214866 User submitted reviews online!!
J & D Campgrounds was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (570) 356-7700
CGID5265

J & D Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   10   8   8   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
This is a nearly perfect campground in a beautiful part of Pennsylvania. It is tightly controlled, but very clean and friendly. The cable is free, as is the Internet. Both are extremely strong...the cable has a hundred or so channels. Knoebels Amusement Park is 1.5 miles down the road. The ice cream store across the street has the best quality I have experienced, nearly anywhere. The only negatives are a small pool and office with limited supplies, due to size. It's quiet for adults and with Knoebels so close, a dream for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$49
We were here last year and the staff is still friendly & helpful.Sites are level, good hookups,good tv & cell reception, just up the road from Knobles amusement park.Have a small pool but nice. Restrooms clean.Only down side, office is tiny with very little supplies other than candy & marshmellows.So bring what you need, any parts or supplies will be about 1-1/2 miles or so away.Great ice cream place across from camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$47
This is a well planned family run campground. All sites are fairly level with a gravel surface. All the office people were very accommodating especially with our request to have some cousins stop by to visit with us. They have a very strict 5 mph rule which seems to be enforced just at the beginning of the campground where all the sites are seasonal/permanent campers. The speeder gets yelled at very loudly. This enforcement could be handled in a much nicer, more civilized manor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We stay here for a long weekend every summer with family. There are three 5th wheels between us. The campground is always full, but the owners seem to keep things under control. There is an employee in a golf cart who rides around almost all day, just checking on things. Our experience here is always pleasant, with the one exception that the pool is usually overcrowded. (Not much to be done about that.) The sites are all level, several pull-through, and shady. It's not fancy, but it's a nice place for families, very close to Knoebels, with a stream (with crayfish to try to catch - lots of fun for the kids), two playgrounds, and clean bathrooms. What more can you ask for? I would definitely recommend this campground. PS - not sure what rate we paid as my wonderful in-laws paid for us! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
We spent 4 nights here because Knoebels was booked full and it was the company picnic weekend. The staff was friendly, and it was a nice quiet campground. Made it here after dark and pretty much at the time the staff was going home. Checked in and they offered to stick around and help get us backed in if I needed it, although that wasn't necessary. Nice little stream running very close that the kids and dog played around in on the last day. The sole purpose of the trip was to spend time at the amusement park, which was less than 5 minutes away. I wouldn't hesitate for a moment though to come back to this park just to relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This was our fourth time here. They do have weekly or monthly rates which make it less expensive. While not a fancy park it is very well maintained and the owners and their family take pride in the place, are very friendly and helpful. Lots of shade but trees are very well trimmed for big rigs. Also plenty of open space and room for groups to have active games. Nice mini-golf, playground and pool - with a lifeguard! New free Wi-Fi this year and it works great! Small selection of food and RV parts in the office and a Creme-freeze across the street. We plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We had been trying to get to J & D for two years and finally found reservations for this past month. The park is VERY clean and quiet. Knoebels Amusement Park (wonderful by the way) is literally down the street from the campground, big plus if you have children. The pool was small but perfect for the children. Ice cream shop right across the street is nice. Our first impression was not that great because of the small office. Our site (16D) was also right across the dumpsters and hubby was not happy. A different site was offered a day later but by that time we had been set up and settled and we all know that that's not an easy thing to do. But with every disappointment, comes a bright side. We discovered a wonderful river right past the dumpsters and spent some time reading there. Overall, a nice park and would recommend it. Just don't expect it to look as nice as the website because it's not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is a very nice campground. The sites are very nice and shaded, the facilities are clean and modern, the pool is great. The wireless internet service works very well (a feature the was very appreciated when some severe storms were approaching), and the staff is very friendly. The best feature: NO GOLF CARTS racing around! Situated very close to Knoebel's Grove and other attractions, makes this a prime staging area for a great family vacation. We definitely will come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Nice large lot. Has lots of shade. People were friendly. It had a great ice cream parlor across the street. Mini golf was available. No cable TV or WiFi, but really didn't need it as we were here to go to Knoebles. Bath house was clean and modern. Plenty of room for hiking and bike riding. You will enjoy your stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
