221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Larkspur was rated 6 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (720) 325-2393
CGID528

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Larkspur

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   8   5   6   4   9   3   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$60
Family/kid friendly. If you have kids who like to swim in a warm pool, like hay rides, parks, and a bouncer/trampoline, this is the place for you. Our kids had a blast. Pros - activities, pancake breakfast, clean restrooms. The sites are level, well-shaded, and although close together, they did a great job separating them with trees. Cons - the biggest was no fire rings at individual campsites - instead, you had to walk (or rent a golf cart, as many did) to a common area and use a fire ring there. Impossible to sit around the fire while the kids are asleep inside, or to start a fire in the morning while the rest of the family is still getting up. The other con - it was right next to I-25 and a busy train track. Even though we had layers of trees blocking the views, the trains were loud and frequent (seemed to be at least every 30 minutes). We would likely return, primarily for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
I have been RV'ing for over 25 years and can say this was the worst place I have ever stayed. Check in took forever as lady did not know how to work a computer and had to keep re-trying. Only positive was escort to site, as it would be hard using map provided. Sites were so un-level that rear tires were a foot off ground and still not level. So many untrimmed trees that slide out could not be moved until I went out and cut limbs back. After moving rig two times and using all blocks I could find it did level up. Then came three days of kids running around in golf carts unsupervised. Kids shooting off fireworks when it was against campground rules. No one from campground was ever seen trying to stop kids from running wild. I have stayed at the YB park in Wichita Falls Texas and had a great time. This one, not so much. I will go out of my way by 100 miles so as NEVER to stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
First, we are Huge Jellystone park fans. Have been for decades. The owners of this campground are super friendly and we enjoyed their hospitality. This campground just doesn't seem as groomed as others we have visited. The sites seem wedged into the sloping terrain, and heaven help you should it rain (a regular occurrence) as this place will get muddy fast. While there are a number of activities advertised at the campground, they do not live up to the Jellystone norm. Where most parks have a large common hall for movies and activities, this location has a caboose, which was much too small. While we did watch a VHS movie on their small TV, a movie on the big screen in my coach would have been a better experience. This park is famours for having a busy train track running along it's eastern edge. The trains never blew a whistle and were never a disturbance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
Easy to get to, right by the freeway, but not loud. It actually feels like you're in the forest even though you're in the middle of the city. Staff was friendly at check in and around the park. Biggest complaint and the reason I wouldn't stay here again, is the hills. Most of the sites appeared small and some would require backing downhill into your spot. The escort taking me to my site drove the golf cart up the huge hill so slow that just before I reached the top I lost traction and couldn't make it over the top, I had to back down the hill and come up with more speed to make it. Trees were so close in the spots that an awning couldn't be put out, but there is enough shade that it isn't needed. There wasn't a lot of choices in this area and this one was ok, would stay here again if we had to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$63
If you are going here to see Yogi Bear then it is fine... otherwise, I'd find somewhere else. The activities described on the website did not even come close in real life. The "slide" is some plastic on a hill into a mud puddle. The pool was ok, but small and did not seem heated. The fishing pond is only ok, if it is your first time fishing. Movie night is a 27" TV and a VHS tape. None of the other activities were scheduled while we were there. Fire department removed most fire rings. The staff was friendly. Renting a golf cart was a big hit. Disc golf was fun. Yogi was fun. Dog park was nice. The site you get is going to affect your opinion of this park a lot. It is on a pretty good sized hill with spots carved out wherever they could. Anywhere up the hill has lots of trees and are well separated. Some sites are big with easy parking and others are very narrow with difficult parking. At the bottom of the hill it is pretty open but most of the spots seemed cramped. We were in 110, which was narrow, but is the last site before a road so it felt big. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$55
Other than being way overpriced and the fact that it is right next door to some very busy railroad tracks, it is not as bad as some reviews I've read. The staff was friendly and helpful and the site (175) had a beautiful view. It was safe and during the summer I'm sure it has a bunch of stuff to do for families. However, we used it for location as it is close to relatives in Castle Rock and there are simply not a lot of RV parks around here. Don't know if we'll stay here again but not a horrible experience all in all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
