218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Prospect RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (303) 424-4414
CGID5276

Prospect RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   7   9   8   7   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Very nice, level sites on gravel immediately adjacent to a large park with a pond, where dogs could be walked. Immaculate private showers and bathrooms. Very quiet even though quite close to I-70. Office staff went above and beyond to help guests. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
This is a family run campground for over 35 years so they have many return campers. I loved the access to the huge park adjacent to the campground. Laundry facilities very reasonable. Nice to have individual bathrooms. We only stayed two nights because we needed to have better internet which this park definitely did not have. They didn't even ask for money upfront since we were unsure how long we were going to stay. Very gracious about why we needed to leave. Sites are a little small but it is an older park. They do have a weekly rate which is nice. If the internet had been better we absolutely would have stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
You'll notice the owners of this facility do not promise anything they don't deliver. They are not a "Resort" and don't make like they want to be one. The spaces are gravel but level and clean. Connections are good and well placed. WiFi worked well for the nine days we spent there. Semi-private, key operated bathrooms were always clean and cared for. The laundry was large enough a seemed to be all relatively new machines. There is a nice dog park just a few feet away - even has doggie bags. A great place to stroll or exercise. Not too crowded or too empty. They are dog friendly, but, I do wish some of the owners of dogs would clean up after them better. We found no shortage of bags and disposal spots yet many chose not to use them in the park area. We had no problem in the camp area. Some spaces are fully long/full time but that was fine with us. We met nice people each day, I highly recommend you use this park if you want to be close in and convenient to the big city. If that is not what you want, go somewhere else. We had family in the area and enjoyed being close. We were close to downtown and shopping. We had a great visit. Finally, the office staff and maintenance staff were always pleasant and helpful. They don't always sit in the office; they take short walks or help residents with problems. They were always right back and willing to help. More like being at home than being in a commercial park. Thanks to them, for making our stay better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
We've stayed at this RV Park several times before and when in the area we will stay again. It's not fancy, but the sites which are gravel have full hookups with a picnic table. One of the best aspects of this park is that it is located on the Wheat Ridge bike/walking trail along Clear Creek and there are several lakes there, as well for some good walking and relaxing. It is like camping in the woods and is just off of I70 far enough so that there is no highway noise. The $37 rate includes tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Tightly spaced park in an urban area, but OK for a few days if you need to be in the area. I wouldn't want to try to shoehorn a big rig into this park. It seems to be mostly filled with long-term residents, and few transient sites are available. Most transient sites are W/E only. Rabbits have overrun the park and can be seen everywhere, but didn't cause us any problems. Lots of shade trees. Management is friendly despite their unfriendly-sounding signs in the bathrooms ("This is not your private bathroom: Get in and get out, 10 minutes max." and "If you don't like the free Wi-Fi, feel free to purchase your own.") There aren't many choices in the Denver area, and this place worked OK but isn't particularly attractive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This RV Park is located outside of Denver. It's convenient to shopping and sightseeing. The spaces are tight, but we were able to maneuver in and out without issue. It's adjacent to a beautiful city park. The owner, is a gem. She even referred me to her dentist when my crown fell out. The laundry was clean and $1.25 to wash and $1.25 to dry. The grounds were well kept. I'd definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$19
What a jewel! We are spending 4 months in the area to visit our daughter and meet up with other family members and this place, even though it's a bit rustic, is in a great location in the city, hike and bike path and lakes are a few steps away. I love this place, and the owner/manager, Nancy is a true blue angel. Lovely person! I would have giving this place a 10, but it doesn't have a pool/hot tub and not paved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
This is an older park with very tight spaces for the many seasonal and few nightly campers. The services are shared for some and the Wi-Fi although a strong signal does not work well. We would have rated this park quite poorly if it had not been for the manager that is more than accommodating to your needs and tries very hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29+