A nice enough cg. We were parked in the back, right next to a huge grass field that my husband enjoyed flying his RC plane on. While our site was one of the ones closest to the road, there was very little road noise. Really, the only problems were smells (mostly from a neighbor's poorly connected sewer hose: it had plastic wrap over it!!) and variable water pressure (although most of the time it was good enough). A bit pricey (we were NOT here for Knoebels), but fortunately our Verizon aircard worked OK here, so we didn't have to dish out another $3/day for their WiFi! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Worth the time to travel to this campground from the Interstate. It is Big Rig friendly and has very helpful staff. We wanted something in this part of PA that was quiet and interesting to explore. Great campground. Will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Spent a nice quiet weekend for early season trip to Knoebels Amusement Resort. Always enjoy our stays here and they continue to improve the park. They now have WiFi for $3 per day or $5 for the weekend. The nice lady at the desk said it will be free next year (2011). Even though very few people were here, the bathrooms were well kept and very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Very friendly and clean. Spacious lots and shaded. Close to Knobles and other attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
J & D Campground is one of our favorites. Although strict on rules this did not affect our stay. It is actually welcomed, some places are just too lackadaisical. We always look forward to our yearly stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
Still a great place to stay after all these years. They just keep getting better with age. We will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This is a great campground just down the road from Knoebel's Amusement park. Much closer than Lake Glory if you are looking for sewer hook ups. They are strict in their rules (don't mess with the grass) but we didn't have any problem with that. There was a bit of street noise at our campsite, but nothing too bad. Everything was clean, the pool and playground were nice. Wish it hadn't rained so much so we could have enjoyed it even more! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
This is a well manicured campground with a park-like feel to it. There are lots of grass, trees, and two ponds on the property. The campground was closing the day we pulled out, which may explain why the bathrooms were not as top-notch as the outside grounds. There are many seasonal sites here with only a couple junkie occupants. We only wish we could camp here more often. (800) 356-7700 We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
This was a very nice, quiet, well-kept park. We camped in a row that backed up to an open field, which gave plenty of space for our group's children to play. They are pretty clear on their rules and because of it, the park is very well kept, clean, quiet-- no golf carts racing up & down roads, etc. We played mini-golf, swam in the pool, and played in the playground. They also have two ponds: one for fishing (catch & release), and one just for feeding the fish. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
I liked this park very much. Great for walking. Owners take great pride in lovely lawns. Paved roads. Plenty of open lawns for children to play. RV parts store across the street as is an ice cream store owned by the same people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Nice basic campground five minutes from Knoebel's Amusement Park. We stayed in Section E, in a site that was well manicured and surrounded by nice shade trees. Park had a nice "country" feel and was quiet. The bath house facilities were dated, but mostly clean and acceptable. Staff was courteous, attentive, and helpful. We would definitely recommend this campground and would stay here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
We heard about Knobels amusement park from the PA visitors center, and decided to visit Knoble's. We had planned to go to the Knobel's campground but saw this one along the way and it looked like our kind of place from the road. It has mostly sites with mature shade trees. It has a nice playground and a nice fishing pond. They have a new row of sites that have new trees and good 50 amp service. Our satellite TV and satellite internet worked great from one these sites. The whole campground is pretty much level with great paved roads for bike riding. (The new section's road isn't paved yet, but I bet it will be soon.) Their information said they didn't have any pull-throughs, but it looked like 4 of the sites in the new area were pull-through sites. All the rest are definitely back-ins. There was a huge seasonal area, but all the campsites were tidy. Not a scary seasonal area like you see in some campgrounds. Actually most of seasonal sites had RV's but no people, so I'm guessing people from the area rent a seasonal site for the summer, put their RV out there and go for the weekends. We'll definitely go back there some day when we are in the northeast again. We arrived late on Tuesday, took the kids to Knobel's that night then decided to stay an extra night so the kids could go back to Knobel's the next day. Knobel's is about a mile from the campground and our kids loved it all! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
This park is very close to Knoebels, which is the best thing about it. We were not advised that you are not allowed to set up tents until after we had paid for the five days we stayed. The campground literature even shows a picture of a tent. The pool was nice, but there is NO shade available, except for the lifeguard. There are two bathroom facilities. One is a lot nicer than the other one. There are also scheduled activities for the family and the children. We liked the campground, but felt that there were too many "rules" and that families were not as welcome in general. The majority of the guests were elderly. Also, we found that a few of the seasonal guests were a little rude. They allowed their pets to roam freely in our campsite and we had one guy visit us late at night a couple times, without being invited. We won't stay here again because we think there are better campgrounds in the immediate area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Great overall campground. Very clean and friendly staff. Close proximity to Knoebel's Amusement Park. Very family friendly campground, nice pool. Would definitely stay there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
This campground is easy to get in and out of. The campground is clean with blacktop, gravel, and grass. It is located just a mile from the greatest amusement park in the world, Knoebels. We go here at least once a year and sometimes more. Definitely a keeper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com