223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Whiskey Flats RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 112 user reviews. Phone: (775) 945-1800
CGID5281

Whiskey Flats RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   9   9   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
Been here many times. It is the best overnight park between Vegas and Reno. Friendly staff, easy access off hwy, long pull-throughs - no need to unhook when towing. Convenient hook ups. Cable available for a few extra $$. One negative - trees are quite small, so little shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
Nice park to stay for a few days if needed. Good rate with free Wi-Fi also. You can choose from sitting on a gravel site or drive up on a cement pad. We chose gravel as it faced south in the evening and didn't have the sun in our windshield. Office person very friendly and thanked us for our business. Would stop here again on our way south for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
We stayed overnight - really enjoyed this park! LONG concrete slots which accommodated our 45' Prevost and tow with no unhooking required. Utility hookups were convenient. The park is immaculate and the hosts are very helpful. Quiet park with easy entry and exit and located just off US 95. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone! Our rate reflects the Good Sam Discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
Clean and lots of room on our site. Lots of places to walk dog, except for dog area which had some broken glass. Store was close. Good park for a day of rest from the trip. Once the trees get larger will be more shade. Store was well stocked. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
9/10 if using an 'overnight place scale'. Easy to find (right on the freeway), & easy sites to get in/out of. No problem with highway noise even though it's right off the main drag. Concrete pads, although narrow are nice. Wifi was decent. Close to fuel places, supermarket, and pizza joint. Bathrooms/showers were nice and they were clean--I normally won't use common shower facilities but had no qualms about using these. Would stop in here again for an overnight no problem whatsoever. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
This is obviously one of the newer parks in Hawthorne. It has cement parking pads and good cable TV. The Wi-Fi worked well until evening when it must have became busy. There is a picnic table at every site, a tree (small since park is new, but it will be nice and shady in a couple of years), good water pressure, and 50 amp hookups. The rate is based on a Good Sam discount. The only reason I wouldn't give it a 10 is because there is no pet walk designated and they aren't allowed on the grass. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Second stay here on our way north (see June 2013 review) Very clean, free wifi, TV. Concrete pad was about $2 more than regular gravel site - we went for the extras. Just as nice as it was the first time last year. Will stay here again, especially since there is nothing else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
Nice overnight spot. Not a destination RV park. Most spots had level concrete pads. It was terribly windy when we were there, but that wasn't the park's fault. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
Rate reflects Good Sam. Excellent park. Even though it's next to the highway, you could barely hear the big rigs going by. And this was sitting outside. Laundry very reasonable and clean. I really can't think of a negative thing to say. I would stay here again and travel extra miles to do so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
A nice park with easy access. Very friendly man to check you in. Wi-Fi was good unless someone was "streaming". The parking pads are silly. Very narrow cement to park on and then walk on gravel. It should be just the opposite. The only negative would be the full time residents of the park that drive too fast and cut through open sites as if they owned the place. Would stay again when coming through Nevada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
What a pretty park with a spectacular view of Mt. Grant. Sites are paved with some trees and grass for landscaping. Easy to maneuver a big rig. Convenient to highway but quiet. Wi-Fi was good. Lots of open area around the park to walk the dog. The showers were clean with plenty of hot water. The laundry room was spotless. We would stay here again and want to come back for a longer stay to explore the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is a very nice, clean park. The sites are large and level. We stayed overnight We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$26
We have stayed at this park three times on the way down and back to Arizona. The park is very clean, and the pull through sites are quite large with concrete pads. The staff is friendly and the office and store are very inviting. The park is next door to a Safeway and Family Dollar which is handy. The cable TV and WiFi are very good and free. We have only stayed here overnight, but it would be a nice park for a longer stay. A very nice spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
We stopped at this RV site on the way north. To our surprise, it was very nice. Wide sites and most had a cement pad (pull throughs). It appears they have been doing a lot of work on it and have planted a number of trees. Still small but does provide some shade. Bathrooms/showers were spotless and new. Friendly manager. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
