218033 User submitted reviews online!!
Orlando S.W. / Fort Summit KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (863) 424-1880
CGID5291

Orlando S.W. / Fort Summit KOA

Camp Information
Sites
299
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   3   10   9   9   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$55
I was a little worried about the previous reviews. Very happy we choose this place. Clean and right near everything you need. Target, Dicks sport goods, and all the normal shops. Sites where packed sand/grass, but no mushy or swampy areas. Staff was friendly and allowed us our choice of sites. The only negative was they have some low hanging trees in some sites and roads. If you have a travel trailer, pop up or class c motor home you would have no issue at all. We had to detour around one road, which made our pull through a back in, but I backed a 38ft RV in without even sliding the hitch back. Sites selection will make a big difference as some could be tight with slides and putting awning out. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Very friendly people, campground clean and well maintained. They sell propane there too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$46
Rate is nightly for 7 days with KOA club discount. Good, clean, well run KOA close to Disney property. We were here during the dead weeks after Thanksgiving and they gave us a nice site in the back of the park consisting of two back-ins rear to rear that we used as a long pull-through. Utilities worked well and were placed in the sites so we did not have to strech cords or hoses. My advice, stay here and use the FREE shuttle to Disney and the other attractions. They take you right to the gates - easy in, easy out. No driving when tired. I have no connection to this park but we RV full time and this is a nice park with good service and friendly staff. We will stay here in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2013
$55
We gave this place a 3 on 10. Any park that has a sign saying "Welcome to the best RV Park in the Worlds" should arouse suspicion. Any park that has less than half of its 250 sites occupied during March Break, should arouse suspicion. We like to think of KOAs as "The best surprise is no surprise." But I guess you can't not be surprised every time. The good points: It is relatively close to the attractions. The price is competitive. The main things work. On the other hand: The self-serve dumpsters were full to overflowing on Saturday when we arrived, and stayed that way until they were emptied on Monday (7 AM - noisy), with the associated aromatics. But the emptying did not include a bunch of mattresses and other junk that had been rotting in the dumpster enclosure for some time. And, today, Saturday again, they are back to overflowing and stinking. We were in the campground enough of the time to see that the toilets were not cleaned daily. The laundry room was gross: filthy and smelly. Of the 250 sites, about half were full, and a fair number of these had that deserted look. A bunch seemed to be for sale. Imagine trying to get $25 K for a rusted out 1978 hulk of tin. The park is mostly on a hill, which didn't seem to bother the battalions of ants that invaded us twice: no spraying that we saw. The tradeoff for proximity to the attractions is that the park is located at the vortex of I-4, SR-27 and the local water filtration plant: talk about sensory stimulation. As a one-nighter on the way to somewhere else, perhaps this joint is OK, but for a week of touristing: not. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
Stayed 3 weeks. Rate reflects that. Always a pleasant stay, and we were not disappointed. Clean, quiet with efficient staff. Met the owners who clearly care about their campers and their campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$45
Easy access right off of I-4. Nice pool and office area. Wi-fi worked great for us. We were near the office, but I believe wi-fi is good throughout the park. People were great. We stayed in a level pull through in row 1 near the pool, plenty of space and some shade We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
Absolutely great park. Located minutes from the attractions. Good Wi-Fi. Good utilities. Nice and peaceful. Always a pleasure staying here. The owners and staff are friendly and good people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
It is located off a service road behind the Bob Evans restaurant and Quality Inn Hotel. Be careful not to make a wrong turn! I didn't use the Wi-Fi here. Friendly staff. Dog walks are close by. Big rig access was easy enough, but in some spots anything over 43' might hang out into the road a little. I'm sure the have longer sites somewhere. We would stay here again. One of the better KOA's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
We have wintered in this park for the past years, and we were very satisfied. Great people and close to everything. Very easy in and out of the park. Going to another park up the road this year for a change, but will return in the future to Fort Summit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$45
We found this campground to be very quiet and relaxing while still offering things to do. It was nice to sit back, have a campfire and enjoy our surroundings. The owner is very friendly and the staff was always helpful. Wi-fi worked well. Cable worked well. Just a few minutes drive the many sights and destinations. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$62
Excellent park. I usually don't stay at KOA's, but decided on this one to take advantage of the free Disney shuttle. The amenities were perfect. Washrooms and showers were always clean. Despite not being particularly fond of KOAs, I will definitely consider staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$55
We stayed here during Easter break. It was our first trip to Florida and we really liked this campground. It was very conveniently located and only a short distance to Disney and other Orlando attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. Showers were very roomy and nice, clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$65
