223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Huaco Springs was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (830) 625-5411
CGID5260

Camp Huaco Springs

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   5   7   9   7   9   3   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
We camp here once a year and each year the experience is a little different due to management. We had a flood alarm that started at 5:30am in the morning and was not turned off until after 8:00am, needless to say we were up at 5:30am. Our site required 2 inches of leveling on one side. The electricity and water pressure were both consistent. The park employees are friendly but not very effective at rule enforcement. The tent area and day use areas have trash all over the ground and the employees drive around in golf carts and pick and choose what they pick up or not. Trash cans are also overflowing on the weekends and left that way until Monday. Several park guest are drunk, loud, rowdy, lewd, and are a public nuisance, especially if you are their neighbor. The good thing about this CG, it's on the river with full hook-ups with decent sized sites. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$55
Where to begin. Our first night we had to listen to an alarm all night long from their water pumps across the road. Even though we informed them many times when we first arrived (before the office closed), they didn’t get someone to unlock the barbed wired fence to reset the alarm to stop the noise until noon the next day. All posted rules are not enforced. Their pet rule is that dogs are only allowed if they are under 30 pounds. There were dogs over 100 pounds in several campsites! Quiet hours were never enforced. Every night we had to hear our neighbors partying into the wee hours. Sometime during their partying they drove their golf cart over our sewer hose. The picnic table at our site was carved up and wobbly. Looked like something out of the projects. The restrooms were so filthy that words could not describe it! They make state park restrooms look like a palace. Everyday trash was overflowing in all the trashcans, mostly from beer cans and liquor bottles. A camper across from us had a cooler full of beer stolen one night. I guess they were not interested in our water bottles and soda. There is not a camp host on site, so when the office is closed all staff leave. The only contact number left in cases of emergency is the local law enforcement. It is really sad! This could be a fantastic campground, but the owner has let it go. I blame the owner since they were obviously the one who hired the staff. My understanding is the owner of the campground also owns the Rockn’ R River Rides. That might explain why they prefer the drunken party crowds at their campground. If you want to hear more reviews check out their Facebook page. It will really let you know that this is a college type party campground. We will not be camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
This was the only full hook up campground we could find on the river. Sites are nice and wide. We got a site on the river and enjoyed making a fire on the riverbank. Kids enjoyed playing in the water all day. They have really nice springs that feed into the river that you can tube. Also nice shallow pools for floating. The springs are fast moving though. The store is very expensive for the things you need like tube rafts and ice. They charge $2 to blow up your raft with a compressor. Now let's talk about the bathrooms. Gross!!! These were the dirtiest bathrooms. The toilet stalls don't have doors and the main bathroom door doesn't close all the way. Sinks are gross. You don't want to touch the handles. Bugs everywhere. Overflowing trash cans. The only showers are in the day use tent camping area, and they cost a dollar for 8 minutes. Watch out for clumps of hair on the shower floor. They are cleaner than the other bathroom, but that's not saying much. The dude that cleaned the bathroom only emptied the trash and replaced the toilet paper. Floors, sinks, and toilets were left untouched. This was ridiculous for $50 a night. Pros: beautiful river setting and nice spacious level sites with full hook ups. They had trash cans at the end of every site, and the grounds were kept clean. Cons: Disgusting bathrooms. We won't come back here because of that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$11
Rate is based on monthly stay. We've enjoyed our stays here, but it's worth noting that the difference between winter and summer stays is significant. During the summer, it's busy and expensive; during the winter, quiet and very reasonably priced. Sites are unique in that they are three spaces wide with a concrete pad in the middle. Motohomes can pull in and have a view of the river; others can back in since there are hookups on both sides. Sites are packed gravel and have a table and BBQ grill. This is a no-frills park; restrooms are not well maintained, there's no cable TV, pool, playground, or reliable Wi-Fi; it's just a place to enjoy the river. During the winter the river is stocked with trout, and there are plenty of fisherman on the river. The park is generally quiet at night, but there is no management presence after 4:00 so there is no control over noisy campers, and watch your step as many dog owners do not leash or clean up after their pets. Convenient to New Braunfels and San Antonio, yet in a rural setting. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