Great location for being so close to Denver, next to Prospect Park and a greenbelt area with walking trails. Park manager was very friendly and helpful and more than made up for a mistake in our reservations. One minor dislike was being assigned to a specific bathroom, which if in use, would not allow us to access one not in use. Overall, a well maintained park, probably the best in the area, and we would not hesitate to stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Prospect RV Park is located off of a very busy ( 44th Ave ) in Wheat Ridge and is a very old and popular park for the locals. For this evaluator, it didn’t give us the impression of camping but rather of being in a very tight, dusty gravel parking lot surrounded on all sides by homesteaders/long term campers. They do have good electric, their water pressure is high ( pressure reducer strongly recommended ), there were no bothersome highway or train noises, contrary to a previous reviewers comment, and they have the unique feature of one of the best large, individually assigned shower/bathrooms facility assessable with a personal key that we have ever encountered in 7 years of RVing. There were no discern able in park activities as everyone here seems to get up and go off to work in the AM, return in the PM and close their doors to repeat the process the next day. They are adjacent to the city owned Prospect Lake and park and you can to exercise a pet or yourself with a walk or a bike ride about the lake. On the down side, our site was very narrow, we never could fully extend our awnings and we had to run both our power and water connections under the rig. We chose this campground because of its relative proximity to our extended family and it definitely met our needs. In our opinion, it is the best of the moderately priced Denver area campgrounds and based on their high occupancy rate, reservations and a reconfirming phone call is strongly recommended. If in the area, we would use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The park has easy access of I-70 and is located near Prospect Park and other retailers. It may not have perfectly level spots or all the fancy updates, but the staff more than make up for perceived lack. Only stayed a few days however after the nightmare of the Flying Saucer, Prospect Park was a pure joy and we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
We stayed at this RV park for five nights. Prospect Place is near I-70. It has 65 sites surrounding a private residence. Some are full hookup, others have electric and water only. WI-FI is free and numerous local DTV stations can be easily received. There is a dump station which is free to park patrons. Two spaces are reserved for one night stays. Though the official name is RV park and campground, a sign indicated “no tent sites.” The entire area is gravel surfaced and some of the sites are very close together but there are some trees and the place is immaculately clean and quiet. One feature we found unique among all the public and private campgrounds we've stayed at over the years are the “private” bathrooms assigned to each site. The laundry room and 8 bathrooms are located in a building next to the office. To enter one must first punch in a door code and then use a key give to you at check-in to access the specific bathroom assigned to the site. The bathroom contains toilet, sink and shower. The bathrooms and the laundry room which has 6 full size washers and 4 dryers were also immaculate. When we reserved our site we spoke with a very personable agent. She refused to take our credit card # in case we experienced a delay or change in plans which worried us a bit but when we arrived, she had our reservation intact. Unlike many other parks, we were not required to pay for our stay in advance. The office staff gave us recommendations for local places to get a propane refill and an oil change. We used both and were completely satisfied with the service and friendliness of the proprietors. In a past visit to Denver we stayed at Chatfield State Park which is a little further out from the city than The Prospect. While we liked Chatfield and also would probably like Cherry Creek SP, neither had sites available for the dates we needed so we felt very lucky to learn about The Prospect. Since the state parks charge a daily vehicle pass fee plus a reservation fee in addition to the cost of the campsite, The Prospect turned out to be considerably less expensive. There is a greenspace park around the corner with wildlife viewing and fishing. Also nearby is a Camping World and a TA truck stop and a produce market as well as other gas stations and some restaurants and take out places. We're glad we found Prospect Place and would definitely stay here the next time we visit Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We have stayed at this park for the past 5 years. We find this park to be the best place to stay, with friendly and helpful staff. We would not stay at any other park in the area, as they are not user friendly. Before we found Prospect RV Park, we did stay at a couple of other parks and found them not too user friendly, ie; not being able to use a awning. At Prospect Park awning use is acceptable. We alway have a space reserved for us, on any day we request in advance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
This was an acceptable place to stay except for one major problem - TRAIN NOISE. The trains were so frequent that we got very little sleep. We'll never stay here again; our sleep is too valuable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