Entrance is tricky to find, we went past it twice. Heavy traffic area, so it was not pretty trying to turn around. Entrance signs are small in comparison to the other commercial signage in the immediate area. It is located off a service road behind the Bob Evans restaurant. We were anticipating a nice dip in the heated pool only to be told at check in that it would be about a week before it was warm enough according to their standards. Since the park was full, you would think they would spend the extra $$ to heat the pool to meet "their standards". Sites were were quite tight. We had to jockey to get our 32' fifth wheel in to hook up to the utilities and open the living room slide, but then the paved sidewalk was not aligned. Has friendly neighbors, decent cable TV and Wi-Fi. We were here two nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$65
We are camped here right now. I was shocked to read some of the negative reviews. This is a great park with a friendly competent staff. Sites are a bit tight but considering the amenities like shuttle service to Disney you can't beat it. I'd return again for sure. We also took advantage of the pay 6 get 1 free offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$65
This was a nice campground to stay while visiting the Orlando and Tampa attractions. I did not give it a 10 since my site like a few others had a tree in the center of it which prevented me from opening my awning. I did pull up to get past the tree but then if I opened the awning it would be over the permanent installed fireplace. By moving up it takes you away from the nice concrete patio and puts you in a sandy environment which is real messy especially when wet. The staff was real nice and they had a nice store. Firewood and propane were available here and they did not make you wait for it either. They always called someone for any kind of assistance that was needed and they arrived immediately to help out. I would stay here again if I make it back to Florida, I just recommend to make sure you do not have a tree in the middle of your site if you choose to stay here. I did ask before arrival about any trees and I was assured that none were on my site, so please be aggressive when asking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2009
$65
I just had to send in this review on this very unfriendly KOA park in Davenport Florida. Ft. Summit KOA has two sections, the main section, which you can see from the road, and is reserved for the over nighties and clubs that come in for a few days only. The other section is in the back of the park you can't see it from the road. If you happen to live here or stay more than a few days or plan to stay the season this is where you will be parked. We have talked to three couples who will not be back and neither will we. Another young couple with three kids wanted to be close to the pool but were told they would have to go to the "long term area". They were winter visitors for three months. They went next door to Theme World and got what they required. This may be our first and last stay at a KOA, what a shame. Back to Arizona next winter where parks thank you for your business. The manager just isn't interested in accommodating you. The laundry room in the "long term" area is dangerous. The washers back up on the floor and it's very slippery. We were very near the wireless antenna so our connection was good but others have told us when you are four or five coaches away, don't even try to stay connected. We use a satellite but have been told the cable system is not very reliable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$19
This was our second visit to this park. In 2008 and 2009 we took advantage of the KOA "stay one night free" special in May. My husband and I stayed in a travel trailer and our son and his wife stayed in a tent. We did not have an experience either of the other reviewers had. The staff was friendly and we saw someone around the campground even late at night. We had a site with trees and our son in the tent also had a treed area. This is Florida, so get a grip with the ants. By the way, there were none at either site. There were no dogs and cats "unleashed" and the campers were friendly. There is lots to do and close to Disney with a free shuttle. The only disadvantage was there there was only one plug so we could only plug in the trailer and not our van. There is a new owner and managment, so that may be why there were so many changes. We would stay here again. Our family camped both in a trailer and a tent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$74
Campground was clean and the staff friendly, although we saw staff rarely except in the office. No trash service, you dump your bagged trash into the dumpster. We have been in many KOA campgrounds and always noted the rule was that pets should be leashed. At this campground that applies only to visitors while staff and seasonal or full time residents allowed cats and dogs to roam. The standard should be the same for all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
This has to be one of our families' worst camping experience in many years, actually in any years. I dont even know where to start with to talk about. There is no shade what so ever, the sites are covered with ant filled sand with limited grass that was never cut when we visited. The pool was somewhat nice and clean, but the deck, chairs, and things like that were never cleaned and dead bugs and such were all over the place. The employees were not nice at all either. They just got things done, gave us our site and never greeted us or anything like that. Also, towards the front of the park there are a few park trailers that are rundown and rusted out with cats roaming around. Infact there was a black cat that came to our trailer door in mornings meowing. We ended up actually feeding it and petting it all the time, but still. Also, in the back of the campground you look right onto a sewer treatment plant. Although if you camp out front you cannot see it nor smell it. Also, if you bring your bikes, you have to stay on one side of park, unless you feel like going up this hill each time you cross to one side. Yes a hill in Florida park. Just please go to a better park and dont make this mistake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$44