My Army daughter and her husband came from Georgia to visit with myself and her brothers stationed at Ft Carson. The Staff and owners went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. We really liked the all-you-can eat pancakes every morning for only $3.50 with complimentary coffee. I am used to campgrounds with landscaping and grass...but I realized when talking to the owner that this is kept as natural as possible as to not upset the eco balance. No fake bushes or flowers...the sites are private with scrub oak separating them. We loved the Rescue Goat program and heard that they expect a bunch new babies spring 2013, so we are coming back!! We also loved learning about the history of the land and the railroad running in front of the park. This park is very unique with a ranch and a real cowboy! We felt a genuine down-home attitude and are excited about the plans to improve and increase the outdoor family education they have in mind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
Way too expensive for what is offered. Hilly area for a R.V. park. All gravel roads that are OH so steep. Narrow sites when using slide outs.Lots of highway and train noise as the tracks are right beside the property. It was rather warm and I checked the voltage out after my A/C kicked the breaker out on my motorhome. Power was Very low. I contacted the staff, when they checked it out they agreed but what can they do. I worried about burning out my compressor on the A/C with the low voltage. I would Not camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$49
We stayed here 3 days so we could attend graduation at the Airforce Academy in Colorado Springs. Interior roads were extremely rough, sites narrow and not level. We would not have had room to put out a slide if we had one. Bathrooms and showers were clean, but laundry was not. They had a sewer issue while we were there and locked all the sewer caps while they worked on it, which was fine. They didn't unlock them all when finished and it took an hour, 2 phone calls and a trip to the office to get someone to unlock the cap so I could dump our tanks when we got ready to leave. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$48
Very unimpressed with this campground. Entrance and interior gravel roads in horrible condition - no problem with 5 MPH limit - faster than that the RV might have shaken apart. We have a triple-slide 36' MH and the "premium" site we had was probably the 2nd worse I've ever seen - the sites had 10-12' high "privacy" shrubs/trees in between each site, approx 10' wide as well. This made our site so narrow that slides on 1 side were in in the shrubs (so I had to crawl under slides to get to electric/water/sewer) and I had less than 3' to walk through on the other side. Also the sites were very unlevel - had to drive up on boards to get even close to level. Upon arrival the staff first positioned me so that entrance step was less than 1' from the fire ring! While they had lots of kids activities, they were generally very unorganized and they did not have enough supplies. Activities like the family hay-ride were not impressive either. Would not ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
The best sites are on top of a hill, furthest from the railroad tracks that are used constantly by long, noisy freight trains. Sites are narrow, fire rings are placed too close to the neighboring sites so you have your neighbors get together right outside your window. Sites are NOT level as you go up the hill and if you want a pull through and have a trailer with low ground clearance- forget it. You have to go up one side of the hill on a very narrow road and half way down the other side. This park was not designed for today's RVs with slideouts. They don't maintain their road, which is extremely rutted due to rain (natural speed bumps), the bark park is unusable by any dog of less than about 25 # as they can slip through the fence. No chicken wire to prevent that. My dogs were not able to play in there as they are 7 & 18 pounds and got through the fence easily. Like another reviewer said, kids' activities are haphazard at best and they ran out of s'mores at the bonfire early. To their credit, the rangers did help me solve a problem with my water heater without charging me. Being less than 100' from the railroad tracks was a challenge. Thankfully, I was only there at night. They are WAY too expensive for the amenities they offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
We have stayed here before because it is close to our friends' home. However, we think they raised their prices too high since it is right next to the railroad tracks and trains go through all day and night. Since they are so high we just stayed one night and then moved to the State Park in the Denver area. Nice staff and very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
Absolutely a 10. This is a great location with easy access to Denver and back down to Colorado Springs. Yes, there is some highway noise and some train noise and I was at the very front facing railroad and interstate and had absolutely no trouble sleeping. My girls 7 and 4 had the best time with Yogi showing up at our campsite for several minutes for my 4 yr olds birthday breakfast. All office staff, field reps, campers had a smiles from ear to ear. Will do it again with my 35ft Jayco travel trailer. A+ pool, laundry, location, friendly Yogi team. My wife and kids are looking forward for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