This is an excellent park. We have stayed in this campground every year since 2005. We are always guaranteed a space, even though this park is usually full year around. I recommend this park over all other parks in the area. It is easy in and out. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Watch out! if you are here in the summer, be sure to have a voltage meter. Our power dropped to 106 volts when the microwave was on. We never did use the AC even tho it was 90 outside. Best reading was 115v at midnight- never saw 120. Previous reviews are correct, the place is all gravel and very tight. Location is helpful, close to Camping World and nice local park. Private bathrooms are good, laundry cheap but rundown. Consider this dump for overnight only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
We stayed here 13 nights as we wanted to see a lot of the Rockies and Denver. Positives - one of the nicest laundry rooms in the 3 yrs we have been RVing. Negatives: Mostly full-timers - some sites in disarray. Very crowded! When we checked in our neighbor (a long term resident) had a leaking sewer hose - yuck. We notified the manager who notified the owner of the RV. We loaned him duct tape for a temp fix - he said he would get a new hose - never did the entire time we were there. Great location to visit the area but definitely not a park you sit out and enjoy the evening because of the crowding. Sites not very long. We had to unhook our trailer. No charge to store up front which was nice. Other items were also stored up front (boats, RVs, trucks, trailers etc). Would recommend this as an overnight only as it is easy access off of the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Old park, gravel sites, gravel roads. This is a VERY basic park but it is convenient on and off and good for a couple of days. There really aren't as many sites as they say because they put us (and everyone else in our row) in two sites because they were so short. The woman in the office is one of the nicest and most accommodating I've ever run across. I would definitely stay here again if in the area. The Wi-Fi was very reliable. Verizon service good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Stopped here over night. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Park is quite cramped, with many a 'permanent camper.' Looks like park is essentially the owners' backyard . Maneuvering a big rig through the narrow roads in the park, as well as in and out of the sites is tricky (had to have the neighbor move their car for us to be able to get in & out. (Our rig is 39ft MH, toad unhooked). Sites VERY cramped, and hookups shared. OK for a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This RV park is located just off of I-70 and adjacent to the Wheat Ridge Greenbelt Trail. There are 4 small lakes and miles of walking/bike trails to make a stay here most comfortable. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Be sure to call ahead for reservations as it is a very popular RV park. We stayed there on Oct 2008 the first time and came back again and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
If you’re looking for a park, in Denver, your options are very limited, so is this RV park. The grounds were entirely gravel and set up in such a way that you shared water and electric with your neighbor, but your sewer connection was on the opposite side. The pull-through sites were set at right angles, about 40x15, so you had an option as to which way you pulled in, and what you wanted to run under your rig, to hook up. If you have a 5th wheel, travel trailer, or a towed, you won’t fit without unhooking. Get friendly with your neighbors, because some one will probably have to make room for you to get out, when you’re ready to leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
The only high spot here is the very friendly office staff. The park seems to be a full-time trailer park, with many old tired-looking rigs and no one around. The transient sites are in a crummy corner facing a fence with old lumber and stuff piled up. There are no views of a park, no park-like setting. Some of the permanent sites are nice, but the transient sites are very tight, bare minimum. Laundry room is OK, cheap. Park as a whole feels neglected. Market within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
We stayed here a month while working in downtown Denver. Easy access to the city, shopping, and bike trails. Very friendly people to deal with. Make sure you have a good quality water hose since they have high water pressure and will complain if yours is leaking. This is an old park with gravel sites and drive ways. Any amount of precipitation makes for a huge lake at the entry of the park. The pet area is not convenient. It does have direct access to the Wheat Ridge paved bike trail. A short walk to a playground. Terrible washers and dryers which are always used by the full timers. However there is a nice place to wash clothes close by. Good section of town, I felt safe on the bike trail with my toddler. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
Fantastic place to stay. I highly recommend it. The staff was fantastic. The park is quiet but the neighbors are also friendly. I can not recommend it enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