Very friendly and helpful staff checked us in. The bathroom and the showers are very clean. We paid extra for a concrete pull through site which turned out to be very narrow and took a few tries to get situated on the pad. Next time we will settle for the gravel sites. We camped here overnight and will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Do not hesitate to stop here. Traveling through NV, my husband found this place on the Web and thought it looked good. He was right. It was very nice. We had a pull though site which was plenty long. TV, internet, all worked well. Water pressure was great. Should have caught up on my laundry at the facility that was sparking clean as was the bath and shower area. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
A gem in the middle of the desert. All the positive stuff below is true. Park was almost full when we arrived so our spot was gravel (#52)and no cable at the site. Had all else including 50 amp. About 12 over the air TV stations from Reno, so did not suffer too bad. Propane sales on site and close to Safeway and food. Best park out there for $23 bucks a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
For an RV park out in the middle of no where, this is a great overnighter or even a couple of days. The park roads are gravel but the sites are pull thru concrete. The sites are long but extremely narrow concrete. Very little grass in the park designated for landscaping, but not in each site. The water and power worked very good. WI-FI was extremely good and even able to stream some TV shows rather than watch their cable which was also good. Walked over to the local grocery and it was a real gem for a small area. Great park for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
Very friendly staff, although they should return voicemails more timely; office does not seem to be staffed, at least phones are not answered, during hours the office is supposed to be open. Very inexpensive nightly rates. Would stop overnight again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Level concrete slab, great staff, good roomy site with a table. Wi-Fi very strong, some long timers who were working in area, but very well maintained. Services were very close, but unknown because of military presence, but gas was anywhere from 25 to 30 cents a gallon in other cites, coming or going. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
This was a real nice park when it first opened, but it's not being cared for as in years past. The last two times we stayed here the Wi-Fi would not work, we need it to conduct business and is very important when choosing are places to stay. The grounds are not as clean as in the past, tree branches all over, litter, cigarette butts all over, dog stuff all over. Some spaces were very junkie and run down. Lots of the trees are dying from lack of care. A older lady races around the park all day on a ATV and appeared to be very intoxicated. I think we will be looking for a new park to stay at from now on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
The park is situated in the foothills and the view is wonderful. Big wide driveways and concrete pads, but they aren't level. We had one front tire off the ground to get level. The park is so clean and well-maintained. It's new and the trees are just getting some size to them. The bathrooms are clean. Wi-Fi worked fine and we had a complimentary cable hook-up. The staff was smiling and very friendly. We love this park. We've stayed here before and we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
Best place in area. Everything clean. Staff very nice. Good price on propane. Trees starting to grow, shade in a few spots. No cable and gravel pad a little cheaper than concrete pad and cable TV. Though on US-95, not much truck noise. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This was a great park for an overnight stay. The sites were level and well maintained. The office personnel were helpful. It makes a perfect stopping spot for the long trip from Northern California to Las Vegas. We will use this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Nicest RV park in the area - stayed here for one night on the way to Lake Tahoe. Very clean and well maintained. Nice wide roads, level sites, Wi-Fi, sites off of Hwy 95, so a little traffic noise. Walking distance to Safeway and pizza place. Highly recommend it if in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
We could not find it on our GPS, but got directons by phone. The campground was a pleasant surprise after driving though town. Easy to find, right off US 95. Sites were nice and big. Trees were small. Campground looks fairly new. Price was great, after paying $38 at a KOA for only water and electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Just don't even bother to stay anywhere else, & when you look at the other park reviews you won't even consider the others. Very nice, clean park. Restrooms were spotless; laundry spotless also. They do not allow dogs on the grass, which is why it stays looking so nice. We walked our dogs in the empty lot next door. There are some full timers; everyone seems very nice including management. Safeway is within walking distance. The town has nothing, & don't bother to eat at the Mexican Restaurant, ridiculous prices and bad food. All other reviews on this park are just what we would say. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
This is an outstanding park. After driving through Beatty & Tonapah and seeing the dilapidated parking lots that passed for RV parks, we were a bit skeptical. However, we were more than pleasantly surprised at how nice this park is. This is the only nice place to stop on US95. The pull thoughs are concrete and long and all the other amenities were excellent. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
The spots are cement with gravel drives. The sites are big with room to maneuver for a big rig. Had a little trouble lining up on the cement - just takes a little maneuvering. Nice people and well maintained. It's a good place to stay for a over night or a few days to visit the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
Nice new park. Level sites, no ambiance but very nice park for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