My family and I have just spent an absolutely wonderful weekend at the Jellystone Park in Larkspur. We celebrated our youngest son's fifth birthday here yesterday and he said it was his best birthday ever! Our site was clean and large. The views were beautiful. I had a great escort to my site and parked and set up with ease. This means a lot to me as I drive and set up our motorhome while my husband is at work. Any extra help that I can get is great. My parents came up from Denver for the day and we had so much fun. We rented a golf cart and used it to easily get anywhere we wanted to go. We started out with a pancake breakfast in the morning followed by a visit to the goats and the tipi village for a story and a chance for the kids to draw a picture of their experience with the goats. The kids learned a lot about goats and didn't even realize they were learning. Later, we decorated our golf cart in a Mardi Gras theme and met at the ranger station for a golf cart parade around the campground. My kids had so much fun decorating the cart with Grandpa and throwing candy to the kids around the camp. It was a memory that will last a lifetime for us. Those are the moments that we try to capture when we camp. After our parade we went to the caboose for a Cajun Food tasting event. We tried Sausage Gumbo and Red Beans and Rice. There were several options and they were all delicious! We didn't even realize how much we liked Cajun food and are going to look up some of the recipes. This really added to the experience. I had lined up at the Ranger Station for Yogi to visit our site at 4:15 for my son's birthday. They had different options available and I was able to pick the one that worked for us. They were right on time and he was thrilled. Yogi brought balloons and a toy along with a birthday card. He helped us to sing "Happy Birthday" to our son and came with lots of hugs, even a big one at the end for Grandpa. We pulled out the old fishing poles and went down to the pond to try our luck. We weren't able to catch anything despite our valiant efforts, but that's how it seems to go every-time we fish. Someday we'll get one! In the meantime we have a blast trying. We cooled down after fishing with a dip in the pool for the kids. The water was warm and they really enjoyed it. It was a great finish to the activities for the day. I was officially worn out and so were my kids. We slept like rocks. That is what I call a great day camping! This is an ideal campground for families to really enjoy their kids. Yogi seems to bring out the best in all of us. We had so much fun, laughed until it hurt and made memories that will last a lifetime. I highly recommend this campground. We have been coming here for the last few years and love it. It is only a few miles from my home but when we are here, we are on vacation! We are close enough to run to any of our obligations while still getting away for awhile. We enjoy the different themed weekends and will be back again later this summer. Thank you Yogi Bear for delivering a wonderful weekend! We will see you next time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$58
We absolutely love this campground! I grew up camping at Yogi Bear campgrounds (La & Tx) and continued the tradition with my kids here in Colorado. We've been to other Yogi Campgrounds, but this one is our favorite here! The staff is the best, the activities are fun, the pool is great, the fishing pond is fun, and the all you can eat pancake breakfast is delicious and convenient. We love the golf carts: makes it easier to get around. We've been going to this park for a couple of years now, and I'm surprised by all the wonderful changes and how quickly it's growing. I would highly recommend this campground, especially for families! It's our favorite vacation place to be! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$48
We live in Denver, and love the proximity for a short vacation. It was early in the year so pool and some amenities were closed. Had trouble with first site, but the staff was diligent in finding another site which worked great. Several reviews complained about the trains which didn't bother us at all. Never heard the highway traffic as we weren't at the front sites. The staff was terrific in opening stuff early for us, and did a great job with the kids. (Can't remember exact price but approximately $48 and reflects 6 people and pets.) We're going back in the summer during one of their many weekend events. (The playground was under construction, but was being completely rebuilt which is now complete.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
We called this park before staying, and were informed that the pool was open, which it wasn't. All the trees are scrub oak, which means no leaves. None of the amenities were available. There was no organization of any kind. I would never stay in this park ever again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
Park located one hundred yards from busy RR tracks, 300 yards from I-25. Amenities not offered yet, but rate doesn't reflect that, plus there were a multiple of waivers and warnings on check-in. Clean grounds. Cordial staff. Long walk to showers was not a concern to us. Nice dog run, but no one picked up and it's a mess. May be good for extended stay with kids, but it's your basic tourist trap. $43 after discount and with tax. Would rate higher if it was $32 plus tax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Choices are limited in this area so the location is convenient but it is not a nice park. All dirt, dusty roads. Hilly and narrow to navigate. We did have a long pull-through with 50 amp and full hook-ups. Would not stay again unless we had no other choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$43
Park closes most sites for season after 1 Oct. Only available site was a 30 Amp FHU pull-through in their short-term area. We had a site about 200 yards from I-25 which was somewhat noisy, but the real problem was the southbound train track literally 100 feet from us. The trains run day and night, have two engines on each end and are LOUD. They do not blow their horns because the access road to the campground is "private" but the train noise was very disturbing. The second morning we counted five long loud coal trains in 45 minutes from 5:45 to 6:30 A.M. Two other issues: dog park was full of dog waste despite posted "pick-up" signs and doggie bag dispenser right at the entrance; and the rate of $43.00 is way too high considering there are no amenities in the fall. The office isn't even manned. We stayed here because it was close to a friend we were visiting. But we will find somewhere else next time. Perhaps the summertime is different for families, but for an overnight stay we do not recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
