206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Prospectors RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (719) 275-2128
CGID526

Prospectors RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   8   9   2   8   5   6   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This park is a disgrace....weeds higher than the barbeques...in the driveways, and our "assigned" site had no sewer. There was no one around to help. Our site and brochure were taped to the office door. Women's restroom was locked. I spent at least a 1/2 hour looking for someone to help. A man staying in a van said no one was there today nor yesterday. He tried to call them, no answer. There were only a few people staying in the park. It was a fire hazard, to say the least. So much so, that we and another rig traveling with us decided to leave and find another RV park, even though we'd paid for the first night. It was not worth the risk of a fire from a spark under a rig or anything. Weeds were tall, dry, and it was totally unsightly. The pool had a layer of leaves and tree droppings. No help available. The brochure shows a beautiful park. It was not. I emailed them when we got home asking for a refund of our deposit but have received no word or refund. I'm shocked the county allows them to remain open in that condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We were quoted a price and when we arrived it was not honored. The bathrooms and shower rooms were filthy. My wife said there was long strands of women's hair on the sides of the shower and the drain was full of hair. She had to pull up a wad of hair so the shower would drain. Will not ever stay there again. Only stayed one night and then moved to another RV park. Staff were friendly but did not respond when told a large black dog was running loose in the park. It was still running loose when we left. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Nice looking campground on a hillside with trees. Nice pool and hot tub. RV spaces are tight. Traffic can be heard all night long going over some type of cattle grate or storm drain grate in the road. Neither myself or my husband got any sleep. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
We love camping here every Memorial Day! We've been coming for the last 7 years and love what the new owners have done with the place. Many needed upgrades were done: bathrooms and showers are cleaner, store is updated and additions to the play areas were made. The kids have a great time here. We usually meet friends here and enjoy it every year. I use a pop-up camper here now, but have tent camped and rented one of their cabins with my family two years ago. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We will return!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The staff is friendly. The park is tight to get into and tighter getting out. Roads and sites are gravel with weeds mixed in. The site that we had was not level, had a slab with table, and fire ring with benches. All needed attention. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. Resort needs lots of TLC. We would look elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
It says shade sites available, well the trees I saw would not provide much shade. Sites were big enough for the tow vehicle. Wi-Fi worked great. No phone, well at least not Verizon. I think AT&T works, but he let me use the house phone to make a phone call, so that was nice. Verizon works in town which is 10 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Great park for Kids. Lots of activities for them. The pull-throughs are very close together though and not very level, at least for the site we stayed at. The store is well stocked and the staff is friendly. Very close to the Royal Gorge Bridge. I don't think I would stay here again if I don't have the kids along. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
It is difficult to rate this campground because its value depends on who you are and where your spot is. It wasn't our cup of tea, but most people there were thoroughly enjoying themselves. There aren't really any trees to speak of, though some spots are nicer than others. Dust and wind are pretty constant. However, it looks like it might be a great place if you have children with you, but do keep them slathered with sunscreen as there's no shade anywhere. You will also be taking them to the showers frequently to wash off multiple layers of dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Super friendly staff! Lots of stuff to do for adults and kids. Pets were very welcome. We will stay here again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is our second visit to this resort and it will not be our last. Park is very clean and laid out really well. It is VERY family oriented with tons of stuff to do for the kids. Between the playground, splash pad and jump pillow our children were not bored! This resort has the best store we have come across in the entire state and the staff is extremely helpful. We will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Basic site, friendly people, would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Stayed the Memorial Day weekend here and really enjoyed it. The site was gravel and wasn't quite level, but was close enough. There was a nice wooden picnic table and a fire ring which were all in good condition. The people were very busy but helpful and got us checked in quickly, then we were escorted to our site. The water, electric and sewer were all in great shape and everything worked perfectly. Note they don't have cable TV and we were unable to get any TV stations, but we didn't come here to watch TV anyway. They had a water park and big play area for the kids (although we weren't traveling with children), but this would be a great place for kids to play. The only reason we didn't mark this a 10 was because there were long term or permanent rigs throughout the park, many with a lot of 'junk' around them, which really took away from the RV resort atmosphere. They have a nice store and now have a small selection of beers, wines and liquor which is nice if you run out as the nearest town in about 8 miles away. Road noise was not bad and we recommend this park to be near the Royal Gorge. We did note that the other parks nearby were not nearly as full as Prospectors so this must the be good park to stay in! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$10