This is a lovely park with sites located on the river. As described by others, the sites are difficult to get into and if there's a traffic jam, even more so. We were here off season during the week (hence the lower rate, too), so it wasn't a problem for us. Sitting by the river, watching the birds, then the sunset, it was very peaceful. I can imagine it might not be on a busy weekend. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
My rating might have been higher except for the extreme drought that Texas is currently going through. River was hardly flowing and water just seemed dirty. Find a place where the water is moving. Overall not a bad experience, we just prefer a little more space to move around. It's a party place on the weekends. Pros: asphalt roads, crushed granite pads, good power and water ( temps were 100+ and campground was full), good space between sites, quick check-in, friendly atmosphere ( except for the owner, but that's another story) Cons: have to hitch / unhitch quickly otherwise you will be blocking traffic, tight turns and little space to move / back-in, trash cans overflowing, no cable, expensive for what you get. Will try a different place next time on the Guadalupe River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
It was a little hard to get our 30ft trailer backed into our spot. The camp site was full, and we got there late. So my advice is get there early if you have a long trailer, or just get there early period. When we made the reservation the lady on the phone said there aren't a lot of tent campers along the water unless it's a holiday weekend, but she may have understated that. It wasn't packed, but there were a lot of tents. Over all it was a very nice camp and the convenience to the Rockin' R made it the perfect place for us to stay and float the river! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
Stayed here over Easter weekend..very dusty, dirty, crowed, trash not picked up from community trash barrels, lots of cars, tents, music at night, camp fires. Cash only. Wanted a credit card in case of any damage done by my motorhome. Area by river trashy & unkept. We stayed in motorhome facing river in double space - one for rv and one for car for $50 per night-no discounts. Only good thing is close to New Braunsfels & Gruene towns. RV area parked on a crushed sand and red clay iron ore material. wifi good.. Will not stay here again..Mostly camper,tents, 5th wheels and lots of cars... extra fees for some things. Guests must pay entrance fees.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
Nice park: the kids loved it. Lots of space between sites. Will come back again. Now for the "warning." They have street lamps out toward the edge of the road, which for the most part are a good thing. However, if you have a Large Trailer, backing in around them into your site could be a major problem as there is not enough room for you truck to swing out. Stayed at Site #31. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$10
The price reflects the monthly rate. We stayed at this campground two months this winter and two months last. The campground has become very noisy due to motorcycles. The WIFI either doesn't work or is very slow. I had just finished waxing my truck when a grounds keeper used a leaf blower to blow granite dust all over it. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Nice Park, friendly and helpful staff. We had a river front site, very nice!! Great views. Saw lots of fish being caught, though it was stocked twice in two days. Verizon phone worked well, Motosat no problem. They do a good job of keeping this place clean. Have been told it is crazy busy Memorial Day to Labor Day. Rate was based on week stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
This was our second time to stay in this park. This time we reserved site #3 due to last year's constant pedestrian traffic crossing to the river though our site (which is very bad manners). I have improved my rating to a 10 since we had no traffic through our site but I did notice anything past site #4 did have the constant pedestrian traffic even though the park has several public access areas to the river. The sites are very large able to accommodate any size rig with ample parking and patio space. A wooden picnic table is provided and the riverfront sites are great. Our site overlooked the falls and sites #'s 1-8 do not allow for day use or tent camping between your site and the river giving you some privacy and room to spread out your pop up awning for shade by the river. Our electric power was great with no disruption in power levels for 5 days of 100+ heat. Our site did require about 1 1/2 inches of leveling on one side of the rig but this is the only negative feedback I can offer. The $60 per night is a little steep but it is the best park on the river and worth the money if you consider the alternatives. We will return again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
This is our favorite campground and we stay here at least twice a year. We love the easy river access. It's shallow enough to set chairs up in the river and watch the kids play. The staff is friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$11
