221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Covered Wagon Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (785) 263-2343
CGID5273

Covered Wagon Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   7   5   8   7   8   8   2   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
This is an older park that is in need of some serious infrastructure TLC. The roads are gravel, but the edges and turns in the road are rutted and when it rains, it's like driving in a mud bath. I spent an hour scraping the stone-encrusted mud off of my tires. There are 3 types of sites: seasonal residents located in a shaded area at the front of the park; long gravel transient sites in front of the Self Storage building that have grass in between the sites and are fairly level; at the south end of the park, sites on a large mound of gravel, raised up several feet, where your wheels and front legs sit on opposite sides of the hill and leveling can be a challenge. There is no grass between the sites, and sites are opposing so you are facing the doorway of your next door neighbor. Almost all of these sites are occupied by working families, so work trucks abound, sometimes making navigation tricky. There are lots of children running about so you need to drive carefully and slowly during the day. Weekends are like ‘party central’. On the plus side, the water pressure, cable TV, and Verizon signals were great. The park is very close to several of the main attractions in Abilene; the Eisenhower Museum, Greyhound Hall of Fame, Old Abilene Town. There is a small swimming pool, the water is bright and clear, but there were some leaves sitting on the bottom. On the negative side, the ‘big rig’ access should be taken with a grain of salt, as the roads are narrow and winding. The exit route is like following a snake trail (or you can cheat and exit via site #15 and the main entrance). A double tracked main rail line runs through town. At the road crossings the train horns are loud, long, and at all hours of the day and night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
It was our misfortune to arrive at the campground during an unusual monsoon type rain. After paying our fee ( no discounts offered and only check or cash accepted ) we headed toward our site. We attempted to pull into the site per the directions at the office and we could see that the hook-ups for our rig would ALL be on the wrong side. We then looped around to come in from the other direction and while attempting to avoid one of the park homesteaders trucks ( 50% or better are homesteaders ) that stuck out into the driveway, we became stuck in the grass. Fortunately the park owner has a towing company and at no charge, we were pulled out. I think that the check in guy/ tow truck driver learned something about the park layout ( ie. that rigs need to park in alternating directions ). The sites are almost level, gravel but VERY soft when wet. There are lots of trains/train whistles to be heard throughout the nite and day. Based on the many kids bikes laying around the various sites, I’d guess that the park caters to a high number of local workers. They weren’t obvious during our stay because it rained both days and nights but the sites are so close together we could hear doors slamming and conversations. I think that I calculated that the park is 4/10ths of a mile from the Eisenhower home and museum and the Greyhound Museum. The museum offers adequate parking and charges $10.00 per person to see everything. My Garmin had the park on the left side of South Buckeye after leaving the interstate but fortunately my wife’s Google phone map listed it on the right ( correct ) side. They offer Tengo net but it’s so weak/limited that it’s not worth fooling with. The sites are too close to each other at our site. Our Verizon cell and mi-fi connected with 4 bars. The water pressure is listed at 75 lbs. and a pressure reducer is highly recommended. The park is just fine for us for a two nite visit to the museum and to visit the Russell Stover Factory down the road but this one visit/experience is more than enough. We did have a great meal at Joe Snuffy’s on first street and would recommend this eatery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
While definitely lacking in ambiance, it is within easy walking distance (just 4 blocks) from the Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum It was our main reason for stopping in Abilene. Owner could not be more charming and helpful. Recommend people request pull-thru sites in rear of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Stone lot in town, shaded, close to road. Next lots are close. Wi-Fi is Tengo - so blah. Pool looked okay, good cable, close to museums. Would consider someplace else next time. Lot next door had one kid, two teenagers, two dogs, and four adults in a 1978 class C just purchased for $300 - so experience was rather marginal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Good overnight in well kept park. Sites are level and easy to get in and out. Cable and Wi-Fi are excellent. Enjoyed being within walking distance of the Eisenhower Museum and Library. Do be aware there are trains and they do serve as alarm clocks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Good park for the rate. Note: pull ALL the way through the park as the nicer pull-through sites are toward the rear of the park. Long term residents and rough toward the front of park. Some train noise but no road noise. Good overnight accommodations away from the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