In three weeks out, from Moab to Georgetown (North of Austin), the most expensive park we stayed in and the noisiest. I-25 was about 400' from our site and the main railroad tracks were closer. If you want the family-friendly features of the park, by all means stay here, but if all you are looking for is a hookup and a quiet place to park, I wouldn't recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$46
This is a new Jellystone park that has a long way to go before if lives up to other Jellystone parks across the country. This first problem is the park is fairly old and needs a lot of renovation still especially the pool and playground. Other Jellystone's I have stayed at have much better playgrounds and pools than this one. The other issue is that some of the activities they listed for kids during they day did not even get done because there was no one there to get the job done. One night there was supposed to be a movie that started at 7:00pm and even after I told the office, the movie never got started and my kids really wanted to see it. If it wasn't for the activities director at the park, I would give this Jellystone a much lower rating because the times she was there during the day, she was great. Lastly, I think the park has way too much overhead. Every morning there seemed to be employees just standing around talking and not helping people with questions or doing anything which is a major problem for a park that need to be renovated some more. Overall not worth the $46 dollars I paid per day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
Lovely views, but not a very level site. Pancake breakfast was a nice touch and there were quite a few family and kids activities. I was disappointed in the attitude toward another guest: she was reporting that the stakes were coming out in her rented tipi (teepee?) and the response was that they most of the maintenance people were out today. Did she not have a hammer she could use? Finally another guest loaned her a hammer. That was not very responsive. Other than that, we enjoyed it and the staff was generally nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
This RV park is way overpriced. The site I was give for a weeks stay was 5 degrees out of level from front to back. The coal trains go past 24/7 and are disturbingly loud. Even though we were staying in the area longer, we left after one week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
After the first 30 minutes at this campground, if we could have found another option we would have left. The "pull through" was set up like a short road with 2 pull throughs on each side and a road in the middle. That meant that our door opened out into the dusty road instead of the grass, and only the first to arrive on each side really gets a pull though- we had to back in. Worse than that, our Power Management system shut off our power 3 times in the first 10 minutes due to low voltage, so we had to move to another site (we checked the voltage there before moving!). The site was far from level and the water posts had duct tape all over them. The train track was so close we could have hit it with a rock. Not too many went by at night though. On the plus side, The staff were helpful with our issues, the laundry was nice, and even had a sitting room with a TV, and the water tasted great. There was a fenced dog area, but we don't have a dog. This place was way overpriced for what you got. It might appeal to families with young kids, since there were activities- but check the electrical carefully. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
The appeal to this park is the "Jellystone" brand. That is what made us try it. Our kids were exited. This park is in transition to becoming a Jellystone park. I am sure that at some point it will be up to speed, but at this point there was a lot of construction going on, and a lot of rain which did not help. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
This park was transitioning to a Jellystone franchise. Unfortunately it is the only option when visiting friends in Castle Rock and the rates are much too high for what we got. Sites are narrow and small. The bath house was close, very nice and clean but there's no soap in the dispensers for the two nights we were here. Trains are loud and frequent for tenters but we didn't hear them inside our trailer with the A/C running. Walking for me is difficult on level ground but the coarse gravel was really rough to walk on with sandals. It was convenient to get to I-25 to visit the Air Force Academy with our grandsons, but we were glad to leave Jellystone behind us!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Based on previous reviews we went in with low expectations so we were not surprised when not much was received. Nothing has changed since we stopped for one night here eight years ago. Interior roads are better suited for jeeps & ATVs than motorhomes & trailers. We were guided to a site that required crossing a washed out gully. We refused. Demanded an alternate site which was not much better. Site was a mixture of coarse gravel, sand & mud. Voltage at post was low. WI-FI is implied to be included with fee. It is not. The signal was poor, even at our site close to the office. This is the only campground in the Castle Rock area & they know it. We would stay again only if there was no other choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