Quiet little park during the winter but hear it is rowdy during the tubing season on the river. Could use a nice laundry and faster Wi-Fi. Price reflects monthly rate. We will probably stay here again early next year while visiting family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
The price reflects the weekly rate in November. Riverfront sites advertised at $45 a night for next summer. The spots on the river can either be back in or drive in. In a motorhome it is nice to be able to drive in and have a view of the river but it does put you very close to your neighbor that backs in especially if you both have slides. We saw two units that were about 3" apart. It didn't bother us but may others. The concrete patio was the whole length of our 40' motorhome; nice for keeping the unit clean. We loved this park and would love to be able to come back in the summer when there is rafting on the river. The RV park also has a rafting business and in the summer there is food available and they are supposed to be opening a restaurant next spring. There is a store that carries basic food,drink and clothing. There are also many tenting and picnic sites. This park is the nicest on the river and the closest to New Braunfels and Gruene. Despite what another review said, I saw quite a few dogs that were over 15 pounds; the rules say 20 pounds. If ever in this part of the world again we will stay here for sure. Wi-Fi was good on all days except when it rained and Verizon worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
The river front site we stayed in was level, with concrete and gravel and quite a bit of room; but this campground is rather expensive for what they don't offer. To be fair: it is the nicest campground on River Road, so I guess that is what you are paying for. The staff is very friendly and keeps the campground clean, cruising around daily picking up after those campers who don't pick up after themselves. We enjoyed the river, but several people thought they could use our site to cut through to the river, even though they had paid less for their sites because they were second row. This was a bit of an issue and the staff did not enforce using the public access area for those campers. Also, quite time rules were not enforced: the campsite next to us was loud and drunk late into the night for the 3 nights they were here. It would be nice if the policies of the campground were enforced: I would have given a better rating. We may consider this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This is a very nice park. Each site has a picnic table and a grill but the grills are nothing to write home about. The grating is to high above the charcoal. Pets only allowed if they weigh less than 15 pounds. The park was very clean and has a great spot on the river! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Very clean, very attractive park. It was very tight for my trailer and very narrow for my group that was camping. The spaces that we were in on the river were to narrow for real camping. If you stay in the trailer the whole time it would be great, but we like to sit outside and visit. The water was cold, but that is the Guadalupe River for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Like my parks with great scenery, if you get the right site, the a stay can be close to perfect. A river front site is great, especially for motorhome as you can pull straight in. If you are looking for river front camping this is hard to beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
My first time RV'ing in a rental and this was my first campground in years. Very pleasantly surprised with the beauty of the location, right on the river, and the park is tidy and well kept. The store is like a mini mart, a bit of everything in there, and a tube rental within walking distance. The RV sites are surrounded by tent campers, and the place was full on weekends so if you want to be in the more quiet area, pick a center RV spot. We were in spot 1 on the end and had no problems, but other spots in the center will be quieter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
The reason we gave this and 8 out of 10 instead of a 10 out of 10 was no wi-fi and no cable available. If you're interested in a quiet setting on a river, clean, crushed gravel fairly level sites, then this is the place for you. We used our air card for our wi-fi connection and the signal was fair, enough to pull in mail, etc. It it located just outside of New Braunfels which is a nice community with lots of amenities nearby and of course close to San Antonio. We paid $40.00 a night which we felt was high but would probably stay here again. We understand the weekly and monthly rates are quite a bit more reasonable, but you would have to check that yourself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
This is one of the best RV parks we have stayed at and would have given it a 10 but they don't have a laundromat. This park was rebuilt after the 2002 flood and is modern with large sites that can be accessed on either side of your concrete pad. Lots of room between sites and views on to the Guadalupe River. Their Web site doesn't do justice to this spectacular park. We stayed for a month at $295 which included power !!!! The New Braunfels area is about 25 miles north east of San Antonio and has lots of history. The Laundromat is on the old section and not usable but lots of choice in New Braunfel. Most of the RVs in this park are local people who come out for the weekend. This means it is very quiet through the week. The staff are friendly. Internet is spotty but my Verizon Air Card worked well. This park is a must stay at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