Very convenient to just about everything you need. Spaces very tight; lots of shade; nicely kept up. 30 amps only. Best part is park's location next to open, beautiful green space. There are lakes, creeks, children's play area, fantastic place to jog or dog walking, and riding bikes. We took lots of photos. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Restrooms & Showers are interesting. There are 8 private bathrooms, but you are given a key to only one. Had some trouble with the one that was occupied was the one we had the key for. Our site was great. Real nice shade trees. Site seemed level and was dirt with gravel. Roads had so chuck holes but not real bad. Sites only offer 30 amp. Park sis on a major street but didn't notice road noise, we were at the back of the park next to a city park. Park's Wifi didn't work at all for us, but it is free. Owners very friendly. Park is maintained. We stayed 2 weeks to rest up from traveling. Good location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Gravel pull throughs in a trailer park with many long-term residents. Management is sort of laid back and the park has seen better days. Sites are very close together and parking is limited. Does have lots of mature shade trees and abuts a large city park with bike paths and playground. A great place to walk dogs. Close to Walmart, Camping World, and downtown Denver. An OK place to stay for a few days to see the local sights. The place was full or nearly so every night, so reservations are recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
I would have given this campground higher marks except when we went to confirm our reservation for this summer, the management in essence told us that they wouldn't honor it because we stayed locally at another campground over the winter rather than with them. The good things about Prospect Park include their private shower/bathrooms - always hot and nice to have a door and private facilities. They also have the cheapest washing and drying machines in the area at .75 cents each. The management also keeps several bookshelves as a lending library for guests. Each spot has a tree, most are pull-thrus and there is a dump station. Outside propane tanks are allowed. I also liked that they are located by a beautiful greenbelt with parks and walking trails. If you stay here in the summer and see Don working out in the garden behind the park, be sure to say hi - he's a fountain of knowledge about the area and flowers. The entire site is gray gravel, with gray buildings and barbed wire around the whole site - it is rather like a prison. The area is not pleasant - truck stops, x-rated video stores, etc. so you can't walk to anything. The WIFI may have been free but we could never access it all the months we were there - I have a mac and it couldn't connect and the pc never could get a reliable signal. The electric situation is very bad - everyone in the area (electricians, Camping World employees and other campgrounds) all say that the camp was never rigged properly - using pigtails in the boxes for 50 amps rather than wiring them correctly. Be sure to meter if you are in a rig that drains a lot of power. All summer they had rolling blackouts - which meant one of us always had to stay. The tenants were all nice and quiet, though, and we met some very pleasant folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
I love this park. I stayed here for 3 months and loved it. If you like lots of shade, this is your park. It's kind of run down as far as level sites but there's just something about this place that gives it charm. It's one of my favorite RV parks I've stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
We were pleasantly surprised at this park. We moved to this park without a reservation, to get away from the park from hell. (See other review) Even though it is within the metro Denver area, it felt as though we were secluded and out of town. It's located on the banks of a creek, with bike paths connecting to various lakes, and next to a lovely city park. Great things for kids to do, playground, fishing, hiking, and still close to shopping, and easy access into downtown Denver. If you want to visit downtown, THIS is the place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
Not a great park but is close to the city. Sites are very close together and small so where to park the tow or towed vehicle seems to be a problem for many in the park, causing difficulty manuevering through the park. The owner is very friendly and accommodating but the maintenance man seemed to have difficulty understanding that the 30 amp plug needed replaced because it didn't sizzle when I plugged it in but rather it sizzled while it was plugged in. Seems like there may be several full timers here. I would stay here again because of location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Decent RV park about 12 miles west of Denver. Similar to other urban RV parks, it's not too fancy an the sites are close together. The wi-fi is free, but doesn't always work. There's a $2/day charge for A/C which I think is a bit much for 30amp. We had a package shipped here which got refused by the office mgr's mom who doesn't really know what's going on. Several rigs look like long-timers. Park has been full since we got here on a Sunday, so make reservations if you're looking for a park with wifi in the Denver area. I would probably stay here again, but in cooler weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com