What a find in what could only be considered a stretch of highway that has little to offer the RVer. It was clean, well maintained, had a helpful and friendly host and was in a picturesque setting. There's even a nice little Safeway grocery within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Whiskey flats is a great RV park and clearly a welcome site after driving 315 miles from Las Vegas in 35 MPH winds. We only stayed here one night, but I would like to return and stay a few days in this beautiful area. Our spot was very wide and long enough for our 38 foot Monaco with a motorcycle lift holding my Triumph and our CR-V tow car. We were able to pull right on through without having to disconnect the car. The coach with the Motorcycle is equal to a 45 foot coach so plenty of room for everything. In the morning we just pulled right out and onto the highway and headed for Reno. Very easy in and out! The park is quiet with very friendly staff and RVers. The sites are flat with concrete pads. Can’t go wrong here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
This is a nice park with concrete pads for your RV. Nice clean showers and restrooms. Lots of space to walk dogs. We stayed here for one night passing on to Reno. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Good for an overnight stop, we stay hear at least once a year. Friendly staff, clean, level gravel sites (concrete pad with cable TV available for additional $) easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
Nice park, trees are young and growing, no noticeable noise from road nearby, friendly staff. Stayed 2 nights visiting Mono Lake. Would go there again. Ideal as a stopover. Easy access. Near stores. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
We stopped here on our way to Vegas and Southern Arizona. Very nice for a stopover with a friendly staff on arrival. $22.50 rate with Good Sam's discount. Will stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
We arrived late and it was easy to find a spot and get things set up. The restrooms/showers were excellent as was the laundry room. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
We only stayed for one night while passing through but very easy in and out. They did a good job of spreading people out. Friendly and great Wi-fi. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This park is a diamond in the desert. Park on concrete, 90% are pull throughs, 50 amps, water/sewer. Small trees between sites, picnic tables, sites are nice and wide, 65ft long. We stayed in a 38ft motor home with a tow car. Free Wi-Fi. Would definitely stay again. GREAT PLACE We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
My wife & I have lived in RVs for 14 years. We have stayed in many parks. Whiskey Flats is very well run park with very friendly & helpful staff. This park is first class, This is our third stay here. We spent 6 months our first stay, two weeks out second, and we just check in for our third stay which will be two maybe more months. Quiet park. We have to say this is the brightest thing in Hawthorne except for the miles of openness & places to explore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Nice, clean, level park. Huge spaces. It is a young park so the trees are small. There is not a lot of shade. Located at the base of the mountains and really pretty. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is a nice park with easy in easy out access. Sites are long and mostly level. Hookups work great. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Nicest campground in the area. And lots of geocaching within walking distance. Gravel level campground with nice grass islands interspersed. Paved level sites. Young trees at each lot which will give shade as they grow taller. Friendly staff. Although right on Highway 95, we didn't notice any road noise. Family Dollar, Dollar General, grocery store within walking distance. Expensive gas at the Shell station. This town has tons of history so be sure to visit the Mineral County Museum, open Tues-Saturday, free. We will definitely stay here the next time we're in the area and will tell fellow travelers about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Our rate included the Good Sam discount. This is a nice park. All sites are pull through. Most are concrete. There is a nice little store here. The reception man was very nice to us. We are here on a very windy day and glad to be off the road. We may stay another night and look around Hawthorne. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Rate was Good Sam on concrete pull-through site with cable. A pleasant find on that long road between Vegas and Reno. Level concrete pads, clean restrooms/showers, friendly check-in guy, great rates that don't gouge you. On-site camp host in space #19 when office closes whose friendly and knowledgeable too. All hookups worked great. Park cable T.V channels clear. Nothing blocks satellite T.V. reception. We look forward to stopping here for a week next time (only pulled through this time one night) on our way back south at the end of summer as east entrance of Yosemite only 68 miles away and a 9 hole golf course nearby at Army Depot grounds IS open for public use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
Still a very nice and clean park with level sites. Some are dirt/gravel and most have cement slabs to park on. It's a great park for a stop over heading north or south on Hwy 95. Other than a downtown casino and Walker Lake not sure what activities there are in the area. We would stay again when passing through. Only one negative is the dust that accumulates on the RV & toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Nice park for an overnight stay. Easy on and off the highway. Sites are nice size. Staff friendly. Verizon worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
