220537 User submitted reviews online!!
Burlington Bay Campsite was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (218) 834-2021
CGID5310

Burlington Bay Campsite

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   7   8   4   7   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This is an update to my review from last year. We stayed in the new expansion area this summer. This area is designed with big rigs in mind. Plenty of room to maneuver. Terraced views overlooking the bay. Easy walk down to the beach. Sites are reasonably wide with large grass area in front for a picnic table and fire ring. Pads are gravel, roads are paved. Sites have double hookups so motorhomes can pull in forward and trailers can backup in. No shade in this area. No bathrooms or showers so you have to be self contained. Excellent satellite and tv reception. Good Verizon cell signal. Wi-Fi has not been deployed to this area yet but it's possible to pick up a signal from sites to the visitors center office. Excellent water pressure. Dog park about two blocks away. When checking into this section it's best to park in the visitors center lot and walk across the road to the campground office. Otherwise you will have a lot of maneuvering to do to get back over to this site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Rate and comments apply to new class A section only. Three terraced rows of RV sites each with a view of Burlington Bay on Lake Superior. Great ore ship watching. Paved Roads and gravel sites. Each site has two sets of full hookups so pull in or back in for your best view of Lake Superior. Was not able to connect to their WiFi but Verizon Hotspots worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We stayed in the "New" section. It had only been open for a few weeks. Huge sites with beautiful view of Lake Superior when the fog wasn't there. Quiet except for some road noise which was bearable. Very difficult to back into as sites are aligned so you must back in from the right which is blindside backing. There is curb in front to hang up on. Sites are gravel which was not packed down well. No trees or easy access to bathrooms. You need to go to another part of the campground to use facilities. Hopefully, it will get better as they work out the kinks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
The Views are AMAZING! If I could get a site along the water with full hookups, I would totally stay again. But the showers/bathroom are so gross it makes it necessary to be self sufficient. Nice playground, spaces are grass and close together but the view is really worth it. If you are back along the highway it's NOISY! I say it's a 7 hubby says a 4, you decide! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Most of the sites have great views of Lake Superior. Sites are reasonably sized with easy access. Some are shady but most are in the open. Wi-Fi connection was good from our site but bandwidth was spotty. Excellent satellite and local TV reception. Easy access to a local trail/park for biking to downtown. Golf course across street. Two blocks down is a car wash with an RV bay. Campground is expanding into a new area with 34 new big rig sites with 50 amp hookups. That area should be complete by Fall 2013. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
We called in January of this year and requested a site where the dish could get a signal. Check-in was easy and the roads were nice to the grassy area that was our site. But we drove by the site because we could not see any hookups, we thought it was a parking area, a very well shaded parking area. The power and sewer were way down the hill by the site which shared the water pedestal with the site on the other side. After hooking up we found out the roof mounted satellite dish would not work. Why the people in the office don't know the sites is beyond me. We found out later, after we left our water pressure regulator and water softener on the pedestal on the wrong side after we did our normal walk around before leaving on the usual side, we found out that the office people never go into the park. Makes you appreciate parks with owners on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
For starters, we started calling this park during office hours (8AM-8PM), 3 days before our expected arrival and kept getting a message saying that they would return our call. We never got the callback and just showed up early Monday afternoon. We were able to get one of the last few FHU sites for 2 days. Several hours after we arrived we got the "promised" callback. Bad customer service. The park has 66 W&E sites in an area in the front section of the park. This area is very congested and includes many popups and tents. There are 2 FHU loops. All RV sites appear to be back-ins. The W&E area has a bathhouse with 2 showers and 2 toilets for each sex. The first FHU loop has a similar bathhouse. As previously noted, most sites have a lake view and some views are unimpeded. The only stairs to the shore are behind sites 23 and 25. It is only 1-2 miles to most of the sights (lighthouse, RR depot, ore docks, etc.) in town. Most customers appear to be locals (MN and WI) who book their 1-2 weeks vacations well in advance. So, call early if you are trying to get site in the summer and hope they get back to you. Staying here to see the local sights is worth the effort it may take to get a site in this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Burlington Bay was my first RV trip of the season. I had a site facing Lake Superior, which was absolutely gorgeous. A long rocky beach was just about twenty steps down. I enjoyed wonderful quite time down there. It is a city-run campground so amenities are few. The only critical comment was the condition of the bathroom on my final morning there, but I called after I left and they were very apologetic and said they cleaned it up. Let's just say that some people are just animals and the campground can't help that. I will be back, but next time I need to bring a bike so I can bike into Two Harbors or up to Betty's Pies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
