223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Codroy RV Camping Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (709) 955-2520
CGID5252

Grand Codroy RV Camping Park

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   8   10   8   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Talk about a lovely campground. While I typically choose EW sites, the full service sites are far superior to the EW sites, the latter apparently being the original sites at this campground. If you like privacy, request one of the sites along the perimeter. Each site comes with a picnic table, fire pit and free firewood. While the washrooms are older, they are very clean and offer free hot showers. There are laundry facilities ($) and recycling. Cell phone coverage is spotty, at best, but there is a pay phone by the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
We sent 5 1/2 weeks touring Newfoundland in our motorhome and this was the best RV park we stayed in on our entire trip. The power is good, water is good, and Wi-Fi worked good. The park is clean and well kept up and the management is very friendly and always trying to please their customers. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it as a stopping off point going to or from the Nova Scotia ferry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Great RV park with large sites and a great layout. Lots of green space and a nice change from the usual gravel lot style of campground. The owners went out of their way to ensure people felt welcome. We were also pleasantly surprised to see live music and a "screech-in" ceremony for guests. It was a great experience and we're looking forward to staying here again. The local area was fun to explore (Stop in and say hi to Chap and see his car collection, see the most westerly point on the island and the great sandy beaches) and the craft shop had the best selection of authentic Newfoundland crafts we found during our trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Grand Codroy is about 30 minutes from the Port Aux Basques ferry. We stayed her twice: the first day we landed in Newfoundland and then two nights before departing Newfoundland. Know that the park is cash only for the camping fees (they do take credit cards in the onsite gift shop). Sites are well spaced out in this park; there’s lots of room! We had full hook ups, but there is only 30 amps within this park. All hook ups are in good condition. As for facilities, we did not use the toilets or showers. This park is very clean and well maintained. Each site has a household sized metal garbage can. There are a couple of recycling bins around the park. As for amenities, there is a playground area and a gift shop (lots of hand crafted items). The park is located close enough to the Trans Canada highway to be close - but far enough away that it very quiet. This is one of the most peaceful and quiet parks we’ve stayed at. There is a pleasant walking path that the owners have made. Glad we stayed an extra day because this enabled us to spend a full day checking out this beautiful area of Newfoundland. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Rate shown includes taxes. We had a reservation which got lost, but the owners here set us up with an electric and water site first night before assigning us a full hookup site for the next two. Both sites were gravel back-ins and fairly level. The full hookup sites have lots of space between them. The electric and water ones are fairly close and lack privacy. No cable TV or channels off the antenna, but managed to get satellite TV as most of the trees around the site were fairly short. Wi-Fi was a mixed bag. Lots of antennas for Wi-Fi throughout the park, but access to the internet was spotty due to problems with the router. Very nice landscaping throughout the park. Very friendly and helpful staff. They have a great craft shop with locally made products and the prices are very reasonable. Interesting trail that had signs along the way with proverbs taken out of the Downhomer magazine. We have been here several times before and always enjoy the atmosphere and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
When you go to Newfoundland you should stay at this park before and /or after the ferry ride at Port aux Basques. This is one of the nicest parks that I have ever stayed at as it has the layout of a provincial (state) park, which it was, but with three way hookups. The owners are super nice and they give you free firewood. This is a perfect place to relax and start your trip or end a wonderful vacation in Newfoundland. All parks should be this nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Very nice park for short or long term. Large sites with plenty of room and space between sites. They cater to large groups and do it nicely. A great location to rest up after the ferry ride from Nova Scotia or a nice place to overnight to take the ferry next day. It has a very nice craft store with excellent prices for local hand made goods. Staff are excellent and will bend over to help a visitor. We stay there every trip to NL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We spent one night here in transit. It was a last minute booking when the ferry from Argentia was cancelled and we had to drive back for the Port-Aux-Basques ferry. They did not have any 3 service sites available. They gave us a pull-through so that we would not have to disconnect since heavy rain was forecasted. A nice consideration on their part. Very pleasant management and the park appeared nice although our time there did not allow us to explore it fully. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This was a lovely way to start our Newfoundland camping experience.  It set the standard for every campground afterward, and none of them came up to the standard.   It was at one time a provincial park cg.   We secured our reservation that morning without a credit card and had a warm, friendly welcome.  In fact, they do not take credit cards.  Our site was level, incredibly spacious, and pretty, and everything worked well, including the WiFi.  The water pressure was a little low, but adequate.  There is no TV.  Be prepared for black flies in July and August.  But those will be a problem in lots of other places, so bring repellant.  The restrooms are clean and the laundry will take American or Canadian quarters.   We spent the night here after leaving the ferry, and we spent four days here, exploring the area, before we headed back on the ferry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This park is 30 minutes from the ferry. We stayed here coming and going. The people are very accommodating regarding weird ferry hours. Roads are easy to navigate and our site was so level that we didn't unhook the truck, because we had to leave at 5 am. AT&T phone had marginal reception- we needed our booster and Wi-Fi was just ok. They have lots of towers but we still got booted off regularly. Free firewood was a nice perk. Be advised that they don't take credit cards. We had to pay cash. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