This Park is very nice and clean. The sites are average size and have cement pads. Great Views. We only stayed one night and probably wouldn't stay longer. Not any good restaurants in town. We ate at the Casino and it was OK. The area is very windy most of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Level, spacious sites. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean restrooms. Nicely landscaped. Fast wifi hookup. No complaints. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
This was a good place to stop for the night. The site was level and the wireless worked well. The store where you check in has some good RV-related items as well as souvenirs. The person who worked there was nice. It was a nice, clean park. They also had propane. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Nice park, well maintained. Staff was friendly and informative, will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Clean, well maintained park. I have stayed here before and am given the gravel pad sites. Hook-ups are mid-site, with water in front, electric, then sewer. 5 newer washers and dryers. Safeway is an easy walk from here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Very clean, quiet, well-maintained, well-laid-out. They knew what they were doing when they built it. Nothing fancy, but peaceful and relaxing. Stayed 2 nights. Would stay there again anytime! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Ware arrived after the park office was closed but had phoned in advance so had a site. The roads are gravel but the sites are concrete so level. W/S/P all worked fine not much shade but site is nice and clean. Washrooms & showers were both clean. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
All pull-through sites; all water, electric, sewer hookups. Shade available for outside sitting but the young trees don't shade the RVs. Most sites had concrete pads via gravel streets but we ended up with a level gravel site. We didn't find the park dusty at all. Bathrooms were clean but a bit dark inside. Nice view of mountains to the West. Wi-Fi was OK but sometimes slow. Safeway grocery store within walking distance. Nothing much to do in Hawthorne except gamble or visit the free Ordnance Museum. I found the museum interesting as I had spent my time in the USN in the Weapons field. We thought there was more to do and see around Walker Lake, but there is no access to the water that we could find. We tried a couple restaurants in town and found the casino had the best service and food for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Very nice place to overnight. Level concrete pads and good utilities. Verizon air card was strong as was our AT&T phone. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
I would have rated it a 10 but I thought it was a bit pricey. Overall, really nice, clean and host was super friendly and helpful for us newbies. Nice concrete slabs, picnic table, small trees (no shade). We were just passing through, but would probably stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Easy in and out, large pull thru's and friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Excellent park. Trees are small and not in the way. Cement pads are just wide enough but you have to swing wide to get lined up. Wi-Fi worked good. Entrance to park is not clearly visible, it's just south of the office building. I have stayed here twice now and will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
This is a good place to stop for a break. The staff is always nice and helpful. Would have given it a 10, but the sites do tilt a little to the left, but they are nice cement slabs. It is easy in, easy out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
The Park was clean and the management friendly. The sites were level concrete with grass and a picnic bench at each site. There was an outside covered group seating area and a Safeway close. We had some trouble with our trailer and the manager came and helped us solve it. This is a nice place to stay when traveling between Reno and Las Vegas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Very clean park. All pull throughs with cement pads; did not even need to disconnect tow vehicle as the sites are 60'! Friendly staff, free Wi-Fi, nice store, and clean laundry and restrooms. Have stayed at other parks on US 95 between Vegas and Reno, and this is by far the best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Nice park considering where you are! Sometimes there is just nothing and they were real nice pull thru and plenty of room. We stayed here just a night passing thru, but would stay here again. When we arrived there was a big down-draft of wind because it sets down below the mountains, but the scenery was beautiful and we got a gorgeous sunset picture. Never used the restrooms or showers but the building appeared well kept. Would definitely recommend this RV Park to stay at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
Lovely, high desert campground with large spaces for big rigs. We have stayed here several times in the last two years. Easy in and out. Concrete pads available with ample room for big rig and tow. Breath taking sunrises. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. WiFi works well, and it is a perfect place for a overnight stay. I don't have any information about the general area, but we always look forward to stopping here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Very clean park, well laid out, friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$23
Finally an RV park which was built with some knowledge and forethought. Very adequate size, hookups in convenient location, level concrete pads. Friendly staff, gift shop, etc. Very nice all around. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Good check in. A well laid out park. Was easy in and out; had good WiFi, cable for $'s. Very clean washrooms and laundry. There was propane on the property, and you can walk to Safeway. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
