214865 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Gorge RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (719) 275-5111
CGID525

Fort Gorge RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   4   7   6   9   6   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
I will start with the positives first. The hosts are very nice people, you can see some of the Royal Gorge bridge, not far from Royal Gorge Park and Buckskin Joe, and there is some space between the sites. Negatives: The dog leash rule is not enforced by the hosts. While here a group of people camping never had their dogs on leashes. The owners saw this and at one point the smaller dog wandered up to hosts home and hosts brought the dog back asking if dog belonged to them. When told yes, NOTHING was said to them about keeping dogs on leash! Not safe for other people or dogs no matter how friendly the dogs are. WiFi was close to non-existent. Never got above low or no connection even going to pavillion close to dish. The bar across the street has a live band on the weekend and music goes until midnight. Across the street is the helipad for the helicoptor tours. On good days it doesn't stop. Unless you have your own satelittle you will not get TV reception. The sites are decent size but not level so bring blocks and it is dirt with some gravel. If you are close to the road you will definitely have road noise. The campground is for sale so I would not expect improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
You can see the Royal Gorge bride from the camp. Park has a nice hostess and host. Does have WiFi, but it's a bit weak when more than 300 feet from office. Sites are decently level, but relatively close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Very rustic. Sites were not level. Owner was very friendly and accommodating. Would stay there again as the other camp grounds were closed or very over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is a great location for visiting the Royal Gorge. The campground owner was very friendly and accommodating. We have a large motorhome and had no leveling problems at our site. The campground is a bit rustic but has all facilities (although we settled for 30 amp electric) including wifi. This is an area where there are many campground choices. This campground was the most economical of those and proved to be a pleasant place to spend a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$12
We stayed at the RPI rate, and that is the rate for water/electric only. They wanted an extra $5.00 a night for sewer. We found this place to be noisy, dirty, dusty, and the sites were quite unlevel. They are 10 miles out of Canon City, and there is almost nothing close by. We marked it up a notch because the free Wi-Fi worked very effectively. We couldn't get any bars on our Verizon cell phone. OK for an overnight if you are traveling US 50, as we were, but we wouldn't recommend it for anything else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Nice park, friendly owners and a great place to stay when visiting the Royal Gorge. The helicopter now fly around the park. New restaurant across the street with good food. On site rafting company for the adventurous. Free Wi-Fi worked well. We have stayed here before and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
We stayed at the RPI rate and that is the rate without sewer. They wanted an extra $5.00 a night for sewer. We found this place to be noisy, dirty, dusty and the sites were quite unlevel. They are 10 miles out of Cannon City and there is no gas or stores close by. We marked it up a notch because the free Wi-Fi worked good. We couldn't get any bars on our cell phone even on the antenna. OK for an overnight if you are traveling US 50, as we were, but we wouldn't recommend it for anything else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Not all sites have sewer or 50 amp. There is not much shade. The WIFI worked great from our site. There is good space between sites. There are only 2 washers & dryers. The showers & bathrooms are older with spider webs. We got a SKP discount. The water & electric only sites are $25; with sewer is $28. The highway is very noisy & busy and there is a helicopter landing across the highway & every 10 minutes a helicopter flies overhead. Very noisy place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Great owners. We had 5 RV's and were very happy with the service. They also have some very private tent camping sites, with a porta john near by. We would certainly stay there again. They were also very pet friendly. No highway noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$10
We stayed at the RPI rate of $8, plus $2 for a water surcharge (they have to have water hauled in). While we were there, our neighbor had a serious accident while hooking up their tow dolly. He had to be helicoptered to the hospital. The park owners shut down the office and took the neighbor's wife to the hospital in their car. When they brought her back from the hospital, they got a friend to help them extract the toad from the dolly. What a great set of hosts! The park has big pull-through sites, excellent 50 amp power, and full hookups. The only Internet access is a phone jack in the office. They charge $2 to use it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2004
$24
When visiting the Royal Gorge country of Colorado, this is a great place to stay. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the park is very clean. For those who are interested in white water rafting, there is a rafting company on site. We have visited several times over the past few years with our last visit in May 2004 in a 39' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Stopped here for an overnight after a harrowing trip through the Rockies in the dead of winter. Another park a mile down the road appeared bigger, but there was absolutely no one around to help us, so we drove back to this park. The manager came out to meet us in perfectly horrible weather, and was very nice and helpful. There was a sign out front that all sites were $15.00, possibly a winter rate. It's a nice place with beautiful views of the mountains. Mostly gravel sites. There's a very large area for primitive tent sites, but I imagine those are used only in summer. This CG gets our vote as there was a real person there actually interested in assisting us. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com