214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Anna State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (540) 854-5503
CGID5285

Lake Anna State Park

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   9   10   8   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Nice new park with wide paved campground roads with both back in and pull through sites. Bath house was like new and in the style of newly renovated VA State Parks. Laundry facilities provided in one of the two bath houses. RV sites were large, well separated, and generally level but still needed blocking to level our RV. Some pull through sites were runoff rutted. Plan to arrive early to pick your best unoccupied site. Lots of trails to hike. Camped mid week and only two of the 23 RV sites occupied. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$19
Very nice, newer State Park. 50% disabled veteran discount (very appreciated). Sites have good water and electric, and the dump site is clean and well kept (no sewer at camp sites). Situated next to lovely Lake Anna. Probably very busy in summer, so you may have to reserve. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
Super nice state park complete with hiking, fishing, etc., and even inexpensive laundromat services. Can't ask for much more except maybe a lower rate. At $32 a night for W/E I just about croaked! Staff says it's super busy in summer but during fall we were only 1 of 4 or so campers. The camp hosts were also exceptionally nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Sites are W/E only. Although we had reservations, it was "pick your own" site with no guidance from the staff. Not all spaces could accommodate a 35' 3-slide fiver. The space we finally did find was level and wide, although the surface would get pretty sloppy in the rain. The park facilities are very good and we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
I loved everything about this campground. The whole park is very clean. Big roomy clean sites. Bathrooms were spotless and showers are big and clean.The lake is wonderful and has a beach that is very clean. Nice swimming. I would refer this park to anyone. Loved it!!!! Must see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
The sites here were large and level. Not a lot of shade in the electric/water section. Would have preferred more trees. It was quiet and patrolled regularly by Spotsylvania sheriff. There is a swim beach that was crowded with locals the weekend we were here. The lake water is very warm and there was heavy boat traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This park is almost too commercialized. It's a very clean park with lots to do including, fishing, hiking and a great beach area for swimming. My only complaint is they didn't leave enough trees when it was cleared so unless you know the park and get there early you won't have shade until later in the evening at most sites. You can't reserve ahead of time so that's why you need to get there early. It is a great place to stay if you have kids because of the amenities which they even have a concession area at the beach and a gift store with nature information that the kids would enjoy. The restrooms are very clean with private showers and even a laundry room. We would probably go back but would prefer a park with a little more trees and more feeling of camping. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Interior roads all paved. Crushed gravel pads for RVs and pea gravel for tents with outdoor hooks to hang your trash away from the critters. Sites were level with very good spacing between them and some site pads longer than others. Sites 24-46 have EW. Extremely clean and well patrolled. Staff was pleasant and helpful and other campers were courteous. The beach and swimming areas were well kept and very popular. There was a trailhead almost right outside our door and we went hiking nearly everyday. Cellphone coverage was good. "Camping Cabins" are available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We camped here with a group of friends and were able to get sites next to each other. All the sites are clean and mostly level with picnic table, fire ring and pea gravel tent pads. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Camp hosts and park staff were very helpful and friendly! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This park is beautiful! The sites were spacious. The beach was well maintained. We will camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Cost near $35 with taxes and a transaction fee added. Lake Anna State Park used to be the Goodwin Gold Mine reaching it’s peak in the 1880’s. The last gold was found during the 40’s then in 1971 the lake was used to serve as a water coolant for the Virginia Powere’s nuclear plant. It was turned into a state park and opened in 1983. This park has hiking trails, bike trails, fishing, gift shop, lake, swimming, ranger programs, restrooms, showers, and horseback riding trails. There is a visitor center with exhibits on the history of the park. We would return to camp at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
I could have cut and pasted previous reviews. We have camped here before and the state parks are EXCELLENT. This was our 2nd shakedown at Lake Anna, and we were getting ready for the summer camping season. Site was reasonably level. Registration is easy and ranger very friendly. Saw rangers drive through on regular basis. Not a lot to do this time of year and we had cold and rain. But a short drive to Louisa and we enjoyed excellent barbeque, ice cream and then visited a winery for a tasting. We had a friend who had never camped at a VA state park before and she was impressed, vowing to camp at more of them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