A really good place to break your journey north or south in Nevada. Good paved sites with landscaping and full hook-ups. Wi-Fi available. Office staff were very friendly and helpful. We shall definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Nice park on the way to southern Nevada or Arizona. Much nicer than most on 95. Would stay here again when we make the trip again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
OK for our needs (one night). The bathrooms were clean but basic. Had lots of hot water though. Laundry was really nice, clean with 4 washers and dryers $1.25 each. Excellent Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$27
Clean, well kept, concrete slab sites. Long pull-through sites. Friendly check in, (he checked severe weather for us during Christmas travel storms). Easy in/out from US95. We liked it and would return, but not during wind and snow storms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
Delightful park. Very clean. Well maintained. Concrete pull through sites with plenty of room all around. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
We like the open views of this park. Great wi-fi and very nice restrooms. Spaces are large, with easy access. Would give it a ten except there is little fencing around the area to keep out strangers. We have stayed many times and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
One of the best overnight parks we have stayed in. There are cement pads, grass and tree at sites, and excellent Wi-Fi and cable. We had a nice view of the mountains out our front window. We will definitely stop here again when we travel through Hawthorne. The price reflects an additional $3 for cable, if you elect to have cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Nice park located next to a gas station and Safeway. Plenty of room for our 40-footer with toad. Great to stay hooked up for an overnight stop. Clean and nicely landscaped. Friendly and helpful staff. Filled propane tank in coach when we checked in. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
What a pleasant surprise. Very neat and clean park. Most sites have paved pads and the rest clean gravel. Not much in the way of shade except what you can manufacture. Walking distance to Safeway unless you need lots of groceries. Check in was smooth and easy and a smiling friendly face behind the counter. We have driven by this many times but have never stopped. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Nice park, large pull throughs, bathrooms $ showers are nicely tiled and big. Good overnight stay, not too much road noise even though it is right off of 95. Safeway down the block. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
Our site was on the last row, without concrete tire strips, just gravel. Easy in and out. Pull through was at least 75 feet. Good WiFi. Far enough away from the highway where noise was not a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
We stayed here for two nights on our way north. Great park. Has very good Wi-Fi, clean showers, and is close to town. We rode our bikes to the Ammunitions Museum in town. There is a $3.00 charge per day for cable TV. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Great park as you travel Hwy 95 thru NV. Stopped here for two nights as we traveled to Pahrump, NV. Staff very friendly. Will always stop here when in Hawthorne, NV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This was the third time we've stayed at this park in the last two years and it never disappoints. The sites are long and wide, utilities work great, you get about thirty channels, and the staff is great. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This park was very clean overall and we did use the laundry which was in the same state (and open late!). Paved sites, easy access, quiet, landscaping, friendly front desk who granted us a late checkout. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
Park gives a friendly greeting, and good instructions to a site. Our site was gravel, fairly level, with plenty of length and width. WiFi worked well, with a straight forward sign-on process. While some sites had tables, our did not. The $22 was with a Good Sam discount. This was a good spot to overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
This is a nice RV Park with concrete pads but they are not completely level. The restrooms and shower were clean. The Wi-Fi had a strong signal but you had to follow the instructions carefully. The layout and parking was easy to get in and out. The only negative thing I experienced was the attitude of the person who checked me in; he needs to learn to be a little more diplomatic in how he treats people; otherwise a nice overnight stop. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This is a very nice park. It's only 5 years old so the trees are small. Real easy entry and exit. Staff was fantastic. The sites are long and plenty wide, but ours wasn't level. The hookups worked fine. There is a grocery store, pizza place, and shell station down the road. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We stayed here overnight before tackling the Sierra. Nice level concreted pads. Some road noise as the park is positioned right where trucks accelerate/decelerate on the edge of town. WiFi is free, though has an awkward and probably unnecessary password system. Signal strength very good and bandwidth adequate. We would stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
Very nice campground, large, level sites, small trees. The bathrooms have individual shower rooms with large showers. The Wi-Fi worked pretty well. It's fairly quiet. There are some dirt trails nearby for running or biking. It's close to Walker Lake and the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$21