I thought this was a nice little park. It was quiet; most of the people were just passing through for one night or staying over the weekend. We stayed two weeks and found that during the day we were the only ones there; of course it could be because we were there off season. There was a small park area which consisted of a swingset, horseshoe pit, and grass. Overall it seemed to be well kept and clean. I only have two small complaints. The first is that the water pressure was low at times, nothing too horrible but enough to be inconvenient. The second is that our particular site was overrun with weeds, every time I went out to walk the dogs I came in with itchy feet and legs because of the weeds. I saw someone mowing the grass on a couple of occasions and I'm not sure why they never came over to mow down the tall weeds near us. When it comes down to it neither of those things would deter us from staying here again. For $26 a night we got full hookups with 50 amp, strong Wi-Fi, and cable, I think it was a great deal. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Abilene. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
This campground is mix of shaded and open sites. We were offered a shaded site and took it, since the temps were in the 100's when we were here. The site was level and long. The Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
The only positive we can say about this campground is its proximity to the Eisenhower Library and Museum, which is only a block or two away. This is a bare-bones campground with most of the sites in an open field. We had a long, level, pull-through site fully exposed to the hot sun and Kansas winds. The campground is in poor condition overall, although all of our utilities worked fine. The owners are attempting to sell the campground and the storage facility which shares the property. If you need a place to stay for one night, it is bearable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Old and tired. Glad one of the pull throughs were empty or else would have been a royal pain to get to pull throughs in back. Stay as far left as you can before you enter as entry is narrow and has no room to swing. Pluses were that it was a level 50 amp site and owner explained what they do and where you go during bad weather. Would stay again but not my first choice if there were more options in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
This is a very nice little park and conveniently located next to the Eisenhower Library and Old Abilene. Restrooms are very clean and the grounds well kept. Very quiet at night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Bathrooms have been updated and are nice. Sites are gravel and level. Choice of shaded or open space. Wi-Fi worked very well. Cable TV was very good. We were pleasantly surprised by this campground. Walkable distance (3 blks) to the Eisenhower Museum and Library. Large book exchange library at CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
This is a no frills park that is very convenient if you are planning on visiting the Eisenhower Museum and Library. It isn't a fancy place, but the person who checked us in was efficient and pleasant. There is free wi-fi and cable. We were parked in the back portion of the park on an exceptionally long pull-through. All the roads and sites are gravel, but our site was quite flat. We had no problems getting satellite reception, but sites in the the front part are shaded by large trees and that could be an issue. When we were here there were only a couple of long term residents, and the entire park was was clean and neat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Nice small park close to the Eisenhower Library. Long pull through with 50 amp power, water, sewer. Good place for a day or two. Some of the other posts have the two places in Abilene confused. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
$27 night is available for AAA only. No other discounts. We are not AAA members so do not know the discount rate. Previous comments said park was full of transient workers. This comment was made in 2010. There were about a total of ten RV's in park. No kids. No transients or permanents. We were pleasantly surprised. Good place to walk a dog and lots of nice grassy areas. Dust was not a problem. Roads were gravel. Only drawback was that I asked for a site with no trees so that we could obtain satellite service. Had a spot where we could not receive satellite signal due to tree in the way. Hooked up to cable so all was well. Would have given it a 10 but host should have known which sites could obtain cable and sites that could not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Old, run down park, full of permanent residents. Lots of kids and barking dogs. Sites are very small and close together, roads are very dusty. Perhaps the worst park we have every stayed at. Planned to stay 2 nights, but left after one. We will never even consider this park again. "Resort"?? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Park was almost full of transient workers. The people next to us tied up their dog outside and let it bark! The sites are rather narrow. Price seemed high for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
We just did an overnight in this older, kind of run down campground. The roads and site were pot holed and bumpy. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Really not impressed with this campground. It needs a lot of TLC. In reading the rules they say to have your pet on a leash & pick up after them. The first time I walked around in the grass: you guessed it, I stepped in dog crap. The good thing about the park is they have excellent water pressure, 75 pounds so make sure you have a regulator. You must drive through town to reach this park and getting in is a little testy if someone else is coming out. Strictly a one-way very narrow road with lots of pot holes. Don't think we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