This is a wonderful municipal campground in the city of Two Harbors. We came up for our nephew's wedding and decided to camp to enjoy the fall colors. Many of the sites are very spacious while others are right next to each other. The lakefront sites would be best suited for a truck top camper as they are very short. The bathrooms are clean, but there are only 2 stalls and 2 showers. One more of each would be nice. One shower is set up weird with a "stall" wall divider and chair. If you don't put up everything your stuff will get wet. We hosted wedding guests for the day and they were not charged anything to visit. Also, if you camp near the stairs to Lake Superior you will get cut throughs as there is no path. We can't wait to come back in the summer or again for fall colors. Not sure where previous submitter stayed but our water and electric were on the correct side. We pulled in wrong the first time in the pull-thru and turned around. All sites seemed to be correct where we stayed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Good stuff: Nice views, showers and bathroom cleans, paved roads with gravel sites. Fast Wi-Fi and Verizon Mi-Fi works great. Bad stuff: This park is laid out backassward. It looks like the sites were built to pull in from one direction and the hook ups are on the other. Net result is that it's very hard to get into the sites with out running over something that can tear up your tires. We had a 36' MH and we had to be very careful not to run over the fire pit with the bus or the toad. Best bet is to unhook before you use the pull throughs. If you have a back in watch the vehicles parked in the other sites so you don't hit them. However the sites were flat and there was plenty of room for the slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Incredible views of Superior! Paved loops with gravel pads. Some shade, depending on your site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Nice park. They must have improved the Wi-Fi. We watched a movie on Hulu (w/no buffering). Pet friendly. There can be long lines at the dump station so plan ahead. Firewood available. Nice views of Lake Superior. Boat launch nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This park is owned by the city. It is a very good one for being city owned. They have two $49 Wi-Fi routers sitting on counters and reception is bad all over the camp. I have a USB omnidirectional antenna, so I was OK, but my neighbors were unable to use it, the speed was so slow. The views here are wonderful. You look out over a bluff to Lake Superior. There is a rocky beach. We drove up about 85 miles to Grand Mariha's and saw all of the listed sights along the way. We stayed 2 nights, there was so much to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Our review is very different to the other ones, mainly I think because we stayed in October when it was quiet. We loved this cg. Has fabulous views over Lake Superior, a little road noise, but overall very quiet; no WiFi; electricity and water but no sewer. There are four separate camp areas, the higher you go the better the view. The bathrooms are clean but basic. Has lots of space between sites, gravel pads, picnic tables and fire rings; the staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again, it was wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Nice campground in a convenient location. We have stayed here many times. They are enlarging with more sites, which will be nice as they are usually full in the summer and falls months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
First I'd like to say that I think the staff member that checked us in was a rude jerk. I think we arrived around noon or thereafter, and he must have been in middle of his lunch. He was not the welcome wagon for the city or this campground. He should relocate and work at the sewer treatment plant. He took our payment and that was it. He did not tell us anything about the site or campground, etc. The office was a mess; the outside of the office was filth. Our campsite had dog waste all over it. The fire ring was full and only emptied once. The showers were a joke. Sure you could take a shower and get clean but given the cost and number of sites, I think they could have a much nicer cleaner bath/shower house. I never once saw anyone from the city or police drive through the campground. I only saw an older worker going around and cleaning, but not sure he did it all since our site seemed to be skipped. Given their location I'd stay again, but if they had better staff and a better shower house and kept things clean I'd give them a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
We are basing our stay on site number 68. Other sites looked great, but our site had much to be desired. (Only about a 12 -18 campsites actually have a lake front view.) Site was a flat, unlevel mound with very little room on each side before falling down the steep small hill. Water was on opposite side, basically taking all 50 feet of hose. There was no sewer cap. Our fire pit was under water 2 of 3 nights. The road was narrow and hard to maneuver. Restrooms were dirty. There are way too few showers (4) and toilets available for the 113 sites. Unfriendly campground attendant working in the office. When I told him of the fire pit being underwater for the second day he said nothing: no response. We had to sit in the office to use the purchased Wi-Fi and listened to a lot of his unhelpfulness to other customers. Says he's not from this area when asked about local restaurants and attractions. Public access to the beach required walking through a campsite. Our experience involved noisy neighbors staying up late around the campfire. On the plus side: trash cans are located conveniently throughout the campground and the campground is located near Gooseberry Falls, bike trails, the lighthouse, and Betty's Pies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Overall a nice place at a fair price. I have been coming to this place for 3 years now and have always found the staff accommodating even when overwhelmed. Yes, it is a little hard to get through on the phone. Contrary to the previous review: this place has 30 some lakefront sites. Even more have partial or full lake views. Maybe its best asset is its location: a short walk to town, 30 mins to Duluth, 20 to Split Rock/Gooseberry, and 75 to Ely make this a good base for the lower North Shore. Plans are in the works for some big rig sites across 1st Street. Town seems to have resisted the temptation to overcharge (so far). I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