We booked this park for two nights as it was the closest RV park we would fit in (MDT, large 5er and tote 65') after getting off the ferry. We extended our stay a week. Nice friendly folks and clean well kept park. WiFi worked at our site. We will stay here on our return to ferry crossing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
One hour north of the Chance Port Aux Basque ferry terminal. Fantastic little park with well laid out, spacious sites, and all very quiet. It is a mile or so off the highway (watch carefully for the sign) .While it doesn't have any pullt throught sites all are angled just right. Pull past the site, turn your steering wheel, back up and you're in! FHU's including Wi-Fi and a very friendly, family run operation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is a good location that gets you well on your way after coming off the ferry (about 30 minutes away.) The evening we arrived, there were about a dozen other RVs lined up also waiting to check in! Dated but good bathrooms, Wi-Fi, and free firewood. Our site was not private or level but that's the case more often than not on the island, and we just needed a good night's sleep which we received. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This is a very nicely laid-out campground in a rural area. Sites are roomy and separated from neighboring sites in a way that assures privacy. Very convenient to the Nova Scotia ferry so its a good spot to stay upon arrival on the island since the ferry gets in late in the afternoon. The owners and staff are Newfoundlanders -- extremely warm, friendly and helpful. Wifi is among the best campground wifi we've experienced. Restrooms are clean and well cared-for. The park is nestled in the Cordroy Valley which is a very pretty setting of mountains and rivers. Antenna TV reception is quite limited. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This old provincial park is an excellent stop if taking the ferry. The spaces are large and flat, and they have multiple WI-FI which will give you several strong sites to choose from. The owners are very friendly, as are all Newfoundlanders, and can suggest lots of ways to spend time in the area. They even offer free firewood and have a craft shop with a selection of local wares. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This was a very nice RV Park and the owners were very friendly. The sites were the widest I have encountered for some time. All sites are back in sites. It was convenient to the Port Aux Basques ferry terminal both coming and going. If you like to go out for dinner there is not much near the campground. The one restaurant we wanted to go to (Wreckhouse Cafe) ran out of Jig's dinner at 6:05pm and we arrived at 6:15pm. The other restaurant we went to (Chicken Villa) closed at 6:30pm and we arrived at 6:37pm. We stayed at this campground on Aug 3rd and again on Aug 19th and stayed for two nights each time. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
What makes this such a wonderful place to stay is the folks that run the campground. When I e-mailed about making a reservation I got not only a reply verifying the dates but also an offer to give us recommendations for "must dos" while in Newfoundland. We stayed here after coming in on the ferry and again before we left. Our only complaint was the black flies. Probably the worst we encountered, but this was not something management can control. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Just a moderate drive from (or to) the Nova Scotia ferry. Easy to get to from highway. Good interior gravel roads. VERY generous sized sites with lots of well manicured grass. Lots of variation in trees/bushes on sites. Without a doubt the BEST Wi-Fi we have ever encountered at an RV park (fewer than 70 sites, a list of SIX Wi-Fi antennas to chose among. The weakest of which was a 3 bar signal). Owner operated; they were waiting in the office for our arrival from the ferry at 10 pm; friendly and helpful; provided lots of local interest information. They only take cash and do not honor any of the discount cards. We would definitely stay here again. And for multiple days if our plans called for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This park is a jewel. Sites are spacious back-ins with lots of grassy areas between sites. Our site was almost perfectly level. Somes sites have trees; others are in an open area. The roads into and within the park are in good condition. Utilities worked well, as did Wi-Fi. Only a couple of TV channels. We did not try the bathroom facilities, so can't comment on that. There is a craft shop on premises. This is a place to just relax and enjoy the pristine beauty of Newfoundland. We would definitely choose this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Overall, our favorite campground in Newfoundland. And probably the friendliest. The sites are nicely spaced, plenty of room. The hiking trail is a little gem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Great place, the only complaint would be no 50 amp. They were friendly, helpful and had free music the Saturday night we were here. The site was level and there was lots of room to walk our dogs. Would definitely recommend or stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Sites are very level back-in and the Wi-Fi works well near the office. The showers are spotless. We stayed a few days before taking the ferry and used the campground paper information to tour the Codroy Valley. Cash only. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