This is a great State Park. We were the first visitors for 2010 and were very pleased. It's an immaculate park. The Park Ranger was very nice. The only draw back was that it was located about a 1/2 hour from Route 95. We were here for one night, but wished we could have stayed longer!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This was a great park! All the water/electric spots are large enough to accommodate the largest rigs. Spots are large, well-spaced, level and hard-packed. Each has a picnic table, fire ring with grill grate, and a loose gravel tent area. All sites, with the exception of several pull-throughs, back up to woods and provide enough space between sites to not feel crowded at all. The two bathhouses were very clean and were equipped with private showers and laundry facilities. The dump station had two sewer outlets, water connections and trash dumpsters. Park access was excellent with state/county roads large enough for big rigs. Hiking trails are well-maintained and marked, and many are multi-use pedestrian/horse trails. The park lake access has a beach for swimming in the summer. Firewood is available for purchase at the park office. There are several convenience stores outside the park within five miles, but no camp stores for RV/camping-specific supplies. Overall, camping facilities at Lake Anna were the best I have experienced in Virginia. I highly recommend visiting in October when the leaves are changing colors and the crowds are small. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
We have camped here before and the state parks are EXCELLENT. This was a spring shakedown getting ready for the summer camping season, and gave us a chance to camp next to friends with the same purposes. Site was reasonably level though friend had more problems. Pea gravel on area on side of coach could accommodate tents and was cleaned prior to our arrival and neatly groomed. Registration is easy and ranger very friendly. Saw rangers drive through on regular basis. Not a lot to do this time of year but hike through woods to lake was nice. Outside of park are several winerys and some reasonable places to eat. Dump station on way out has access on 2 sides to facilitate crowds, and was level and easy to use. Biggest issue is need to level coach in sites with more unevenness than would be expected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Our first time to this park. Very nice state park camping. This was beautiful cool crisp fall weekend. Park was not crowded at all due to off season. All facilities are in excellent repair and clean condition. Family oriented campground. Interior roads are paved..great for bike riding. Camp hosts where very nice folks. Went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant. Did not see a bad site anywhere. We were on site 32 a huge pull through. Great trails and beach area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Lake Anna State Park is a large park with several trails for horseback riding/bicycling/walking. The park is in a rather remote location so be sure and bring all the food/beverages/consumables that you'll need for the duration or your stay. The campsites are large and spaced well away from one another for lots of privacy. Since it was towards the end of the season, the campground was fairly empty. The lake is located adjacent to the campground and is accessible from a paved walkway (downhill towards the lake). It's about a 10 minute walk. It's not listed on any of the pamphlets, so be sure and look for it. The restrooms (2) were large with laundry facilities and 5 showers each. We enjoyed our stay, but may not be back due to the remoteness of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This is a very nice Virginia State Park. Plenty of hiking trails, swimming in the lake (roped off area for swimmers) and activities for the family. The host came by as we were setting up to tell of about events for the weekend - I saw them do the same for all new arrivals. The host even shoveled out the fire pits upon departure. The lake and visitor center are a 10 minute walk down a paved trail. They encourage boaters and provide parking off of your site if needed. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We loved this park. Numerous hiking trails are wide and clean. Even though it is not right on the lake, it is only a short walk down an asphalt trail to a very nice swimming beach. Sites are some of the largest we've seen, and very well kept. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
Excellent campground with roomy sites. The facilities were spotless and well-maintained. The only down side was the lack of sewer hook-up. But, the quality of the rest of the campground more than made up for this. Will definitely go back in the spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
We loved this campground! The sites are level and huge - both shady and open available. On the first night we were the only campers in the entire campground and the most any night was four. The host was very friendly and helpful. The campground loop with 50 amp is new, clean and has excellent roads. The bathroom/shower building is also new. There is no WiFi. The drive to the lake and beach is long but we were there to take in the Civil War sites around Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania. This involved some driving but the campground was so nice it was worth it. Another great Virginia State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
We just returned from a full week at Lake Anna State Park. We picked site 32, which is a long pull-thru, for our 34' double slide TT. We also had a second vehicle and a boat. Water pressure on site was very high requiring a pressure regulator. 50 amp hookup was a pleasant discovery. Our site was level side to side. Negatives were large gravel (2" nominal) making under awning area extremely irregular. Dump station and trash dumpster are very far from site. Racoons will strew any outside garbage at night. Driving distance to beach and boat ramp is almost three miles! No place to tie up a boat and leave it. Ramp closes at dusk so boat must be out of water before dark. Our campsite according to GPS was about 500' from water but there was no access trail through woodlands to waterfront. I was able to receive 110 and 119 West Dish network OK. Cell phone access OK. Nice Hosts were present. Picked up both digital and analog TV stations from Richmond and Charlottesville. Ice and groceries not available in campground, 7 miles to nearest store. +++++'s outweigh negatives. We look forward to returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
