214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Lopez Lake Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (805) 788-2381
CGID5292

Lopez Lake Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   8   9   9   6   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
We stayed in Blue Jay site 10. The wildlife was phenomenal. When we registered, 5 deer walked in front of the rig. Saw numerous deer and turkey all weekend. The only negatives are the road traffic next to the campsites and a sewer backup that did not allow me to finish dumping my tanks. I think the sewer backup was just due to the volume of people emptying tanks prior to leaving today. We will be going back, hopefully into an odd numbered site in Blue Jay, they are away from the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
We stayed at Eagle campground site #13. The site was level and fairly easy to back into. We used this campground as a base camp while we attended the Strawberry Festival in Arroyo Grande. The fishing at the lake was good. The marina store stocks just about anything you may have forgot to pack. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is a great place depending on which site you are in. Some bigger areas are overcome with kids and loud music from what we saw. We didn't have a view of the lake but had a nice quite site. It was on a hill but our site was level. A good warm place to stay if the fog is in at Pismo Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Excellent Location. Gorgeous scenery. Can't beat the value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Nice camp ground, lots of wildlife, we stayed in the Mallard section for a better chance at getting a satellite signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
Another all time favorite! Just inland from the ocean. We stay here every year for Scott Tinleys Triathlon. We usually stay 2-3 nights and have a blast. There is a big lake with water sports, mountain biking trails everywhere, hiking trails everywhere, swimming and mustang water slides. Its a great family camping environment. I believe they do have some 50amp hookups, but not sure. If they do, they are limited. Our 5th wheel uses 30 amp so never really was a issue for us. Rates are great, get a reservation as it does get crowded at times. Plenty to do for the whole family. Be sure to talk with the rangers as there are national forests that back onto the property and mountain lions and bears have been seen. There are some really cool boyscout camps on the other side of the lake you can get to by hiking or biking. If you have a mountain bike, take it as the trails there are awesome!! Its a good secret area to visit. Local wineries as well to visit for a quick 10 min drive for wine tasting. Farmers Market in Arroyo Grande is a must, very good for fruits and veggies. Enjoy!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
Nice park to use a "home base" for visiting the central coast. The park itself is good, but it's the location & people that makes it worth coming back to. The positives: location (it's a short drive to the Pismo Dunes, SLO, Avila Beach), water slides for the kids in the park, playground, lot's of families, quiet, and tons of wildlife all around the grounds (we had several wild turkeys at our trailer everyday). Negatives: sites is pretty jammed tight, the showers could use more cleaning, speed limits don't seem to be enforced too well, and the swimming area wasn't too attractive. However, this was due to the drought, and I'm sure would be better with more winter rain. All and all, it's a pretty good campsite. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
Great place to camp and take the kids to the Mustang water slides. Pretty lake. Very convenient to stay here and go to the beach also. Saw some great wildlife. I would have given it a 10, but the website says nothing about the $7 reservation fee until you get your bill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
This park is a great location and has so much to do that is water related! Our group loved the Mustang Water Slides (additional fee) and the nature boat ride. Rangers are friendly and very knowledgeable. Wildlife abounds and our kids got a kick out of the deer that came within feet of our site. The main downside this year is that there is a HUGE yellowjacket bee problem. Many people in our group were stung. This is out of the ordinary and we hope it clears up! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$27
Large park with at least 5 campground areas with hookups. Also many other areas where you can dry camp. We stayed in the Quail section which had all backins except for one site that was pull through and accommodated a 40 foot Class A. Our site was not very level nor were most other sites nearby. There is a water slide park close by, but it was closed for the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
The park is very clean and well maintained. The spots are close together when compared to private parks. The section we were in only offered 20 amp service. Also be prepared for no cell phone service. On the other hand, I've never seen so much wildlife so close to camp. There are wonderful open areas between the clusters of sites. The marina is close to most sites and the in park water slide is a great diversion for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
Overall this is a great place for the family to camp out. The staff was very friendly both at check in and throughout the park including the conveniance store and boat rental staff. The bathrooms were ok. The area we stayed in only had one shower in it, however if you are at the lake you can plan ahead and take a shower near the marina there are about 6 showers there, the showers cost 75 cents for 5 minutes. The bathrooms could have been a little cleaner but it was a holiday weekend and I am sure there were more people then usual. The marina store has everything you could possibly need. There is a little snack shop in the marina as well. There is a water park within the campgrounds but there is a fee for daily use. There is also a swimming area at the lake for the family and watercrafts are welcome at the lake. All in all it is a great place for camping. I would have rated it a 10 but the lack of showers and the not as clean as I would like restrooms brought the rating down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
The campground includes a waterpark that offers special pricing for campers. We loved our stay here: good fishing and lots to do if you love water sports. There are great trails and tons of wild life! We had deer and wild turkeys within 10 feet of our site. My only complaint is that too many people do not follow the posted speed limits. Cell phone reception is extremely limited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Lake Lopez is an awesome place to camp. We like the environment. There is a lot of shade in Bluejay and deer and other animals wander around. There is a water slide up the street and an area for kids to play. I ride my bicycle around in the mallard cove area. There is lots of room and it's a great place for kids to play and parents to relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Lake Lopez recreational area is planned around Lake Lopez. Fishing and water sports are allowed on the lake. You will see a lot of campers with boats. Most of the sites are too narrow. We had to retract our awning every night since it pretty much covered the fire pit. Towards the back of the main recreational area are some group campgrounds. We saw a few horse and camper travel trailer combination go there. Lots of wild life. Mostly gazelle and wild turkey. Great place for bird watching. We brought our bikes and glad we did. There is a winery about 5 miles outside the camp ground. We rode our bikes there. There is a also a water park within the recreational area. They have some cool water slides. There is additional charge for entry into water park. We felt cost was reasonable. We would have rated it a bit higher if the campsites were bigger. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This is a very large area that offers great fishing, swimming, windsurfing, kayaking, hiking, biking, etc. It's very family-friendly, and even includes a water park. The sites are large, with a fire pit and picnic table. The rangers are very vigilent in enforcing quiet time and proper behavior. We got lucky weatherwise, as it can exceed 100 degrees and there are strong winds off the lake. The only downsides were weak cell phone reception, no internet connection, and dirty restrooms and showers. There's a fully-stocked marina store, and you're not far from the town of Arroyo Grande, Pismo Beach, San Simeon (Hearst Castle), and other coastal attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com