We just did an overnight stay at this park. It was a little off the beaten path. The facility was cleaned and well maintained, even had a swimming pool and cable. Didn't have any trouble maneuvering our rig around the park. When we come through this area we plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We stayed here in a motor home while attending a greyhound event. It was very convenient to local attractions (Greyhound Hall of Fame is within walking distance) as well as downtown. The campground is a stop for the trolley that takes tours of the area. The campground was clean. It's not the prettiest place, but was perfect for our needs. The staff was very nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
A little off the beaten path, but easy to find. Entrance a little tight for a large rig. Park has two sections, one in the shade and one in the open for satellite purposes. We chose the latter. Park appears well maintained. Staff very helpful. We were just there for a layover so our purposes were served. Would definitely return. They accept all discounts except Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Long, gravel pull-thru's at the back of the park. Entrance sign not clearly visible, OK for 1 night stay. Not much to choose from in Abilene. Only stayed because visiting family. Very foul water smell like sulfur, took 2-3 days to clear from RV faucets, tasted horrible. Grass had the same smell - had to bathe our dogs. Will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This park is just down the street from the Eisenhower Library and a short drive to downtown. Portions of the park are treed, and a little tricky to get into. We had to disconnect our toad to get parked properly. We asked about any storm shelter on the grounds. They suggested going to the court house which was a few blocks down the road. Fortunately, we didn't have a storm that night. Dog walking is fine on the back half of the property. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Convenient to the Eisenhower museum and library. Quiet and peaceful park right in the heart of town. Staff were very friendly. Abilene does not do anything on Mondays!. The trolley does not run. Attractions are and museums (not Eisenhower) are closed. The old west town is out of business and the buildings are falling down yet Abilene still advertises it. The campground is nice and we would stay here again but not on a Sunday-Monday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
A fairly clean RV park. Friendly management. Level and wide sites, gravel roads. This is a quiet park. Located 3 blocks from the Eisenhower Library/Museum. This is a easy in and out park. They have WiFi, however antennas are located on the office and the restroom/laundry building which means you had better be located in the front portion of the park. I was in the rear section and there was NO WiFi coverage here. Check to see where your site will be before paying to be sure you can get WiFi coverage if that is important to you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Truth in advertising/deceptive advertising?? When a park offers a service, they should offer it completely. WIFI, that thing that has taken us from the shabby little room with a phone connection, to the comfort of our own RV. This park says they have WIFI, they really don't, they have 2 antennas, one at the bath house the other in the big rig site. By there own admission the only place you can get WIFI to work, is in the office. An office which seemed to be closed much more then it was open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Clean park with plenty of room at the pull-through sites. Friendly staff. Located on the south edge of town and within walking distance to Eisenhower Center, but not a lot of traffic noise. Nothing fancy, but more than adequate for several days' stay. Heck, who would want to stay in Abilene longer than that anyway? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Stayed on the way back home. Very nice owner, we called ahead and when we asked about pizza places they took the time to look up some numbers so we could have pizza delivered to the site. Small pool, but good enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Gravel wide access roads. Friendly, efficient office. There are two parts to campground. Front part of campground near office is in trees and are the wider sites. Back part of campground has an open aspect with long gravel pull-thru sites with one row having grass between sites, the other row was all gravel. All sites were level and most had full hook-up. The campground lacked ambience and could have done with a little more maintenance but a good location to visit the Eisenhower Museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
Nice park very close to the Eisenhower Center. Friendly office lady. WiFi a little iffy. Restrooms are being remodeled and when done will be like new. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$21
Very nice people, great park, nice pool, great area to visit We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
Trees are maturing. Large, level sites with all utilities. In town near Eisenhower center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com