We stopped here on our way home to Reno. The park is fairly new, clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and interesting to talk with. Sites are a bit tricky to pull into if you have a large rig. We asked for a site near the back of the park to be off the highway and it was quiet. We found it to be very pet friendly, especially since right out the back gate is the abandoned army town site where you can walk for miles without encountering vehicles or other people. We could let the dog off leash and play ball up and down the abandoned roads. WiFi was very good here and free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
We found that this experience was very difficult, first we were told how to get to our site but soon found out that this involved going over a very high dirt hump which our motor home would not go over without scraping our generators exhaust pipe. When we went back to the office to ask for a differant site the man at the desk argued with us and we were informed that if we could drive we could make it over the hump. It had been a long day so we stayed BUT we would NEVER go back this man was so rude and out of line. The park is only pet friendly if you take your pet out of the park as there are NO PET signs everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
Since this park is rather new, the trees (one at each site) are small. A majority of the sites have concrete pads and nearly flat. Some have mentioned that the sites are rather narrow but we didn't find that to be a problem. They offer cable hookups for a charge, but we got great TV with just our antenna. The water connection is inside a plastic tube (probably to protect from freezing) which was too tight to attach our pressure regulator, so we just put it on the hose-end at the trailer. We are Good Sam members and paid a total of $23.34 for one night without cable. In case you try to find their location with Google maps, be careful, it's wrong. But it's easy to find, just a bit north of town about a quarter mile North of the Safeway store. The highway doesn't get a lot of traffic so noise wasn't an issue. The facilities are spic-and-span, and their wireless internet is free with good speed. We liked this park and wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend it to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
This is a very poorly designed park. Most people are only "passing through" and want to stay hooked up to their tow vehicle. The pads are very narrow and the hook ups are positioned in such a way that if you have a large Class A you probably won't hook up your sewer as it is so far behind your coach. The water hook up is such that you can't use a pressure regulator or a splitter. Your patio will be dirt as the pads barely accommodate your vehicle. Beware of sites with lamp posts on the ends if you have a big rig. We've stayed at this park twice and were upset both times by the set up. This park is definitely NOT Pet friendly. The cable TV though extra, was good and so was the free Wi-fi. If it weren't for the location we would avoid this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Best park on Highway 95 in Nevada. We like the staff and the park is clean and well maintained. We've stayed twice now and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
This campground is very clean and well maintained. The staff at check was very polite and friendly. The WI-FI was very easy to use and readily available when accessed. Although the campground was not fancy, it is a very nice place to stay en route. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$19
Friendly check-in. Good gravel road in park but not on short entry road. Choice of paved site (cable hookup) or gravel site (no cable). Site held our 34' motor coach and toad with room to spare. Tree in every site. Remember this is a high desert RV park so do not expect large shade trees. Park is very clean. WI-FI is excellent with 54Mps. There is also a small book exchange. Stayed two nights. Will return to this park again if every in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
Weekly rate$99 minus $10 Good Sam plus $10 Tax. Agree with other reviews. Even thou close to US 95 was not noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$21
One of the nicest overnighters we have been to. easy access, good power, WIFI, level concrete pads, ample room for MDT, 40'fiver on pad with room to spare plus space for toad on the side. Will make this a regular stop when going this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Nice park for an overnight or longer. Friendly staff, nice desert setting. Good sized pull thru sites. I will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Stayed overnight on our way back to California, as it was the right driving distance from Las Vegas, 330 miles. 60' length level concrete sites, free wifi, cable tv, no shade. Some Highway-95 noise at night. Small store, friendly staff. Bathrooms and showers were new and clean, with individual rooms and locking doors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
First stay here, of 525 stays in all 48 states. It's nice. Anyone who could not get onto the concrete pads is not a good RV driver. The right sides of the concrete have been expanded and are sloped to the ground, so fine. We've seen many 40' MHs getting parked just fine. The views are awesome of Mt. Grant, 11,239', particularly from the west row we chose. The free WiFi is reliable. The bathrooms are clean and well-maintained. The only negative is the one camp host, who has the customer service skills of a flea. He's rude, abrupt and angry. The others are great. We like the walk to the McDonald's, Safeway, and to Maggie's Restaurant in town, the best restaurant in our opinion. There are two great, free museums here and the largest American flag in Nevada. Summary: This is the nicest RV park of the 3 in Hawthorne. Scotty's is okay, if you want to look at a popup trailer with no roof, blue tarps and beach umbrellas for a roof, and lots of junk under another RV, very cluttered and detracting from the view of Mt. Grant. Frontier RV park is nicer than Scotty's, but Whiskey Flats wins over both (except for the one host), overall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$21