A beautiful location, sites right on the bay of Lake Superior. Sites are close together, but far enough apart so you can have a nice campfire. Although a municipal campground, it feels like a state park. No cable or pool. Close to town. It was very hard to get through to make a reservation in the off season, had to wait until they opened for the year as nobody returned calls to place reservation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Nice park, beautiful setting. Difficult to secure lake-front sites though, and the fellow we reserved with on the phone could use a little friendlier tone. Would stay again but try to book well in advance so we can get near the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Great view of Lake, campsites fairly tight together. The signage for directions within the campground needs improvement. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
City owned park, north end of town, very easy to get into & park. Clean, quiet but close to hwy noises. View of Lake Superior; close to biking/hiking trails; security patrols. Reservations are recommended, popular park for north shore visitors. Would definitely go again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
This campground was an unexpected surprise to me and my whole family. This campground is right on the lake. The outer campsites have one of the most majestic views I have seen. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and very helpful checking in. The site is situated right in between all the local attractions.; 20 mins to SplitRock and "Goofberry" Falls, and 25 mins to Duluth and all the attractions there. We would return to this campground again most definitely. We were so close to everything. The small town of Two Harbors is great with plenty to do there. The breakwater and lighthouse park was great. Visit Blackwoods Restaurant for great eats. Couple of areas to improve is the timing of getting hold of staff to make a reservations; it proved to be a little challenging. Also wood and Ice being sold a little later would help since many camp goers are just arriving back when they are closing. Overall a great family fun campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Used this campground as a base for touring the area.. So much to see, road tunnels, loading iron ore, old railroad engines, Lake Superior, largest iron ore mine at Hibbing, old city of Virginia, and of course Ely. Will stay here again if in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Great sites overlooking the lake. Some of the others were smallish, but wooded, so you can choose what you want. Our site was very deep and directly overlooked Lake Superior. We were pleased and already made reservations for two trips next year. They did have wireless internet available in the office area. I thought the rate was very reasonable considering what we have encountered elsewhere. No cable TV, but you can get the local stations out of Duluth very clearly. Golf course right across the street as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Nice spot on a cliff overlooking Lake Superior. It's right on the 2-lane highway going north out of town, and is a little noisy with traffic during the day, but was nicely quiet at night. Great people in the office, and there are people going around the grounds constantly making sure things are up to par. We could stay only 2 nights, but wished we could have stayed longer. Rating is lower than it could be only because our site didn't even approach being level, and we saw many other sites in the same condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Great views, as campground is right on Lake Superior! Some sites have side by side hookups, which are always a little inconvenient. Also, more 50 amp hookups would be nice, along with more sewer sites. Very difficult to get reservations here, and most sites are taken, sometimes almost a year in advance. Campground is owned by the City of Two Harbors, and is well maintained. Lakeview National Golf course is just across Highway 61, is fun and inexpensive. It also can be walked to from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
We stayed here during the Kayak-Fest weekend. The campground was full. Sites are small and close together. You will really know your neighbor! Many sites have no room between trailers/tents to walk. Tents were pitched everywhere/anywhere there was space. Water quality was poor, taste-wise. Campfires were impossible, as sies were so close. Worst of all was the men's rest rooms with one toilet/2 showers to the 52 campsites in our section. 7AM was a definite social hour while standing in line. I feel the place was overpriced for a parking lot with hookups, but this is the tourist attraction of the "North Shore." I enjoyed the Kayak Fest, but would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
This park was less than one mile from the very pleasant town. The local tourist bureau is next door. The office was able to give us the names of two businesses in town that had free Wifi. This was a great point for sightseeing in the area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$23
This is a very nice park with some sites that back up to a wonderful view of Lake Superior. The price was a little higher than we usually pay, but was well worth it for a few days. The biggest problem with this campground is that they take reservations well in advance so you might have a hard time getting in in the prime season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
Very popular city campground, right on Lake Superior. Centrally located to visit many sites along Lake Superior. Reservations are not online and fill up fast during the weekends. Ample sites and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$21
Nice RV Park on the North end of town some on the beach of Lake Superior. Were building new restroom while we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com