I believe we arrived when the park was changing their name to Jellystone Park and were in the midst of some renovations. The staff was very friendly but not very knowledgeable. I made my reservations in January attempting to make sure we had the necessary accommodations. Several phone calls and emails later, we had our reservation. However, the two sites that I booked were more suitable for tents than motorhomes or 5th wheels. Site access was difficult with little space to spare. We shared our concerns but there was no solutions offered. They did not seem too prepared for any changes and seemed unsure how to accommodate us. They did come and trim some trees so that a slide could be opened though. Picnic tables are a miniature version of most and roads are difficult to walk as they are steep with loose gravel to most every location in the park. Maybe once the construction is complete things will improve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
The pull through sites are narrow with oak trees protruding into the space. There are weeds growing thought the campground and apparently no effort to control them or cut them. The picnic tables are in need of repair. Sites are not anywhere near level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Formally Castle Rock RV Park Dusty dirt roads. Pull thus are a mess with hookups and grass on drivers side and your door exits into dirt and dust. Front and back parking and hence the back trailer or 5ers may have problems unhooking. 1 hr 30 minutes free Wi-Fi and then you pay so it's not really free. No cable and limited over the air TV channels. A number of TV stations were not usable on our bat wing probably due to the distance with the new digital TV. Most of the area is not maintained including weeds. Picnic tables and pedestals are marginal. Located adjacent to a railroad with loud all night trains and black smoke entering your site. $39 for 30A pull through. Worth no more than $15/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
We stopped here on our way to Deadwood. This is a very expansive park with great privacy and shade on the pull throughs. They also had a grill and picnic table on our site. I especially liked the fenced pet play area. Very convenient to I-25. Strongly recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Campground pluses: Scenic area. Convenient location. Friendly staff. Nice, fenced-in dog run. Good Wi-Fi when operating. Awesome pancake breakfasts. Campground minuses: An old, former KOA that shows its age. While adequate for an overnight stay, the whole place could use a major upgrade. Steep, narrow, horrible roads, with deep gullies on each side. Several back-in sites are a "challenge" (to put it politely) to get into. Water was out for two days after a storm knocked out a pump. Wi-Fi was good until a storm knocked that out too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
A little concerned by the steepness of the dirt roads at first, but our site had a great view once we got settled in. It did require backing up about 100 feet to get to the site. Didn't notice the train noise as others have posted, but it was hot and we had the AC going. Certainly an adequate place to stay as you are passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
Those who enter this campground should be wary. While the service is cheerful, the amenities are listed accurately and the restrooms are clean – there are some very large potential downsides to camping here. The biggest problem is the sheer volume of noise at this site generated by train traffic and freeway noise. While the double lane freeway traffic echoing off the opposing mountain may not bother a person in a substantial RV, the train noise is frequent and close. The trains run about every three hours on a 24 hour basis and in addition to loud diesel electric motors, the tracks are bad resulting in wheel drag and screech. There is a train track on both sides of the freeway and the adjacency of a large mountain directs all the noise back into the campground. The only upside I can see is the location on the freeway between Denver and Colorado Springs and if you find yourself in need of a one night stop, this is the most available and accessible site in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
We really liked this campground! It is not as modern or as fancy as many newer places, but is has a great family feel to it. There are many different types of sites. The 50amp area is a newer part of the campground and has pull through sites. Not as scenic as the rest of the place, but easier to get into. Out site was #59 and was probably the nicest site around. It was difficult to back my 30ft trailer into it, but was great once there! The grounds are steep in the campground and most of the sites are back-in. No cable, but several channels available over the air. Out water pressure was very low and I had to unhook my filter to increase the flow. Wi-fi was good. We camped here during the Renaissance Festival and there were a lot of "colorful" people camping there. (The festival is only a mile away in Larkspur). My brother-in-law and his wife were camping in a tent and they asked to sleep in our trailer Saturday night because "the pirates were partying" in the tent area! Owners seemed nice but were nowhere to be found after 8pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
We loved everything about this campground except the fact that it is located next to a rail road track, and the train comes by about every 2 hours 24 hrs a day. But we got used to that. Very rustic. Friendly staff willing to help with anything. Castle Rock can get a little rough in the winter, but other than that, it's a great place to stay. We'll definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
Great customer service. It was between 3 and 29 degrees the whole time, so we needed propane almost everyday. They filled the tanks every time we needed. Learned a lot about cold camping. Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