I had planned to drive from Reno to Tonopah today but saw this new park as I was driving through Hawthorne. A good overnight stop. As mentioned by others the concrete pads are very narrow. Just able to fit the rig on the pad but had to unhook the toad to do it. And the water connection is poorly designed. WiFi was very good. I'm using it to write this review. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$21
The ratings on this park range between 2 and 10 and I feel both ratings are fair depending on your rig. If your rig is over about 35' and your towing you might give a lower rating. This park is not big rig friendly with the very narrow concrete pads. You will scuff your tires trying to position on the pad. Just look at the pads, they are all black on the edges from scrubbing tires. We decided to park on and off the concrete pad (so we could leave the toad connected) which made leveling impossible. I feel for the owners of this park because they spent enough money to build a very nice park for all kinds of rigs. I was unable to connect to the water (another bad design) and use a pressure limiter on the hose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Nicely spaced campsites and level. Very friendly camp host. Very clean place. Did not like the water connection, as they were in a PVC pipe and I could not connect a wye. Minor problem. Not to much road noise since the highway is close. Great price. Will stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Hot, no amenities, OK if you can't find a Wal-Mart for a one-nighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
Price reflects 10% discount. A welcomed alternative coming from Las Vegas. Concrete pads narrow for getting large rigs aligned well; pads somewhat high as well. Spouse almost took a fall and could have twisted an ankle stepping off wrong. Water faucet connections annoying - angle of faucet is poor design & jerry-rigged hole in the side is awkward - it was probably the best "fix" one could conceive following a cold snap but there needs to be a better solution. Tested the Wi-Fi & it's OK but used my own Verizon Broadband Access. Weather was windy in the afternoons, cool in the evenings, but a relief from the Las Vegas heat. The Host was the "most". We'd return for another short stay if our route was ever the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Stayed overnight on trip from Las Vegas to Lake Tahoe. Finding Hawthorne was like finding an Oasis after country we passed through north of Las Vegas. Nice welcome, good sites, excellent washroom & showers. Obvious the owners are trying to please. Good Supermarket in sight - 5 minute walk. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We had always stopped at the Ramada Inn in Tonopah because this was the only place we could find between Pahrump and Rena. It was the only alternative and, while only a 2 or a 3 on a scale of 1 to 10, it was a place to sleep. After discovering Whiskey Flats on RV Park Reviews, we decided to stop there. What a neat little park. Clean, neat, and easy ingress and egress for big rigs. Only problem is that the poured concrete sites are poorly designed and it is difficult to get in straight, and, in addition, the very strong wi-fi is, unfortunately, hooked into a local dial-up ISP so service is soooooooo slow. But, overall, it is absolutely the best RV park on 95 between Pahrump and Rena and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
This is probably the best campground you'll encounter between Vegas and Reno on Route 95. It's new, clean, quiet, and has full hook-ups plus almost 100 cable channels for about $20. The sites are well spaced, mostly paved, long, and level. It's far enough outside of town that you get good views of the mountains and Walker Lake. There is a supermarket, two museums, and several good restaurants nearby. The office/store was well stocked and had several slot machines for those too tired to drive to the El Capitan. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was a lack of working water faucets. The park apparently was not prepared for the cold snap which preceded our visit. Most of the sites did not have functional faucets. I found one that worked that evening, but it froze solid by the next morning. But my wife's hair dryer had the faucet flowing within 10 minutes. Also, if you like exploring the ghost towns and historic sites of western Nevada, this is a good base. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
Great campground. Wonderful host and it had all the conveniences close at hand. I would stay there again if I was traveling that way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Nice clean newer park with trees planted but have quite a few years to go to make any shade. Easy check in. Nice concrete pads and gravel roads. Not much else to choose from in area. Scotty's in town has about 10 sites that is nothing more than a parking lot. Free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
A very nice, clean overnight campground. Since the CG is fairly new, there are small trees offering no shade. The office area as well as the laundry facilities is spotless. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
This is a great overnight campground. The office/reception building is modern and spotlessly clean as is the campground itself. The laundry and shower facilities are in like new condition. This is a relatively new CG, so shade is minimal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
We kept our coach here during the entire summer of 2005. It was new then. It is a great spot to stop and explore the area. We visited numerous ghost towns, toured the museum at Hawthorne, and traveled to Berlin/Ichthyosaur State Park. Would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com