Can't say enough nice things about these guys! We've been a monthly resident for several months (our monthly rate was $300/mo, so that's $10/night - it wouldn't let me skip this information). If there was anything that we ever needed, they would certainly help us with it. Even came out in the snow late at night when we'd come in from a long outing to make sure we have everything we need, and let us know if there were any problems that we needed to know about. Truly terrific people. It's big rig friendly (we're 73' nose to tail), though the sites are not really super long, it all worked out just dandy for us. We will definitely come back whenever we're in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
New owners. New name is Prospectors RV Resort. Clean, well maintained park. I was escorted to my site. Large park with an area to meet a variety of needs. Kid friendly with a variety of activities. Clean restrooms and showers. Very little road noise at night because of rural setting. View of Royal Gorge Bridge from front of the park. Mountain views all around. Gravel roads and gravel sites. Good Wi-Fi signal. Friendly and helpful staff provide information and knowledge of the area. Will stay here again when I return to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
We stayed here to explore the Gorge and Canon City. The park was a fairly average park and acceptable for a couple of night stay. Several full time residents scattered through the park. The 50amp service was in a newer section of the park which had no shade. We stayed in an older site with some shade and only 30 amp. The park was not as well kept as most and had tree limbs overhanging the roadways that rubbed on the sides of our motorhome. The restrooms were not well cleaned in the section that we were in. Lots of tent sites. This was formally a Yogi Bear park and had several kid type attractions that cost extra. Among them was metal go cart type buggy's that kids were using to roll down the gravel roadways. They made a lot of noise and after several hours, became a bit aggravating. Park maintenance needs to be stepped up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Can't wait to go back. Great service no complaints. Kids had a blast at the splash park and jumping pillow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Appears to be one of the nicer parks in the area. Has a distant view of the bridge. Had to run water heater on gas to maintain reasonable voltage. This is a big park with lots of walking area. The pool was clean and the kids liked the putt-putt golf. The sign said that the new management was making lots of upgrades in the coming season. There were some signs of activity in that regard. Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Can you say "off season"? Of the 90 spots, I think we were one of 3 people there for the two days we stayed. We saw the train and the bridge. This had some pretty windy roads and some of the them steep. My vehicle is small, but I would get worried for the big vehicles in some places. Saw the host at the very beginning and that was it. There wasn't much else to do there. Was an OK stay, seemed a little pricey, but I would return if I was back that way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We checked three parks in the area before choosing this one. (KOA & Royal View were the other two). The pool was clean, the people were friendly. They have lots of thing to do, especially for the kids. Pool, tether ball, basketball, mini golf, and a playground just to name a few. The sites were slightly closer together where we were, but other ares of the park were spaced better. It's dusty, but so are all the other parks. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
Great park and great service. The staff was so nice and accommodating. The haunted house was the best we have ever seen. Would recommend to anyone with children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
We stayed here during one of their special Halloween weekends. They had great activities for the kids - trick or treating through the camp ground, a haunted house (started at 7:00pm with the lights on for younger kids and at 7:30 they turned the lights off for the older kids) and a haunted hayride. Our 12 year old went through the haunted house twice and said he liked it better than the professional one went went to last year near home. The haunted hay ride was a ride on a flatbed trailer (no hay) pulled by a tractor. It drove through the campground where they had several employees set up at different areas to scare the riders. Everyone we saw really enjoyed the hayride. They also had a site decorating contest where the winner would receive one of there nights camping for free. Some people went all out and the decorations were something to see. The area was well kept and very scenic. There were few if any trees around the 50 amp sites but the rest of the campground was well treed. The sites are gravel but the premium sites have a cement pad under the picnic table and a standing BBQ grill. The restroom facilities were older but were clean. There are plenty of activities to do in the surrounding area. This is a very family friendly camp ground (especially on the weekends when they have their activities) and are also pet friendly. We would have given this camp ground a 10 but you do get a little highway noise in the sites up around the 50 amp sites but it is not bad. The treed sites are probably quieter. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
The setting of this park is very scenic. Grounds are kept clean and employees are friendly. We were in one of the up-front sites and found it quite nice. Wi-Fi was included in price, but signal was pretty weak. We also found that we had no cell phone service (Verizon) in the area. We arrived a day late due to mechanical problems. Not only did the owners let us changes dates without penalty, they volunteered a $9 refund since our original arrival date was a holiday. Overall, very pleased and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$37
Spent one night here. The campground seems pretty nice, not a lot of shade. It would be a good place to stay if you were wanting to do some river rafting or visit the royal gorge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$31
What a beautiful campground for a reasonable price. Hilly and picturesque. Great sites, many seperated by hillside (many of the sites must have been dug out) and natural landscaping. Beautiful view and great location. Nice playground and pool. We used the outfitter next door to raft the Royal Gorge/Arkansas River. It was awesome. Our site was level, but I wouldn't be surprised it some weren't given the hilly terrain. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$33
Nice campground. Sites are not very level. Small pool and activities for the kids. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com