Very nice campground. The sites are huge. I suppose this is to allow campers who bring both a camping unit and a boat. Swimming beach and boat launch are included in the camping fee. The campground is relatively flat which is good for bicycling. It also has a lot of hiking trails. We will camp there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
Another very nice Virginia State Park. A number of large pull through sites to go with the large back in sites. This is also one of the state parks that offer pop-up camper rentals. We stayed there over Labor Day weekend and one of our friends took advantage of this - I believe the rate for the pop-up was $50.00 a night. The campground is a 10 minute walk from the beach and boating area. Would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
We really enjoyed our stay here. It was a beautiful Fall weekend, with great weather. The campground was filled almost to capacity, but was very quiet. The sites are large, and spaced nicely apart. The bath houses were the nicest we've seen at any state park, complete with laundry facilities. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
As others have stated, this park is brand new and there are some bugs to be worked out, but overall, a wonderful addition to the otherwise bleak camping options on Lake Anna. The w/e sites will accommodate the biggest rigs. Several nicely equipped pop-ups are available for rent already on sites and there are 10 or so very nice cabins are also available. Sites on the camping loops have been cleared for more cabins, but I'd rather see those sites used for additional campsites. There are 2 bathhouses with private showers - very well cleaned. Many hiking/biking trails are available, but the maps are confusing - again, the park is going through the growing pains and, based on our experiences with the other Virginia State Parks, by next year, these problems will be rectified. Pets are welcome, but the Virginia State Park system charges an additional $3 per day for pets. About Lake Anna: this is the second largest lake in Virginia and was created to provide a cooling water source for the Lake Anna Nuclear Power Plant. It has become a major recreational area and power boat/jet ski noise is considerable. The park offers a very nice beach/picnic area that can be quite crowded, but it is well patrolled. Lifeguards are on duty during the day at the clearly defined beach swimming area. A single boat ramp is heavily used - it would be nice to see a separate launch area for kayaks/canoes. Fishing is good and, for paddlers, there are quiet coves to explore with an abundance of birds - herons, osprey and the occasional bald eagle. Beach use and launch fees are included in the camping charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$23
We decided to dry camp with our RV and found a great site with fairly level place for RV. The tent sites are huge with rounded pea gravel, excellent and soft for tents. Even the RV sites we drove past have a spot for a tent or screen porch. Restrooms were very nice and showers are family style on the back side of the comfort station, so a parent could take in several children and not have to have mom and dad each take up a shower. There is an outdoor sink space so tent campers can clean dishes. All in all a great spot and the beach area is super clean. The trail from the campground to the beach is about 1/2 mile through the woods and down a rugged trail. We took it on bicycles, but decided to take the paved road back to the camp. That was almost 2 miles. The visitor center offers gold panning lessons and history (yes, there was gold mined in northern VA) and there is a 1 hour pontoon boat ride ($3) that give a brief history of the area while cruising the shore. Biggest complaint about the sites was that being new, there is little screening from other sites and so it can be barren in spots. The VA reservation system may need some work. We called early in the week and were told all water and electric sites were taken. We got in Thursday and there were MANY sites available. By Saturday noon, there were only 4 W/E sites left, but I wondered how closely these are really monitored. We will definitely be going back, as the grounds are well kept, nature is all around, and it is less than 2 hours from Washington, DC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
This is a really nice campground. I am not sure what everyone compares a short walk, but about 2 miles to the beech is too far for me walk. I did have a pull through site. They do not assign a spot just tells you to go find one that doesn't have a card hanging up. All w/e sites were taken even though I had prepaid for one, so I had to wait until someone left their site to get into mine. The beech was really nice and had a blast there. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
This is a brand new Virginia State campground, which just opened Memorial Day weekend in 2006. Sites 1 to 23 are for tents and have no hookups. Sites 23 through 46 have water and electric. There are several large pull-through sites that could handle the largest class A rig. All the sites are large, level and well separated. Each site has a large table, fire ring and lantern pole. The sites are constructed very well with crushed stone for car and RV and with a large area of pea-gravel for tents or other shelters. The drainage is excellent. We were there during Virginia’s record breaking rainstorms and the site stayed free of standing water. The campsites are only a short walk from Lake Anna, which has a nice clean beach, snack bar, picnic areas, and boat launch. There is a dump station on the campground entrance road that can handle two rigs at the same time. The $29 rate is for water/electric sites. Dry sites are $23. The camping rate includes the State Park admission and use of the beach. This is a beautiful location and we plan to return many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com