This campground is located right off I-25, so there will be highway noise, but it is situated on a bluff overlooking some spectacular views. A lot of the sites are difficult to get into - have to back in to many of them, and there are steep hills and gravel to contend with. Some of the spaces are "hollowed out" into the hillside, so you have dirt on 2-3 sides of your unit. But, there is a lot of vegetation, clean rest rooms, pancake breakfast, swimming pool, weekend hay rides, and some truly spectacular views from some of the sites (my favorite sites are 173, 174, 175). Beware - the trains do go by on both sides of the highway, so expect some train noise as well. Also, the town of Castlerock is great - some really great restaurants (one of a kind as well as national chains), a great outlet mall, and new movie theatres. It's also only a 25 minute commute into Colorado Springs, and I would prefer this campground to any of them that I have stayed at in Colorado Springs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
This park is in a beautiful area and offer lots of extras such as pancake breakfast, hayrides, etc. The owners are super friendly. The reason I gave it a 7 is that the sites themselves need a little extra work. Granted the terrain is steep, but the sites are narrow and uneven. They offered a picnic table and grill in our site but it was unusable, there was no level ground to move the table in order to sit on it. If you don't mind dealing with the rough site it is a really nice place to spend a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
We did not have a reservation. The registration staff were very friendly and seemed embarrassed about rate they had to charge. The first site we were assigned to was impossible for us to get into. We finally did wedge our RV into a site. The whole place was a mess. The power pedestals were falling down and you had to push into the bush to find them. The picnic tables were literally falling apart. The roads were in poor condition and dirt. The train still goes by every hour all night long. Except for the train, the park has a nice setting but it needs a lot of work to make it worth the price they charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Terrible experience. The only reason this place is rated OK is that it is complete and close to Denver. Where to start? When we arrived, we were led up a steep hill and nearly couldn't make it. It was the only time in our 3,000 mile trip that we struggled towing our vehicle. When we got there, the site was about as unlevel as you can get, and it took me 30 minutes to get my camper level. The electrical hookup had a wasps nest in it, and the guy next to me was a year-rounder whose site looked like a hillbilly shanty. After they reluctantly moved me below, I had another uneven site, this one at least not on a cliff. The camp is extremely noisy, right next to a major interstate. The staff gave me the wrong bathroom code, so I couldn't use the facilities Monday morning. When they were notified, they thought it was funny. I did not. This place is overpriced, the staff is rude, and it's loud. The facilities are complete but nothing more. Avoid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
My wife and I only spent one night here but we were very happy with the management so I wanted to write a review. We had not planned on staying here but our travel trailer was hit by lightning earlier in the day during a freak storm (no I did not by a lottery ticket afterwards but I should have). Anyway, we needed a place to stay to get some repairs done to the necessities, fridge, lights, etc. The management was very helpful and even lent us their handyman who was a great help. We appreciate all their assistance and if we are ever back that way we plan to give them our business again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
Very friendly and helpfull staff. Our site was level and nicely shaded. There is a major BNSF rail line running across the front of the campground. We like trains and it did not bother us. However, if you have issues with train traffic you might want to think twice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Previously this was a KOA park that has turned ownership. The staff was very friendly and informative. The park's location was close to Denver, just south of town nested on the hillside. The negative of the park was continuous train noise every hour or two as there were two tracks by the park and freight trains ran north and south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2003
$30
Since we were there in 2003 things might have changed because at that time it was a KOA and its listed as a private campground in the 2005 Trailer Life book. We had booked two nights and didn't like the fact that the railroad was right in front of the campground. We had to drive over the tracks to get into the drive-way. I told them we weren't going to stay because of this but, I was told that they had already charged our credit card for one night and we couldn't get a refund. We stayed the night, but the site we were told to go into was so narrow that the bushes rubbed along side of the motorhome. The picnic table was in the bushes because that's the only place it would fit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We stayed in this park in the month of July. It was a very nice park with very friendly staff. The location was very convenient as we wanted to visit attactions in both Denver and Colorado Springs. It was however very hot and somewhat dusty. This is the reason they did not receive a 10 from us. We were glad we made reservations as the park was almost 100% full during our stay. We will stay there again (with advanced reservations). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
A bit dusty during the 2002 fire season with noise from the Interstate and the railroad crossing, but in my opinion quite tolerable. Could see the smoke from the fire (about 30 miles to the SW) along with a trace of ash. Overall cleanliness and facility and especially accessibility makes the campground rate high. Nice people. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com