no trouble recommending this CG to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Picturesque campground on slope down to St. Lawrence River, although waterfront sites are seasonal. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Store is very limited, offering bare necessities. Transient sites are open and sunny, with limited site spacing. Good view of river, unless blocked by motorhomes/fifth-wheelers further down slope (which is the usual case). Overall, a satisfactory campground as a base for exploration of the Thousand Islands region. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com