My husband and I stayed here Memorial Day weekend with my 12 y.o daughter and 5 y.o. granddaughter and we all had a blast! It is truly a kid friendly place. The kids weren't rowdy or unruly, but were having fun making friends, mainly hanging out at the pool and playground. Game room is not much to sneeze at. Fort Summit KOA seemed to be a vacation destination in itself for many of the families we saw. This place is ideally located near I-4 and is not too far from the theme parks. They have a shuttle to Disney. Staff was helpful and friendly. There is a store and small restaurant on premises. Pull throughs were adequate. Slots were shaded, had a picnic table, concrete patio and BBQ grill on ground. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2007
$60
I just wish I'd read people's previous comments before we booked in here for 10 nights. The main slogan on their website is "The best campground in the worlds", this couldn't be more from the truth and highlights my biggest annoyance - they market heavily using very false or deceiving information. Even though we're KOA members I don't think we'll ever stay in another KOA after this experience. The list of negative things I could say about this site is huge so I'll just mention the main ones. Firstly I was attracted by the fact that they have a free shuttle to Disney, on their website you would think that they ran their own coach, but it's actually another company that they use so I'm not sure how many other hotels etc you'd have to go by before arriving at Disney and even then they only have one pick up and drop off time for either Magic Kingdom or Epcot. We didn't even end up using the service. Next they specify a PO address of Lake Buena Vista which is very misleading as they're miles away in Davenport. In addition, in all the time we were there we never saw any staff around the campsite, only those that were in the shop. Just across from us a camper had about 20 puppies and there seemed to be dogs barking all the time but no one ever regulated the park. There's old trailers just dumped and rotting as you drive up the main road and everything generally is old, un-kept, and dirty. Don't make my mistake, avoid this site at all costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$45
The campground was great for kids. Between the pool, playground, and game room, plenty to do. Nice amount of space for rv's. Staff was friendly, and everything seemed to be clean. One problem, the shuttle bus. Getting to Disney was not bad. Getting back to the campground was terrible. It took over 2 hours. The campground is the last stop, and the bus just ran up and down the strip before we got dropped off. Great place to stay, just drive yourself to attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$44
We stayed at this campground Thanksgiving weekend 2005 and came back for 2006 for four nights. There were five campers and 12 people in our group. The brochures show the pool is heated but everyone we asked (all 5 five people that were leaving the pool) if it was heated and they said not very much. We stayed in the third row from the front and the year before we have pictures of grass being there. This year there was little grass, mostly dirt. Also the year before the center area was a tenting area and mostly empty. This year about 200 people had pitched tents back there and contributed to the park bathrooms being almost trashed and overflowed two large dumpsters. There was problems with the wireless internet. Being in the third row I could not get a signal in the camper. I took a laptop to the office and got a strong signal. One of the staff said they had just upgraded the systems and which signal to use. I carried the laptop to the first row and it worked, second row, no signal. I met five other people using laptops that also could not use them at their campsites. Big deal, free wireless. Our group does not plan on coming back next year. It was entertaining when a person in a 40' rental coach opened his slideout and broke the water pipe connection causing an old faithful up into the rv. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
This park was filthy. We planned to camp here for 30 nights or more and left after 1 night. The sites have no shade, the laundry room and shower facilities were run down and dirty. There were long term trailers that were broken down and rusted. Certainly not a place I would take my kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$43
This KOA has a very deceiving website. They claim there is cable tv but when we got there, the owners told us the lines were ripped out. They claim they are a self-contained resort. That is a laugh. There is nothing at this campsite. Their website also shows photos of horseback riding-there is no such thing available. When we got there, the grass was about 6" high. Sites were very sandy. In the morning when you walk to the bathrooms, which were never cleaned, you get wet from the tall grass & drag sand back into your camper. I purposely left a large paper towel on the bathroom counter to check if they'd clean it up. It was there the total 4 days we camped. The tall grass was never mowed while we were there. There were no activities director as they claimed on their website or ice cream socials, bingo, cookouts, potlucks. I complained to the owners that we chose this campground based on their claimed amenities. They just shrugged their shoulders and smiled. On top of all the sand, we ended up with a huge ant problem in our camper. they were everywhere. Other campers complained of the same thing. We do not recommend this campsite. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com