The review below says it all. I didn't rate it a 10 because wifi is important to us, and it is very weak and I was located within 100' of the store. They even had routers on the poles for those further down the road Nice turn around area too. Not many folks there, it was about 1/4 full at most. Lots of snow birds and trout fisherman. Our neighbor complained he caught his 5 limit before breakfast and ran out of things to do! The sites were gravel with concrete picnic pad. The river view was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
We were pleasantly surprised by this park; low monthly rate ($295) included electric, the sites were very large, and the area is quiet during the winter months. Hookups are unique; each site is three lanes wide with hookups at each side. This allowed us to pull in nose-first with a great view overlooking the cypress-lined Guadalupe River. Sites have a large cement patio, picnic table, and barbecue on a stand. The area is generally quiet except for motorcycles on the adjacent River Road, and was only a bit crowded once the state began stocking trout every Friday in December. The staff was very friendly, there is a small store, and WiFi (weak & spotty) is free. The Verizon Air Card worked very well. Just a short (3 miles) from New Braunfels which has all amenities. No pets, glass, or Styrofoam allowed along the river, but during the winter small pets are allowed in the RV area. This is a huge "toobing" area during the summer and is crowded and noisy. We enjoyed our stay and will return next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
We have stayed here for the last few years. It is a very busy park, but very kid friendly. They will not allow dogs over 20 pounds. Beautiful views of the Guadalupe River. It it worth the few dollars extra for the river view spots. Half of the campground is for tent camping and is a wild place. The RV side is pretty quiet. They have on site sheriff's deputies to maintain the quiet hours after midnight. Weekday nights are pretty low key, but Saturday night is hopping. Very strict on their rules. We keep staying here, primarily because of the location on the river. There are two river outfitters within a block. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Very nice park directly on river for rafting and fishing, however the river levels were very high and dangerous for rafting up steam but down steam there was plenty of white water for all. The camp is broken up into two sections, RV and tents. The RV side was excellent, however the “White Trash Bash” (tent) was a sight to see mostly for the entertainment value for the adults. It was little difficult getting out of the RV park in a big rig with a dead end turn around instead of an easy exit loop, still a great place for the family and we will return again. PS… NO DOGS ALLOWED. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
We stayed here during the winter and enjoyed the river view from our site. Very clean and well maintained. Sites are somewhat narrow and close together but each has a concrete pad with a picnic table. Great place to stay in summer to access the Guadalupe River for tubing, canoing, and swimming. Well stocked camp store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$40
Pretty, but pricey for size and quality of site. No cable, very few pull-thrus, poor navigation, no one available after 5 pm, and despite their Woodalls listing, NO PETS - they make this very clear after you get in the park, repeatedly with signage everyway. In fact, signage is their best feature... lots of rules. Sorry, I won't be back- I expect more from a site than this. No public restrooms, or showers on RV side either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
Was okay place but right next to the road and you could hear the traffic all night long. More for the people who like to tube. I probably wouldn't go back but doesn't mean that it's not a nice place. More for your party type people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
This is probably the nicest RV park on the River Road between Canyon Lake and New Braunfels. You can't beat the location by Huaco Springs and Slumber Falls. The staff is friendly and the sites are level. On crowded weekends in the peak season, I suspect they are tight. We were there in off season and could enjoy the beauty of the Guadalupe River in uncrowded conditions. The restroom facilities, though new, are not well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
The park is located on River Road, probably as close as you can to the river without putting pontoons on your camper. Roads were asphalt, sites were gravel with concrete pad for picnic table. The sites are large enough to park your trailer and then your tow vehicle beside it. Small grill on site. The grounds were clean, but tent campers destroyed the bathrooms by the weekend. River access is easy from the concrete ramps. There are shallow pools in the river perfect for small kids. We have a another trip scheduled in August... I can't wait. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com