The campground knew we were taking the night ferry from Nova Scotia and as such left a note on their window telling us which site to take. They are very professional and accommodating. Our site was a very long gravel back-in. The only negative was that the WiFi worked the first day for a short time, then never worked. Otherwise, this is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Got in late to register due to a ferry delay, but the campground staff were ready to greet us anyway. Site assigned was a gravel back-in and level. Large sites with plenty of privacy. Local TV was a single weak channel. WiFi was weak. Campground is located next to a river and situated in a lovely valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Park has very large sites, free firewood, and clean, free showers. Owners are very friendly and very accommodating in regards to the timing for the ferry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
One of the best campgrounds in Newfoundland. The owners of this campground are very friendly and willing to help with information on the surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Probably the best park on the island when you consider the nice lots, full service and friendliness of the owners. We had to stay longer here due to ferry problems, and the owners were very accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Less than 45 minutes from Ferry and easily found at night. Family staff very friendly. Large sites some with river view. German Shepard enjoyed it after six hour ferry ride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Best Park in Newfoundland!!! Very large sites, great free Wi-Fi. Well kept grounds. Owners are incredible helpful!!! They go out of their way to make your visit fantastic! They understand RVers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
This is a fine, clean, beautiful campground with a great nature trail and craft shop right on premises. The only fault I can find with this is it doesn't have pull through sites. I must agree with other reviews about everything else. I would go back there, in fact I did, I stopped coming and going from the Viking Trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
We've been camping here for about five years. It's become a home away from home. It has basically everything you need and our three kids enjoy the simple things, like getting to feed the fish, or playing soccer in the large lots, riding their bikes, going to the nearby beach, lots of campfire marshmallow roasts. We are originally from this area so it works great for going 'home'. We can have our space and everything that goes with it...nice lot with cute trees like mountain ash and others that house a newly found birds nest...we can visit family and still be a 30 - 45 minute away from it all. So hopefully we will be coming here as long as our kids allow us to travel and then when they get to old we plan on something a little smaller like a motorhome. One thing I absolute never get sick of at this campground is the fresh air, the sound of mooing cows nearby, and the blue color of the mountains in the background. Did I mention the wildflowers, the birds, the scenery of Codroy Valley? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
This is a great family owned campground whose owner, Dennis adds lots of Newfoundland humor. The sites are spacious and lots of room between rigs. There is lots of things to see in the Codroy Valley so we stayed there twice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
A lovely campground. Very clean and tidy. Plenty of room between the sites which were big and level. Beautiful views. I can't fault it at all, and the owners are always available and extremely friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
A beautiful campground with great views of river and mountains. Owners on site, and very friendly and helpful. The campsites are large and well separated from the neighboring site. Free WiFi available from many campsites or at the office. This is the best place to stay for access to or from the ferry at Port aux Basques. We spent a very enjoyable week here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
A nice "grassy" RV Park with good views. The WiFi is free. Camp fees must be paid for in cash as they do not accept cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
We stayed here twice during our trip to Newfoundland, after we arrived on the ferry, and the night before we took the ferry back to Nova Scotia. This campground is nice enough to be a destination in itself. Sites are spacious and level. Bathrooms are clean. They have a small laundry with 3 washers and 3 dryers. Both hookups we had are 3-way (full hook-up). Alice, the lady who was running the office during both visits, is very friendly and advised us against taking the 14 hour ferry back to Nova Scotia. Some sites are shaded and some are full sun. A few have a river view, most do not. This campground is a former provincial park. On our return visit, it was warmer, and bugs were still scarce We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
Nicely laid-out park, lots of trees but still with good views around, nice management. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
This is a very well-run and extremely attractive park. Sites are large, level and well-graveled and the walking trail is the most beautiful and entertaining (lots of funny signs throughout) I have ever seen. The washrooms and showers are immaculate; however, with only three per gender, lineups might become an issue. Some advice: ignore the arrival directions posted on their website: the Irving station they mention no longer exists and the exits are no longer numbered. You’re best off just to follow the signs on the TCH and be careful to take the northern-most road to Doyles: if you take the southern-most of the two, there’s a hair-pin turn that a big rig could never negotiate, particularly with a toad. The staff are the friendliest and most helpful ever. I would have given the park a ‘10’ but there’s no pool, Wi-Fi or cable (CBC received on the amplified antenna.) Nevertheless, it’s a super place to go and we’ll be back on the return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
Nice park, easy to get into, nice large sites. Satellite internet works for us here, but not for our neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com